Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alesis / Ion Performance Pad for only $100 US!

• 21-04-2008 5:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭

Lads i said id post this up here in case ye miss it on the bargain alerts forum:

http://www.thinkgeek.com/electronics/mp3/99ae/

ion_drum_station_addtl.jpg

This drumpad is $199 on other sites, and is the exact same as the Alesis Performance Pad which retails for 300 euro on thomann:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/alesis_performance_pad.htm

The only difference is the logo, and you dont get free drumsticks + headphones + cable with the alesis.

It even comes with an Alesis Ac Adaptor!

Im very pleased with mine, cost 88 euro incl shipping with dhl (2 weeks ago), delivered in 3/4 days.

Add on €17.80 customs + €14 for a voltage converter, and youre still saving about 200 euro.

Ion dont make these anymore, i think the company is owned by alesis so maybe it was some kind of trial marketing run.

If anyone wants more information about the pros & cons of these pads i can post them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

superstar!

gonna buy one of these when i go home

cheers for the link

step up converter required i presume?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

Helix wrote: »
    step up converter required i presume?

A Step down one ya. You only need a 45watt one seen as it uses so little power,
    only buy bigger if you decide it could be useful for something else.

A few places mentioned on this thread:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055279458

And more info on the drum pad in the other thread too:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055279460

ahaha sorry yeh step up, cheers

I hear they're bringing out a limited edition 480v version soon alright! :p

Some absolutly savage tshirts on that site too..

ordered this on tuesday afternoon

IT ARRIVED TODAY

incredible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

IT ARRIVED TODAY

incredible

That was pretty quick alright! So what's it like in use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Rockshandy

has anyone had any problems ordering? i keep getting an error about my address and pone number when i'm trying to order?

IT ARRIVED TODAY

incredible

Unreal! Did you use DHL or UPS?
    I heard that UPS can get help up in customs in port laoise from people, so thats why i use dhl.
    Rockshandy wrote: »
    has anyone had any problems ordering? i keep getting an error about my address and pone number when i'm trying to order?

Strange, have tried using the proper international code, i.e. 353871234567 ?

It probably wont work if youre using 087, or 01 or whatever.

frobisher wrote: »
    That was pretty quick alright! So what's it like in use?

Its great in use imo, you have to hit the centre of the pads though or it can mistrigger, or sound softer.

I knew this before buying but it wasnt much of a problem.
    I notice with my kick drum pad i have to be more accurate than the others but sure youd really need a kick pedal anyway to play drums properly.

I heard you can get around the problem by reducing the velocity curve on the USB Version, but i dont think you can change the curve on this one, i couldnt seem to find it in the manual last night.

You will not get a drum pad that even comes close to this fo the same price, its definitely a bargain.

i havent used it yet

the only plug i have with the right specs isnt actually powerful enough to drive the audio engine, it just powers up the lcd

either that or the poxy thing doesnt work, but i wont know til i get the proper plug

the only plug i have with the right specs isnt actually powerful enough to drive the audio engine, it just powers up the lcd

either that or the poxy thing doesnt work, but i wont know til i get the proper plug

Youre using a different adaptor so i take it and not a voltage converter?

Youll need a 9v AC (not DC!) adaptor with at least a curent rating of 830mA,
    just in case you didnt know.

I was going to order one off ebay but said it would be easier to get a voltage converter int he end.

yeah ive a 9 AC with 550ma, so its not quite powerful enough to drive it

im going into maplin tomorrow just to get the plug that comes with it in irish format, coz the unit takes 220

yeah ive a 9 AC with 550ma, so its not quite powerful enough to drive it

im going into maplin tomorrow just to get the plug that comes with it in irish format, coz the unit takes 220

What do you mean by the unit?
    THe drum pad itself?

Youre not just buying US to IE adaptor for the alesis adaptor that came with it are ya? :confused:

the actual ion takes a 220 adaptor as well, its in the manual

you dont need a converter and to use the plug thats with it, as the box will actually take our power supply, all you need is a 9v ac 830ma power supply in 220

step up converter isnt needed

Ah cool, i thought you were trying to say the addapter that comes with it takes 220 and was getting worried that youd blow the thing!

Looks like its these 2 guys youll have a choice of:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L53BR&DOY=27m4 (1st one)

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=43055&doy=27m4

Safest bet to go with the the first one i think, at least the wrong voltage cant be selected, and has a very higher current rating for use with other stuff too.

excellent, that seems a nice versatile one

got the power supply today anyway and shes working grand, tho bizarrely on 7.5v instead of 9v

good fun, havent hooked it up to my actual studio gear as a controller tho, that should provide hours of entertainment