Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masters Sponsorship

Options
  • 11-04-2008 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I am a final year Commerce student and accepted an offer from one of the Big 4 firms to start work this October. However, I have since decided that I want to do a Masters in Accounting before starting work. I contacted the firm to see if they would sponsor my masters but to my shock and disappointment they said no.

I think I impressed another of the Big 4 firms more at my interview than the one I ultimately chose and perhaps due to this they would agree to sponsor my masters if I asked.

So what I am wondering is am I tied in a contract with the firm I chose or could I go to the other firm if they agree to sponsor my masters?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

They would all have their alloted sponsorships allocated by now, you'd be lucky. I'd still ask though.

As for contracts- as they say a verbal contract's not worth the paper it's written on. if you've nothing signed- off you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭t_ucd