Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nikki Hayes

• 12-04-2008 11:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭

Anyone know what happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 QPDB9

elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

disc wrote: »
    Anyone know what happened
    omg!!1!

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I heard she got punched up!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Can we have some clarification in this thread please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Saw this in the Evening Hearld last night,the 2fm presenter Nikki Hayes was attacked by a stalker in a club in Dublin`s Temple bar.She`s currently in St Vincents Hospital.Someone came up to her as she was doing a gig and asked her if she was Nikki Hayes,when she replyed she was headbutted and hit as she lay on the ground.The attacker was removed from the club.

This is mad is this what the world has come to,get well soon Nikki
    Its a pity the doorman did`nt hold onto the attacker until the garda arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Jesus.

Poor woman.

Get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

There're lots of messages about it on her bebo page.

Unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I hope they find the coward that dropped her with the headbutt.

What sort of guy headbutts a woman in a nightclub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Manimal

snyper wrote: »
    I hope they find the coward that dropped her with the headbutt.

What sort of guy headbutts a woman in a nightclub?

one thats had to listen to waaay too much of Nikki?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

any links for this, nothing on any of the regular news/entertainment sites that i can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i hope she makes a full recovery so she can present her fantastic radio program
    :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

msg11 wrote: »
    Saw this in the Evening Hearld last night,the 2fm presenter Nikki Hayes was attacked by a stalker in a club in Dublin`s Temple bar.She`s currently in St Vincents Hospital.Someone came up to her as she was doing a gig and asked her if she was Nikki Hayes,when she replyed she was headbutted and hit as she lay on the ground.The attacker was removed from the club.

This is mad is this what the world has come to,get well soon Nikki
    Its a pity the doorman did`nt hold onto the attacker until the garda arrived.

Absolutely terrible if true.

I'd prefer some corroboration though... Neither Bebo nor The Herald are reputable sources of fact, and many points raise queries - for instance, Is 'stalker' quoted verbatim?

I'd just wonder about the credibility of a story that centres on a 'stalker' needing to confirm his target's identity. (I mean, Surely his unfamiliarity with his intended victim makes him just a random mad fecker rather than a stalker?)

I've also rarely come across a metropolitan nightclub that allows violent patrons to be simply "removed" from the premises (especially after an alleged unprovoked attack on a young woman) without some kind of retribution, legal or otherwise...

Anyway, I hope it's not true. No one deserves such treatment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

I saw it in Saturdays Daily mail. Full page story. Said she was at the launch of some magazine and was in the Morgan with friends having a few drinks. Guy walks up asks her is she Nikkie Hayes and starts punching her. The attacker is qouted as being a 'big bloke' and was eventually pulled off her by security. The story also says that the attacker also hung around afterwards. The story goes on to say that she thought she knew his voice, that being someone that has recently being stalking her. Garda know who the individual is and are following it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭policeman

If the real facts can be seperated from the fiction, it is indeed unfortunate.

However speaking of facts and fiction, I've just been banned from 'Radiowaves' site for drawing attention to the fact that over time Niki Hayes has been somewhat venerated as a saint on that site. Many if not all negative posts have been removed promptly by the site administrator (with whom she is on first name terms with) over the last few years, while many other djs never received such preferential treatment. Impartial, free speech 'public' forum - I don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

While I can't disagree with you Policeman it's very sad all the same.

Nikki knew her "attacker" a lot better then the papers are making out.

Policeman, What facts and fiction are you talking about? If you have allegations about what really happen to Nikki then please state them.

Re Radiowaves: yes from time to time John Fleming has excercised his own will to defend certain presenters. Nikki Hayes comes from that group that was the new generation of former pirate presenters that made it on to national radio. There isnt many of them but she is there. Seriously though, whats the big deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Read about it over the weekend.

0000580e0c8r.jpg

Does she actually look like so? ^^ or is it one of those decieving bebo/myspace pics?

trés nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Heard about this on (of all places) her daytime radio rival Ray Foley's show on Today FM this afternoon. He sounded kinda genuine in his concern, although it was hard to tell, really, as there was quite a bit of joking and piss-taking going on at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Re Radiowaves: yes from time to time John Fleming has excercised his own will to defend certain presenters. Nikki Hayes comes from that group that was the new generation of former pirate presenters that made it on to national radio. There isnt many of them but she is there. Seriously though, whats the big deal?

I know it's going off the topic a bit, but...

There are quite a few "new generation of former pirate presenters" on National radio. Many others are on local licenced radio, as one would expect.
    Anyway, the following were involved in '90s/'00s pirate radio:
    Les Vickers (RTE Radio 1)
    Conor G - 2FM
    Mr Spring - 2FM
    Dan Hegarty - 2FM
    Jenny Houston - 2FM
    Cormac Battle - 2FM
    Alison Curtis - Today FM
    Tracy Lee - Today FM
    Mark McCabe - RTE Digital Radio (is it 2XM?)
    ... plus I think Derek Flood and Ray Foley (Today FM) were as well.

I'm sorry to hear about Nikki. I hope she recovers soon in all ways affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Well whether she knew him or not does not give him or anyone the excuse to assault someone. DJs are very open to this sort if thing around Dublin on a nightly basis. I may be a big guy but I've dealt with a few drug fuelled punters myself in the past behind the decks. Hope she makes a speedy recovery.

I know it's going off the topic a bit, but...

Declan, you are famous for your off topic rants on radiowaves. Do us all a favour and try keep it on topic here. I have no problem debating radio but the drivel you post on radiowaves made me stop looking there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Manimal

Declan, you are famous for your off topic rants on radiowaves. Do us all a favour and try keep it on topic here. I have no problem debating radio but the drivel you post on radiowaves made me stop looking there.

I find his posts more informative and intersting than yours tbh. Don't be so sarky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Bard wrote: »
    Heard about this on (of all places) her daytime radio rival Ray Foley's show on Today FM this afternoon. He sounded kinda genuine in his concern, although it was hard to tell, really, as there was quite a bit of joking and piss-taking going on at the time.

AFAIK they are mates and would often gig together around the country.

This is the second time she was attacked. Remember a couple of years ago it was in the paper that she was mugged or something. Unlucky or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭policeman

Re Radiowaves: yes from time to time John Fleming has excercised his own will to defend certain presenters.

A moderator with a personal agenda - all the more reason not trust the site or bother with it. I'm appalled by the fact that, it has been used as a credible source of information by those within media circles.

Lads, as you're aware, there is a radiowaves thread for this. (As well as, obviously, a radiowaves website)

This is a thread on Nikki Hayes and the alleged incidents which occurred involving her, not a dissertation on who's friends with who, and what they do on the periphery of the industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Wasn't she complaining that she was "verbally abused" after a gig in Enniscrone, Co. Sligo a few weeks ago? Sounds like she's really popular!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

I cant stand Nikki Hayes, but attacking her is probably going a bit far:p
    I'd listen to Ray Foley over her anyday.

Please keep all comment about the Radiowaves forum to the appropriate thread. If I see anymore off topic comments on this, or anymore sniping between posters, there will be bannings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Radio Mad.

I don't know the lady, nor have I ever heard her on radio as I don't listen to 2FM. Even if I did, it has absolutely no relevance to the attack on her. Assaulting someone is cowardly and wrong. I would like to take this opportunity to offer my deepest sympathies on what must have been a dreadfully traumatic experience. I hope she gets well very, very soon.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hope she gets better soon. The only contact I have had with her was when she rang my mobile and asked me to cook her dinner. Ah drink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

I was with her the night in question.Im not saying a thing:D She is doing fine for those concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Boardsbud

Yes its terrible that someone can't go out to have a drink without being assaulted but hey it happens to so many people in every town in the country every night of the week without getting headlines in thrashy papers. Why should we make a big headline gig out of Nikki Hayes ? I'm sorry but most people in the country don't know who she is !!!!
    She's one of the dillusional generation of mediocre bland djs that have come about from 90's pirate radio that think they have something to offer society. WE DON'T CARE ABOUT WHAT YOU DO WHEN YOU'RE NOT ON AIR.
    They seem to confuse having a personality with telling the world what they get up to in their spare time. In this world where every tom dick and harry seems to be a "celebrity" these people thrive. Then to top it off some has been / wannabe local radio "jock" comes on here with the on the scene eyewitness news but can't / doesn't want to share it. Good man Ronan keep it to yourself cos its not really important in the whole scheme of world events, no one really cares.
    You people really need a reality check. You are of no relevance to most people except those in your little bebo mutual appreciation society. Cop on to yourselves.

Boardsbud wrote: »
    it happens to so many people in every town in the country every night of the week without getting headlines in thrashy papers.

She made it into Kerrang? Cool! Whoda thunk the thrash scene cared?
    Why should we make a big headline gig out of Nikki Hayes ? I'm sorry but most people in the country don't know who she is !!!!

A couple of pars in the Daily Fail and the weekend Herald is hardly Headline news...and anyway, most Irish papers have at least 1 story per day about some assault somewhere in Ireland. Almost 100% of the time I have no idea who the people in these stories are. When I read them, I absorb them and turn the page. I do not fire off a letter to the editor to ask them to only write about people I know in future.

Then to top it off some has been / wannabe local radio "jock" comes on here with the on the scene eyewitness news but can't / doesn't want to share it.

I agree here. That was rather pointless.

Originally Posted by Boardsbud View Post
    Then to top it off some has been / wannabe local radio "jock" comes on here with the on the scene eyewitness news but can't / doesn't want to share it.

Hahaha Boardsbud use your proper name and maybe I could put you into the "Wannabe bracket". I would also assume I have met you before or would know your name. Or maybe you were one of the people who texted me asking what happened and I didn’t divulge anything. Yes I was there but it’s not up to anyone but me to tell what I saw and particularly when members of the garda were called.
    Is fm104 a local station????? No more responses from me unless you put your name to your posts BUD.

Back on topic Nikki is doing fine.

Absolute last warning here. The next person to off topic in anyway, but especially with snide remarks, will be banned from this forum for 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

http://www.radiowavesforum.com/rw/showthread.php?t=15677

It appears Miss Hayes may be no more....

Could we get a proper source on this rather than just another forum? I don't want us to be responsible for speading false internet gossip.

Ok, how about I go ring John Clarke and ask him is it true? :rolleyes:

All I posted up was a link to a forum related to this topic. Hardly my area to call it truth or fiction, I am merely adding to the debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

That fine oracle The Sun was saying on Wednesday that there is mystery surrounding what exactly happened to Ms Hayes. Gardai in Temple Bar didn't get a report or complaint about this incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Very strange indeed. You would think the Gardaí would be informed of such an alleged attack?
    Unless there is more to this than it appears to be?

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Very strange indeed. You would think the Gardaí would be informed of such an alleged attack?
    Unless there is more to this than it appears to be?

Pearse Street would be over Temple Bar; Kevin Street would look after the area a little closer towards Dame Street and Harcourt Terrace are closer towards the Green so the hounds may be asking the wrong incident room.

I'm thinking that something is missing from the tale as well. Given how close the radio world is, it is very odd that more about this hasn't made the rounds.

For the record, 2FM are reporting that Jenny Greene is filling in for Miss Hayes next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Bum Boy

Is fm104 a local station?????

Back on topic Nikki is doing fine.

Thought you worked there once ! Of course it's a local station it only covers Dublin.......

I wonder will Niki be emotionally scared now...?

A for income, you'd want to be on €100,000 but I know her rival isn't

Yes bum boy i made a mistake in my post re local/community and i did work there. Great name and first post welcome to boards:p

As for nikki's emotional state who can tell.I don't know how much she is on I have never asked. Radio salaries in general are low enough unless you are in the top bracket. I believe some of the stations have increased the pay to part time staff over the last two/three years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

The poor thing. I don't really listen to her, just now and again if I'm driving at that time or something but hope she is okay, that's a nasty thing to happen to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

This is going very far off topic. You guys should either start a new thread or get back on topic.

So is it confirmed at this point that Nikki will be back on air next week? That seems to be the case from what John Clarke said.

It has been known for years that if you make it onto one of the national stations that one of the perks to a person, is that you can charge a lot for an appearence/dj gig.

If i was offered a contract and it stated I could not do anything outside of said contract I wouldnt sign it.

So Grainne Seoige or any tv personality cannot do an after dinner speech and receive 5-10k for it????????????????? Because her (TV) employer can't say s***. People who are on these tv/radio stations started off somewhere and were'nt getting paid top dollar so now that they are making reasonable money nobody has to right to say they cannot do "nixers" outside of there current terms of employment.

Nikki is in great form for those concerned was chatting to her sunday. She is preparing her shows for next week so i reckon she has done around 20 hours work already and she hasn't even been on the radio:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Nikki is in great form for those concerned was chatting to her sunday. She is preparing her shows for next week so i reckon she has done around 20 hours work already and she hasn't even been on the radio:)

That's great to hear, Ronan - and a good way of swinging this wayward thread back on topic.

Looking forward to hearing her back on the air and putting this unpleasantness (and the stupid rumours - spread by people who really should know better) behind her.

Best of luck, Nikki!

Nikki is back next week, end of story - Thread locked.