Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Debs Escort?

• 21-04-2008 12:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Right - The Wedding Date was on earlier and it got me thinking about something that's been on my mind lately;
    I'm scared out of my mind that I'll realise, the day before my Debs, that I've got nobody to go with. I know everybody says "Oh, there'll always be someone around" in a last case scenario, but what if....?
    So, how ridiculously weird would it be for me to hire some broke college type and say I'm bringing a friend? It's an all girls school Debs [read all bitch-fest] so I'd just need someone to keep with sane with some good banter when the going gets drunk; ie. escort, no prostitute.
    Opinions?
    By the by - feel free to rip the piss, I'd do it myself if I weren't the OP, but the odd suggestion or two wouldn't go amiss either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Surely you have some male friend or acquaintance who'd go with you...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

If you've got any male friends you could just bring one of them.
    Alternately ask a random person. I know of a girl who had just started college the week of her debs, she asked a guy from her class she'd only just met there to go with her... If you've already bought the ticket and if you already know where they could get a tux etc., it's not really any effort on their part...

Or just go on your own, though if your school is as bitchy as you suggest, maybe you'd rather have someone to keep you company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Polkadotty wrote: »
    Right - The Wedding Date was on earlier and it got me thinking about something that's been on my mind lately;
    I'm scared out of my mind that I'll realise, the day before my Debs, that I've got nobody to go with. I know everybody says "Oh, there'll always be someone around" in a last case scenario, but what if....?
    So, how ridiculously weird would it be for me to hire some broke college type and say I'm bringing a friend? It's an all girls school Debs [read all bitch-fest] so I'd just need someone to keep with sane with some good banter when the going gets drunk; ie. escort, no prostitute.
    Opinions?
    By the by - feel free to rip the piss, I'd do it myself if I weren't the OP, but the odd suggestion or two wouldn't go amiss either

Of course there'll be somebody around to go to, at that age, most people are dying to go to more than 1 debs!!

If worst comes to the worst bring a cousin, even if it's a girl (i'm guessing you are female) or as said above go by yourself. There'd be no point in bringing someone you didn't know, would ruin your night!

Sure when is your debs? Im sure you have plenty of time between now and then. If it's in the likes of September, you have the whole summer, will probably meet new friends as it is over this time!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

When I was drunk at the crimbo partay at work (in January!!!) I asked a girl I had talked to once before, and she said yeah. It's great now because Im ultra prepared. So, just ask someone. The worst that can happen is they will laugh in your face, but chances are he/she will say yes. Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭daggy

I am also dateless ... the local convent and monas. have recently immalgimated so chances are we will all desperately pair up. But, not to be a heartless bitch now, how do you decline an invite? In the nicest possible way ? What of you just want to go solo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

Invite your gay half-brother* and pretend to be engaged to him. Don't tell him about the lie though. Then just let the sitcom unravel.

*A cousin might work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I am also dateless for my debs....cept ours is in july..!! :eek: This wouldnt be a problem except i broke up with my boyfriend of 3 years a week ago so its a scenario i never would have envisioned. Most people now already have dates so im kinda screwed...but im waiting on til after the leaving cert to worry about that..if i cant get someone then im sure i can find a 5th year or TY that would only be mad to go!! Dont worry too muh yet!!!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭Yuugib

Maybe boardies can pair up and solve thre problems that so many ppl having :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭illiop

I have no one either but i have till sept so i plan on ambushing some poor soul some night i go out...be on the lookout

Don't you have any male friends that you could bring along?

You should make sure you get someone soon so you won't have to worry about this (like you are now) the day before, like you said!

If you really cant find a lad to bring.. just a bring a girl.. who gives a **** if its a bitch fest.. you'll be hitting college in september, it's not like you're going to see half of them again!!!

Go luck finding someone anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭thatone!

I'm in the same situation as you, its not that I have no male friends they're just already going with people. So I'm prob gonna go with my friend's friend hopefully :)
    If your really stuck why don't you get whoever's gonna be in your limo to ask one of their friends :)

You should make sure you get someone soon so you won't have to worry about this (like you are now) the day before, like you said!
    It seems a bit early to be finding a date, to me.. Well my debs is in October (on my 19th for that matter), which is in ages, god only knows I might hate the person I ask now, or as happened my sister, I might ask someone, then find someone else I'd rather bring and have to let down the first one, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭lilmizzme

Dont fret pets!! I had my debs last September, invited one of my really close guy friends in August....all was well!!
    Until, 2 weeks before hand, he suddenly told me he couldnt afford it (he had just moved into a new apartment) and couldnt go! :eek:
    So asked an old childhood friend, who agreed but then disagreed 2 days later! :eek::eek:
    So then asked a boy I had been seeing on and off for the summer....he declined!! So, now, it was a week to the debs and I had no one, extreme panic set in!!

However, a very good friend of mine came to the rescue, got his tux organised in time, and borrowed left right and centre to have money for drink for the night!! And I had the most amazing night, probably better then i ever would have had had I gone with the other 3!!

So three rejections ladies, not fun!! My advice? Give your date notice!! Debs are expensive affairs, especially if you're a girl!!

But dont stress about it, it can be scary askin them...but they will be delighted to go...(unless they're my guys of course!! ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭flonge

My advice would be to ask one of your close male friends because you are garunteed to have the best laugh.
    Don't worry about asking because you have got plenty of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

if all else fails, just ask some randomer from your college course if he wants to go to a Debs. easy way out. thats if you're going to college.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

I'll go to the debs!!!

As long as your cool, and your school isnt full of tossers:D

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

We could set up a dating service here on boards. Everyone posts their pictures, and you take your pick.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭daggy

gosh this could be interesting! pah! :p

"Dateless and Desperate" .

Mine's in Oct and falls the day after a major wedding i have to go to , which is actually being hosted in the same venue as our debs so im thinking stay in my kit and sleep under a table. And the day after the debs there's a late night concert in town which i just cant miss....so looks like I will be returning to, or possibly starting, Uni fairly hammered. What a good impression to make - tough times lads.

Peleus wrote: »
    We could set up a dating service here on boards. Everyone posts their pictures, and you take your pick.
    Wait, so what's Know Your Nerds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

I'll do it for 40 pounds (Yes I am one of those broke college types) :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Got my date a week before it, after me and a bunch of guys who said we'd go on our own kinda started picking up girlfriends. And she came all the way up from cork to go to it. still owe her for that. only problem is she got twisted and i spent the night looking after her.

I'm with the lads if you're looking for dates! ESPECIALLY if it's a bitchy school coz i like causing controversy :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,429 ✭✭✭✭cson

daggy wrote: »
    so looks like I will be returning to, or possibly starting, Uni fairly hammered. What a good impression to make - tough times lads.

You'll fit right in so ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 anything goes

Didn't realise having a date was so important. I had my debs last september, no date just went with a load of my dateless friends and had a great time. Try to ask someone who would know other people who are going to be there. One of my friends dates didn't know anyone else at ours and ended up driving her mad because he wouldn't leave her alone for two seconds all night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭kev_s88

Polkadotty wrote: »
    Opinions?

i'll go......for free :D
    got nothing else to do around then

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

Where are your debs? Are you fit? Pm me if you want with a pic I might go with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Word of warning OP, I got asked randomly to a debs like that. Girl saw me working in my uncles pub and got my number from somewhere.

Long story short I got drunk and went off with her best friend, then went for a spin on a JCB around Waterford with a load of lads from her school, then fell asleep.

In my defence she was mad into religion, wouldnt let me buy her a drink and giggled like a 3 year old on yokes. Also lads from her school, (I knew absolutely noone at the debs) kept coming up to me and saying fair play for bringing Cornelia. Also, her name was Cornelia.

Moral of the story, can I go to your debs with you?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I was also worried about having someone to do to the Debs with. I paid the deposit, and then it wasn't looking good so I let several deadlines pass without paying the rest of the money....then my best-friend who originally wanted to go alone decided that she really didn't want to go alone haha. So now I'm going with her and got my money in on the last day :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Irish_Dan

Im in the same boat but my debs isnt till August

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭missguided

This thread is nearly six years old... Pretty sure her debs is long gone:pac: