Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin team to play Meath

• 18-04-2008 9:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭

Cluxton, Henry, R Mc Conn, Andrews, Moran, Cullen, Brennan, Whelan, Fenn, B Mc Man, Quinn, Flynn, Sherlock, C Kean, B Brogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

You got the thread title wrong. It should be "Dublin team to beat Meath". :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Hee hee. I did think about it....believe me, but thought I'd get nothing but abuse!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Nothing new there then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

GK, and the half back line is all that I'd be happy with there tbh, the rest of the lines are far from complete as far as I'm concerned.

Would love to see Bren Mac show his full potential now and have a shout come the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Its a complete team, apart from Ryan, Flynn and maybe 1 or 2 others that will be the team to start the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Sorry to play the devils advocate here, but does the naming of one GAA county team out of 64 really warrant an entire thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

sorry to jump into this thread but does anybody know where tickets can be got for this game?
    Too late to go through the club now.

Will they be selling outside Parnell?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Apparently 4 red cards and no score so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

5 now, ciaran whelan just got sent off for hitting crawford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Actually 5 cards now! P.Andrews, B.Brogan and C.Whealan for the Dubs
    The two meath corner backs also red carded. Someone threw a cup of coffee at Whealan as he was coming off the field :eek:
    More worrying for the Dubs is the fact that a 3 month suspension could follow if its a category 1 offence. Missing two major players for the championship is no what they want!

Edit: Sorry was a bit slow posting apparently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

now its five. ciaran whelan just got the line.

3 from dublin gone- paddy andrews , brogan - not alan the other lad - cant think of his first name after the first major scrap. then whelan later on his own
    2 corner backs from meath also. Somebody through a cup of coffee over whelan on his way to the dressing rooms. should be interesting to watch this tonight.

Ah, its just a coincidence Dublin are playing!!:rolleyes: They have to call back the statistican to count how many players they actually have left on the field! ( woops hes not there any more - forgot he himself is banned !!:p:p

Maybe Caffery will get in on the act with his shoulder charge before the end!!

Whats great is that just last week Caffrey came out and said "We're not a dirty team!"...try and explain this Piller! When was the last time the Dubs finished with 15 men???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭mailblaney

yeay, meath got a point. up the royals!! what formation do you play with 12 men? could be a 4-4-2 by the end!

i think coyle could take caffrey!!

mailblaney wrote: »
    yeay, meath got a point. up the royals!! what formation do you play with 12 men?
    Probably 3-3-2-2-1 but maybe 2-3-2-2-2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Probably 3-3-2-2-1 but maybe 2-3-2-2-2

Maybe they should agree to play the second half with 11 a side, woops that might then a foreign game!!

First foreign game in parnell park!

Flukey wrote: »
    You got the thread title wrong. It should be "Dublin team to beat Meath". :)

Literally beat each other :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

meath are bad :mad:

2 goals !! Come on Meath!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I missed this game as I am dying of flu today but one thing I noticed from TV was how more or less the whole team steamed into the row. Not one player on either side tried to calm it down. Lack of leadership/discipline on both sides. Poor form. As for the Whelan coffee incident, I didn't see it but if it's true, that "fan" should be charged...shocking thing to do to any human being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

The whole thing is extremely disapointing. The GAA must come down heavily on this especially after the Tyrone debacle. Dublin are the most popular team and these incidents reflect very badly on the GAA. Dublin must accept whatever suspensions, fines etc given or the whole thing becomes a farce. There is no point in asking the Dub fans here to defend 7 red cards in 7 league matches because it's indefensible. Not to mention that Dublin are in the final and promoted thanks to 2 points gained over Cork that they didn't play. What a mess and instead of concentating on the fine achievments of Westmeath and Tipperary the GAA headlines will be about this thuggery, time for Dublin to wake up and realise they have a serious disciplinary problem with Caffrey in charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭molby14

Collie D wrote: »
    I missed this game as I am dying of flu today but one thing I noticed from TV was how more or less the whole team steamed into the row. Not one player on either side tried to calm it down. Lack of leadership/discipline on both sides. Poor form. As for the Whelan coffee incident, I didn't see it but if it's true, that "fan" should be charged...shocking thing to do to any human being
    was it on the box?

patmac wrote: »
    The whole thing is extremely disapointing. The GAA must come down heavily on this especially after the Tyrone debacle. Dublin are the most popular team and these incidents reflect very badly on the GAA. Dublin must accept whatever suspensions, fines etc given or the whole thing becomes a farce. There is no point in asking the Dub fans here to defend 7 red cards in 7 league matches because it's indefensible. Not to mention that Dublin are in the final and promoted thanks to 2 points gained over Cork that they didn't play. What a mess and instead of concentating on the fine achievments of Westmeath and Tipperary the GAA headlines will be about this thuggery, time for Dublin to wake up and realise they have a serious disciplinary problem with Caffrey in charge.

+1. Well said.

From the looks of the highlights and considering Dublins recent indiscipline, anything less than a 3-month ban would be laughable. The team deserves to be without banned players for the start of the Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Not one single mention of Meath in that post. They had 2 players sent off and were just as involved in the "thuggery" as Dublin. What about the Meath fan that threw the cup of coffee over Whelan? Is it Dublin's fault aswell that Cork refused to field a team for the opening games of the league?:rolleyes:

I don't like this siege mentality that Caffrey has instilled in his players and feel we would be far better off just playing football. That said, your post stinks with your own anti-Dublin agenda. Dublin should be punished more severely than others because they are the most popular team and this reflects badly on the GAA? Is that what you're saying?:rolleyes: The Dublin players who were sent off today and in previous fixtures, should have, have been and will be punished accordingly. The players still have the right to appeal and can excercise that should they want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

The Meath "fan" who threw that cup should be banned for life. The whole display was a disgrace.

molby14 wrote: »
    was it on the box?

Saw it on the news
    deise59 wrote: »
    +1. Well said.

From the looks of the highlights and considering Dublins recent indiscipline, anything less than a 3-month ban would be laughable. The team deserves to be without banned players for the start of the Championship

I assume the same should apply for Meath. One team was as bad as the other

Saw it on the news

dont ruin there fun man. its the start of a witch-hunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Nordwind

*don't
    *their
    *it's

Hopefully Whelan will get the ban he's deserved for the last 10 years, filthy player.

Nordwind wrote: »
    Hopefully Whelan will get the ban he's deserved for the last 10 years, filthy player.

Yawn!!

He has been banned before and I'm sure he will be again. I didn't see what he did today but if it was for violent conduct then a ban is in order. Ciarán Whelan is not the sole issue here. I'm sure there's something in the charter about casting aspersions on individual players. Try and look at it through non anti-Dublin eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Nordwind

I'm from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Whatever eyes you use, Ciaran Whelahen is one of the dirtiest players in Gaelic Football, and both Meath and Dublin are undisciplined pathetic jokes.

Everyone but Cluxton should be banned for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Disgraceful from both sides. No one from either county can really defend that kind of sh!te. Think its unfair to blame Dubs only though, Meath are hardly saints in this instance and down through the years they have been involved in their fair share of dirty (not to be confused with hard) play. On the dublin side Caffrey has to take some blame for instilling this mentality, patting Vaughan on the back for smacking someone in face a few weeks ago is hardly setting sending right signal to players.

I watched many of these Dubs players play for their clubs, Vins lads in particular, and they seldom get involved in this kind of stuff, their obvious focus is on playing their part in winning for the team and this does not involved getting sent off. Any of lads that followed Vins here through Dub C'ship and Leinster will have seen that they walked away from provocation in many of their games, in the end they got rewarded for this focus and think Caffrey would be better to instill same controlled aggression in county panel rather than this immature attitude of "stand your ground" and "don't be intimidated by anyone" crap. IMO its doing Dublin more harm than good....

definately, disgracefull stuff from both teams, meath were just as bad as dublin
    caoibhin wrote: »
    The Meath "fan" who threw that cup should be banned for life. The whole display was a disgrace.

agreed also, throwing stuff at players is a disgrace and has to be stamped out immediattely
    I'm from Dublin.

atleast one dub see's whelan threw non blue tinted glasses :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Please remind me how many players did meath have sent off. Where you at the game?? Yet again a biased opinion through rose tinted glasses. There were two teams involved today. Is it not to much to ask for a more balanced comment.

Paddy russsell could have sent off alot more and those who were can have no complaints. I believe he dealt with the situation very well.

On the game i thought meath were very poor arguing amongst themselves in the last quarter prior to their come back. Fennell and Connolly were imense for dublin. Meaths use of the spare man was poor.

Delighted to see Westmeath beat Monaghan.

I dont see the point of a division two final both teams are promoted. The final is irrelevent in my opinion.

To an extent yes, but Meath haven't had NINE men sent off since the start of the year have they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

What happened today was pretty awful but will admit when I seen that twat russell was down to ref it, knew there would be fireworks. Lot of his big games seem to have this problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Hashbrown

Mullet wrote: »
    I dont see the point of a division two final both teams are promoted. The final is irrelevent in my opinion.

I agree, big gate for the GAA I suppose maybe one reason.

I see the anti-Dub brigade are off early this year, be a long summer for ye lads.:D I am sure ye will have plenty more to say before September.
    Its great to see how still pissed of ye get when the Dubs are winning.

Up the Dubs.:D

Going to be a long summer, if you say something positive about Dublin you are wearing blue-tinted glasses, if you say anything negative about Dublin you must be part of the anti-dublin brigade. Guess you can't just have an opinion :rolleyes:

I haven't seen any highlights of the game today so I can't comment on it. If I was a Dublin supporter I would be concerned about their recent disciplinary record. As a Wexford supporter I am concerned about our disciplinary record, which I don't think has been as bad as Dublins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I had sympathy for Dublin during the week with all the bad press.

After today it's time to take of the blue tinted glasses!

What about Meath? Fair enough. What about Monaghan? What about Longford? etc. etc.

Dublin should have had a bit of cop after the bad press.

Time to ask what about Dublin, Caffrey, the fans who defend them all the time?

Once is a mistake, twice is careless, not sure about nine? ;)

Good point Cruiserweight.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Hashbrown wrote: »
    I see the anti-Dub brigade are off early this year, be a long summer for ye lads.:D I am sure ye will have plenty more to say before September.
    Its great to see how still pissed of ye get when the Dubs are winning.

Tbh I couldn't care less if Dublin won today, both sides were ill-disciplined but one of ye had to win out.

If, however, Dublin come across a cleaner, better organized side later in the summer then I'll want the better footballing team to win out, not the more physical team.

*don't
    *their
    *it's

ooooooo no hit my grammer .... knob
    10 years? care to back that up with some examples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

If the GAA use the same "logic" as they did after the Cork v Clare game last year, then lengthy bans must be handed down to at least 10 or 12 players involved in that today. The Cork v Clare row was handbags compared to that today.

One funny incident though, did anyone see the 2 Meath players going for the Dublin player, only for the Dublin player to duck out of it and the Meath players hit each other, one of them ending up on the floor :D

eigrod wrote: »
    If the GAA use the same "logic" as they did after the Cork v Clare game last year, then lengthy bans must be handed down to at least 10 or 12 players involved in that today. The Cork v Clare row was handbags compared to that today.

One funny incident though, did anyone see the 2 Meath players going for the Dublin player, only for the Dublin player to duck out of it and the Meath players hit each other, one of them ending up on the floor :D
    did the cork clare saga not happen BEFORE the game started?

Yes. Does it make a difference (other than the referee wasn't on the pitch, so they used video evidence only) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

How is this for starters -

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0827/mayo.html

Ciaran Whelan was fortunate to escape with a yellow card when he appeared to punch Ronan McGarrity as the Mayo man fielded a high ball. McGarrity was clearly shaken by the incident and continued for ten minutes before eventually leaving the field.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2007/0618/jimholmes.html

In between, Ciaran Whelan appeared to take a cheap shot at a Meath player leaving Geraghty laid low from an apparent elbow, the Monaghan referee only issuing a yellow card.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=47220

Hardly surprisingly given the enormity of the occasion, the match had an incredible - and controversial - start. Ciaran Whelan was extremely fortunate not to get an immediate red card when he punched Nigel Crawford in the face on the throw-in, leaving the Meath midfielder with a bloodied nose, but referee John Bannon bottled the decision and flashed a yellow.

whatnext wrote: »
    How is this for starters -

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0827/mayo.html

Ciaran Whelan was fortunate to escape with a yellow card when he appeared to punch Ronan McGarrity as the Mayo man fielded a high ball. McGarrity was clearly shaken by the incident and continued for ten minutes before eventually leaving the field.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2007/0618/jimholmes.html

In between, Ciaran Whelan appeared to take a cheap shot at a Meath player leaving Geraghty laid low from an apparent elbow, the Monaghan referee only issuing a yellow card.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=47220

Hardly surprisingly given the enormity of the occasion, the match had an incredible - and controversial - start. Ciaran Whelan was extremely fortunate not to get an immediate red card when he punched Nigel Crawford in the face on the throw-in, leaving the Meath midfielder with a bloodied nose, but referee John Bannon bottled the decision and flashed a yellow.
    mayo 06 i agree
    meath 05 when craford was haging out of him no that was poor from the ref
    meath last year when graham was pushed to the floor and the linesman came in to tell the ref nothing in it? your clutching at that one lad
    to say he is due it 10 years !..... horse ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

I don't know his club form...............

you cant defend his actions on the field, in any of those instances highlighted, not if you want anyone to take you seriously anyway, much the same as some of other players from other counties.

No need to panic.....all will be well tomorrow when Nicky Brennan comes out and says (again) that we can't have those type of scenes on GAA pitches around the country and says (again) that discipline must be tackled and when he sets up another 2 or 3 discipliniary committees to look into this.

whatnext wrote: »
    I don't know his club form...............

you cant defend his actions on the field, in any of those instances highlighted, not if you want anyone to take you seriously anyway, much the same as some of other players from other counties.
    so you think he should have got a straight red last year v meath?
    if so i bid you good night and goodbye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

molby14, read the charter.

Banned for a week.