Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wishing Paul Newton a speedy recovery

• 17-04-2008 2:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭

I would like to wish the unfortunate Paul Newton (the guy who was viciously assaulted in Belfast last weekend)a speedy recovery and the best of health in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Jabby wrote: »
    I would like to wish the unfortunate Paul Newton (the guy who was viciously assaulted in Belfast last weekend)a speedy recovery and the best of health in the future.

Paul is a sound lad and didn't deserve that.
    Hopefully he'll pull through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Terrible. just a random attack, possibly brought on by wearing a Connacht jersey. Not that a rugby fan would've done it, but it marked him out as being a visitor.
    Hope he pulls through quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

A terrible thing to happen.

Thoughts with him and his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Big_Mac

Here here, Well said all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Sorry Guys, Anyone have a link? I haven't heard anything about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0416/newtonp.html

+1 wishing him a speedy recovery also. i dont know the guy (know brothers of his from football) but noone deserves that sort of thing to happen to them. Apparently they have cctv footage of the attack? hopefully the attacker is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭drive3331

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

gucci wrote: »

+1 wishing him a speedy recovery also. i dont know the guy (know brothers of his from football) but noone deserves that sort of thing to happen to them. Apparently they have cctv footage of the attack? hopefully the attacker is found.
    drive3331 wrote: »

Thanks guys.

That's terrible! Hope they find the attacker(s).

Hope he pulls through

gucci wrote: »

Hate to be pessemistic, but the british justice system is so flawed that they will most likely get a six month community order and bound to the peace or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Seen the story in the Champion, don't know the guy but hope he makes a full recovery.
    mcgowan.b wrote: »
    Hate to be pessemistic, but the british justice system is so flawed that they will most likely get a six month community order and bound to the peace or something.

Bit of a generalisaion there mac in fairness. Could you guarantee the Irish justice system would deal with the offender or offenders any better. It's down to the individual judges in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,556 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Sadly another unprovoked attack.

As everyone else has said - best wishes for a speedy recovery.

Sorry, should have clarified. No I don't think the Irish justice system is any better. I watch the reality programs about the UK police, and granted that they are for entertainment, they have to be factually accurate. The amount of people that get minimal sentences and penalties for crimes they commit is a joke. I guess they just can't afford to house everyone in prison (or have the space for that matter)

I'm sorry to say that I think if the offender is caught, there will be feck all penalties imposed on him. Its just the way it is.

Sad really.
    Seen the story in the Champion, don't know the guy but hope he makes a full recovery.

Bit of a generalisaion there mac in fairness. Could you guarantee the Irish justice system would deal with the offender or offenders any better. It's down to the individual judges in most cases.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

Thoughts for the family. Apparently one of his girls is making her confirmation in a couple of weeks too. Its just too sad. Lets hope for the best and for a full recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Hope he pulls through and has a speedy recovery :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yep, wishing Paul all the best.

Absolutely shocking thing to happen.

The one thing I will say is Paul is a big "strappin" lad and hopefully this will help him to pull through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

I didn't know the man personally or as a loacl businessman but I wish him a speedy recovery.
    Thoughts are wish the family!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sam66

For those of you who have wished Paul Newton and his family well, I just want you all to know as of today Paul is breathing by himself, but is still critical and will still need your special thoughts.ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lizzyc

sam66 wrote: »
    For those of you who have wished Paul Newton and his family well, I just want you all to know as of today Paul is breathing by himself, but is still critical and will still need your special thoughts.ta

Thank you sam66 for this positive news.
    From TN, our thoughts and prayers for Paul's recovery are sent from our hearts. God bless.
    LizzyC

Thanks for the update.

He sounds like a tough guy, best wishes for a full recovery to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

good to hear hes making some kind of recovery, lets hope they get the low lifes responsible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sam66

Today Paul is semi-conscious and attempting to speak. Keep all the positivity going. Thanks...

Thats great news. Good luck to him.

Today Paul is semi-conscious and attempting to speak. Keep all the positivity going. Thanks...
    Thats good news indeed.

You are obviously someone who knows him well so keep us posted on his progress please.

Cmon big man! You can do it!

That's excellent news!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jakkate

Just to say, a big get well to Paul Newton, I just heard on the news that he is stable and that is great!
    These random acts should not happen, I know this sounds mad, but is there any way we can help stop them? Or are we just a weak nation that sits back and let it happen??? I am NOT a political person, and, I so do NOT want to 'go there'! But seriously, is there anything a 'lay person' can do ??? I feel so frustrated at times that these things can happen .... not just there, but in every town and here we are giving out bout it....but what are we doing about it!..... Sorry guys...my rant for the day!!! (This is my first time on this site, mabe I shouldnt have said so much??!) xx Jak :pac:

The problem in this case is somewhat different.
    According to News reports it happened it a "lively" spot in Belfast known for violence so it may have been a case of wrong place wrong time!

In general though people are reluctant to get involved as they may get more than a kick or a punch for their trouble.

I pulled a guy out of a "fight" one night in Sligo.
    Three lads were kicking the piss outta him so I chased them off.
    I put him in a taxi and all he kept saying was how he was going to get his mates in Dublin to come up the next weekend and blah blah blah!

He was steamed and didn't realise how lucky he was. These lads probably wouldn't have stopped!

In fairness though you cannot blame the majority of ppl for not getting involved because of fear! Especially when there is drink involved!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

Gillie wrote: »
    In general though people are reluctant to get involved as they may get more than a kick or a punch for their trouble.

I pulled a guy out of a "fight" one night in Sligo.
    Three lads were kicking the piss outta him so I chased them off.
    I put him in a taxi and all he kept saying was how he was going to get his mates in Dublin to come up the next weekend and blah blah blah!

He was steamed and didn't realise how lucky he was. These lads probably wouldn't have stopped!

In fairness though you cannot blame the majority of ppl for not getting involved because of fear! Especially when there is drink involved!

Fair play for getting involved when others mightn't. :)

jakkate wrote: »
    , is there anything a 'lay person' can do ??? I feel so frustrated at times that these things can happen ....

I understand what you mean here, and I feel the same way too. Other than voice our opinions on a forum such as this one, the next progression would be to vigilantism. Next thing you know it'll be eye for an eye and before you know it we'll be brought down to the same level as the rest of these scum. I know for fact that I, and most of the people who post on this website are better than these scum, so its not a good idea.

Also. its fantastic that Paul is coming round. Only good news I've had today (My Lapotop died :mad: and now I've been cheered up.). Hope he's up and about soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jakkate

I can not agree with you more, I know its easy for me or any one to say we should do more, but I dont mean me or you as a person, well maybe I do - and I know where your coming from - its hard to stand up to bullies/cowards, cos thats what they are.... but I mean us as an Irish Nation! We are so proud of ourselves as a culture, whether it be Ruby, Football, Euro vision (ok, maybe not a great example!! t hee hee) but are we all laying down and taking it? ...and how do we deal with it without getting our friends/loved ones/family in bother???? We cant take it one one by one, (you have just given a prime example and I'm sure there is many many more) but maybe we can do summit together, what - I do not know.... than again maybe I dreaming!!!
    Or maybe, just maybe, Im just so bloody tired after along day.... Im talking complete crap!!! Let me know, and I will say sorry! :p

jakkate wrote: »
    I can not agree with you more, I know its easy for me or any one to say we should do more, but I dont mean me or you as a person, well maybe I do - and I know where your coming from - its hard to stand up to bullies/cowards, cos thats what they are.... but I mean us as an Irish Nation! We are so proud of ourselves as a culture, whether it be Ruby, Football, Euro vision (ok, maybe not a great example!! t hee hee) but are we all laying down and taking it? ...and how do we deal with it without getting our friends/loved ones/family in bother???? We cant take it one one by one, (you have just given a prime example and I'm sure there is many many more) but maybe we can do summit together, what - I do not know.... than again maybe I dreaming!!!
    Or maybe, just maybe, Im just so bloody tired after along day.... Im talking complete crap!!! Let me know, and I will say sorry! :p
    Yeah, your first post was tolerable but just wish the man well and leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lizzyc

Thank you sam66 for this news. All here in TN are praying for Paul's recovery and strength for Margaret and their family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭blackiebest

I have been following this story with interest. I did not know Paul personally but I think I have met him once or twice. Neither do I know details of his injuries other than they are very serious and that he has received head injuries. Head injuries are something I do know about (unfortunately) as a member of my family had terrible injuries to his head from a fall.

He will recover however it will take a LONG time! That said there is a good chance he will be out and about soon, and might appear to be fine but a head injury is a very very odd type of injury that takes YEARS to assess. So physically he may well appear perfect and all around think he is same as ever but inside his head the healing is only starting.

I was told by a surgeon that after 3 to 4 years one can begin to determine the lasting effects of the injury. This proved very accurate in my case and Thank God all is fine with my sibling but for sure it changed all our lives. Lots of patience and understanding will be required and allow Paul recover in his own way.

http://www.headway.ie/ should be consulted by all those who will be around Paul. Anyone feel they need more info do not hesitate to contact me. There is also a book which is a must read for family members available from that site.

I pray for Paul, his family and friends and I am sure he will recover completely through time.

I hope the thugs who carried out this terrible act are brought to justice

Well said Blackiebest. here here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 AllieB

I remember Paul well from School, although I am bit younger. He's a big guy with a big heart with lots of courage and very decent. I wish him a speedy recovery and will be thinking about him and his family.

Paul Newton Fundraiser

Paul Newton (43) suffered head injuries as a result of an unprovoked attack in the early hours of Saturday April 12th while on a weekend break in Belfast. Paul will have to undergo intensive rehabilitation and therapy, it is uncertain when Paul will be able to return to work. To assist Paul and his family over this traumatic and expensive period, friends of Paul have initiated some fundraising ventures.

A fundraising draw and auction is being held on Friday 20th June in the Glasshouse Hotel in Sligo. Tickets for the draw are being distributed through members of St. Mary’s GAA Club, Sligo All Stars Basketball club and numerous friends of Paul and his family.

Details of the draw and the items available for auction can be viewed on the following website stmarys.sligo.gaa.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭DenMan

That's the Sligo man who was badly beaten up in Belfast. Heard he is doing great now, in Sligo Hospital. Even despite the progress in Northern Ireland it can still be a very dangerous place. Furthest I went was Fermanagh doing CAD drawings for a company. Not the nicest of places. Just got to keep your down and get on with your business. Still a lot of anger up there. Some peoples mentalities will never change. Same on both sides I would say.

Brilliant footballer from what I heard. Get better man.

Den

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭DenMan

Sorry about that. Meant to say keep your head down. Lets hope there is real progression in the next few years. From all sides. Get well soon man.

Den

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭urranger

Used to know Paul Newton about 20 yrs ago!
    How is he progressing after this horrific incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

very well - he is back football training and is as mad as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

If anyone wants to live dangerously and support Connacht (sorry:o), they will be on S4C (channel 134) at 4.30 today (Sat 3rd Oct). Press the red button for English commentary as it's a Welsh station. Connacht aren't on freeview T.V. too often and they represent the province so if you have even a casual interest in rugby you should tune in. Lots of local lads have played for them at various grades. They're doing pretty badly at the moment but they are our professional team so it's nice to not have to live vicariously through others. West is best and all that :).

Back on topic, I've seen Paul around town a few times and he looks in great health. I don't know him personally, but he's hard to miss:D (He's a bit of a giant for those that don't know him.)