Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Objects thrown at football games.

• 02-05-2008 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭

I'm getting very surprised at the range of objects thrown at GAA matches this year.

First it was a coin and a wooden spoon. (Well I saw a man throw a match program onto the pitch in a fit of rage at a refereeing decision at last year's Ulster Final)

Next we have a cup of tea and a pear, and now we have people chucking stones onto the pitch.

This seems to be getting out of hand, and it can only be a matter of time before someone gets injured.

Would there have been stones at that game, or would someone have had to bring the stone into the grounds for this puropse? If so, this is a very worrying development. I am not referring to any particular set of supporters, and hope that nobody thinks I am, but it is a worrying trend.

I hope that this doesn't continue, and that the GAA won't be forced to take drastic action that could ultimately end up reducing supporter's viewing pleasure at our great games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

What I want to know is why Mayo fans carry wooden spoons to games?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

TirEoghain wrote: »
    ...Would there have been stones at that game, or would someone have had to bring the stone into the grounds for this puropse? If so, this is a very worrying development. I am not referring to any particular set of supporters, and hope that nobody thinks I am, but it is a worrying trend.

Well in some of the grounds down this way their would be stones and gravel surface as you walk into the stand and/or terrace so it wouldn't be hard at all to find one, but why they are used i don't know. People have even been known to use plastic bottles aswell.

Don't think their is much that can be done about this ... If someone wanted to throw something, they would and doubt the people around them would stop them ... Unfortunately for one reason or another that's the way the game has gone. Don't think the GAA can be to blame for this as ultimately the onus is on the people attending and the stewards and guards to minimise/prevent the throwing of objects and they unfortunately can't get through to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

There are a few other things thrown, mainly on the pitch and a few on the sidelines. I am talking about things like tantrums. Matches are thrown away too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Don't think their is much that can be done about this ... If someone wanted to throw something, they would and doubt the people around them would stop them ... Unfortunately for one reason or another that's the way the game has gone. Don't think the GAA can be to blame for this as ultimately the onus is on the people attending and the stewards and guards to minimise/prevent the throwing of objects and they unfortunately can't get through to some people.

It's ridicles though, thats why we have an Eircom league- purely to to rid of people like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Flukey wrote: »
    There are a few other things thrown, mainly on the pitch and a few on the sidelines. I am talking about things like tantrums. Matches are thrown away too.:)

And the odd punch.. ;)

can anyone tell what good throwing a match programme would've been :confused:

...(Well I saw a man throw a match program onto the pitch in a fit of rage at a refereeing decision at last year's Ulster Final)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Obviously the referee would see this, and reverse his decision just to please the programme thrower. And then the linesman would retrieve the match programme and hand it back to the thrower while apologising for any distress caused.

:D:p ah jeez man, i should've thought of that ... makes perfect sense now :D

smashey wrote: »

have you ever considered asking a Mayo fan that question? I'd be curious to know what kind of response you'd get ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

have you ever considered asking a Mayo fan that question? I'd be curious to know what kind of response you'd get ;)

There is a mayo fan who dresses as st. patrick at every mayo game. he brings wooden spoons with him to beat his drum with. Some young lads robbed his spoon and thats how it ended up getting thrown on the pitch

met him once at a Kerry-Mayo match, he was a sound man :) a good laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

smashey wrote: »

On the subject of Mayo fans they threw a broken hurl at Kieran Donaghy who responded by single finger salute.When will those Mayo buckos learn to be like their lovely neighbours Galway.

who responded by single finger salute.

There's far too much of that going on. Mark Vaughan does it too (and I'm a Dub), I can't remember the names, but I've seen it often enough, especially at club games, surely this doesn't help crowd control?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Archebald

look nlets not get too worried about things being thrown a people on te pitch just yet ,,,this kinda stuff has been goin on for years and just coz donaghay or ciaran wheelan react to it doesnt mean its a new thing if u get my drift ,,obv sumthing will have to be done but wat exactly checking people as the they come in ,,,it will always happen and it wont stop now

Archebald wrote: »
    look nlets not get too worried about things being thrown a people on te pitch just yet ,,,this kinda stuff has been goin on for years and just coz donaghay or ciaran wheelan react to it doesnt mean its a new thing if u get my drift ,,obv sumthing will have to be done but wat exactly checking people as the they come in ,,,it will always happen and it wont stop now

Wheelen reacted?

are you a soccer hooligan- really I've never seen it before, and I don't want to see it.

You sound like you're threatening us.... "we ahem - I mean it won't stop now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

I remember being in croker for a league semi final between Monaghan and Derry ( think it was 93, not sure i was very young anyway) when someone threw a bottle from the top tier of the Hogan Stand so it's not nescesarily a new thing.

What is different however is that in that occasion everyone in the ground around the tool stood up and called the steward to have the tool removed. THis hasn't been happening lately which is a disgrace in itself. People need to take responsability to keepo our games clean. Thats why there are stewards in the game.

jethro081 wrote: »
    I remember being in croker for a league semi final between Monaghan and Derry ( think it was 93, not sure i was very young anyway) when someone threw a bottle from the top tier of the Hogan Stand so it's not nescesarily a new thing.

What is different however is that in that occasion everyone in the ground around the tool stood up and called the steward to have the tool removed. THis hasn't been happening lately which is a disgrace in itself. People need to take responsability to keepo our games clean. Thats why there are stewards in the game.

Actually I do rememver another time a full bottle of Lucozade knocked a steward out on the Cusack side last year I think, The whole crowd turned on him, he was carted off by the Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

We need to discuss this.I don't want to ever have to face off a Limerck fan after a riot breaks out at a match over stupidity like knackers throwing bottles on pitches.

P.S The Limerick fan was just an example and in real life Limerick people are kind,loving and beautiful people.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I saw a bottle being thrown onto the pitch at a Cavan vs. Down match in Breffni a few years back. It was a Cavan fan after a dirty challenge by one of the Down players in the corner. Didn't see what happened to the culprit afterwards though. I don't think much was done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Golferx

I don't see what the fuss is, the Dubs have been throwing tantrums on pitches for years! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Cliste wrote: »
    There's far too much of that going on. Mark Vaughan does it too (and I'm a Dub), I can't remember the names, but I've seen it often enough, especially at club games, surely this doesn't help crowd control?

Its balls to give out about the players giving back salutes and abuse etc, obviously its not good PR and looks bad, but do you agree with the abuse they receive? Why should it be all one way?
    Im not standing up for Vaughan or individual players here but respect needs to be on both sides.
    Even underage club games and the abuse that players used to get from opposition mammies and daddies is disgraceful.

gucci wrote: »
    Its balls to give out about the players giving back salutes and abuse etc, obviously its not good PR and looks bad, but do you agree with the abuse they receive? Why should it be all one way?
    Im not standing up for Vaughan or individual players here but respect needs to be on both sides.
    Even underage club games and the abuse that players used to get from opposition mammies and daddies is disgraceful.

I'm not defending the stuff that goes on in the crowd, it has to be stopped, I'm just saying that when players react its just fueling the fire.

Some players would run the country for a fight, and if supporters know they can annoy the opposition they will. All I'm saying is that a player gives the fingers to what is a mob, and then cries over them being aggressive, well what do you expect?

I'm not defending the stuff that goes on in the crowd, it has to be stopped, I'm just saying that when players react its just fueling the fire.

Some players would run the country for a fight, and if supporters know they can annoy the opposition they will. All I'm saying is that a player gives the fingers to what is a mob, and then cries over them being aggressive, well what do you expect?

I expect people to give the guy a break. They are only human after all. The terrace is an easy place for the cowards to hide and snipe at players who are trying their hardest (well mostly)

In reality what you say happens, people see that they can are genuinely annoying players and abuse them even more.

gucci wrote: »
    I expect people to give the guy a break. They are only human after all. The terrace is an easy place for the cowards to hide and snipe at players who are trying their hardest (well mostly)

I just don't like Mark Vaughen, he's not the greatest for Dublin (has his moments but...) and the in Club football he doesn't miss a thing (Against my club of course)

I dont have any love for the guy either, and i wasnt singling him out. It will take a somewhat serious incident involving a player/manager and a spectator before the GAA cop on and realise they have a problem with elements of crowds being complete tossers. Its a society thing that has been brewing for a long time, I know its not the GAAs problem, but it would be nice if they tried in someway to combat it.