Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Station..

• 04-05-2008 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

what do ye lads think is the best station(s) in the DMR for a probationer and why? hoping to get DMRNC or DMRSC during the summer myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

what do ye lads think is the best station(s) in the DMR for a probationer and why? hoping to get DMRNC or DMRSC during the summer myself.

Ballyfermot DMR(W)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Holy sweet ****! :eek:

Cannot believe such a statement. Yes both are busy and you will see a lot but the reality is you will see too much, be overworked, underappreciated and just a number.

All you will get is no time for dissertation and diary because your upto your tits in cases, court and forced overtime (Friday and Saturday nights) in C and B district.

D district you get station then court then station again then court again, its a horrible station to work in.

Only places worth going to is either is the U or the A. What you want is a station thats not overly strict and allows for you being new and having study crap to do. Which also has a decent amount of crime to investigate without being swamped with rubbish.

Ronanstown, Leixlip or Santry would be good overall but dont underestimate quiet spots like the airport or cabra for phase 4.

Need to also add, beware the dreaded Court supervision which you are always guilty unless your excuse is your dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Lads would you mind translating?

Are you referring to garda Trainee placement ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

probabtioner would be a garda trainee who has been attested and is given Garda powers. Probabtioner / phase 4 station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

while north & south central would be good for experience you would be too busy to look after your diary, dissertation ect. your better off out of the city centre,
    also once your in store street or pearse street your there for life !!!!!! or a good few years anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

I can back up what the lads say about working central locations. Its the same here and yep you'll be busy, yep you'll get massive exposure to critical incidents (shootings, stabbings, murders etc) and while it seems like a bright idea as a probie; 'I want the busiest station/sector to show em what I've got', in reality its not always the best to learn the trade.

Quite simply you will be just a number and will be inundated with work and will get feck all thanks for your efforts. People around you will be too busy to take much of an interest in how you're getting on and you may find less of a support network than you would in a station thats in the suburbs or country.

I always wanted to work in a busy central area but am seriously considering a move to somewhere outside of the smog where I can have more of an impact on crime that means something to real victims. Where I work now you are only as good as your last shift, be that as a uniform officer or a detective. The volume of crime is vast and often its hard to differentiate victim from scumbag as more often than not the victim has as long a sheet as the suspect. Serving officers will know what I'm talking about.

Think carefully about where you want to start out your career. You've 30 years to work your way into Store Street or Pearse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Metman said all that I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

if you want somewhere you can get everything done.....try donnybrook..... lots of posts and plenty of time to do your dissertation