Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bomb Squad in Tallaght

• 21-04-2008 8:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭

Was driving by the Cuckoos Nest bar in Tallaght this evening and came across an incident where they had found Bomb making equipment in the car park, sold the snaps to three papers so far!

2432280598_de111db2d0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Nice one, quick reactions needed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

RTE just showed 4 of the pics on the news and there is one on their website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Fair play! Saw the shot on the website alright. Nice one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Meath999

Was driving by the Cuckoos Nest bar in Tallaght this evening and came across an incident where they had found Bomb making equipment in the car park, sold the snaps to three papers so far!

2432280598_de111db2d0.jpg

Good business, how much you sold them for ??? Gotta keep me camera ready all the time now, you never know what to find .............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Cant say much for the new white bomb blast proof outfits nowadays :p:D;)

Well done on getting the prints tho :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Are they tea-lights??
    And why do they all have different coloured gloves.
    Is it purple for picker-upper, white for bag holder and blue for the dancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I don't think its bomb squad, its most likely just svidence collection. Materials to make bombs, can be quite stable alone.

But as well as that, great timing, good work.
    How did you go about offering them to the papers

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I'm curious what you asked for these,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Cabaal wrote: »
    I'm curious what you asked for these,

Pack of 100 Ikea tea lights (sorry, couldn't resist from earlier posts)!!!

Mellor wrote: »
    I don't think its bomb squad, its most likely just svidence collection. Materials to make bombs, can be quite stable alone.

But as well as that, great timing, good work.
    How did you go about offering them to the papers

Most of the set is on flickr now, didnt want to give too much away before the papers were printed!!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/fergusmcnally/sets/72157604682623259/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭SOL

I'm really interested too, how much do you get for something like this?

Did not really talk money was just interested in gettin pictures out, RTE used 4,Daily Star 3 and Herald used 2 including 1 on front page, Tallaght Voice will use a few as well.

Was at the races all day today so will be contacting re billing tomorrow!

Will keep you all posted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

nice pic and gratz on the £££ !

However I have 3 gripes, none of which are your fault however

csicantshagginginvestgate.jpg

1) his HAIR !! For the love of God ! Why put a bloke in a suit if the other eejit is going to contaminate the evidence ???

2) Same guy has only ONE glove on !!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH !!:mad:

3) Those uncovered shoes make for great contamination. Excuse me mr gardai but who is to say that the bomb component wasnt stuck in your shoe then fell out at my clients house ??

reminds me of this :

CSIireland.jpg

makes me want to stab the gardai in the face !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭YeahOK

Congrats! They're pretty good shots as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Spyral wrote: »
    nice pic and gratz on the £££ !

However I have 3 gripes, none of which are your fault however

2) Same guy has only ONE glove on !!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH !!:mad:

Well done on getting the photos published, Dodgykeeper!

About the gripe with the gloves, from working in a lab I will often wear just one glove, particularly if I'm moving around. One gloved hand is for handling the samples and the ungloved hand is for doing things like opening doors, pressing switches etc, it's actually to stop contamination from the samples to other places....I presume the guy here with one glove isn't touching evidence with the ungloved hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Sorry to drag up and old thread but I was just curious as to how much you ended up getting for these shots??

Have agreed and sent invoices for just over €1000 recieved nothing so far...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Normally takes a minimum of 6 weeks to get paid, depending on the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭rahtkennades

6 weeks? 1 month is the normal payment time for an invoice. Not sure, but there may be legal weight to that timeframe.
    I'd be shaking a few trees if you're being fobbed off by these guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Late payments act (only reason i know this is that I very nearly fell foul of it recently :D)

stolen off a website:

An EU wide law will come into effect on 8 August 2002 to combat late payment in commercial transactions. This law will be implemented in Ireland by the European Communities (Late Payment in Commercial Transactions) Regulations 2002 which provide that penalty interest will become payable if payments for commercial transactions are not met within 30 days, unless otherwise specified in a contract or agreement.

In fairness i only mailed the invoices 2 weeks ago today so am not really that concerned yet, going to Eurodisney in 3 weeks and if i get it before that the wife will only spend it so would prefer a delay and a shopping trip in Berminghams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭YeahOK

I suspect their payment terms are Net 45 days, hence the six weeks (approx). It's pretty standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Good work Dodgykeeper

Out of interest, if your are lucky enough to photograph an event with your camera, how do you approach the papers or media with your shots? Do you send a sample? How do you agree a price?

Cheers
    H.

Wife just rang payslip arrived from RTE and money is in the bank, one down three to go!

Basically what happened was I was driving saw the incident, went home got camera took pics, on way home rang the newsdesks got the e-mail addresses and sent them a few pics each, didnt really have the time to negotiate payment but told them all I would ring the next day and talk money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭conkeroo

Dodgykeeper, can I just ask you because I was thinking about it myself if I was in your position, did you sell full copyright of the images? You said you emailed them over to the relevant people and said you'd talk money the next day, did you include a clause in your email to say that they had limited rights use? I only ask because im thinking whats stopping them selling these images to other publications if you havent made a formal agreement to protect from this. Just wonderin how you went about it. :)

In fairness i only mailed the invoices 2 weeks ago today so am not really that concerned yet, going to Eurodisney in 3 weeks and if i get it before that the wife will only spend it so would prefer a delay and a shopping trip in Berminghams.

Arrived back from disney paris today and 2 cheques waiting indo and the star thats almost €800

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Charles Bronson

Congrats. Nice work. I assume you used a digital camera, If yes what type?
    I have been driving around Dublin for a few years and have come across several instances where I thought, I wish I had my camera. Did you get any hassle from the guards, they can get peeved when you take their photos, especially when they are beating up some drunk beatnik in temple bar:D. I cant help but think you could have got several times that amount by going through an agency. So my next question, does anybody know of any agencies in Ireland that will pimp your photos/videos for a percentage.

Once again, congrats on your sale and I aspire to your paparazzi heights.