Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holidaying alone.......ideas??

• 08-05-2008 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭

Well here is the deal......I'm a 20 year old female, and after a stressful year, a really bad break up recently and the prospect of working in Ireland ALL summer for the 6th summer in a row......I have decided I really need a holiday. I just need to relax!! Problem is all my friends have already jumped on the J1/interrailing bandwagons for the summer and I'm left by myself, given no bf anymore. I've about a grand and a half total (incl. flights etc.) but wouldn't want to spend that all if possible (haven't been a big traveller to date at all so no idea of prices etc). Ideally I'd like to just go to a warm climate (not looking for anything long haul as I'm awful on planes and also budget restrictions.....Europe or Eastern Europe would be ideal.....Croatia is very pretty but probably too dear?) and simply relax in the sun for a week, pool, book, beautiful landscape etc. I feel pretty sad going away by myself, but I really need to get out of here this summer at some stage or my head will explode.

Does anyone have any tips/advice/suggestions?

Am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

i know some travel companies offer singles and group trips. If i was you i'd go into a travel agency and tell them what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

Hey....thanks.....I don't really want to go on a matchmaking holiday or anything though :o ! Aren't those "singles" holidays like that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

no, the one's im thinking of are for ppl who dont have anyone to travel with. they're not all the same. i think there are ones for under 30's.

When are you going on Holiday?
    It wouldn't be too late to join in the interrailing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

Check out Fort Lauderdale in FL. There's the Marriott Hotel which is right across the road from the beach in a complex with a few bars and restaurants. A lot of Americans go there on their own. I was there last year. Great fun at night and very relaxing too during the day. Beach is great. Worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I didn't find Croatia too dear -- especially if compared with western Europe. I don't know how much fun it would be as a solo traveller, though. Even if you are not looking to hook up with a man, you might be better off in a place where the language is not a barrier. I'm sure that you will want to have the occasional conversation. In Croatia English is, at best, a third language (after Croatian and German). On the other hand, if you just want some quiet time, it might suit you, and if you need to have some human contact, you can sign on for an excursion for a half-day or a day, and you will inevitably fall into some company.

I'm not sure if I am recommending that you go there or not! It's your decision.

Good luck with recovering from a bruising experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ports best

my choice for you would be bulgaria, cheap and it is laid back and there is some lovely scenery too,i was there last year and loved it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

My advice would be to get a cheap flight to Poland and hop on a train to the Ukranian resort of Odessa. I have been dying to go there but haven't been able to make it yet.
    Everything is cheap, won't be full of the usual groups of irish / british teens, nice weather and its somewhere different.

Would you think of going on a holiday where you do some activity such as learn to Tango or Salsa or something like that.. Then again i suppose you wouldn't get to just lie on the beach then..
    Another type of holiday is a yoga holiday somewhere like Andulucia in Spain.

I know 2 different people who go to Lanzarote on hols on their own as well. Just avoid the likes of Puerto del Carmen and it's very peaceful.

Let us know if you decide anything..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭Clink

What's wrong with Puerto del Carmen!!! I've been there countless times, stay in a place over looking the harbour and it's incredible peaceful (apart from the genteel sounding of chugging boats!) The problem with doing a package holiday by yourself is that you have to pay the single person supplement which can make it overly dear.

I've done a good few holidays by myself- best ever was to southern California, was flippin fantastic. I flew to LA then got the train to here there and everywhere staying in hostels as I went. Was brilliant and wasn't expensive at all. Hostels are the best way to go when you're by yourself as you're guarenteed to meet other lone, young travellers. I know you said that you're not into long haul OP but it would be worth it, especially as the exchange rate is so good now. Also it being english speaking it makes it very easy to go around by yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Clink wrote: »
    What's wrong with Puerto del Carmen!!! I've been there countless times, stay in a place over looking the harbour and it's incredible peaceful (apart from the genteel sounding of chugging boats!) The problem with doing a package holiday by yourself is that you have to pay the single person supplement which can make it overly dear.

I've done a good few holidays by myself- best ever was to southern California, was flippin fantastic. I flew to LA then got the train to here there and everywhere staying in hostels as I went. Was brilliant and wasn't expensive at all. Hostels are the best way to go when you're by yourself as you're guarenteed to meet other lone, young travellers. I know you said that you're not into long haul OP but it would be worth it, especially as the exchange rate is so good now. Also it being english speaking it makes it very easy to go around by yourself.

I don't mind Puerto del Carmen, the people i know who holiday alone avoid it to relax. Most the places in PdC are fairly busy and lively during the summer months. You obviously found somewhere nice in the old town area.

Yeah in fairness I wouldn't go near the strip in P delCarmen, it's my idea of hell! And yes we've found the perfect holiday spot in the old town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

Thanks everyone! I'll have a look into all of your suggestions!

And no, P Breathnach, DEFINITELY want a MAN FREE zone haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

Odessa or Crimea are fun and cheap, but I don't think I'd go there on my own, especially not speaking the language.
    If I were you I'd plan a mini interrail, go to Eastern Europe where train prices are cheap and the interrail would be a rip off. Go to a few different cities, stay in hostels and you can hang around with other people if you want to, or do your own thing if you prefer. I think a beach holiday would be boring on your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

I travelled alone twice in my student days. The first because I couldn't get people to go interrailing, the second time because I wanted to. Its a great holiday for the lone traveller.

I'd recommend eastern europe, no need to buy an interrail ticket, just fly to one location, fly home from another location, use the trains in between.

Use hotelworld.com or hostelbookers.com to get ratings for hostels in cities you will be visiting. Pick lively ones with good ratings. You will meet loads of other single travellers. For example I was in a hostel in Vienna, over 600 staying in it, at least 200 of them travelling alone. People mingling etc. Met people in every hostel, travelled around with them etc.

It may seem indimidating, but it isn't. Buy the lonely planet, book the flights and go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

Croatia is cheap enough to get to, around €250 return to Dubrovnik - a beautiful old city - with Aer Lingus.

You can stay in private apartments or rooms there for as little as €25 a night and then travel out to a few islands with a cheap ferry ticket and do the same on those islands. eg Mijet, Korcula, Hvar, stunning scenery. In the agencies they can find you a room in peoples houses which they rent out for peanuts. They are regulated so meet a certain standard.

Stunning scenery and everyone speaks english apart from some older people, thats what I found anyway. I spent two weeks in Croatia with a mate last summer and it's stunning, the locals are very friendly and waether is class. Definately consider it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Oranage

Fly Ryanair to paris around the 24th of june for a week or so will cost you only 40 quid return. stay in a hostel for about 20€ a night.Try Meet some people and if not, Paris has so many attrations it should keep you busy for a week.Cheap week away.
    Or go to lastminute.com, go to holidays and you could get a nice week away in spain with a pool for less than 200€ flights and hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Lanzarote,Purto de Carmen,Agua Marina Appts in the old town.Look it up in Trip Advisor.
    Hubby and myself go there every year and there are plenty of single people holidaying there,also the staff are lovely and helpful.No children in the complex(big plus).

holly1 wrote: »
    Lanzarote,Purto de Carmen,Agua Marina Appts in the old town.Look it up in Trip Advisor.
    Hubby and myself go there every year and there are plenty of single people holidaying there,also the staff are lovely and helpful.No children in the complex(big plus).[/quot

Agua marina is our perfect place to stay, we were trying to keep it quiet to prevent it getting too popular as it's the perfect holiday location in Lanzarote! Is fantastic place to stay, so quiet, scenic, peaceful and the managers are very lovely and will make you feel like you're in a much higher rate hotel! Would rather keep keep this place quiet but I really think they deserve the business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Hello Clink you have great taste,we go there in March every year for the last four.We went with Stein the first year,but since then we book it ourself.The management are so nice and helpful,the place is spotles and so close to everything.Sunway have taken over from Stein this year if anyone is intrested.
    As you said Clink they deserve the buisness,I know they are only **stars,but I give them*****.

holly1 wrote: »
    Hello Clink you have great taste,we go there in March every year for the last four.We went with Stein the first year,but since then we book it ourself.The management are so nice and helpful,the place is spotles and so close to everything.Sunway have taken over from Stein this year if anyone is intrested.
    As you said Clink they deserve the buisness,I know they are only **stars,but I give them*****.

Gee thanks! We book directly as well and get a discount as we're regulars. And when we arrive there's always a bottle of wine and a welcome back letter waiting for us. We were there just last week and it was as blissful as ever. Our usual room was already booked so Estefania put us into a huge two bed apartment with a deadly sea view. When we were there they were painting everything, replacing all the sunbeds and doing other maintenance, the place is really well kept. I agree with your star rating, I don't think that there's anything that they could improve upon to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

I think www.go4less.ie are still offering J1s, and it's definately not too late for interrailing. I did interrailing last year and it was the best holiday I've ever been on, although there were 10 of us tryin to organise where to go!!! Even if you wanted to break off on your own interrailing it would still be great craic. You meet so many new people and alot of people on their own...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭mc23

You could try island hopping in Greece. Fly into Athens or 1 of the islands and spend a few days on each island. Plenty of choice as regards to party island/ quite islands and some great scenery. Don't need to book any accommodation, just get off the ferry talk to the locals. There's also a good chance you could meet other people traveling on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Old town in Puerto del Carmen in Lanzarote is so good,I agree!Food,old style buildings and tranquility overlooking the harbour is right up our street if we want to chill out in the warmth of the winter sun!

OP would highly recommend here,the place where we stay has a pool,bar with food and overlooks the harbour.And the rest of the island has so much culture with Cesar Manriques artistic work.

My sis was in your situation last year too,she went over by herself,mainly poolside and beach sunbathing,but also rented a car for a few days to explore the island and take in the beauty. She said she had a real good chance to think without any hassles.

Hope everything works out for you, and enjoy your hols :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

What about something like this?
    http://www.thepattclub.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

mc23 wrote: »
    You could try island hopping in Greece. Fly into Athens or 1 of the islands and spend a few days on each island. Plenty of choice as regards to party island/ quite islands and some great scenery. Don't need to book any accommodation, just get off the ferry talk to the locals. There's also a good chance you could meet other people traveling on their own.

That sounds great, I was in Kos the other summer and it was great! Really cheap and we rented bicycles and cycled all over the island... it's really flat... :o