Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Want some brand new 1970's Fiats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Reminds me of that old Hillman Avenger (was it?) that was posted here a few months back that had never been sold or driven.

It would be strange to see Fiat 127's, Uno's, and even original 500's with 08-D plates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Classic, that was a good one! Id love to have a brand new 127 in the shed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

jaysus i nearly forgot what them 127 ,s looked like :)

new & no rust now that would be rare :D

anyone see one this weeks autotrader
    brand new vw mk1 golfs :confused:

http://search.autotrader.ie/www/cars_advert?country=IE&modelexact=1&make=Volkswagen&model=Golf&keywords=mk1&min_pr=&max_pr=&min_year=&max_year=&source=&currency=GBP&county=all&county_list=&sort=20&SUBMIT.x=30&SUBMIT.y=7&id=200815188533642

bloody pricey too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

man , what id do to have any of them cars.... :rolleyes:

http://www.autobild.de/mmg/mm_bildergalerie_668983.html?tab=0&page=15

f*** me there cheap !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

manta mad wrote: »
    jaysus i nearly forgot what them 127 ,s looked like :)

new & no rust now that would be rare :D

http://search.autotrader.ie/www/cars_advert?country=IE&modelexact=1&make=Volkswagen&model=Golf&keywords=mk1&min_pr=&max_pr=&min_year=&max_year=&source=&currency=GBP&county=all&county_list=&sort=20&SUBMIT.x=30&SUBMIT.y=7&id=200815188533642

bloody pricey too

I'd say you'd import one from SA much cheaper yourself and avoid the middleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

brand new Renault 4 in there also!

i dont know about you buy im honestly thinking about taking a 20 grand loan out and going and taking back 15+ cars and make a tidy 30 k off them :)

manta mad wrote: »

The Mk1's are still made in South Africa. They are called the Citi Golf down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

I am assuming 70s cars are brand new? and what of the other cars? brand new 600 and autobianchi? i dont understand german...........:confused: where in denmark is it? the website
    page looks a few months old so all gone????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Max_Damage wrote: »
    The Mk1's are still made in South Africa. They are called the Citi Golf down there.

...........yes but its a bit misleading since the body is actually different from a Mk1 Golf, so you couldn't make a brand new Mk1 GTI.

The "C" pillar is different, even on the 5 door, and there is a body crease down the side which the MK1 didn't have. This crease, or lack of it, is one of the nice features of the MK1 and it is why the MK2 looks heavier. They tried to make the City Golf look a bit more like a Mk2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Coxy_VW

S.I.R wrote: »
    man , what id do to have any of them cars.... :rolleyes:

http://www.autobild.de/mmg/mm_bildergalerie_668983.html?tab=0&page=15

f*** me there cheap !!!!

Maybe I'm blind but where are the prices and where are the cars? I'd love to know how much and if I can afford one!

Coxy_VW wrote: »
    Maybe I'm blind but where are the prices and where are the cars? I'd love to know how much and if I can afford one!

one guy paid 26xx euro for a brand new 1.6 lada from the 1970's so if a lady is that much im guessing they have a classic uno turbo in there... and i have a few quid in the bank..... what id do for another uno turbo....

or just a classic mini or whatever but yeah still , congrats to everyone who got there first and bought them all up first , will see some floating around ireland in no time !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Is it even possible to register an unregistered 20-year-old car for the first time?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

You can do it in the UK, so I don't see why you couldn't do it here. Even if you couldn't, then surely you could register it in one EU state and transfer it to another?

I wonder if you could get some sort of allowance because the cars are so old. Such as, even though it would have an 08-D plate, it would still be exempted from the NCT because of their age. I mean, there is no way any of these would pass emissions tests alone.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Is it even possible to register an unregistered 20-year-old car for the first time?
    Why not, it would be theoretically a new car!A nice new car!!:DYou would attract some attention at shows!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Renotec

Lads,
    I can see it now. A lovely 127 with 08 plates. Retro interior and classic Italian design and a big old airbag stuck to the steeringwheel. Spare wheel swapped for a space saver and a big old Kat in the boot so that it would comply with the Eu regs.

J*s*s beam me up Scotie!!

Renotec wrote: »
    Lads,
    I can see it now. A lovely 127 with 08 plates. Retro interior and classic Italian design and a big old airbag stuck to the steeringwheel. Spare wheel swapped for a space saver and a big old Kat in the boot so that it would comply with the Eu regs.

J*s*s beam me up Scotie!!
    haha, not a nice thought!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭MAKE MY DAY

One of them would be a seriously cool car to have I'm drooling here ...........

Speaking of 127s, does anyone here have one on the road, i always liked them, pity they were such rotters, you could rev them to eternity it seemed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭v300

Speaking of 127s, does anyone here have one on the road, i always liked them, pity they were such rotters, you could rev them to eternity it seemed!!
    I know a man selling 3 good ones, Irish ones I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

Would that be the same man trying to make room for a load of 132?s:D

I have an 83 900 thats running and a 1300GT in the shed for way too long:rolleyes: both Irish cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Why not, it would be theoretically a new car!A nice new car!!:DYou would attract some attention at shows!!!
    That's the problem though, it wouldn't meet new car safety & emissions regs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Renotec wrote: »
    Lads,

You could always go to egypt and buy this new car.

http://www.nascoegypt.com.eg/

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's the problem though, it wouldn't meet new car safety & emissions regs?
    I dont think that would be an issue to the registration office,you would get a 08 plate(08D127?:D) though how you would get through an nct emissions test is another thing!!They would surely have to test it to the spec of when the car was built?

G Luxel wrote: »
    You could always go to egypt and buy this new car.

http://www.nascoegypt.com.eg/
    A brand new fiat 128!Buy one, bring it over here and put 1970s 128 badging and grille on it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MK1GOLF

THE MK1 GOLFS ARE MADE NEW IN SOUTH AFRICA,THEY COME WITH ALL THE RELEVENT PAPERWORK THAT SHOW THEY ARE UP TO THE NEW EU EMISSION TESTS ETC.I JUST BOUGHT ONE LAST MONTH ...AND IM TURNING SOME HEADS I CAN TELL YA!! DONT THINK THEY ARE BRINGING TOO MANY MORE INTO IRELAND THOUGH

MK1GOLF wrote: »
    THE MK1 GOLFS ARE MADE NEW IN SOUTH AFRICA,THEY COME WITH ALL THE RELEVENT PAPERWORK THAT SHOW THEY ARE UP TO THE NEW EU EMISSION TESTS ETC.I JUST BOUGHT ONE LAST MONTH ...AND IM TURNING SOME HEADS I CAN TELL YA!! DONT THINK THEY ARE BRINGING TOO MANY MORE INTO IRELAND THOUGH

Arnt they very expensive for what they are?Turn off your caps too,looks like you are shouting!!
    Post pics of your car!!:)

Arnt they very expensive for what they are?Turn off your caps too,looks like you are shouting!!
    EXPENSIVE? i dont know of any other 2008 car you can buy for 7.8k.

its so hard to get a good mk1,there a guy in wicklow who custom builds them for around 16k!!!!! no way would i pay that.......there a good investment though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

MK1GOLF wrote: »
    its so hard to get a good mk1,there a guy in wicklow who custom builds them for around 16k!!!!! no way would i pay that.......there a good investment though....

But by the time you pay VAT and VRT it's not worthwhile, you could but a really good resto and benefit from cheap tax and insurance for a lot less money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I dont think that would be an issue to the registration office,you would get a 08 plate(08D127?:D) though how you would get through an nct emissions test is another thing!!They would surely have to test it to the spec of when the car was built?

Not an issue for 4 years, just buy a few of them, store them, and sell them to someone else after 3 and a half ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

57410679_17e3ea8b66.jpg

I know things are slow here at the moment in the main dealers but at least they have managed to sell their 70's stock :D

I would be interesting all the same to see what exactly is the legality of selling one of those. AFAIK a vehicle must meet the current legislation at the time of first registration.

atlantean wrote: »
    57410679_17e3ea8b66.jpg

I know things are slow here at the moment in the main dealers but at least they have managed to sell their 70's stock :D

I would be interesting all the same to see what exactly is the legality of selling one of those. AFAIK a vehicle must meet the current legislation at the time of first registration.
    True,but if i bought one-i wouldnt drive it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

True,but if i bought one-i wouldnt drive it!:D

I know - keep the mileage off :D