Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rumours

• 15-04-2008 12:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭

What's the weirdest rumour you've ever heard about either yourself or a friend/family member?
    When I was in 3rd year in secondary school, I heard that apparently I'd gotten a 1st year girl pregnant. I have no idea where it came from: I'd never even spoken to the girl!!!
    It went away after a few days, but I'm still puzzled by it all.
    Any of ye have any similar experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

That I'd died from alcohol poisoning but I did have way too much to drink at a debs that summer ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

That my dad got €50million for land he sold, We all thought that was hilarious. But none of us denied it!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

A long time ago i was out with a friend of mine who got attacked and beaten badly i survived without a scratch he needed stitches to his head.

I didn't go back up to that particular neighborhood for a while but when i did I was greeted by a lot of funny looks and then someone told me a story had gone around about how that night i was the one attacked I was dragged into a van and was most probably dead and buried up the mountains.

I never found out why anyone would think, I would be dragged up the mountains and buried!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

That I was a butch lesbian cos I played soccer better than boys...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I was in a coma a few weeks back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

6th wrote: »
    Lol yeah that one was hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Being in a hypothetical coma was offset by the great feeling that people were discussing you though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

rb_ie wrote: »
    Lol yeah that one was hilarious

Bet you wish you'd thought of it ;)
    stovelid wrote: »
    Being in a hypothetical coma was offset by the great feeling that people were discussing you though?

You'd think so but no. I guess I must have my limits after all :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

some guy kept telling everyone i was French back in the old school days. he seemed to believe it to. that was an odd one that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

During 4th year I didn't go into school for 6 weeks because of holidays and that I had a fever. So my mates told all the teachers and classmates that I had arthritis and was in a wheelchair. When I eventually came back I was 10 mins late for class. I came in and everybody the teacher included started clapping while my mates all had big dirty grins plastered on their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

That one of the lads from college got sh*tfaced at a party and proceeded to finger the hosts cat.
    It was so hilarious that we made sure it spread.
    Until this day he is still known as "that guy who fingered the cat:D"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Someone started a rumour that I scored my mate's ma. It was totally untrue. I'd scored his sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Bet you wish you'd thought of it ;)

Nah, whilst I found it hilarious it was bad form. The funniest part was all the co-incidences though, i.e you not being able to contact/being in the hospital for other matters etc etc. The one feckin' day you're not around and someone goes and posts that you've been in an accident, must have been one of your mates or someone that had that information accessible to them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ah that poor slut girl at my school that got herself called Fists McGee... then shortly thereafter Sh*ts McGee.... classic stuff. The first self explainatory; the second for apparently taking a crapper on some guy in the middle of the act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Apparently i threw a work friend through a window on a night out.
    That one got a laugh out of me.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Cool_CM wrote: »
    That one of the lads from college got sh*tfaced at a party and proceeded to finger the hosts cat.

Now that is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

I used to work somewhere which had a few locations in the city and one time a member of staff returned to where I was working after working elsewhere for a year or two.

Now we had changed managers in the interim (I started after he moved) and the rumour went around that the guy had moved to the other location because he had a disagreement with the old manager and had opened the goods lift door when the lift was a few floors below (there was an override of the safety which most experience staff knew about) and held the manager by his neck (he was a runt with a small man problem) over the gaping hole and after that had to move to another location.

It all sounds plausible (if you meet the guy) up until the point that he didn't get fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

em, that i was engaged and had a baby recently. was odd because im very slim and where i hid this preganacy still makes me wonder.. :)
    At no point did the rumour say i was expecting- i just had a baby... whats stranger is i dont have nieces or nephew, so would never even be seen around babies or prams...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

That I read the dictionary for fun :confused:.

Obviously having a broad vocabulary at 12 sparked some jealousy!

Cool_CM wrote: »

Speaking of cat rumours.........

There was this girl in our school and somehow a rumour got spread around that she liked to ram cat food up "herself" and get her cat to lick it out.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

the best rumour i have ever heard was, there is a god, and after life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

Al_Fernz wrote: »
    Speaking of cat rumours.........

There was this girl in our school and somehow a rumour got spread around that she liked to ram cat food up "herself" and get her cat to lick it out.:eek:

yeah, i think there was a rumour in every school about some girl ramming cat food or dog food up her snatch and getting a cat or dog to lick it out. did people actually belive that sh*te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Lawless_Samurai

When I was in third class I got knocked down by a car over the Easter break. After two weeks I came back and when I got into school a lad in my class came up and started touching my face looking all amazed!

This freaked me out because I wasn't really a close friend of his, ya know? I hardly talked to him before let alone have him touch my face! I asked what he was doing and he said that he heard I had got run over by a truck and died! Obviously not I said and preceded to tell I didn't even break a bone in my body. Just ripped skin off the left side of my face. Big mistake, this impressed him even more. Since then he looked at me.... kinda funny :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

board om wrote: »
    yeah, i think there was a rumour in every school about some girl ramming cat food or dog food up her snatch and getting a cat or dog to lick it out. did people actually belive that sh*te?

Are you trying to say this didn't happen:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Because I listened to Hip Hop when I was growing up and dressed accordingly there was going around that I was saving up for an operation to "be black"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭kev_s88

Ay Cee wrote: »
    Because I listened to Hip Hop when I was growing up and dressed accordingly there was going around that I was saving up for an operation to "be black"

ah a negroplasty

board om wrote: »

I didn't and doubt much people or anyone did - but its still good fun spreading sh1t when its not about you :D

Was out for a week back in November due to back problems, and for some reason a rumour went around work that I had fallen off a roof.

I hadn't, unfortunately. At least that would have been a story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

well if you were to believe them all:

I've a secret child at home.:rolleyes:
    I'm pregnant.:eek:
    I had sex with one of my teachers.:eek:
    I had 7 different guys on new years eve:mad:
    Im dutch/south african.:confused:
    Im 14 or somtimes 13.:rolleyes:
    I had an orgy where i was the only girl with 6 lads.:mad:
    I've apparently gone out with people i dont even know.

so turns out ive an incredibly busy life i knew nothing about!
    none of it is true!..no kids,no boyfriends,im irish,16 and havent had an orgy or a 3some!

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

kev_s88 wrote: »
    ah a negroplasty

Do you know how expensive they were back in the early 90s?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

The two rumors about me:

I used to practice gymnastics in my living room... naked (this was started by a boy I knew, and I think it was more wishful thinking than anything else).

And according to the drama club, my high school boyfriend and I had sex every chance we could (reality - we were both virgins).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

That after I left work, I got really depressed and was on medication.
    I went back into the job to see me mate there, everyone was questioning me.

And that I was having an affair.. well... kinda true. :eek:

How is it kinda true... It either is or it isn't! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭kev_s88

That after I left work, I got really depressed and was on medication.
    I went back into the job to see me mate there, everyone was questioning me.

How is it kinda true... It either is or it isn't! :rolleyes:

im sensing sexy results here.....do tell crippler :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I had an orgy where i was the only girl with 6 lads.

the correct term is gangbang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

BlitzKrieg wrote: »
    the correct term is gangbang
    They just don't put the effort into rumours anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

One day at a friends funeral of all places an old friend walked up to me and said "congratulations, how's the little fella doin" Right in front of my girlfriend who turned and gave me a look that nearly turned me to stone. Apparently half the town had "known" for ages that I was after getting a girl pregnant. Pity they didn't let me know and I could have set them straight. Found out later who seemed to have been doing most of the spreading of the rumour. When I see him next I'll have to have a word or two with him. Bo**ix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Well... lets say I didn't know at the time. True story. Still her 'acquaintance', as mentioned in another topic. But he's long gone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I was out of school for a couple of months when I was younger due to medical reasons.

My God, did the rumours fly.

One was that I was pregnant (I was 14 at the time, it sooo wasn't true)

The other one was that I had died in hospital.

I came back into school at the beginning of third year only to be greeted by a guy who said... "Holy f**k.. I heard you were dead!!"..

:eek::rolleyes:

Well... lets say I didn't know at the time. True story. Still her 'acquaintance', as mentioned in another topic. But he's long gone now.

Is it just me or that make just about no sense??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

That I had won the Lotto and moved to Barbados.

Reality was I had enough of my job and decided not to go back ever again and my bother was in Barbados for the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

I was sleeping with my boss and thats how I got my job.

My boss is 14 years older than me and I started working in the company before I did.

(I think I made it worse by telling him this story the night of our Christmas party :eek:)

In secondary school I had an accident involving a pane of glass and the palm of my hand. A rumour went around that I had done so much damage and had to get my hand amputated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

well if you were to believe them all:

I've a secret child at home.:rolleyes:
    I'm pregnant.:eek:
    I had sex with one of my teachers.:eek:
    I had 7 different guys on new years eve:mad:
    Im dutch/south african.:confused:
    Im 14 or somtimes 13.:rolleyes:
    I had an orgy where i was the only girl with 6 lads.:mad:
    I've apparently gone out with people i dont even know.

so turns out ive an incredibly busy life i knew nothing about!
    none of it is true!..no kids,no boyfriends,im irish,16 and havent had an orgy or a 3some!

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

seems like certain rumour spreaders have a dirty image of you, kinda like the town bike, everybodys had a go :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

yeah i was out of school for a few weeks too and rumours spread that i was dead haha... that rumour seems to go for anyone who's been out of school for more than 2 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

seems like certain rumour spreaders have a dirty image of you, kinda like the town bike, everybodys had a go :L

i know the exact 3/4 people who make them up...generally it just spirals wouldnt even bother me if there was truth behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

i was pregnant and had an abortion being 17 at the time with no money or boyfriend i fail to see how this could happen.

i didn't wear a skirt in secondary school during the winter i used wear pants and was called a lesbian for some time.

My family moved to Kerry in July 1996. Because of the timing and the fact that we came from Dublin, there was talk in the area that we were on the run after killing Veronica Guerin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SexySoundGirl

Ok there is a good few cause i was the new girl in my school and apparently that makes people say bad things about ya...

1)I fingered myself in class to my irish book.......I hate irish and considering my uniform I would have needed to be naked to do so...that one died out pretty quickly.

2)I was seen giving my bf a blowjob in a garden at 12.....he was in Australia so thats one big dick

3) Out for two weeks. got a drastic haircut.Apparently I had cancer.

4)My Mam was shot in a drug feud...actually she dies of emphasima (cant spell it??)

5)I'm a guy....I went along with that.

6) i killed a black girl by pushing her down the stair cause she was black thats why I had to move school(wow if thats all they do for murder these days,there was me thinking i'd go to prison)