Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heart rate monitors

• 19-04-2008 12:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

I just want an opion on heart monitors.
    I personally have never used one,but I am back running after 18 years of a lay off (call it a mid life crisis).
    I have encouraged a good friend of mine to train as well,so we started out together training.
    Now he swears by this heart monitor,where i just train. He insists in keeping in the zone that his age and weight calls for.
    I am 2 years younger than him and 3 to 4 stone heavier,now if i was to listen to this monitor thing i should hardly be waddling along.
    I seem to be getting faster and able to do longer distances with out this device beeping if your heart goes any bit fast.
    I am trying to get him to ditch this method of training and train like me and i would know his speed would improve.
    I will be showing him this thread ,so i would like your honest opinion.

We are running our first 10 km in 3 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I personally train using both ways,I never race with my heart rate monitor because it can dictate your pace, I use it for my couple of easy runs and my speed session, but again I take it off when I want to go all out, but in my opinion its a must as a tool,hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Hi crubean,

firstly, well done on getting back running after 18 years. I did the same thing myself two years ago; it was one of the best decisions in my life. You'll probably find that those that use heart monitors will recommend them, and vice versa. My own opinion is they are unnecessary, particularly at this stage of your regaining a love of running, where you may find they get in the way of the "freedom" to run at your own pace, which is a vital part of your enjoyment right now.

Having said that, I'm not adverse to using an mp3 player, and some people will swear this is a barrier between you and your run! Each to their own.

Best of luck,

-donothoponpop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I swear by mine, but only use limited functionality. I turn off the beeps, don't train using the zones, I just use it to slow myself down if my heart-rate is running too close to my upper limit (hill training, etc.).

I also use the calories burnt as an approximate record of work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Heart rate monitors are a fantastic tool for training.

Yes if you are new to running (or back after 18 years) your heart will be racing when your body is plodding.

At the moment you probably don't need one but if you get serious about training then they are a necessity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

I swear by mine, but only use limited functionality. I turn off the beeps, don't train using the zones, I just use it to slow myself down if my heart-rate is running too close to my upper limit (hill training, etc.).

I also use the calories burnt as an approximate record of work done.

Hi guys, I would be the bloke Crubeen spoke of, and I have to say that Krusty's post is the exact way I use my monitor. Crubeen has a point and I agree with him to a degree. As he mentioned, we're both just back training after an extended break!! In crubeens case 18 years and myself 21 years!!

I've never used on of these devices until it was recommended to me, and I recieved one for Christmas from the wife, since then its been a great aid to me as to keeping myself at a steady pace and heart rate. I will have to try run without it and pace myself and see how I get on, but at nearly 40 and a 21 year break from running I am using it as a safety!! you forgive, I'm sure the concern:D

Have to say, when I was younger i ran because I had to! and never really enjoyed it that much, but this time round...much more enjoyable!! Thanks guys for the responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I'm the same (and less than a handful of years behind you). My problem is I can't pace myself. On my own initiative, I'd be out of the trap like a greyhound and wrecked within 15 minutes. Using the HRM, I found that I could actually run much, much longer distances.

I'm sure it's the kind of discipline that you learn eventually with experience, so the HRM becomes as useful as a stopwatch, but over the last year, my pace has increased by a significant amount, within the same heart rate range, so again, it has helped me adapt to getting running fit, for the first time in many years.

Did I say "enjoyed it more? I know its not a lot to you serious runners, but did a 4 miler last night, jeez, I did not enjoy that one! Yeah Crusty, it's the same for me, pacing is the real benift for me with this gizmo, i've stretched my distances to over 10k now, only when I feel like it though!

And I'm only really back at this since just before Christmas, so as it goes, I'm pleased with the progress so far. Come the day of my 10k I'm planning on leaving the heart monitor and just timing myself, As for Crubeen, sure all I'll see of him is dust! He just can't help himself, a driven man!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭crubean

HI,
    I was out with iceage the other night,"training,"as i have been off the beer for 4 weeks.I love to run ,but my body cant take it like when i was younger,But i can take pain very well,I will not let people say to me ,
    "You are Fat and you can't run".
    I want to do this for myself to prove that i can still do it.
    I ran the Dublin marathon in 1989 ish.
    i had only ran a half marathon before that,but people said i couldnt do a full one.
    i lined up and ran after 9 miles i got a water blister on the sole of my foot,i stop got fixed up ,banged up and went back at it.
    I did it in 3hrs 40 mins. That shut everyone up.
    I would like to do Dublin again this year and bring iceage with me for the greatest feeling he will ever get when you cross that line and say i have just run a marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

Guy's
    as pointed out above to each his own.

I use a polar HRM & find it good for keeping within the aerobic which is important for long distance races.
    Keeping in the zone while training will build up your base & improve your body efficency at flushing lactate from muscles. When you start to push above that zone (your body can produce lactate faster than it is flushed from muscle tissue resulting in CRAMP AArrgh!

If you can percieve your rate of exertion fairly well then maybe HRM is not for you.

I have seen some people starting training getting a HRM & thinking its a silver bullet solution to regaining condition, these people unfortunately quite often fall off the wagon.

I used to think it was a gimmick, but as I got more into running I understood the benefits & alway run with it nowadays.

Iceage I know I used to train with a friend & his beeping HRM used to do my head in :mad:, can your model be muted?

best of luck with the 10KM lads

Yeah it can, Polar F6 does exactly what it says on the tin! and mutable although I leave the overrate alarm on for myself. Although lately I'm finding it more and more difficult to stay within my HR zone. I'm becoming more comfortable slightly outside my suggested zone, its as if I running to slowly in that zone and I seem to be getting a bit quicker. without knocking the stuffing out of myself.

Hopefully this might be a sign that finally all this hard work is starting to pay off. Both myself and Crubeen started back just before Christmas and with this gradual return for me I hope that I can keep this up after our Challenge 10k! Crubeen has a further goal of a full Marathon, this might not appeal to me, maybe a half Marathon...we'll see, again thanks for the generally positive response in favour of HRM's. So Crubeen, you better dust yoyr one off and put it to good use!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭crubean

lads and lassies,
    I would like to thank ye all for your input,it has been worthwile.Iceage is into his gadgets i just use my watch to see what time it takes me to run a certain distance.Maybe silly you say but i run to how i feel.Feeling good i will pick it up ,not so good slow it down,no watch beeping there for me,its the old way of running.
    Myself and Iceage are raising funds for cystic fibroisis ,I think we have about €300 , which is not bad for two fat fellas,so that is just a small incentive.
    Me personally i am trying to recapture my youth, and go back to what i love getting out there and hammering down the roads.
    Sorry if i am going off on a tangent,I would not be your typical athlete, if you saw me you would think I am winding you up that i run.
    I dont care because if any one wants to laugh at me out running, I just say come on and lets see who stops first.I know who is going to win?????