Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The beggar at Heuston Luas Station

• 22-04-2008 2:47pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I presume a lot of commuters have seen him. He sits beside the ticket machine with what its a decrepid looking crutch and pretty much says "give me your change from your ticket" and so many people do. I got the luas in today instead of cycling and he was up wandering around smoking after probably getting a euro off some woman. I've only ever got on a Heuston once and he asked me.. F**k off was my reply.

Anyone else been politely robbed by this guy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

There must be about 500 people of them around Dublin. Give me money, give me a fag, give me those shoes you're wearing, how about your eyebrows? Shave them off and put them in my leather purse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

never seen this guy but theres always a girl at the abbey street one.

And when she doesnt get what she wants she verbally abuses you!

nasty!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

There is a guy in Galway who begs while supporting himself on a crutch, all disabled like.
    My sister saw him walking home with the crutch thrown over his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah I heard about the crutch guy. Also saw the same trick in Sri Lanka, a guy down the street walking with a pair of crutches. 5 mins later he comes up to us leaning on them, looking miserable. Should have kicked them out from under him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

There is a guy in Galway who begs while supporting himself on a crutch, all disabled like.
    My sister saw him walking home with the crutch thrown over his shoulder.

I just hate that i do! Its very annoying to think that people actually give these people money!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Look out for you man with the crutches and the one leg. Don't pity him, he'll no hesitate to throw his shoe at you. That's not a joke, bastard got me while i was in work about a year ago :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wagon wrote: »
    Look out for you man with the crutches and the one leg. Don't pity him, he'll no hesitate to throw his shoe at you. That's not a joke, bastard got me while i was in work about a year ago :mad:

That was me. And you fvcking dederved it too!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

biko wrote: »
    Yeah I heard about the crutch guy. Also saw the same trick in Sri Lanka, a guy down the street walking with a pair of crutches. 5 mins later he comes up to us leaning on them, looking miserable. Should have kicked them out from under him.

Don't you mean "Dublin Forum FFS!!! :mad:"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'd say a lot of them are faking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Sherifu wrote: »

well duh:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Next time you see him make him bite the kerb :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

never seen this guy but theres always a girl at the abbey street one.

And when she doesnt get what she wants she verbally abuses you!

nasty!!!
    Is that the one with the baby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

anyone ever see the old dude with the huge beard and his hand outstreched in o connell street, i feel really sorry for him every time i see him

anto-t wrote: »
    well duh:p
    I think you're one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

I am in Dublin very rarely, once this year. And one of the only things I can remember of the day was yer one begging at the Luas (Abbey S. I think). I'm not on the Luas often, so I sorta looked a sec to get the jist of the machine. She seen my hesitancy and basically insisted on doing it. She also did this to a bunch of tourists.

I have been in a few countrys with trams etc. and never seen anything like this. Mainly because they wouldnt be allowed. The Luas is a popular mode of travel for tourists. Its not nice to have scum sitting at each ticket machine, begging money.

Why is it still allowed here???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Forky wrote: »

Why is it still allowed here???

If i remember right, a beggar challenged the Constitution about his right to beg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

I presume a lot of commuters have seen him. He sits beside the ticket machine with what its a decrepid looking crutch and pretty much says "give me your change from your ticket" and so many people do. I got the luas in today instead of cycling and he was up wandering around smoking after probably getting a euro off some woman. I've only ever got on a Heuston once and he asked me.. F**k off was my reply.

what an ignorant thing to say. if someone decides to give him change then he is hardly 'robbing' them, they are choosing to give it to him. and telling him to 'fcuk off', could you not just ignore him or say "no, sorry i dont have any". you dont have to be so ignorant about it. god help you if you ever end up in that situation.

tbh i dont like people out begging either, but i would rather ignore them than insult them. if i have change and it is raining or a cold night i will give them the change. if i am skint myself or i think they are just some chancer trying to get up money for drugs i wont give them anything. but at no point will i tell them to fcuk off. if some guy walked up to you in a 3 piece suit with an umbrella under his arm and a briefcase and said in his best D4 accent "sorry, would you have a cigarette, i seem to have lost mine" or "would you have a euro as i havent got change and there is nowhere local to change a €50 note", i would bet you any money you wouldnt tell him to "fcuk off", you might not give him the cigarette or the money, but you would not tell him to fcuk off. you would politely say no. but becuase in your eyes this guy is lower than you, you think you have the right to tell him to 'fcuk off'.

i hope the world is always kind to you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

board om wrote: »
    what an ignorant thing to say. if someone decides to give him change then he is hardly 'robbing' them, they are choosing to give it to him. and telling him to 'fcuk off', could you not just ignore him or say "no, sorry i dont have any". you dont have to be so ignorant about it. god help you if you ever end up in that situation.

tbh i dont like people out begging either, but i would rather ignore them than insult them. if i have change and it is raining or a cold night i will give them the change. if i am skint myself or i think they are just some chancer trying to get up money for drugs i wont give them anything. but at no point will i tell them to fcuk off. if some guy walked up to you in a 3 piece suit with an umbrella under his arm and a briefcase and said in his best D4 accent "sorry, would you have a cigarette, i seem to have lost mine" or "would you have a euro as i havent got change and there is nowhere local to change a €50 note", i would bet you any money you wouldnt tell him to "fcuk off", you might not give him the cigarette or the money, but you would not tell him to fcuk off. you would politely say no. but becuase in your eyes this guy is lower than you, you think you have the right to tell him to 'fcuk off'.

No I wouldnt as I'm pretty sure a guy like that isn't going to be begging.

I have in the past helped out plenty of people who seem genuine and have asked for a euro for the bus/luas etc but sitting beside the ticket machine annoying people to leave them their change and faking a disability is worthy of a fcuk off in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

board om wrote: »
    if some guy walked up to you in a 3 piece suit with an umbrella under his arm and a briefcase and said in his best D4 accent "sorry, would you have a cigarette,i would bet you wouldnt tell him to "fcuk off", you might not give him the cigarette or the money, but you would not tell him to fcuk off. you would politely say no. but becuase in your eyes this guy is lower than you, you think you have the right to tell him to 'fcuk off'.

No I wouldnt as I'm pretty sure a guy like that isn't going to be begging.

I have in the past helped out plenty of people who seem genuine and have asked for a euro for the bus/luas etc but sitting beside the ticket machine annoying people to leave them their change and faking a disability is worthy of a fcuk off in my book.

I have signed up to several charities that DD from my bank Account. I dont give a fcuk about people that give a fcuk about their selfish problems but dont give a fcuk about anything else. **** that sounds like me.

I genuinely respect someone asking for help when they need it, that are not begging but are in a temporary rut. If I do help them it's unconditional and i dont expect anything in return and dont view it as begging at all. As for making a living from begging... it's better than crime, but I suppose pretending to be a cripple is dishonest especially if you do it every week. A once off maybe.

I remember I was unemployed once back in the nineties and the social welfare were more than three months deciding my claim. I was penniless and losing friends fast. My family were on holidays that month and i was desperate.

* edit* (I forgot to say that back then I felt people had more respect for people that managed without begging and I didn't belive in begging, * like busking which I tried once abroad* )

Back to the story...

I was getting very hungry and each day was an adventure ( i was hunting wild animals and vegatation) to feed myself. One day I found a purse/handbag and there was loads of expensive thing in it ( mobile phones..)
    and I was too proud to steal it but when handing it in and checking the name a few pounds dropped out of it, I secretly slipped them into my pocket just enough to get some apples. I'm sorry I was starving.

The nexy day I found a check made out to pay cash of fifty pounds. The owner was a Miss O'Leary from dun laoighre and it was a pay cash so i could have cashed it, but I had felt so guilty about stealing the few pounds the day before that I presented it to the local bank branch.

Eventually I met the social welfare woman in tesco with her teenage daughter at the reduced stand where I was contemplating stealing a sausage meat roll and l let rip into her, explaining i was practically a vagrant scrounging for food. I got some £800 pounds in back pay alone that week with another check the next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

I prefer when they tell the truth.
    I have no problem with giving money to homeless people or beggars as long as they don't pester you for it eg. Roma outside the Brog one night in Cork who said "Give Me 2 euro" got nothing.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I got approached a couple of years ago by a guy who gave me this big speil about his mother dying that day, needing some change for the bus etc. He looked respectable enough, ahd shopping bags etc, so I gave him 2.50 or so. A couple of months later I spotted him again, deliberately walked by him, got stopped and told the same speil again and then consoled for the pain of having both his mothers die within a few months.

prick.

As for the Luas thing, it really annoys me. Nearly every machine from Heuston on into town has a scumbag waiting for change. It is hard to say 'sorry, no change' to someone that hears change dropping to you, so I just say 'no' instead. Annoying fcukers. There are plenty of homeless people in bad circumstances that deserve help, but giving money to beggars is not the way to help genuine cases out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

a bloke in his 40's or so once asked me for money while i was running to the luas machine and i said i didn't have time to root out change for him because the luas was just about to leave and i still had to get a ticket

so he said he'd hold the door for me while i got my ticket if i gave him something :D

so techincally it wasn't begging. he provided me with a service and i paid him for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

If i remember right, a beggar challenged the Constitution about his right to beg.
    Actually, Luas platforms are private property, not the public street. The RPA and/or Veolia would be within their rights to act under the bye-laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

haven't we learned anything from southpark............

if you give the homeless anything they will multiply ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I hate those bums who try and use emotional blackmail to get the hard
    earned money my parents give me every week

Professional beggers the lot of em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Get that alot?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

This is what should be done to him,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QeCfcGvTic

"Get a god damn job Al, You've got a negative attidude"

Get that alot?:p
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Victor wrote: »
    Actually, Luas platforms are private property, not the public street. The RPA and/or Veolia would be within their rights to act under the bye-laws.

ah didn't know that. Thanks for the info victor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

pirelli wrote: »
    I have signed up to several charities that DD from my bank Account. I dont give a fcuk about people that give a fcuk about their selfish problems but dont give a fcuk about anything else. **** that sounds like me.

I genuinely respect someone asking for help when they need it, that are not begging but are in a temporary rut. If I do help them it's unconditional and i dont expect anything in return and dont view it as begging at all. As for making a living from begging... it's better than crime, but I suppose pretending to be a cripple is dishonest especially if you do it every week. A once off maybe.

I remember I was unemployed once back in the nineties and the social welfare were more than three months deciding my claim. I was penniless and losing friends fast. My family were on holidays that month and i was desperate.

* edit* (I forgot to say that back then I felt people had more respect for people that managed without begging and I didn't belive in begging, * like busking which I tried once abroad* )

Back to the story...

I was getting very hungry and each day was an adventure ( i was hunting wild animals and vegatation) to feed myself. One day I found a purse/handbag and there was loads of expensive thing in it ( mobile phones..)
    and I was too proud to steal it but when handing it in and checking the name a few pounds dropped out of it, I secretly slipped them into my pocket just enough to get some apples. I'm sorry I was starving.

The nexy day I found a check made out to pay cash of fifty pounds. The owner was a Miss O'Leary from dun laoighre and it was a pay cash so i could have cashed it, but I had felt so guilty about stealing the few pounds the day before that I presented it to the local bank branch.

Eventually I met the social welfare woman in tesco with her teenage daughter at the reduced stand where I was contemplating stealing a sausage meat roll and l let rip into her, explaining i was practically a vagrant scrounging for food. I got some £800 pounds in back pay alone that week with another check the next week.

Sorry, But you bought Apples with the few pounds ?? - When was this 1745 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

I've only ever got on a Heuston once and he asked me.. F**k off was my reply.

You swore at him- why? :confused:

To be honest it bothers me more the amount of people who pretend they dont see him -
    coz odviously evryone is better than him and "its not my problem" is the general attitude.
    Its everybodys problem - and shame on ye for thinkin otherwise.

few months ago, a young girl was sittin in the center of hapenny bridge- it was freezing! Friday night, the amount of people who walked by, dressed to the nines & drunk - just pretending they couldn't see this girl who was no more than 16 i say.
    I went to the chipper and got her a large bag of chips - and asked her if she would like them as it was cold,,, she looked amazed that i even spoke to her or gave a sh*t. She was so grateful just for that, coz everyone else just pretends she dont exist.
    Something should be done and lads - it could be you or your family there. You just never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

TBH if you give money to beggers your a fool and deserve to lose your money.

i used to change coin into notes for these guys and theyre pulling in twice the money im on on the financial sector, tax free!

con job, pure and simple. all this stuff is a classic example of a coming together of two of the worlds oldest adages,judging a book by the cover and a fool and his money being easily seperated.