Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting a new Club

• 17-04-2008 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Hello,

am looking in to starting a new Boxing club in Ratoath, Co Meath.
    Can anyone give me any advise on where to begin.
    Have emailed the IABA with a similar request but as is allways the case
    the more advise the better.
    Things like, insurance, equipment, affiliation to governing body spring to
    mind but am sure theres a whole lot more to it.
    Any guidance would be very much appreciated,

Shane Kavanagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Howya Shane,

I helped in the start up of monkstown-dublin boxing club. Any queries just fire them at me mate.

Firstly you will need to get in contact with the head of the Leinster board im pretty sure thats Mick Darby and tell him what yis are thinking of doing and he'll give ya most of the info that you'll need in order to affiate etc. I dont have the number meself but here are other numbers for clubs in meath ask them if they can give you his or someone on the leinster board's number.

Best of luck with it.....as i say any questions just shout them at me.

MEATH COUNTY BOARD (4 Clubs)
    ASHBOURNE
    Des Donnelly
    14 Castle Cresent
    Ashbourne
    Co Meath
    8351052/087-6107333

DUNBOYNE
    Ms Einear Gilligan
    260 Beechdale
    Dunboyne
    Co. Meath
    01-8251776
    086 3782544

K & K
    Kathleen Teulin
    87 Mount St Joseph
    Kingswood
    Co. Cavan
    087 9102141

NAVAN B.C.
    Neil Blaney
    Demailstown,
    Wilkestown, Navan
    Co Meath
    neilblaney1@iolfree.ie
    087 6353421

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Kavanaghs wrote: »
    Hello,

am looking in to starting a new Boxing club in Ratoath, Co Meath.
    Can anyone give me any advise on where to begin.
    Have emailed the IABA with a similar request but as is allways the case
    the more advise the better.
    Things like, insurance, equipment, affiliation to governing body spring to
    mind but am sure theres a whole lot more to it.
    Any guidance would be very much appreciated,

Shane Kavanagh

well done and good luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

Best of luck mate i'm a local boy so that be good have a new one close by. I'll defo go down would like to give ya a hand but heading to aus end of year but hey i'll help ya out if ya want before then so if ya like PM me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Kavanaghs

Hello again

am arranging a meeting in Ratoath Community Centre next Wednesday night, will confrim time as soon as I get it from Community centre people.
    If your interested would be delighted to see you there,

Shane

Hi MBC,

well u did say fire the questions at you so here goes,

Is affiliation to IABA necessary ? Assuming it is whats the cost / benefits ?

Assuming some form of insurance is required who offers it and have
    you an idea of annual cost ?

Is there some form or list of registered coaches ?

Whats the basic type of equipment needed and where do I get it ?

Do clubs generally charge members on a per night basis or on an annual
    membership basis ?

Am sure more questions will come to mind but your thoughts or suggestions on the above would be appreciated,

Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Is affiliation to IABA necessary ? Assuming it is whats the cost / benefits?.........Yes if you want to compete.......you wont be allowed to hold any shows/enter comps etc if you dont affiliate........also the costs are about €600 each year.......usually due around May.......this covers your insurance aswell.

Assuming some form of insurance is required who offers it and have
    you an idea of annual cost
    ........as above.

Is there some form or list of registered coaches?.........no list.......the leinster board run courses from time to time to get coaches registered.......its a one day course........you'll need to tell them you need coaches registered and they will let ya know when/were/cost of courses etc..........suppose to be at least 1 qualified coach in every club.

Whats the basic type of equipment needed and where do I get it?.........well depending on the size of your clubhouse.........a ring is very important but expensive and if your renting a premises its hard to be allowed erect one......boxing bags, speed ball..........gloves, headguards, skipping ropes, gumshields, handwraps etc are essiential for the boxer so its up to yourselves if you want the club to purchase them or the boxer get his own.......check out this guy Ergoboxing he comes to the stadium whenever there championships on........they are really nice lads and will usually cut ya a few deals if you are spending a few bob.

Do clubs generally charge members on a per night basis or on an annual membership basis ? thats completely up to yourselves......we charge a annual membership of €10 and nightly subs of €2.........thats very cheap.......i know others who charge €10 a week but as i say it depends of rent, bills etc of your own club.

Hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Hi Shane,

You don't sound like someone from a boxing background, what inspired you to start a boxing club?

Genuine question, and the very best of luck.

MBC,

your a gent, thanks for the info greatly appreciated.

Fair question Oilrig, I'm not from a boxing background, i.e. I never boxed.
    Am soccer and fishing mad myself. Heavily involved in my local soccer club, coaching, managing etc. and referee matches at schoolboy level.

Love watching and going to boxing matches though.
    The idea of the club is an attempt to give local kids something else to do rather than hang around my local street corners, getting themselves into trouble. Stems also from one of my own kids looking to take it up.

Am probably mad for even trying but will give it a go and see what happens. They announced the idea for me at the local secondary school the other day and 78 teenagers said they'd join !!! God help me.

If you've any pointers or suggestions yourself feel free to air them, think I'm going to need all the help / advice I can get,

Shane Kavanagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Kavanaghs wrote: »
    MBC,

your a gent, thanks for the info greatly appreciated.

Fair question Oilrig, I'm not from a boxing background, i.e. I never boxed.
    Am soccer and fishing mad myself. Heavily involved in my local soccer club, coaching, managing etc. and referee matches at schoolboy level.

Love watching and going to boxing matches though.
    The idea of the club is an attempt to give local kids something else to do rather than hang around my local street corners, getting themselves into trouble. Stems also from one of my own kids looking to take it up.

Am probably mad for even trying but will give it a go and see what happens. They announced the idea for me at the local secondary school the other day and 78 teenagers said they'd join !!! God help me.

If you've any pointers or suggestions yourself feel free to air them, think I'm going to need all the help / advice I can get,

Shane Kavanagh

Shane setting up a boxing club is extremely hard these days, if your really interested in it, get a boxing coach in on it otherwise your going to do the kids and boxing a disservice, and by that i dont mean you with a boxing coach cert!!

boxing is very complex and takes major training and knowledge of training and tactics by the coaches, plus you need to be up on upcoming competitions and know other club coaches.

Best of luck with it and fair play for getting proper advise.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Have arranged a meeting in Ratoath Community Centre for tomorrow evening, Wednesday, at 8p.m.

A rep from the Meath county Board will attend and we'll take our lead and guidance from him.

Thank you all for your comments, advise and good wishes,

Shane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Good on you.

Keep us posted as to how you get on.