Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Club or County?

• 30-04-2008 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

Ok I don't know if this has been done before but anyway....who would you prefer to see winning an All Ireland, your local club or your county. I'm just curious as I'd a discussion earlier about this with some friends and they said they'd prefer to see Laois win Sam rather than their local team. I personnaly would prefer see my local club win (however it would be nice if they both won one just one!:p) I believe the club is where young talent is nurtered and to use an ould cliche is the grassroots of the gaa. Well what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Well tbh, I'd love to see Laois at least compete in an All-Ireland Final, that would show some progression and that all the grass roots work was worth something other than a few minor/U21 All-Irelands.

As for Club, my own local Laois club contested an All-Ireland semi-final only 2 years ago and the heartbreak following defeat was unbearable.

Club vs county?
    Club would mean more to me I think, but county would get us some respectability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

County for me. Following your county unites rival club supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

County for me our neverending quest for Sam must be a Mayoman's first priority. Seeing the club win would be special though and somehow very different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

My club reached the All-Ireland a few years back and it ended up uniting the county and people from all corners of Kerry attended their games ... But when another (un-named) club from Kerry reached it recently, because of who they are, it seemed to split the decision of support here.

So it would depend on the club as my county gets to the All-Ireland almost every year (no bragging intended ;) ) I would still have to opt for club ... It's where true talent lies undetected for years; brings families in a parish together even for just 70mins; but above all it is the heart of the community

My vote goes to :D CLUB :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭chubba1984

I'd be more interested in seein my club win a county title, let alone an All-Ireland club, than see my county win an All-Ireland. That said I wouldn't be holdin back on the celebrations either if Clare happened to win Liam or Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I have to criticise this thread not for the purposes of consensus but for the way that either answer will leave you feeling unloyal to either.

I've thought about this question a lot and I have to pick my county now for the reasons that I've been a Dublin supporter as far as I can remember and also,my club did just win the All Ireland club championships this year.:D:D:D

My friends on the Vincents panel have achieved their dreams so we're delighted with that.Now I really want to see Dublin go all the way.It all depends on the scenario though.If Dublin were winning All Irelands nearly every year,I'd be firmly with the club.We've won the All Ireland at club level after such a long time so now we have to end another drought that has gone on for 13 years at intercounty level.So right now I'd be going for county.

For me it depends on how long each team (club/county) has gone without success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Club without a shadow of a doubt! Lucky for me, that dream came true this year!:) I just feel a lot closer to the club and it's something I've never felt for Dublin. That said, an All Ireland for Dublin (or even a final appearance) would be sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

I agree Blackbelt, since I've posted this thread I feel a bit disloyal to Laois but still would go with my club. Just another thought, I'm not trying to tar all ye Dubs with the one brush, really I'm not but my experiences with Dublin supporters are they have far more loyalty to the county team than their clubs. My oh is a mad Dublin supporter he rarely misses a match be it in the O'Byrne cup, the league or the championship but he'd struggle to name the clubs each of the players come from. Most of my fellow supporters in Laois could name every player's club in Laois. Again I'm not trying to generalise but do ye think its a fair comment that 'people from down da country' have more of an interest and perhaps loyalty to club football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

lorweld wrote: »
    ... Again I'm not trying to generalise but do ye think its a fair comment that 'people from down da country' have more of an interest and perhaps loyalty to club football?

I would have to say yeah as their would be little to nothing to do in the evenings in a parish besides gear-up and play footy as opposed to a city or relatively large town where their would be a greater number of options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

County hands down, croker packed with dubs is an emotional time at most but when its an all ireland.........*remembers 95 singing rare oul times*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I'd have to say County. I have never been affiliated to a club and when I did play Gaelic Football it was for my school. The reason I wanted to play was to be like Charlie Redmond, as I had family connections to Erin's Isle. As I am a Southsider the one club I'd like to join is 90 minutes away on public transport. I vaguely remember watching the three losing AI finals before that and feeling great joy when the Dubs won. I just love following the Dubs, I love the fact every other county hates us and you can have great banter with the country folk whatever the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

seen the club missed the sessions, but would love a county!

depends if your a club player but not good enough for county a club all-ireland would be special

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

It's a difficult one for me. Being an active member of the club and a massive supporter of the county team I find myself torn. I mean I know everyone involved in he club and a few years ago when we got to the AI final the buzz around the club was massive and i was filled with great pride to see lads I grew up with and trained with grace that great stage on Paddy's day. But the great drought of Dublin county team continues and how I would love to see us take a small sip from Sam. I'm going to say right now I would be equally as happy.

Marse wrote: »
    It's a difficult one for me. Being an active member of the club and a massive supporter of the county team I find myself torn. I mean I know everyone involved in he club and a few years ago when we got to the AI final the buzz around the club was massive and i was filled with great pride to see lads I grew up with and trained with grace that great stage on Paddy's day. But the great drought of Dublin county team continues and how I would love to see us take a small sip from Sam. I'm going to say right now I would be equally as happy.

lol ya know now Marse you're not allowed drink out of Sam anymore but I'd say you're talking about water!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Archebald

club first over everything ,,,a club all ireland wud be much sweeter than anything esle and they are rarer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Archebald

club should be the most important thing in any player or supporters book where wud u be wit out ur club ,,,,know which side ur bread is buttered on ,,,county cud drop you in a second where as u club is more loyal ,,this is all general knowledge

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Club every time for me. That may have alot to do with having a cringeworthy county team, but I love my club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

I agree Blackbelt, since I've posted this thread I feel a bit disloyal to Laois but still would go with my club. Just another thought, I'm not trying to tar all ye Dubs with the one brush, really I'm not but my experiences with Dublin supporters are they have far more loyalty to the county team than their clubs. My oh is a mad Dublin supporter he rarely misses a match be it in the O'Byrne cup, the league or the championship but he'd struggle to name the clubs each of the players come from. Most of my fellow supporters in Laois could name every player's club in Laois. Again I'm not trying to generalise but do ye think its a fair comment that 'people from down da country' have more of an interest and perhaps loyalty to club football?

This is because down the country all youse hve is the club/parish.In Dublin there's more things to do and it's easier to get around to places and so you're not stuck in the parish all the time.

lol ya know now Marse you're not allowed drink out of Sam anymore but I'd say you're talking about water!!!;)

It was meant metaphorically lad.

Marse wrote: »
    It was meant metaphorically lad.

lol I know Marse I was just joking with ya! And I is a girl!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

county every time!

lol I know Marse I was just joking with ya! And I is a girl!

Sorry, now that one is my Bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

hunter164 wrote: »
    This is because down the country all youse hve is the club/parish.In Dublin there's more things to do and it's easier to get around to places and so you're not stuck in the parish all the time.

I'm fairly sure thats a very thinly veiled dig at country folks but I'm just not 100% sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

Club for me over County. Inter County is great but Club is the heart and soul, its more personal I guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Its all personal really. The clun are pissing me of lately plus the counry have never won it. Like if i was from kerry i'd pick club but after seeing the celebrations after 32 years then i'd go for the county. Love to see the black and white in the Hogan in september!