Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Give You....Pinch-Jitsu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

That's hilarious. But it's also embarrassing because I've been to "groundfighting" classes where that was the sort of technique taught. Plus other cracking techniques like bites and grabbing love handles and twisting. It's even more embarrassing because I used to advocate that kind of training. It's even more embarrassing still because I sucked at it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Pain such as a pinch has no bearing in a fight, yeah its poxy when done by suprise when your chilling out but when your in a state of focus on winning with adrenalin pumping it would only annoy you and make you finish him quicker!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

That is brillliant. I don't know what's funnier the pinch pass or the idea that some street thug will come up to you and pull guard. I must try the hair pulling one although I'd imagine that'd just get you armbarred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

Valmont wrote: »
    I must try the hair pulling one although I'd imagine that'd just get you armbarred.

yeah, thats the first thing i thought too. the opportunities for triangles, sweeps and armbars are many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

It would probably work well against a student or an aged college professor.

Seriously though, if someone pinched my thigh it would really annoy me, it would just get me more "fired up", and make me worse. Just like any thug on the street full of adrenaline (Um, not that I'm a thug btw:)).

9 times out of 10 he won't even feel it during the fight anyway due to the chemical cocktail. And lets assume he felt it mid-fight, what would the attacker do? Probably attack harder to stop the pain from the pinch or grab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Baggio... wrote: »
    9 times out of 10 he won't even feel it during the fight anyway due to the chemical cocktail. And lets assume he felt it mid-fight, what would the attacker do? Probably attack harder to stop the pain from the pinch or grab.

In fights, people dig there elbows into your legs hard to break your guard, in casual training this works a lot! in comp it rarely works, when my girl pinches me or bangs into me i moan like a little girl, thats because im not geared up for pain, the same stuff in a fight would go totally unnoticed..
    This fella teaching this is knows this but cant make money unless he has some GREAT mysterious techniques which would beat the Gracie's no problem!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    This fella teaching this is knows this but cant make money unless he has some GREAT mysterious techniques which would beat the Gracie's no problem!

True... The problem with material like this, is it's very easy to say, not so to "do".

I see on a couple of his other clips he talks about controlling people by pulling their hair (not that I have any mind). Worked when I was in school alright against the weaker kids. Try it against a nasty individual who got real intent to harm you. His poor student will be writing his account form a hospital bed, while breathing through a straw. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

Pinch..grab..out... and get home safe.

why would you need more than one class and how is there more than one belt if this is the only technique you need.

its the revoloution.

Also, as if someone would pull guard in a streetfight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lw7l4SKyh1c&NR=1

how good is this one, handshake defense.... Part II of hello hows it going defense. And next week, phonecall defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Power Chords

Having watched a few of his clips it's obvious that they're geared towards kids aged about 7, he states this at some point. I wouldn't underestimate the effect of a good pinch, lots of nerve endings near the skin, get close to a deeper nerve and it can be fairly effective.
    Probably not as effective as a good armbar or choke hold but just 'cos it's not part of mma training doesn't mean it's useless and bare in mind it is geared towards kids, last thing ya want is little Johnny trying an arm bar and givin' somebody 'Saturday night palsy' because he busted Timmy's axialliary nerve or gettin himself mangled 'cos he couldn't finish the move effectively.

if its geared towards little kids then this is worse again. Apart from the fact that i don't believe in teaching self defenc to kids, if the above posters have asserted that a grown man pinching an attacker is not an effective method of sd, then how will it work for a 7 year old

Because 7 year olds are not pumped full of testoterone and adrenaline. It's effective for long enough to allow escape which he also points out on one of his clips nd gives them the chance to get offside. Wouldn't be my first move but for a 7 year old it's better than pounding another kid in the face possibly scarrin' him or her for life or bustin' his nuts for life. Both cases I've come across examples.
    But like I said for me, pinching is reserved for my girlfriend, or if I'm in one of the mma guards...:D

I assumed you were talking about a 7 year old defending hin or herself from an adult attacker.

It is twice as stupid to teach kids how to fight other kids in the schoolyard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

Just coz he has no hair to pull.

Came across this while looking at it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wj9GS64J7HA&NR=1

its either a tazer knife or a disco knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

lol @ the sneaky bitchslap he gives him before he pulls his hair.

Kids bully kids, unfortunate fact of life and the simple pinch is an effective way or gettin themselves (kids) out of danger without causing any real damage to other kids, which I think isn't too bad considering the alternatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

bullys need punching, also unfortunate but true:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Because 7 year olds are pumped full of testoterone and adrenaline.
    Who pumped them full of that?!

typo, that's meant to say not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

if i remember correctly there's a technique in kenpo to escape from a headlock that has a pinch in it.....

They were fond of their pinches alright. Can't remember what the technique it was called now.

"escape from Death", was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Baggio... wrote: »
    They were fond of their pinches alright. Can't remember what the technique it was called now.

"escape from Death", was it?

Eh something like that....grasp of death i think could be it.... i hated that thing.... it used to work on me purely cos i always found myself relaxed when training with complient attackers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

So let me sum up, and you can all correct me if I'm wrong:

Learning the sporting techniques of Judo, BJJ, Sambo and Wrestling = wrong for a child

Teaching a child to pinch, twist skin and pull hair= right for a child

Hmmmm. I'd like some of the kid's coaches opinions on this, but my experience has been that kids who are being bullied respond best to confidence building exercises such as sports or activities, not neccessarily learning how to defeat the bully by pinching, hitting, kicking etc.

I know most of you don't have kids, but realistically, what would you want your kid to think he was being bullied? "I have to beat this kid up, otherwise I won't be happy", or "I don't care what he does to me, he's just an idiot and a bully"

Obviously that simplifies it a lot, but to bring it into reality a bit; I have a kid in my class who is extremely quiet and absolutely non-aggressive! He's a great kid but it's hard to get him to even race other kids because he's so gentle, he doesn't want to beat them! Anyway his mother told me that another child on his road had been "sitting on him" (ie. mount position) when they played on the green in their estate. That's a real expression of dominance by a child. I can hold you down, I am bigger, stronger etc. It's not neccessarily bullying it's just the way kids interact sometimes. Anyway, this had been happening for ages until one day her son did a perfect mount escape while she was watching that we had done a few weeks before in class. She watched on for another while and the other kid tried it again, with the same result. Since then he hasn't tried it once and the two guys get on like a house on fire. No biting, no pinching, no hair pulling.

I understand that there are adults out there whose lives have been wrecked by bullying and by nasty people who get their confidence from making others feel small. But those people never go away, they're in the workplace, in car parks, in the cinema. You know... ar5eholes. Real confidence doesn't come by smacking them one, or being taught that you can always poke them in the eye.

firstly, to roper, thanks for saying what i wanted to say, but was to lazy to articulate

secondly, since th first clip went down so well, here's another. Not the same guys, but the same concepts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH7Z4ZpeD94

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

cletus wrote: »
    firstly, to roper, thanks for saying what i wanted to say, but was to lazy to articulate

secondly, since th first clip went down so well, here's another. Not the same guys, but the same concepts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH7Z4ZpeD94
    Will be trying this one out tomorrow night for sure! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

cletus wrote: »
    Forget about guard-passing, hell forget about technique

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdRJDjUe8II

LOL cletus tried that s**t on me and it reeeeallllllly works :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Roper wrote: »
    ...but my experience has been that kids who are being bullied respond best to confidence building exercises such as sports or activities, not neccessarily learning how to defeat the bully by pinching,

Real confidence doesn't come by smacking them one, or being taught that you can always poke them in the eye.

You're spot on there Roper. I think confidence repels potential bullies in the first place, I wonder is there some sort of anti- bully programme that takes this line?

Valmont wrote: »
    You're spot on there Roper. I think confidence repels potential bullies in the first place

True... Confidence goes a lot further than a few sneaky tricks will.