Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannabis

• 06-05-2008 8:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Im 27 and Ive been smokin blow / grass daily for the past 10 years and i really really want to stop but its just so hard. I know you might say stop being an idiot that its not physically addictive but i just cant stop. Ive given up a couple of time in the past, the most successful stint off it was last year i was "off" it for about three months...id have the odd one here or there but eventually i just caved in n started smoking it again. All around me i have people smoking it and its just so hard to be in a social situation and passed a joint and refuse it...i cant do it. I have been sick for the past couple of years but im over that now and id really like to get some fitness back but i feel that if i packed in the smokin that i could really give it a go.

Has anybody been in a situation like this? Anyone any advice?
    Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Kelly O'Malley

I heard somewhere that cannabis has higher nicotine levels than tobacco.You might try the patches.

And start going places where the smokers aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Hi mate,

I had the same problem, smoking for years on a daily basis, it is mentaly addictive as in you may not be shaking and gagging but your mind wants that high, Maybe join a gym or kickboxing/social club and keep your mind off it. I did this and found the days flying by during the week keep active, have my fitness back and my mind clear...I still smoke on the weekends when i'm with the lads etc but the rest of time I focus. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I heard somewhere that cannabis has higher nicotine levels than tobacco.You might try the patches.

And start going places where the smokers aren't.

The first comment is pseudo-science and un-true. If you mix your hash with tobacco chances are you are addicted to the tobacco as well as the high.

For me the hardest thing about stopping smoking weed etc is dealing with the boredom that follows as its so easy to sit around doing nothing when you get baked but when I'm sober its harder to do nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭LaVidaLoca

I heard somewhere that cannabis has higher nicotine levels than tobacco

Higher TAR levels than tobacco. No nicotine unless you mix it with tobacco.

Giving up weed should be no more diffcult than giving up any other crappy habit.

But you'll have to give up the things that go with it: Cannabis makes boring things interesting. So Pink Floyd will no longer sound like the greatest band in the universe. Your stoner friends will no longer sound insightful and perceptive, and so on.

All you have to do is go and find real things to replace this with.

The first comment is pseudo-science and untrue. If you mix your hash with tobacco chances are you are addicted to the tobacco as well as the high.
    Not surprised to hear it.So much bs has been said about the demon weed...I saw a priest on TV when I was a young'un warning that it could be put in our drink at parties and we'd get addicted...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Stop being around other people who smoke. Move away. Full stop.

This will make it far easier, you'll be wasting your time otherwise. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Putting it in drink at parties and becoming addicted - that is the worst statement i've ever heard, just like any other drug- such as alchohol, weed is fine once controlled...when it takes over your life it's a problem, I know people who are addicted to the Xbox 360, should we slip that in peoples drinks and make that illegal aswell. I'm not starting another boards cannabis arguement but come on. OP take the advice of getting active and finding other outlets when you are bored.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Putting it in drink at parties and becoming addicted - that is the worst statement i've ever heard, .

Dunno about the 'worst'. I watched Ronnie Reagan (PRE Alzheimers) stand up before the United Nations assembly and state "This planet aint big enough for two super powers"

The first is just silly,the second was scary!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 oldhairyman

been smoking weed daily for almost 8 years now and its got to the point where i need to quit but everytime i try to, my head just comes up with excuses not to give it up. ive tried so many times to give up, the most recent time being last week and i failed.
    what im trying to do now and maybe you could try the same is to give it up during the week and smoke at weekends only. its tough i know but if you keep yourself busy during the week by going to the gym every evening or cinema, and this way you can spend the week looking forward to the weekend.
    The advantages of this are that you wont be as dependant, lazy or do as much damage to yourself plus you'l be way more motivated and once you smoke at the weekend it'l make u much more high as you wont have a tolerance built up to the weed, and by cutting down on the stuff you'l one day be able to quit. Well thats all the excuses my head thought up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Buddy, I know exactly what you are talking about and went through it all a few years ago.
    I always find it funny that poeple say it's "not addictive" and I've been in many discussions on Boards to explain that it is.
    First off, good man you've recognised it's a problem. It took me over a year of having to smoke alone because it made me too paranoid to be around people to cop on.

To be honest it got easy for me because my dealer stopped dealing so unless I tried really hard I couldn't get any. So I stopped trying. Also, most of my friends didn't smoke, and it became rarer and rarer at parties I went to - so I lucked out.

All I can say is: just avoid it, but I know how hard that is and I know how hard it is to refuse it, but you'll be a whole lot better off in the long run.
    Best of luck with it. And feel free to PM me if you want to ask me any questions, or if there is anything I can do to help.

It's not PHYSICALLY addictive Zulu - but I agree with you,it can be addictive emotionally.(It's not so for everyone thank heavens)

No one with a true addiction gets clean because it's 'hard' to score!

A habit doesn't have to give you physical withdrawal symptoms to be painful to kick.

Every heroin addict I've known that managed to come off included distancing themselves from the scene as part of the cure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Nice one for all the replies...i was pretty sure i wasnt alone. My life is pretty messed up at the moment and a to have a clear head would at least be a start. Im definitely gona go down the fitness route..I have been joggin a fair bit lately and im trying to get back into the footy. I used to smoke before and during work but ive knocked that on the head. I do find that in certain situations i 'need' a joint like if im playing the computer, playing golf, watching films or going for a long drive. Il give it a shot at cutting down to just smokin on the wkends for starters and then hopefully i can cut it out altogether.

I havent smoked ciggies since the smokin ban came in...only in joints...but id smoke a few joints a day so i reckon im addicted to nicotine still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 ciakee

I have to say, if giving up weed is anything like giving up smoking, I totally understand your plight! It's a tougher one again I'm sure because smoking a cigarette does SFA for you, absolutely nothing, but smoking a joint on the other hand will wipe you out so unlike smoking you are actually giving oup something that's genuinely enjoyable to you.

The only thing I would say is to the people who say that they only smoke at the weekends.....fair play, I could never have that self control. I always feel though only allowing yourself to smoke once a week is going to be far worse than not smoking at all, because all week long are you not going to be wishing your life away so you can light up on Fri eve? Me personally I think there's only one way to do it and thats to quit completely.

Cigarettes ARE addictive physically.Giving up weed is easier in that respect but as you point out it's a more rewarding drug.
    Giving up chocolate can be tricky too...

It's not PHYSICALLY addictive Zulu - but I agree with you,it can be addictive emotionally.(It's not so for everyone thank heavens)
    Kevin, I didn't suggest it was physically addictive. I said it was addictive. It is. Why try and nit-pick after that?
    No one with a true addiction gets clean because it's 'hard' to score!
    I don't know where to start with this. Firstly, you are suggesting that I'm either lying, or that I have a "false" addiction. Which is it?
    Secondly I didn't say I "got clean" because I couldn't "score". I said it helped. It did.
    Every heroin addict I've known that managed to come off included distancing themselves from the scene as part of the cure.
    Why is that iI wonder, perhaps making it hard to "score" helps then? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

I did this a few years back and here is what i learned.

• Let your mates know your giving up and your serious and not to pass it to you
    • Get active. The less time you have sitting about the less you'll be inclined to smoke.
    • Be prepared for a week of no sleep. Doctor may be willing to help with sleeping tablets. May be worth having a chat with him.
    • Now is a very good time to take a holiday for a week or two to a country where dope is hard to find e.g.(Sweden). (Morocco and Amsterdam are a bad idea)
    • If you smoke cigarettes continue to smoke normally. I didn't so i just stopped cold.
    • Avoid the circle of friends who play puff puff pass for a week or two.

The easy way to do this is to fill your time with quality activities stuff you like doing that will keep your mind off it. Its not that hard but i suggest something that will tire you out as sleep or difficulty sleeping is a real pain.

Best of luck

Cigarettes ARE addictive physically.Giving up weed is easier in that respect but as you point out it's a more rewarding drug.
    Giving up chocolate can be tricky too...
    Do you care to back that statement up with anything other that here say and speculation?

Personally, I found giving up smokes far, far, far easier than giving up the smoke as it were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Make sure that you are not using it to self medicate for other things.
    Try take a look at the reasons which push you to have a joint to chill and trying find a different way of dealing with them and if needs be go talk to someone about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Cannabis is defintely a very underestimated drug regarding its addictiveness and problems it causes in life. Because the problems arent so in your face I dont think people recognise them enough. I have a mate who lost all ability to socialise, wasnt working and spent all his days smoking weed. He started getting way too paranoid as well. Its grand for a few years if ya get me but then one day I realise this guy is really a bit more messed up than I thought.
    The problem is it kills all motivation and ambition - the very thing you need to give up.
    This same guy eventually started trying everything from throwing a block of hash over the bridge into the river to destroying a half of a smoked joint. This is easy to do while stoned you see.
    He eventually gave up by getting through the first few days by avoiding people that he got it from and kept himself exteremely busy after that, he still smokes the fags which might help a bit,but when i meet him now hes quite a cheerful enjoyable lad to hang about with, hes been off it around 8 or 9 months now.

best of luck OP, its all mental and you just need to stop thinking about giving up and just do it.

Zulu wrote: »
    Kevin, I didn't suggest it was physically addictive. I said it was addictive. It is. Why try and nit-pick after that? quote

Because the difference is important.

I don't know where to start with this. Firstly, you are suggesting that I'm either lying, or that I have a "false" addiction. Which is it? quote

Neither.

Secondly I didn't say I "got clean" because I couldn't "score". I said it helped. It did. quote

I've misphrased my post - instead of 'true' addiction I should have said 'physical'

Why is that iI wonder, perhaps making it hard to "score" helps then? :rolleyes:quote

It isn't the difficulty in scoring that helps,it's the distance from other users,the constant reminders of the 'joys' of the drug.

Sorry to have upset you Zulu.No offence was intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Some of these posts are great stuff..thanks again. Yea i have absolutely no motivation or ambition in life..jesus..ive been stuck in de same poxy job for the past 7 years without a promotion or doing an evening course that the job pay for..cant really put it down to blow but im sure it has contributed greatly. It has cost me a hell of a lot of money if i think about it..like id get thru an ounce of blow in a wk no bother..€100, then theres the odd bag of weed when i can get my hands on it..€100 bag wud only last 2 maybe 3 days..ciggies arent cheap nowadays either. Wow..im not even gona do the maths to see how much i have wasted on this krap.

It's so important that you get away from other cannabis smokers, your friuends are enablers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Has-Head....very similar situation to your-self for about 2 years. It is addictive. I don't know how or why but i can totally understand where you are coming from. One of the hardest parts of giving up for me was that all my mates smoked too. I had no motivation, no desire and suffered bouts of depression. I used to sit stoned out of my tree for days at end. I would not even enjoy the high because i was smoking because it kept boredom at bay and helped me avoid my problems. I found it a vicious circle. I would beat myself up for being stoned and then i would get paranoid about not doing enough with my life and then i would say to myself i was going to stop, but that wouldn't last long as when you come out of being continuously stoned it takes a while for your mind to clear and get some motivation back in yourself.
    So i would start to smoke again because the high was better than walking around depressed for a week.

It came to a stage where i was about to lose my girlfriend, my course everything so i cut all my friends out of my life. I stayed at home for a week, and just watched TV and took the dogs for walks. After the first week i called my friends and told them what i was doing and that i wouldn't be in touch for a while. I threw myself into college and work and sports for the next month and built up a new circle of friends. I eventually ended up moving out of the country but not as a result of smoking.

I would say this. If YOU really want to stop. You have to alter or confiscate all the things you associated with smoking. Take time away from parties, friends everything that would influence your determination to stop. Join clubs, take up hobbies. Move away.

Too many of my friends (yes i have not lost my friends) are stuck where they were. No motivation and no spark in their lives. They smoke all the time.

1 year later i am glad i stopped, i dread to think of what could have happened. And twice in the last year i have been able to enjoy a really great high with some new friends and some great grass!!

Good luck!:)

Zulu you are incredible.Literally.

Get your google out and look it up.

My OPINION (purely personal based on experience and observation) is that the weed is the symptom not the disease.

As to addiction status (physical) of the two drugs,tobacco and cannabis - the medical findings are a matter of public record.

Of course it's not unknown for scientists to be wrong...

xx Kevin

Because the difference is important.
    Why? I find too often that this is the single excuse to defend the "merits" of smoking the drug, and belittle those that maintain that it can be destructive; that it can be addictive.
    I draw this conclusion from the many discussions I've had on Boards about the drug.

From the point of the OP, what's important is that it is addictive, and that he has recognised this. So unless you intend to give advice as to the treatment of the addiction, I fail to see how the type of addiction is relevant.
    Sorry to have upset you Zulu.No offence was intended.
    None taken, and I apologise if my rebuttal was overly aggressive, but I've seen too many of this type of thread hijacked by the "hash isn't addictive" lobby to count, and I wanted to ensure you weren't going down that road.

Not a road I travel.

As a former smoker I get asked by a lot of kids for advice on use of the weed.WITHOUT exception I advise against it - but I don't b.s. them.

And I have already given OP my 10 cents worth on how to stop.

Zulu you are incredible.Literally.
    Why don't you point out what you can't believe, and I'll see if I can clear it up a little.
    Get your google out and look it up.
    Look what up?
    My OPINION (purely personal based on experience and observation) is that the weed is the symptom not the disease.
    Ok, whats the disease? And how well do you know the OP that you feel you can assert that?
    As to addiction status (physical) of the two drugs,tobacco and cannabis - the medical findings are a matter of public record.
    And OT here. The OP is looking for personal help on their addiction.
    We are all agreed it's an addiction. Why hijack the thread?
    xx Kevin
    Kisses :confused: You do know I'm a man?

Sorry we appear to be posting at the same time: in your last post, are you suggesting that I'm bullshitting?

Zulu wrote: »
    Why don't you point out what you can't believe, and I'll see if I can clear it up a little.
    Look what up?
    Ok, whats the disease? And how well do you know the OP that you feel you can assert that?
    And OT here. The OP is looking for personal help on their addiction.
    We are all agreed it's an addiction. Why hijack the thread?
    Kisses :confused: You do know I'm a man?

Sorry we appear to be posting at the same time: in your last post, are you suggesting that I'm bullshitting?

Look up medical findings on cannabis and tobacco.
    I don't know OP at all and was speaking in general about cannabis 'addiction'
    Are we 'all' agreed it's an addiction he has?Perhaps you 'all' know OP well enough to gauge that but I'd be reluctant to make the assumption that he has anything more than a problem with self control/motivation.
    I had assumed you were a man - the arrogance is a dead giveaway:D:D:D
    A little misguided perhaps but a manure specialist no.Certainly a topic that presses your buttons!

xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

OP forget all this crap about if its an addiction or whatever. It's a personal issue. I fully understand how you feel. But some posters have given great advice. In particular the poster above my last post. Approach the peoblem in steps or stages. Plan what you are going to do while NOT stoned. I often did this while stoned, try and motivate myself and i would literaly end up forgetting what i had planned.

Main thing to do is to break the cycle and avoid old friends and places where you may encounter the drug. It could take up to 6 months or longer but every week gets easier and soon you will feel better and more proud of yourself which in turn will help you further and make the process easier. Seriously the first few weeks are the worst. DO NOT say to yourself "ah sure i'll have one"!!

Again Good luck. PM me if you want to talk as i know it can be lonely without drugs for a while.

A little misguided perhaps but a manure specialist no.Certainly a topic that presses your buttons!
    xx
    It is Kelly, because it's something I struggled with, personally. I when through what the OP is describing. I suffered because of it. I can sympathise.

Ordinarily I'd go through your post, and point out how you've still to provide any evidence back up your assertions, and that your snide comments are tediously childish, but I'll let it go.

Togster is completely correct it's a personal issue, and (OP) his advice is sound. The key is keeping out of the situations where it's being passed around. If you find smoke is being passed around in one room (of a party) try drinking in another - every little helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

OP try reading http://www.edas.org.au/docs/cannabis.pdf I've been meaning to read it myself but you know how it is! Best of luck OP, let us know how you get on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Z

im the same. Just quit this week.
    Finding it tough.
    Moving house and all, Im giving up a lot of friends for my quitting.
    It was a sociable thing, every day 4 or 7 of us in the house, out walking in the fields, down by the river, shopping in town. Always smoking ridiculous quantities of top grade canadian bubble powder hash, moroccan kief, dutch weed, etc.
    We are/were premo smokers and it genuinely got to the point where it takes the strongest stuff in the world to get me stoned.

I wish you luck bro, and hope Im out of it too.
    A weekend or irregular thing would be grand, its not that harmful for me, but damn its so expensive and takes so much time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

The hardest thing to do as well is giving up on those chocolate hob nobs
    and all those lovely munchies...
    midnight bowls of cornflakes...ah those were happy days...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Hob nob addictions are thataway
    >

On topic. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Nushooz

Hi Hash Head,

I´m not gonna get into the pros and cons of smoking cannabis, but having been clean from using mj for 13 months (after a serious long term habit, 16 yrs actually ), I´d like to recommend a website which you will find both useful and informative. There´s a lot of people going through the same thing, so if you´re interested check out www.uncommonforum.com

Click on the addictions section and you´ll find lots of tips on how to quit and a very supportive community, should you choose to join and contribute.

Wishing you all the very best on your journey,

Nushooz ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I smoked a lot less when i moved home, maybe move into a non smoking flat?

I have a rule now that I never buy hash, only weed. as it doesn't come around much I'm now smoking less, and when I do it's not as harsh on the lungs.

I think it's one of the most difficult things to quit because it's not like alcohol or heroin where one drink/hit could throw a recovering addict down the gutter, so there's always the voice saying "a little will do no harm"

It's also got the fun of being illegal on alcohol, it smells nice, it's very social.

Maybe talk to a counsellor, decide if you wanna go cold turkey or just smoke a lot less.

Go to the gym. Would recommend that above all other exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

kelly o'malley could you contiinue on in PM please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I'll re-iterate what most people have said about distancing yourself from your friends for a while. This is the most important thing, since it more than likely that smoking weed is the main thing that relates you to your friends at the moment.

I smoke a good bit myself, and so do a lot of my friends. Whenever I'm around them, I always feel the urge to skin up, and I sometimes find it hard to fall asleep at night if I'm not a little red-eyed. However, whenever I go home to my parents at the weekends, I never get the urge to get stoned, always stay sober and always sleep like a baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

ICD-10 Clinical description
    A cluster of physiological, behavioural, and cognitive phenomena in which the use of a substance or a class of substances takes on a much higher priority for a given individual than other behaviours that once had greater value. A central descriptive characteristic of the dependence syndrome is the desire (often strong, sometimes overpowering) to take psychoactive drugs (which may or may not have been medically prescribed), alcohol, or tobacco. There may be evidence that return to substance use after a period of abstinence leads to a more rapid reappearance of other features of the syndrome than occurs with nondependent individuals

ICD-10 Diagnostic guidelines
    A definite diagnosis of dependence should usually be made only if three or more of the following have been present together at some time during the previous year:

A strong desire or sense of compulsion to take the substance;
    Difficulties in controlling substance-taking behaviour in terms of its onset, termination, or levels of use;
    A physiological withdrawal state when substance use has ceased or have been reduced, as evidenced by: the characteristic withdrawal syndrome for the substance; or use of the same (or closely related) substance with the intention of relieving or avoiding withdrawal symptoms;
    Evidence of tolerance, such that increased doses of the psychoactive substance are required in order to achieve effects originally produced by lower doses (clear examples of this are found in alcohol- and opiate-dependent individuals who may take daily doses sufficient to incapacitate or kill nontolerant users);
    Progressive neglect of alternative pleasures or interests because of psychoactive substance use, increased amount of time necessary to obtain or take the substance or to recover from its effects;
    Persisting with substance use despite clear evidence of overtly harmful consequences, such as harm to the liver through excessive drinking, depressive mood states consequent to periods of heavy substance use, or drug-related impairment of cognitive functioning; efforts should be made to determine that the user was actually, or could be expected to be, aware of the nature and extent of the harm.

ICD-10 Diagnostic criteria for research
    Three or more of the following manifestations should have occurred together for at least 1 month or, if persisting for periods of less than 1 month, should have occurred together repeatedly within a 12-month period:

A strong desire or sense of compulsion to take the substance;
    Impaired capacity to control substance-taking behaviour in terms of its onset, termination, or levels of use, as evidenced by the substance being often taken in larger amounts or over a longer period than intended, or by a persistent desire or unsuccessful efforts to reduce or control substance use;
    A physiological withdrawal state when substance use is reduced or ceased, as evidenced by the characteristic withdrawal syndrome for the substance, or by use of the same (or closely related) substance with the intention of relieving or avoiding withdrawal symptoms;
    Evidence of tolerance to the effects of the substance, such that there is a need for significantly increased amounts of the substance to achieve intoxication or the desired effect, or a markedly diminished effect with continued use of the same amount of the substance;
    Preoccupation with substance use, as manifested by important alternative pleasures or interests being given up or reduced because of substance use; or a great deal of time being spent in activities necessary to obtain, take or recover from the effects of the substance;
    Persistent substance use despite clear evidence of harmful consequences as evidenced by continued use when the individual is actually aware, or may be expected to be aware, of the nature and extent of harm.

To the op read the above if you see yourself the I would suggest professional help, weed can be a insidious and difficult drug to come off and a lot of treatment professions don't even acknowledge it. If you want to stop and can't see a good psychotherapist or counsellor. If you are interested pm me and I might know some one in you area. Either way best of luck with it.

Thank you very much for that Odysseus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

It's so important that you get away from other cannabis smokers, your friuends are enablers.

That might not be necessary.

@ OP - I was in the same boat as you til the start of the year, after smoking dope and cigs for 11/12 years. I got sick of the fags and quit them, the dope smoking followed suit because I wanted to keep the tobacco away from me and hash is easier to get where I come from.

The majority of my friends smoke it and I'm in regular contact with them - they are all in awe and congratulating me on getting off the cigs and dope; at the end of the day, you're responsible for what you get upto - you're friends will understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Daisy B

I had to reply to this thread as it reminded me of my brothers situation. He smoked hash every day for the last 12 years, and in that time, he gradually went from the person I knew, to a moody, anti social grump.
    He spent all his time in his room, smoking, rarely a smile on his face. It happened so gradually over the years, that I barely noticed how much he had changed.
    It's a good news story though, he gave up completely 10 months ago. He's still off it, and I can't get over the change in him, he's the person I grew up with again.
    OP, I don't know if your situation is like my brothers, and I know most hash users seem to think it has no impact on any part of their lives, as did my brother until he gave up, but spending as much time as you seem to be, just smoking, can't be good for yourself or your personal relationships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Hi OP. I find when i want a break from the smoke is to simply get active. Get away from your friends and routines that let you get stoned. Gym, Study, DVDs, Work etc. just find a routine that means you cant smoke.

Easier said then done but sitting around not smoking wondering what to do is the hard part, especially when it seems easier to get weed.