Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life after Garda Siochana

• 25-04-2008 1:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭

This is something I was thinking about a lot while making my decision about joining.

Basically, even though I'm convinced this is a career for me, something can go wrong. I might hate it after all, get injured, they will start microchipping us (as mentioned in another thread) in short, there might be several reasons why someoene would want to leave GS after few years.

So my question is - how do skills and education gained during work as a policeman translate into career somewhere else? Are there any particular jobs where beieng an ex-Guard would be an advantage? Is there any careers where ex-cops are sought after? Or does it enrich you in experience only, and if you leave, you have to build your CV from scratch again?

I tend to think that once you in, you are in, there is no turning back, and I'm not very comfortable with that thought. Any opinions?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

I know plenty of lads that left at all stages and went on to do very well, from 3 months to 10 years

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

former gardai are very sought after in the security industry, shop security, security analysis, consultancy etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

What kind of jobs though? I wouldn't really want to be a store detective when I'm older, to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Well a relative of mine was in the force for 7years before deciding for personal reasons to leave ... They went and done a Masters in Law and is now using the knowledge from itside the force and through legal studies to best use in the Legal Profession ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

I know a lot of cops who've trained as lawyers and do well in practice after the job. I trained in law before I joined the job and may go down that road once I've had enough of policing.

As regards 'once you're in you stay in....' this is no longer the case. It used to be that once a person joined the Garda or the Met (or any UK service) that it was a job for life. To be honest that's no longer the case. Some stay for 30, some leave after 2 years. Some days I don't see myself doing anything else, other days I'm searching the wanted ads looking for another job!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

ojewriej wrote: »
    I tend to think that once you in, you are in, there is no turning back, and I'm not very comfortable with that thought. Any opinions?
    It's something they've tackled quite pro-actively in recent years with the introduction of pre-retirement courses delivered by the in-service training unit.

Many of the retiring members these days came in when you could retire after just 30 years' service, so the retirement age profile must be pretty low when you consider that they must have joined around the 20-22 age mark.

If you are joining now, then you are subject to a minimum retirement age (63 at the moment I think?) to qualify for the full state pension, so maybe employment-options post-retirement wouldn't be too important for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

I thought it was 57? At least I hope it's 57 :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I thought it was 57? At least I hope it's 57 :confused:

LOL
    What an attitude!! Well done mate. It is 57 but you can stay till 60 (although something tells me this option won't affect you in 2038!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Dont really see the point in joiining if your thinking of other careers. Its different if you decide afterwards that its not for you but to planning your exit before applying? Seems like your hearts not in it.

As for life after the force, sun sand sea and margaritas! :D

Dont really see the point in joiining if your thinking of other careers. Its different if you decide afterwards that its not for you but to planning your exit before applying? Seems like your hearts not in it.

It's not about planning my exit, it's about weighing my options and making a balanced decision.

I know I want to join, I'm sure I will like it, but I might be wrong. It happened to me before with another career path. I can also get seriously injured for example, plenty of things can happen really, that would force me to quit. I just want to know that I have options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

just look at the back of the garda review, there are always a few resignations (rather than retirements) each month. Most of these are usually junior enough numbers but there are always one or two with 5-10 years service... I'm sure that these ex members are doing well for themselves as i am myself. Society is different these days and it is more unusual to stay in one job for life than not, no matter what the job/career.
    If you want to join up go for it.... and well if it's not for you or something else happens down the road then deal with that when you come to it... don't have such a negative outlook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

jake59 is quite right, there certainly are a lot more resignations nowadays than there once were. I only had this very conversation yesterday in fact but bear in mind it is still a tiny proportion of those that join. I am in the job almost 2 decades now and I still enjoy it, and I mean that.
    Of course it will become a far more attractive career option soon if this recession bites any further because you will be in a government job for life and banks love to lend you money (but only cos they know you'll be able to pay it back!).

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Didn't the guy who runs the websites where escort agencies advertise be a guard before he went online making money, Sunday World ran a story a few years back..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I know one who after he retired became a rapid response driver for a private ambulance company.

Driving with blues and twos transporting transplant teams, organs or urgent blood all over the country

I do realise that you can quit GS and get a good career going afterwards. I was just wondering if there are any particular industries where background in Law Enforcement would be sought after, like law or security. And what kind of jobs would there be.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    I know one who after he retired became a rapid response driver for a private ambulance company.
    Quite a few go back in and work as civilian details drivers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Yea driving is handy because if you've done the course in templemore your golden. Training done, to a high standard and no doubt experience driving with b&t's etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Paulzx

A good few Guards joining DFB over the last few years. Haven't asked what their reasons were but becoming quite common

as one of those ex mules who joined dfb... the reasons are clear to see... better quality of life, better pay, more time off, less paper work, no sitting around in court for days on end, once you or off you are off, no phone calls from state solicitors etc when you're on leave.... etc etc. i obviously missed some things about the guards but on the whole i made the right decison....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

jake59 wrote: »
    as one of those ex mules who joined dfb... the reasons are clear to see... better quality of life, better pay, more time off, less paper work, no sitting around in court for days on end, once you or off you are off, no phone calls from state solicitors etc when you're on leave.... etc etc. i obviously missed some things about the guards but on the whole i made the right decison....

Interesting stuff. I've sometimes thought about a move to the fire service for the reasons you've mentioned, but ultimately I reckon I'd miss police work and being a copper more than I'd enjoy life in the fire service.

Its different strokes for different folks I guess. Did you find it a big change after leaving the Guards? How did you DFB colleagues react to you being an ex-Guard? What did you miss about life on the force?

metman wrote: »
    Interesting stuff. I've sometimes thought about a move to the fire service for the reasons you've mentioned, but ultimately I reckon I'd miss police work and being a copper more than I'd enjoy life in the fire service.

Its different strokes for different folks I guess. Did you find it a big change after leaving the Guards? How did you DFB colleagues react to you being an ex-Guard? What did you miss about life on the force?

The main thing to get used to is the slower pace of life as when we are not on a turn out we are not "on" if you know what I mean. In the guards there was always something to be done and it was much busier. The main reaction from colleagues was "er... why did you leave the guards?" and then just the usual slagging. I have to say to say that i miss the things you would expect, chases, arrests, satisfaction on convictions etc etc. ah sure... its done now so no going back :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

the guys who own coppers and dr.quirkeys are former gardai i think. i also heard of a guy working for hoseracing ireland as head of security for all the meetings and he is ex-gardai. i suppose if you have driving experience and firearms , you could probably train to become a bodyguard,or close protection operative as they are known! then as a part-time you could run prep-courses for garda entry also why not write a book about life on the beat. im sure there is a lot one could do...

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Fantomas9mm

Hey folks.

Apologies for the bump, but this thread is exactly relevant to my question:

So what professions or roles would an ex garda who is in their mid 30’s be qualified to do ?

Also, what certifications or training should they be thinking about to maximise their chances of getting a good job ?

thank you in advance .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

Anything they want to. Only the individual knows what they want to do with themselves. A lot also depends how much savings you put away to cover the cost of retraining.

When I left I went sales repping for a while, and I know a few who went into the retail management area Money was about the same, but the work/life balance was awful. Security is an obvious choice but in reality it's like a chef from the Merrion Hotel going to work in McDonalds. If you want to go down that route, commercial or hotel security is a better gig. They tend to like ex army too in the industry, as they have people happy to sit in a small hut for 12 hours where nothing happens.

Many chose a life in the civil service because you can carry your service for pension purposes (after the first 3 years), and the structure suits. There are at least 4 other former gardai working in my department.

The question is, do you still have the blue light buzz or do you want to get away from it. If you still have it then consider training as an EMT or Paramedic. Failing that, Oz and NZ are always looking for ex-Polis from the UK and Ireland.

If not, then what about the job you had before AGS.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭frozenbanana

Hi

Funnily enough, I'm the original OP, (I didn't use boards for years and my ojewriej account got deleted I think) ended up joining in 2008, 15 years done now. So I can answer my own question from 2007.

Most popular job I see lads doing after leaving the job is driving, particularly coaches. If you get a c or d licence driving course, that's basically a trade.

Cyber Crime lads are doing very very well on the private market. Same with the lads from fraud.

Security related stuff as well, but tbh if you wanted to really capitalise on you Garda experience there you'd want to finish as an Inspector minimum and youd want to have contacts in the industry before jumping. It's totally doable.

A lot of jobs that were popular for ex-guards depended on their contact and access to serving Guards. That's mostly gone now, 20 years ago people would do look ups and such, that's not done anymore.

I done a mission in Cyprus and worked with a lot of foreign orgs. Guards are actually recognised for their people and mediation skills, a lot of other forces find it hard to operate without a gun and strong powers, as in they don't know how to deal with people if they can't just force them to do stuff. This would be an advantage for Frontex, UN, Europol etc. type of jobs. Big enough market in Europe and Worldwide but not in Ireland.

AGS offers all kinds of training courses, if you are lucky enough to get them. Have a look at the specialist units and see if there is anything that would interest you.

But at the end of the day, there is a lot you can do in the job. Before jumping I would recommend having a good look and see what's available. It's not that out of the question to make the job work for you, I did it and I know a lot of people who did. From my experience a lot of the people moaning about the job put zero thought in their career, beyond 'i want a gun and a fast car' or 'i want to be promoted', same people that will ask you 'why do you even bother, it's all fixed anyway' when you apply for anything.