Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early morning flights?

• 03-05-2008 4:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭

Ok so you are flying out early in the morning(early meaning before 9), and aren't the best in the way of morning motivation, what do you do? Do you got out and get buckled, go to the airport risk being turned away and sleep for the duration of the flight or are you more of the opinion that sleeping will make you fresh for the journey ahead? Just out of interest, I am currently buckled facing a check in in about 2 hours, but at least I'm awake!

Early morning flight options 79 votes

Go out on the piss all night and go straight to the airport(at least you'll be awake in some way)
    0% 0 votes
    A proper nights sleep will keep you fresh for the long day ahead
    21% 17 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    78% 62 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

A couple of hours sleep and then another kip on the plane generally does the trick for me anyway. I wouldnt be the biggest fan of getting locked and going tothe plane. I've seen far too many drunken gits shouting throughout hte whole flight and acting the plank to even consider it.

A buddy of mine tried the drink all night approach while we were in Poland, I went to bed and left him to it. Woke up to have him slurring proudly to tell me he had just polished off a half bottle of vodka. We got to the airport and he barely gets his tickets. Proceeds to loose his boarding pass and is threated with not being left on the plane. On the bus on the way out to board one of the lads gives him some alka seltzers to see if they try to sober him up of course normal sense doesnt register here and he tries to eat them without dissolving hem first. Cue him arriving at the plane foaming at the mouth. The hostess' kept coming over to him and asking if he was alright for the whoel flight. So much so the rest of us had to sit away from him so we could get some sleep.

So in short, no, no drink for me the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

usually I spend the all nighter packing my things - im just that way. On one special occassion it was my friend's 21st so yes I got langers drunk off the open bar(!!!!) and stank of whiskey for the whole of the next day. There is nothing quite like sleeping it off on a trans antlantic flight let me tell you. Just make sure you are functional enough for the security and check-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I did the drinking all night thing, well, it was drinking til 2/2.30 our flight was at 6 and we had to be at the airport for 4am or something... all that was fine, I wasn't very drunk checking in, just nicely happy.

We checked in, boarded the plane, no problems. Now I'm getting a little tired though, but I'm very excited about going to Portugal so I stay awake. 20 minutes from the airport, we could see the sunshine, I was so excited.... "Ladies and Gentlemen, due to technical difficulties we'll be turing around and going back to Manchester".

At this point my hangover is kicking in, there are people trying NOT to panic all over the place, and all I wanted to do was sleep. We spent 8 hours in Gatwick airport (we ended up landing there instead) and we finally got to get on the plane again and get to our destination. This is after having been awake for so long and hungover and tired, I'd recommend the sleep, just in case :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Go to bed, get up early. Start drinking once you get to the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

one of my friends did the all night drinking thing, she wasn't a happy bunny come 7am when we met her in the airport :)

personally i could never do that, i need my sleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

sleep big time, you'll be wrecked staying up all night and you'll spend the first day of your holiday sleeping which will probably put your internal clock out of whack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I'd opt for not drinking the night before, grabbing a few hours kip, and then a couple more hours whilst on the plane.
    I just couldn't face the airport drunk, or with a hangover. That place can crazy enough to handle whilst sober.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Definitely sleep. Flying to California last year, we had to check in at 4am. There wasn't even a thought of drinking! I was in bed by about 10 (although I was too excited to sleep). I stayed too excited to sleep for the next 24 hours of travelling that it took to finally get to our house, and then we started drinking. Of course, we were all locked after 2 beers and stumbled off to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Hangover + long haul flight = pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I was just advised to go to the (proposed) Galway beers before my early flight in a couple of weeks and get drunk with them, followed by a drunken escort to the bus.

Personally, I try to sleep but I never do so I just suffer through. I'm not a morning person unless I'm excited about something so getting an early flight tends not to bother me too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'd stay up but I wouldn't drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I'm one of those fools who drinks the night before an early flight. Always a laugh. Next one shall be fun anyway, but its not an early flight(will seem like it tho). I never mind being tired on flights anyway, plus early flights cabe cheapest, so its always handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

The thought of forkin out money to Michael O'Leary for another flight is enough motivation for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I have tried the stay up all night drinking option and it isn't much fun the next day. Sleep ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

We're flying early to New York soon, i couldn't imagine being hungover on the plane. I'll be too excited to sleep so i'd say up all night but not drinking, maybe packing and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Ok so you are flying out early in the morning(early meaning before 9), and aren't the best in the way of morning motivation, what do you do? Do you got out and get buckled, go to the airport risk being turned away and sleep for the duration of the flight or are you more of the opinion that sleeping will make you fresh for the journey ahead? Just out of interest, I am currently buckled facing a check in in about 2 hours, but at least I'm awake!

I normally have to wake for work at 6:30 so what is the difference.

Last time Ida flight at 10:30am I was up by 5am, had two beers in my house with my mate before the taxi more ceremonial/traditional than anything!

Airport bar is a bastard. Im trying hard to recall the exact situation now but I think it was that the bar in the open area of the airport wont serve anyone who doesnt have a boarding pass before 8am or something. Problem being that because my flight was at 10:30 odd they wouldnt give out the boarding passes until 8:30 or something. And without a pass I cant enter the secure area of the airport where the bar is open 24/7 :mad:

Do many people get stopped from boarding flights for being drunk? How drunk, exactly?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

shane86 wrote: »
    Do many people get stopped from boarding flights for being drunk? How drunk, exactly?

I'd say you'd have to be very obviously drunk and causing a scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I flew over to Dublin two weeks ago on a 6.50 am flight .The idea was i would arrive in dublin with a full day ahead of me so extra time to do stuff. Thing was i didint allow for not sleeping to good the night before ( due to the usual restlesness / will i wake up in time and get to airport worries ? ) so by the time i settled into my Dublin accomadation at about 10.00 i was feeling the effects of my previous sleepless night and so decided to nap for a few hrs which was great , however i think next time i will fly on the later 10.35 flight .Getting up at 8am is much better than waking up at 4am (after no sleep ) to catch a flight. :)
    Originally Posted by shane86

Had one hairy expierence with a drunken stag party group who imo should not have being allowed board the plane due to their intimadating behaviour towards other passengers before and during flight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Moriarty wrote: »
    Hangover + long haul flight = pain

+ if your flying ryanair extremely annoying jingle music to make hangover worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

If I'm flying anywhere early it tends to be for work, so no to the drinking.

My last two early morning flights have been to London and to New York.

Got a few hours sleep before heading to London, then it was a long day of a meeting and a tour that ended up with a meal and some drinks, then some more drinks and we got to bed at 3am.

The New York flight, I didn't bother going to bed as I had to be up at 4.30am but I started to regret it when I had to queue for about an hour at immigration in Dublin. I got a bit of shuteye in a business class seat but there were two annoying teenagers (don't know how they got in there) across from me and I couldn't really get any proper sleep.

It was better when I was on a uni trip to New York. Went to the pub the night before, didn't really get any sleep, drank some wine on the plane over, out every night til 3am and 4am in NY, and drank some wine on the plane back as well. They were the days. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Last couple of early morning flights I took, I was so conscious of having to get up early that I didn't fall asleep at all. I normally power-nap on the plane. That is if I don't have stupid berks sitting nearby who've never been an aeroplane before and are doing a running commentary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

If I'm going long haul I'll generally stay up all night with a few beers, at the most have 2 hrs kip - throw some g+t's in at the airport - as soon as I'm on the plane, pop a sleeper and bobs yer uncle.

It's a great feeling waking up after a 12 hour flight not remembering taking off in the first place.

I can never understand the concept of getting drunk before you get on a plane? For me I would make sure everything is fully packed, get what sleep I can, go to the airport, and then have a good sleep on the plane.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Well option one will get you arrested haha!

rory1983 wrote: »
    + if your flying ryanair extremely annoying jingle music to make hangover worse

Yeah plus the tinyness of the plane equals sicky feeling que you trying to figure out when the aisle is free enough to run down the plane to vomit when you just know everyone knows what your running to do:D

Drink not recommended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

8 of us flew from Dublin to Rome in October and our flight out was aout 6:30 so we'd to check-in at 4am ... We went up from Kerry and Cork and were at the airport at 11:30pm the night before ! The place was crazy busy, jammered upstairs with people sleeping on the chairs and couches. Security seemed uneasy that night for some reason (often flew to/from Dublin and never saw them that anxious over anything) and they were getting all hot and heavy with a stag party who were also at the airport, only some of whom were drinking! We thought it best to just catch a few zzzzzzzz's and wake about 2 for some coffee...

Defo right option cause as soon as we checked into hotel in Rome we went looking for the Irish pubs...we'd had our sleep, we'd ad our cafeine and we were good to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I did the drinking whole night thing before boarding a 8 o clock plane to London for a footie match, I would not recommend it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

I usually get a good night's sleep and then regret it when I'm bored on the plane :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I've been on quite a few early flights. You just go to bed as early as possible, and try and sleep. Your excitement (if it's a holiday anyway) will keep you peppy.

When we go to Portugal for our summer hol, our flight leaves at 5.20am. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Go to bed, get up early. Start drinking once you get to the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

kerry4sam wrote: »
    8 of us flew from Dublin to Rome in October and our flight out was aout 6:30 so we'd to check-in at 4am ... We went up from Kerry and Cork and were at the airport at 11:30pm the night before ! The place was crazy busy, jammered upstairs with people sleeping on the chairs and couches. Security seemed uneasy that night for some reason (often flew to/from Dublin and never saw them that anxious over anything) and they were getting all hot and heavy with a stag party who were also at the airport, only some of whom were drinking! We thought it best to just catch a few zzzzzzzz's and wake about 2 for some coffee...

Defo right option cause as soon as we checked into hotel in Rome we went looking for the Irish pubs...we'd had our sleep, we'd ad our cafeine and we were good to go :D

You could have saved yourself a lot of hassle, there's plenty of Irish pubs in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Cianos wrote: »
    You could have saved yourself a lot of hassle, there's plenty of Irish pubs in Ireland

No. There are plenty of pubs in Ireland that could just as easily be in some random suburb of London or Manchester. I always head straight to the Irish pub when abroad, great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Different when you've got 3 kids, can't go on the p*ss the night before. We'll get everything ready and the bags in the car, all go to bed early (got a 7am flight in july for Spain), bundle them in the car and set off hoping they'll get a little more sleep in the car so they won't be contrary at the airport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

head out, few drinks, nothing much then airport but your not bad so your grand for hangovers and all and security arent pissy with you either(because they are working at 5am..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

shane86 wrote: »
    No. There are plenty of pubs in Ireland that could just as easily be in some random suburb of London or Manchester. I always head straight to the Irish pub when abroad, great craic.

Used to do that - got fed up with english owned plastic leprechaun exhibitions:pac:

I prefer the 'local' bars - much more craic.