Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jake White

• 22-04-2008 1:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

Hi

Just saw this thread on Planet Rugby forum

http://forum.planet-rugby.com/index.php?t=msg&th=119836&start=0&

Don't what i think really (if it is true).......... esp after he publicly stated he wasn't interested in the job. Now with Martin Johnson in the English set up i doubt he'd have JW. Maybe IRE is the only half interesting intl job going.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Tbh if it was true he wouldnt have many fans on his first day since the comments he made earlier on in the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

/IRFU bags England's sloppy seconds

Hmmm

Only joking, welcome Jake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Great news if this is true.

Although I think Kidney deserves a shot his apointment would be more detrimental to Munster than it would be of benefit to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Blut

20-1 odds down to 1-2 in the space of a day...I'd say theres been some massive bets placed on him recently to make that happen.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Hmmm...its clearly his second choice job, which is by no means encouraging. I would have been tempted to tell him to ****e off due to his clear interesting in the England position, but we aren't exactly spoiled for choice. Probably a good deal in the long run.

Sherifu wrote: »
    /IRFU bags England's sloppy seconds

Hmmm

Only joking, welcome Jake.

Hmm in fairness, Martin Johnson has exactly zero hours of experience as a manager. Maybe we should say "IRFU bags Englands one that got away!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

If its true I'm a happy camper, wanted him from day one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ellebelle

He's 4-6 on Paddy Power!

I think we need a non Irish coach - I wouldn't like to see Declan Kidney leave Munster for the national position.

I am a Jake White fan, but if the rumours are true - i'm looking forward to his explanation of his U-turn.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Hmm in fairness, Martin Johnson has exactly zero hours of experience as a manager. Maybe we should say "IRFU bags Englands one that got away!"
    If he wanted the job as much as was made out I doubt he got away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Aw anybody but bloody Kidney, please! I wouldn't be able to stand it! He does a great job at Munster and that job suits him, leave him be.

I wouldn't worry about the English set-up one bit, who gives a sh*t who they got, or who they wanted or who they couldn't get, it's irrelivant.

Is the guy a good coach? Yes
    Will he take any bullsh*t? No
    Will he pick the best 15 regardless of loyalties? I think so
    If you're not interested will you be in the squad? Definitley not.

There's a lot of boxes this guy ticks and would probably be one of the best in the world we would be able to get for the job, so I'd be happy to see him come in on a contract to the next world cup with an emphasis on developing our talent and setting out clear goals.

1/ To achieve a minimum Semi-Final placing (the same criteria O'Sullivan set for himself) at the next world cup.
    2/ To aim to achieve a Six Nations Grand Slam victory in 3 seasons time (when the French & English games will be in the new Lansdowne).

And leave him to it, and after the next world cup we can review the position again and see how he got on with the goals set out. And maybe by then Gatland will be free again :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭escobar

If indeed it is true . Get him into contract as soon as possible.:)
    Who cares who else missed out on him.....It would be great to get another big name signing into irish rugby.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Heard the deal isnt done from a Leinster fan in the know, issues regarding the level of control he'll have over the provinces and his backroom staff or something.

Could be worse than the GioTrap affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Punchbowl

If White gets the job, I'm sure he'll give it 100%. He's not my number 1 choice, but I'd take him. Remember it's a job, and the money is prob better with England so you can't blame him for concentrating on that avenue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ManofMunster

[Jackass] wrote: »
    and after the next world cup we can review the position again and see how he got on with the goals set out. :o

nah i think we should definitely extend his contract well before then. actually i think the irfu should now offer him a contract extension until the end of the six nations 2020 based on the new three-term four-year-cycle-strategy as outlined by the Exodus report (and away with any begrudgers who might moan that these four year cycles should actually be synchronised with the world cup).

and if we make a bollix of world cups 2011 and 2015 we can just blame it on the usual (select as necessary)
    - rotated the squad too little (/too much)
    - not enough (/too much) game time under our belts
    - too much (/little) time spent in Polish freezers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Don't think the players would like him :D According to (I think) Gerry Thornley last week, the players would prefer a coach from either NZ or Australia – style suits better. Must have something to do with they don't like playing 10 man rugby. ;)

According to Irish Examiner today. I wouldn't be putting money on White.
    Punters pile onto White but smart money on Kidney

By Edward Newman
    WORLD CUP winning coach Jake White is the bookmakers’ new odds-on favourite for the Irish job — but Declan Kidney remains a virtual certainty for the post.

Layers Paddy Power responded yesterday to market moves by shortening the ex-Springbok coach to an astonishing 4/7 favourite to replace Eddie O’Sullivan as Irish coach.

But it’s understood IRFU chiefs have already made initial contact with Munster coach Kidney regarding the Ireland job. Further contact is expected with the Cork man after Munster’s Heineken Cup semi-final on Sunday against Saracens, though if the province progresses to next month’s final, it is likely that a caretaker coach will be in charge of the Irish squad for the two-test trip to New Zealand and Australia in June.

Kidney is 5/4 second favourite for the Ireland job, and given his achievements, it would represent a huge gamble for the IRFU to look anywhere else, never mind abroad.

Reports suggested ex-Bulls coach Heyneke Meyer and Kiwi John Mitchell are also on the IRFU shortlist. Explained Paddy Power: “Jake White started the day at 22/1 but we’ve been taking cash bets all day on him. There’s plenty of money floating around - not tens and twenties, but a couple of grand. There seems to be some suggestion that he was in Dublin yesterday, and obviously people have been putting two and two together.”

* Stade Francais coach Fabien Galthie has confirmed his decision to leave the French Top 14 rugby side at the end of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ellebelle

I often wonder about 'BIG' bets being put on on things like this esp when the drop in odds is so drastic. I think it has to be more than someone one putting 1 + 1 together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

A craftily constructed statement, followed by a solid press conference where he fully confronts the issue of earlier preferring the England job, I reckon it’ll be forgotten about. He is a World Cup winning coach who will have absolutely no inter-provincial loyalties/bias. Get it sorted IRFU.

ellebelle wrote: »
    I often wonder about 'BIG' bets being put on on things like this esp when the drop in odds is so drastic. I think it has to be more than someone one putting 1 + 1 together.

According to Irish Times, White was in Dublin for some coaching/referees IRB organised seminar. He was seen in some pub the other night!

Thornley is saying its Kidney.

Kidney is 5/4 second favourite for the Ireland job, and given his achievements, it would represent a huge gamble for the IRFU to look anywhere else, never mind abroad.

I don't understand this logic. Given Kidney's achievements (i.e. an U19WC and a HEC) it would be a huge gamble to look at someone who coached a team to both Tri-Nations and World Cup wins?

Anyway, for all these "insider" articles, I don't think anyone has a clue who its going to be.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I don't understand this logic. Given Kidney's achievements (i.e. an U19WC and a HEC) it would be a huge gamble to look at someone who coached a team to both Tri-Nations and World Cup wins?

But he declared two years ago that only about 2 Irish players would even get into his SA squad, so might have a slight problem with coaching, considering that he thinks all but 2 (probably BOD & Darcy at the time) are not up to it.

It was four years ago (and he was referring to Mal and O'Driscoll I think), and more importantly he was the coach of SA at the time - who hadn't lost to Ireland in 40 years! He has already apologised for the remark, don't think its a big deal. He was just playing mind games before a test match, its not exactly unheard of.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    It was four years ago (and he was referring to Mal and O'Driscoll I think), and more importantly he was the coach of SA at the time - who hadn't lost to Ireland in 40 years! He has already apologised for the remark, don't think its a big deal. He was just playing mind games before a test match, its not exactly unheard of.

Was it not two years ago before the Autumn interntionals that Ireland stuffed them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

But he declared two years ago that only about 2 Irish players would even get into his SA squad, so might have a slight problem with coaching, considering that he thinks all but 2 (probably BOD & Darcy at the time) are not up to it.

I could be well off the mark here, but I seem to remember that remark was taken a little out of context. Was he not asked on the spot who he would pick for his squad (and by extension who he would drop to facilitate this), rather than it being a prepared statement designed to annoy us?

I don't follow soccer whatsoever, but I do remember all the "done deals" there were for the Irish national job before the Italian guy got it - not to mention the crazy odds that changed every week, so I'll be slow to take anything as gospel. That said, if Thornley says Kidney, that would be where I would put my money if I had to.

Was it not two years ago before the Autumn interntionals that Ireland stuffed them?

No, that wasn't a full Springbok squad, no way he would have said it then. It was before the game we won 17-12 with the mildly dodgy O'Gara try.
    I could be well off the mark here, but I seem to remember that remark was taken a little out of context. Was he not asked on the spot who he would pick for his squad (and by extension who he would drop to facilitate this), rather than it being a prepared statement designed to annoy us?

That's my recollection of it anyway. He was asked who he would take from the Irish squad into his team. Bit of a stupid question really and its unlikely White was gonna come out looking well from answering it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Blue in the face with all this nonsense tbh. I've had English people telling me White was a certainty for the Twickenham job, now he's a shoe-in for the Irish job...Who knows? Christ, they could appoint Dustin the bleedin' turkey at this point and I'd be relieved...

Rugby, like nature, abhors a vacuum...not a good state of affairs for the national team....According to the UK Guardian today, kidney's a 'done-deal'...me, I'm just confused...make it go away...whimper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I read on leinster fans today that its deffo 100% kidney, to be announced as soon as munster go out of Europe..

So it sounds like the irish soccer managers job again - where we have 4 or 5 'deffo' favourites :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭escobar

Jake White for Munster. He's already used to a team with a similar style ( S.A.) and Munster are the top ranked northern Hemisphere club team.. There's not many high profile teams left out there for him to manage.....