Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ween - The Village May 17th

• 28-04-2008 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭

Anyone else going? I can't wait to see these guys live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭FledNanders

Would LOVE to be going to but alas I have a surf trip that weekend. Ween are class...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Got my ticket the minute it was announced.
    Cant wait!

On a side note, in tonights episode of Eastenders, piss up a rope was playing in the background.

Jesus, ween on Eastenders!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Nea wrote: »
    Got my ticket the minute it was announced.
    Cant wait!

On a side note, in tonights episode of Eastenders, piss up a rope was playing in the background.

Jesus, ween on Eastenders!!!

Haha, QOTSA were on it too, and theres connection in there too:D

As for the gig, well, yet again its a Saturday, so no can do for me:(...always happening lately actually.

Connection being Deaner contributing to Desert Sessions?
    I have only seen them once before and they were great.

Someone in the Eastenders team has good taste in music, I have noticed some metal songs before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Someone in the Eastenders team has good taste in music, I have noticed some metal songs before!

I am quite sure Dean was on Desert Sessions, but he also plays on Mosquito Song on SFTD!!

I'm gonna go listen to more Ween now actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Never listened to these but have always meant to.

Any particular albums I should check out?

Chocolate and Cheese is a classic. Fantastic album
    New album is so-so.
    Recommend The Mollusk and Quebeq also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Ho-Hum

Good to see there's a few other Ween fans about the place :) I really am looking forward to this one and I've heard they put a great show even if they are getting on a bit at this stage.

Chocolate and cheese and The Mollusk are definite classics and the newest effort La Cucaracha is not quite as good but is still a great album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Freshly squash

Tomorrow night mang! Dean Ween broke his leg a few days ago but is still soldiering on anyway. legends.

Seriously? That should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Lochaber

Ah Ween.... they're so great, did everyone have a good time?! I was amazed, the place was packed! No-one I've ever mentioned them to have ever heard of Ween...

Great gig last night. Three hours plus. The Blarney Stone was one of the best experiences I ever had at a gig, all the beer baptising everyone.
    Strange to see that the gig was a total sell out, where are all the other Ween fans hiding I've never met anyone in Ireland that seems to have any idea who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭BarryNumber1

Great time and great gig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 loopmonkey

deadly gig alright!

"Blarney Stone" was magnificent.

I think he was a bit worried before the song that some people might think that he was taking the piss out of Irish people but after the first chorus with the "Braveheart" style chanting from the audience it was clear that Irish Ween fans want "Blarney Stone" as the new National anthem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭BarryNumber1

I think most people there knew the deal about the Blarney stone, lots of big ween fans around and quite a few from abroad at the gig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Spectacular show. My one concern was the sound considering The Village can have truly awful sound at times, but it was actually grand. Possibly the best sounding Village gig I've been to.

Recall the setlist being more to my liking at their last gig in The Ambassador back in '03, but the atmosphere here was through the roof. Looked like alot of people flew in for the gig as they're only playing like six dates in Europe and it's their first tour over here in years. Band were in great form despite Dean breaking his leg a week ago.

Setlist:

Fiesta
    Take Me Away
    Transdermal Celebration
    Nan
    Common Bitch
    Bananas and Blow
    Spinal Meningitis
    Learnin' to Love
    Piss Up a Rope
    Voodoo Lady
    Our Party
    The HIV Song
    Light Me Up
    Buckingham Green
    I'll Be Your Jonny on the Spot
    Object
    Zoloft
    Even If You Don't
    Touch My Tooter
    Fat Lenny
    The Goin' Gets Tough from the Getgo
    Ocean Man
    Gabrielle
    Pandy Fackler
    My Own Bare Hands
    The Final Alarm
    Booze Me Up and Get Me High
    The Blarney Stone

Tick
    You ****ed Up
    Mister Richard Smoker
    Doctor Rock (wasn't played)
    L.M.L.Y.P.

Anyway, best gig I've been to in a while, hopefully it won't be another 5 year wait for next Ween show. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭mcgooch

that's not the entire setlist as they definitely played The Stallion Pt.3 from Pure Guava.

****ing amazing show. they're one of the best live acts around imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Lochaber

They played Mister, Won't You Please Help My Pony as well... PONY!

Found the lyrics to their extra Blarney Stone verse on flickr... not sure if I can really reproduce them so here without a lot of **** so here a link to the photo if you can read it!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/2beanornot2bean/2502008885/

ah the memories...

Best fun I've had at a gig in quite a while

Aye Aye........

Great Gig!
    Blarney Stone was fantastic.
    Was delighted with Light Me Up and Mister Richard Smoker.

Merchandise was a real let down. They should have known as it flew out at the last gig too.

Merchandise was kinda dissapointing alright, you don't get too many chances too buy a Ween related item of clothing.
    Strange how a band that can sell the place out like that is totally ignored in the media over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Merchandise was kinda dissapointing alright, you don't get too many chances too buy a Ween related item of clothing.
    Strange how a band that can sell the place out like that is totally ignored in the media over here.

I'd say it's down to the very small amount of Euro promotion they do. I reckon they would be very well received if they played some of the big music festivals over here, Electric Picnic immediatly coming to mind, though I know Dean really dislikes playing short sets.

I'm pretty sure Dean doesn't like coming over to Europe at all.

A friend of mine saw him on o'connell bridge on sunday looking a bit worse for wear. Fair play to him though - even a broken leg couldn't stop him producing an incredible performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

I was quite impressed with the "no support" thing on the posters, I'm glad it turned out great as it's quite an interesting idea for such an established band. Might be nice if other bands with large back catalogues were to just do marathon sets for the craic.

some photos from last saturday night...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/2beanornot2bean/sets/72157605165338471/

enjoy

just noticed the link to these photos was already posted above. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Johnix

Deaner was on the Desert Sessions 9 & 10. The gig rocked.