Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Garden... What shall I do..

Options
  • 05-05-2008 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭

Ok, So its my first time ever to have a garden... Grew up in a council flat, spent my teens in an apartment in the city centre, First home away from parents was an apartment and now finally I have my house and Garden..

I have wanted this space for so long and now I dont know what to do with it... I would love to have it looking pretty with some nice bright flowers, at present the garden consists of grass and one of those trees that bloosem with pink flowers in spring/summer... Sorry haven't a clue what its called..

So I was just wondering could anyone recommend something that is pretty, bright, medium maintence and if possible blooms more than once over the years... As I said I know nothing about gardening or plants but would love to explore my green finger side lol :p

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I think the treee is a Cherry Blossom.
    Anyway you can not go wrong with roses, Also Geraniums. Im not a gardener but they are the obvious ones to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭hairymolly

Try shrubs, fruit bushes for starters. I buy all my plants and trees in lidl. Very cheap and hardy. April 2007 I planted lidl apple trees and got fruit end of season. Not bad for starters, also try planting in containers, that way you can move the plants around until you find a space in the garden where they look good. Enjoy the fruits of your labour.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Which way does your garden face?