Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ultimate Frisbee should be introduced to schools

• 15-04-2008 8:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

In my school Ultimate Frisbee is a highly loved game but we only play for fun !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think we would have even more fun if there was a Ultimate Frisbee team made up and a specialist person to actually tells
    the rules .

Do you think this would be a good idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Phat Chance

I think that's a decent idea, but possibly have it connected to school (like the 'gah' sports and soccer etc.) or have a couple of sessions done in PE. I know when I get out of college I'm going to offer to do that in my old school. Bulk buy a few discs from lookfly, and teach the youngins about the wonder that is Ultimate XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

this is a quiet forum

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭wahlrab

In the irish ultimate organisation, the IFDA, there's a school co ordinator, the sport is slowing becoming more and more present in school, but with the community so small and concentrated it is spreading slowly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Raichu-17-08-2008

We play it in school too, it's an unreal game!
    We've been playing it now for a few months, our teachers initally taught us the game but we recently had a few people from a team from UCC into us to show us more advanced tactics. It's a good game, fairly competitive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Jalan101

eh ye our school plays and interest has grown hugely since we won the whacking day tournament in October 2008. We entered 3 teams into the first ever schools tournament and came 1st 3rd and 4th out of 8 teams in the open division.we have a pretty deacent first team and a developing squad with real potential.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Jalan101 wrote: »
    eh ye our school plays and interest has grown hugely since we won the whacking day tournament in October 2008. We entered 3 teams into the first ever schools tournament and came 1st 3rd and 4th out of 8 teams in the open division.we have a pretty deacent first team and a developing squad with real potential.:D
    not to mention the captain of the Irish team to show you the ropes!

Schools teams are of a very high standard, the Cage Rage final at the weekend was between St Kevins (runners up) and St Marys. A very high quality game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 awhite07

wahlrab wrote: »
    In the irish ultimate organisation, the IFDA, there's a school co ordinator, the sport is slowing becoming more and more present in school, but with the community so small and concentrated it is spreading slowly
    We play it in school too, it's an unreal game!
    We've been playing it now for a few months, our teachers initally taught us the game but we recently had a few people from a team from UCC into us to show us more advanced tactics. It's a good game, fairly competitive!
    not to mention the captain of the Irish team to show you the ropes!

Schools teams are of a very high standard, the Cage Rage final at the weekend was between St Kevins (runners up) and St Marys. A very high quality game

Here lads, I just play frisbee on the beach. I'm not going pro. Its not technically a sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Volvagia

The first All-Ireland School Ultimate Championship took place a couple of weeks ago, here's the report;
    Gonzaga College and Scoil Uí Mhuirá, Dunleer win out at first All-Ireland schools ultimate championships.

11 teams, from 6 different schools, competed over a full day of ultimate leading to Scoil Uí Mhuirá winning the women's round robin and Gonzaga winning a sudden death open final in extra time. In addition, Gonzaga did the double winning Spirit of the Game along with Balbriggan in the women's division.

For some, this was a first taste of ultimate outside of PE class. For others this was a chance to put over two years of regular play into practise. Few could deny that everyone present made a noticeable improvement from each game to the next.

Scoil Uí Mhuirá proved themselves as a force to be reckoned with in the future as not only did their two women's teams taste success but both of their young open teams were highly spirited and enthusiastic throughout.

The game of the day saw Gonzaga 1 against St. Killian's in the open final. Having already won this match up in the group stages, St. Killian's went in with confidence high. Gonzaga, by contrast, had scraped through a tough semi-final over their own second team, having trailed for most of the game.

Despite only a short break before the final, Gonzaga came out strong on offence and with a goal line zone defence. This change in playing style disrupted St. Killian's as they were unable to use their speed advantage. The early exchanges saw points take anywhere up to 5 minutes of patient offence, resolute defence and goal line blocks (plus a few heart-breaking drops) before scores were finally caught.

Then the flood gates opened! A succession of quick scores soon brought the game to 5-5 as time expired. Sudden death overtime saw both teams have a number of chances to win it all before, after 4 and a half minutes of additional play, Gonzaga caught a sliding score for a 6-5 victory.

Thus the final served as perfect example of the entire days play as all teams, in both divisions, gave their all. They took great pride in their achievements, showed exemplarily spirit throughout and proved that the future of Irish ultimate is in safe hands.

Big thanks go out to Belgard Community Centre for hosting us for the day; Laura McGrath, Sinead O'Shiel-Flemming and Paul Cronin for their work in organising the event and most of all to the students and coaches who made the competition what it was. To the senior students, we wish them the best of luck as they move on to play for college and club teams. To the younger students, we look forward to seeing you again in the years to come.

I'm sure this will grow hugely over the next few years.