Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Character Discussion - The Hitcher

• 07-05-2008 8:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭

SInce its really really quiet in here I though i'd throw this one out there.

As we all know some of the carachters in the boosh can be a bit love/hate. So lets open the flood gates for a bit of discussion based around them.

Starting with my personal favorite The Hitcher.

Possibly one of the simplest costumes in the show at times but still so unique.

Hes also got one of the best intro songs (acompanied by the piper twins of course).

Opinions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Crawling in your room in the dead of night with my solo polo vision!

Oh I love him. I dressed up as him for the boards christmas beers... and I had the box and everything....

I also glued polo mints to a hat... that was fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Saw the pictures you posted here alright. Was good, didnt see the pics of the box though - do you have any ?

The box is still sitting in my office actually.

I put Crumble Froo on polo mint duty for the box... but she didn't get very far with it though.

The box still looked neat though... I stuffed a bunch of random raffle prizes in there on the night.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

There's people who don't like the Hitcher?

He's my favourite cockney nightmare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

The Hitcher FTW!

I still have "Eels!" as my ringtone! :D
    He is a bit of a peppermint nightmare though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

does he creep through my room, or crawl through it in the dead of night? i thought he crept...

and yeah, that was a busy night, i can't remember what happened, but every time i got round to the polo-gluing business, someone distracted me.

hitcher is pretty good. for some reason, that's probably the episode on series one that im least familiar with, but yep, he is an awesome character. particularly as a reoccurring bad guy. it's all ikea nowdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

You wanna know about my thumb do ya boy? Intrigue ya does it boy? My Thumb? Let me tell ya 'bout it. I come from a long line of hitchhikers, all with bleedin' massive thumbs. You see the thumb its a tremendous boom to the hitchhiker, helps with work. Ya know what I mean? Only problem was, when I was a child, my thumb was tiny. Not just tiny like a single sugar puff, Disgusting! Even my own mother would reel back in horror, like an anaconda, 'Aagh! What is it!? Get it out of here! It's tiny! It's horrible, it's revolting! Take your tiny thumb and get out of here and never darken my door again!' she'd say. I had to leave the family unit, in search of a miracle. I wandered the streets, looking for the answer. And people told me of a magic shaman: part man, part hornet. So I went looking for him. I went everywhere. I combed the universe in search of the stripy insect shaman. Turns out he was in a local primary school, in the bin, reeling about with the apple cores. Like they do. And I stood there, with my thumb out, and he stung it, and he stung it. He grabbed onto it, it was like he was making love to it with his sting. In and out, in and out, more and more! Oh the pus, the pain, the black voodoo, the wet jigsaw puzzle! I didn't know what was happening. Oh for days I was in a trance. But when I came to, there it was. Like a fleshy maraca! A thumb of gigantic proportion! 'A miracle!' I said, 'A miracle, you're a true wizard! How can I ever repay ya?' And he said to me, 'Five hundred euros.' 'Five hundred euros!? You won't see penny one from me you slag!' And as I raised my thumb up, to smash his tiny skull in I could see in his little insect face, could see him thinkin', 'Oh, I created that monster! I created that thumb! And now it's killing me! My own beastly creation, killin' me dead. The sweet irony.' I think he was sayin' that, although it was a long time ago. And in hindsight, he coulda just been sh!tttin' himself.

*swoons*

I have a terrible, terrible habit of doing that entire monologue when I have drink in me.

Was drinking with a couple of boosh fans here the other night, it turned into a quote fest. The locals hadnt a clue what was going on.

ah yes. done that one a few times myself. the best is when im the only boosh fan in teh room, and get as many odd quotes into conversation as i can.

drink brings out the crimper in me!! :D

sounds about right :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

ah yes. done that one a few times myself. the best is when im the only boosh fan in teh room, and get as many odd quotes into conversation as i can.

i tend to do it at work,i started singing the soup song at my manager when he was having it for his lunch,he was very confused:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

ok i LOVE the show, but seriously, don't you think quoting somewhat obscure TV shows in public (especially people who don't know wtf it is!) is SERIOUSLY nerdy? E.g. the University Nerds who quote Monty Python when Homer goes to college? You're the modern day version of those! Stop it!

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    ok i LOVE the show, but seriously, don't you think quoting somewhat obscure TV shows in public (especially people who don't know wtf it is!) is SERIOUSLY nerdy? E.g. the University Nerds who quote Monty Python when Homer goes to college? You're the modern day version of those! Stop it!

Excuse me sir, I still quote Monty Python on a regular basis. I'm admittedly nerdy and proud of it. :D

How does this differ to people quoting Family guy and the simpsons ? Is it okay because people know these shows ?

it's quite interesting actually to see who picks up that what you've said is a little odd, and always aweome when you meet other boosh fans.

in general though, it's just generally relevant to conversation, and i tend to say things slightly before they pop into my head anyway.

ye i remember telling someone to "look deep in to the parker" and the ones that got it cracked up laughin, the ones that didnt lookes totally confised which made ME crack up laughin, everybody wins! :D

and it gives you a chance to initiate the others into a boosh night ceremony or something :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

c - 13 wrote: »
    Excuse me sir, I still quote Monty Python on a regular basis. I'm admittedly nerdy and proud of it. :D

How does this differ to people quoting Family guy and the simpsons ? Is it okay because people know these shows ?

I think quoting anything like this is sad. Quote some Sartre or Oscar Wilde, at least then you'll look cultured and intelligent!

My problem is that I say so many odd things of my own that people assume I'm quoting Boosh when I'm not.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

My problem is that I say so many odd things of my own that people assume I'm quoting Boosh when I'm not.

Christ, I thought that was just me.

I think quoting anything like this is sad. Quote some Sartre or Oscar Wilde, at least then you'll look cultured and intelligent!

do either of the above have anything appropriate to be said about bouncy castles, mullets, or capes?

....if not then they are not worth quoting!! :D

last night, i spent about a halfhour singing jeanclaude jacatee (sp?), cos someone was giving out to someone next to me about constantly taking his jacket on and off.... c'mon, what was i supposed to sing at that point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

You come onto a Mighty Boosh forum and have a go at people for quoting the show? Srsly?

Yeah, because learning off some scholarly and philosophical quotes so you look intelligent isn't sad?

WindSock wrote: »
    You come onto a Mighty Boosh forum and have a go at people for quoting the show? Srsly?

Arguments are to be avoided, they are always vulgar and often convincing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Poppy78

last night, i spent about a halfhour singing jeanclaude jacatee (sp?), cos someone was giving out to someone next to me about constantly taking his jacket on and off.... c'mon, what was i supposed to sing at that point?

Running round Paris. With a tiny haversack.

Every time i leave the house....

Back to the topic, The Hitcher is a legend. Best music, best costume, best back story.

Sorry, I can't help flinging my truth nuggets :pac:

That was a Wilde quote by the way...

Oh right. in that case...I have nothing to declare. At all.

Poppy78 wrote: »
    Running round Paris. With a tiny haversack..

... look into the future....with a telescope...