Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Cumann Gaelach

• 01-05-2008 4:30pm

Me and a friend joined this back in october after being told about all the stuff they planned to do including irish lessons...Nothing has happened at all this semester except for seachtain na gaelige. Heard nothing since about the society, has it just died out? Was it better other years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

I agree, didn't do anything with them either....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Its currently got quite a small committee, most of whom are in final year. I went to one of their "Oíche Comhra" (Conversation nights) where they had pizza and coke etc and chatted with other people in Irish. Afaik, they ran them regularly enough. They generally email people on their list... have you ever recieved a mail from them? Might be the problem that youre not getting notices.

I'm disappointed there is no celtic ball this year :(

They sent emails :confused:

Mind you I joined surf and sail- and got no emails either- ended up getting into it after talking to one of them randomly...

I got two texts off them but couldn't go at the start of the year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

I mentioned it to some of the soc. This is the reply I got from one of the members who was involved.

An Cumann Gaelach's activities reached a climax two years ago. The year containted
    trips to limerick, galway & donegal. Father Ted & Family Guy table quizzes
    (The Ted quiz was the biggest table quiz the old bar ever held). Random trips
    to the Conradh with random póg mo thóin asses stuck on to anyone and everyone.
    Limited lessons. And of course the Celtic Ball.
    Indeed, the society so well that year that it was awarded one of the First
    5 soc individual awards by the uni President.

However since that year, i think all college societies have become less relevant
    and play a lesser part in college life for various reasons.
    The work of An Cumann Gaelach depends on the voluntary work, time and effort
    of it's member's and especially it's committee.

I think if the whole dcu clubs&socs model was revamped, socs would grow again
    and in turn An Cumann Gaelach.

Having said that, many events have been organised by An Cumann Gaelach this
    year. The Ted quiz once again packed the old bar and of course there was
    the céilí dancing, the ciorcal comhrá and ice skating at Cmas time. Many
    more things would have happened if the conditions were right, e.g. i believe
    the celtic ball was pulled due to low attendance at other events, competition
    with other socs and 400 essays being sue. As such i don't think it would
    be fair to just point the finger at the committee and say they're to blame.
    At the end of the day, college work has to come first.
    I'd like to think that it's an unstoppable, Gaeilgelicious, fun, open and
    crazy bunch of lads and lassies and that the soc will be back, and back with
    a bang!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

However since that year, i think all college societies have become less relevant
    The work of An Cumann Gaelach depends on the voluntary work, time and effort
    of it's member's and especially it's committee.

Obviously they havent joined the right societies because society life is going as strong as ever in DCU, if not stronger this year with lost of huge events and a really awesome effort from all the committee's, you cant just go about blaming the system because of a slow year for your club/soc... in the end having a committee in final year is just a plain bad idea, they should get some fresh blood in there soon if they dont want to fade away... MORE TED QUIZ'S I SAY

That message is from a final year student so I'd imagine, same as myself, involvement is down in general and our view of society life has changed. Though I amn't speaking for that person.

The thing about Ted quizzes is, if you go to a few in a row, they are all the same questions. Not always a bad ting, mind you.

Well on a more proactive note there's hardly a trip to the cumann planned for after the exams- I've alway's wanted to go, and I've at least two other Gaelgeoirs on my course who want to go too

Quite likely, but we warned, there'd be lots of drunk final year students being depressing!

If you know 2 other ppl you should go sometime on yer own as a group. Though the Club (which I assume you meant...?) can either be deathly quiet or it can be so packed you cant hardly breath for the craic being had. Prolly best to go when exams etc are over.

Jesjes wrote: »
    Quite likely, but we warned, there'd be lots of drunk final year students being depressing!

As long as they're female! :D

And I've only ever walked by the place on harcourt street- can never remember the name...

Club Conradh na Gaeilge.
    Great craic to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Absolute rubbish, fair enough some societies have become less relevant but the majority of them are as active and successful as ever. Need we look any further to this years BICS Awards where DCU had their (joint) most successful year ever?

That quote is nothing more than a cop out and the excuse of having people on their committee that are in final year is the same. Every committee needs experienced people on it and, as robby said, fresh blood is always needed however in order to train those people up you still need more experienced people. Joining a committee in final year is also something not to be taken on lightly as, if that person has any interest in that society they're committing to putting in the time in order to make it a success. At the end of the day if you can't make that commitment then you shouldn't run for the position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

This isn't a dig at any of the committee or Fiontar students. They're all smashing people and have great time for em all.

Think the main 'issue' (for want of a better word) is that most of the committee were/are Fiontar students. The committee needs more students from outside that course. I was the web designer for them this year but was unable to do anything as the web master from a few previous years never passed on the password for the rb account. Same happened last year as far as I know because I was talking to the previous webmaster. The society needs more outside influences as the group of fiontar students who run it are too small.

To say effort wasn't put in this year is unfair, on the flip side of that to say that because a lot of the committee are/were in final year is also a cop out.

I've been a member since I came to DCU (4 years ago) The first 2 years were awesome, a lot of trips and some good fun. Last year I wasn't around.

Meetings were held regularly, events were organised like the halloween get together down by BusÁras which was great fun and a lot of people attended. The christmas event too I attended but there was poor turn out. The table quiz seemed like a lot of fun, i was off in paris though watching the mars volta :p

Effort was put in, just a shame that the celtic ball didn't go ahead. Usually the highlight of the year for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

Cliste wrote: »
    As long as they're female! :D

And I've only ever walked by the place on harcourt street- can never remember the name...

Cosin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

I remember the Family Guy Table quiz. Was the biggest joke I've even been at. The questions were literally pulled from quiz sites, which involved the likes of multiple choice not having the right answers as one of them. The people who "wrote" the quiz had obviously never seen the show and couldn't correct them. After all this, despite scoring more points than the other teams, we were awrded 4th. Some random team (not the ones awrded 1st) grabbed 1st prize and ran off. Then, and to top it all off, when we aired our grivences...did we get an apoligy, not even close, met the most arogant ****ers I've ever seen.

From the way the fluent Irish speaker on our team was going on, this is the general standard of everything they do

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Evangelion wrote: »
    I remember the Family Guy Table quiz. Was the biggest joke I've even been at. The questions were literally pulled from quiz sites, which involved the likes of multiple choice not having the right answers as one of them. The people who "wrote" the quiz had obviously never seen the show and couldn't correct them. After all this, despite scoring more points than the other teams, we were awrded 4th. Some random team (not the ones awrded 1st) grabbed 1st prize and ran off. Then, and to top it all off, when we aired our grivences...did we get an apoligy, not even close, met the most arogant ****ers I've ever seen.

From the way the fluent Irish speaker on our team was going on, this is the general standard of everything they do

What year was that?
    Societies change so much from year to year you can't really hold grudges, just hope next year's will be better.
    And I'll be there next year to kick everyone's ass. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

Evangelion wrote: »

Well I think most of the commitee this year were final year Fiontar people....and to be honest my 10 year old little cousin had better irish than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

I was in Fiontar and I was on the committee two or three years ago. One thing I noticed at AGM's is that mostly Fiontar people tuend up, and no-one outside Fiontar went for positions on the committee. I would have loved to see non-Fiontar heads coming in more, but the fact is that while I was there, no-one did.

And WIlburt, I was that webmaster that never passed on the password apparently. Did I not give it to you or Onagh? I could have sworn I did! If you want it PM me. Frankly after I finished with that job no-one wanted the position so I think there was a year where no-one wanted to tough the site.

i didn't get it, well i wasnt around last year, was in france for it.
    nothing wrong with the page at all

By the way why is the Agm at the start of the year?

No clue what so ever, thought it weird myself