Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

teaching thai boxing

• 10-04-2008 4:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I was wondering what kind of experience do you need to teach thai boxing ? Like in karate black belts are instructors. The reason i am asking is there is 2 guys in Waterford starting up a club. The two are ex Irish champion kickboxers and one has his black belt in karate. Is there some kind of cert that i could ask to see before i join or some kind of indication to say that they have experience in muai thai

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

deisehead wrote: »
    I was wondering what kind of experience do you need to teach thai boxing ?

None that I'm aware. There is no certification or anything. Number of Muay Thai fights would be some kind of indication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I was wondering what kind of experience do you need to teach thai boxing ? Like in karate black belts are instructors. The reason i am asking is there is 2 guys in Waterford starting up a club. The two are ex Irish champion kickboxers and one has his black belt in karate. Is there some kind of cert that i could ask to see before i join or some kind of indication to say that they have experience in muai thai

thanks

The best way to judge an instructor is to take the class a couple of times. If he/she is able to teach you anything and you enjoy it that's all the qualification I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

The various national muay thai associations around the world offer classes to become a qualified instructor. In the Netherlands you have to have the MTBN qualification to teach thai boxing. Bas Rutten has one and so do most of the top Dutch kickboxers. Its the same in Britain, Germany and America. As Thai boxing is not as big here the sign of a qualified instructor is how many years they have trained and how many fights they have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Siamdragon

The Irish Muaythai Council is the only governing body for Muaythai in Ireland recognized by the NSC and the worlds ISC
    Which is real Muaythai set to the standers of Thailand
    The IMC is there to monitor the safety and stander of all Muaythai instructors and Events. The Council has 3 different levels of instructors,
    Anyone looking for more information on any instructor in Ireland can contact the IMC president Mr. Sean Dillon,
    And ask where the nearest IMC gyms is to there location, and his qualifications

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭3KINGS

Firstly I'ed just like to say I respect any one regardles of number of fight's,who has the gut's to step over the ropes and fight in the ring but and its a BIG but the arts of kickboxing and Muay Thai are total differnt.

I know that some people may differ and think sure,all it is kickboxing with elbows and knee's but it isnt.There are enough 1st class coaches/Khru's of Muay Thai in this country that can prove the difffernces between the two arts any time.

If your wanting to learn the art of Muay Thai go and spend some time with some one who has taken years of there time to learn and honour the art.

All the best..........J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Muay Thai/Thai boxing has been around for centuries, certification has its benefits in modern times but its no the be all and end all.

Many student travel to Siam to train and you can bet your bottom dollar the Arjan they train with dont have any piece of paper or cert to say that they qualify to teach...they just show you the scars of ring war!!! ;)

There are clubs around the country that teach Thai, some are in the IMC and some are not,I dont think it makes much difference to be honest, take a look at the UK they seem to just get on with fighting.

Currently there are about 13 or so clubs around the country that are not part of the IMC and they still produce a very good standard of fighter, take Shane C from Cork running a muc out in Thailand at the minute. Fintan Lawlor who competed in Hong Kong a number of years back and took back a title the list goes on. The biggest clubs in Cork at the minute are Cork Thai (Anthony Corkery and Dave Ahere) and Siam Warriors (Martin Horgan) have been sending fighters to Siam for years and they also have done very well and in my opinion are the best clubs in Cork and you can ask any of the WMC clubs from around Europe that have come to Cork for shows in the past and will return many times in the future of that there is no question.

If you would like to see Thaiboxing at the best standard then come to the Bridgestone show on the 19th of April in the Ringside Club in the National Stadium on the SCR, top class fighters from around Europe and as always we place a great enphasis on the Safety and the standard of the fighters.

RedRaven wrote: »
    If you would like to see Thaiboxing at the best standard then come to the Bridgestone show on the 19th of April in the Ringside Club in the National Stadium on the SCR, top class fighters from around Europe and as always we place a great enphasis on the Safety and the standard of the fighters.

Really excited about this one. Should be an absolute _cracker_.

You said it Khannie, a lot of people from the UK travelling for this one, pretty sure its next to sold out or there abouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

How come only a selection of Thai Clubs are affiliated the IMC?

Thats a good question N.C., if you want to participate in an IMC show then you MUST sin up to their code and if you dont then thats it.

The large majority of Thai clubs around the country (infact the best in my opinion) are not in the IMC, which is strange because we host plenty of clubs from around Europe on our shows etc who are affiliated to the WMC which the IMC is a branch of, funny that aint it.

Why do you ask N.C.?

RedRaven wrote: »
    Thats a good question N.C., if you want to participate in an IMC show then you MUST sin up to their code and if you dont then thats it.

You have to pay them some fee for putting on a show as well, right?

Is bridgestone a member of the IMC? Methinks not. Chupasart? Warriors? I don't really follow the politics of it all tbh.

Khannie wrote: »
    You have to pay them some fee for putting on a show as well, right?

True Khannie but Im not overly concerned about that and I dont see it as an issue.
    Khannie wrote: »
    Is bridgestone a member of the IMC? Methinks not. Chupasart? Warriors? I don't really follow the politics of it all tbh.

No they are not in the IMC, however that may change in the future, its political at the moment lets say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

Lads

keep my club name out any talk of politics at all.. I dont wanna get involoved with any of this internet shi*e talk

I may well join up in the future i may well not i dont know at the moment..

wayne mate there a lot of good stuff going on in ireland with thai at the moment. better we all focus on that than dwelling on the fuzzy areas

paddy

paddyc wrote: »
    Lads

keep my club name out any talk of politics at all.. I dont wanna get involoved with any of this internet shi*e talk

I never mentioned your club dude.
    I may well join up in the future i may well not i dont know at the moment..
    I think everybody feels that way.
    wayne mate there a lot of good stuff going on in ireland with thai at the moment. better we all focus on that than dwelling on the fuzzy areas

I agree there is and I hope that continues for everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Politics has messed up lots of irish martial arts, best to stay out of it,
    but i take exception to hearing people say they teach something they are not qualified to teach, in this instance we'll call a qualification as experience in the art!

In my MMA i teach some BJJ techniques, im not experienced enough yet in bjj so i teach submision wrestling! i also rob some thai techniques, i dont call it thai boxing, its boxing with kicks! when i teach Boxing its Boxing.

If i was a thai boxer like paddy i would be annoyed if someone who never thai boxed set up a club and called it thai boxing. Then again if its legal then they can do what they want!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    i would be annoyed if someone who never thai boxed set up a club and called it thai boxing. Then again if its legal then they can do what they want!

Do you know somebody who has done this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Red raven, this is the 1st post! i know no more.
    i am asking as there is 2 guys in Waterford starting up a club. The two are ex Irish champion kickboxers and one has his black belt in karate.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Firstly, Wayne, if you're gonna talk ****, at least make an ATTEMPT to get the facts right. Its not OUR code that members must sign up to but that of the Irish Sports Council. Seeing as we're on that subject, what are you doing about improving the sport, apart from your PRO aspects. At least we are working towards improving fighter standards and safety by running novice shows, (something that a lot of your colleagues were against originally), licencing fighters so there is a varifyable record of their fights BOTH amateur and pro, (don't remember a lot of licences been sought in Dublin when Sean tried to licence fighters some years ago) and we have run a series of referee/judges courses AND sat the exams to have the best refs and judges in the country. All of the above at considerable expense to EVERYONE in the IMC.
    The large majority of Thai clubs around the country (infact the best in my opinion) are not in the IMC, which is strange because we host plenty of clubs from around Europe on our shows etc who are affiliated to the WMC which the IMC is a branch of, funny that aint it.

Wow, we have YOUR "expert" opinion on that do we? There may be more actual members admittedly but needless to remark, you just dismiss EVERY club and fighter in the IMC. Richard Smith certainly does not qualify as "plenty" of clubs from around Europe, does it Wayne!
    Currently there are about 13 or so clubs around the country that are not part of the IMC and they still produce a very good standard of fighter, take Shane C from Cork running a muc out in Thailand at the minute. Fintan Lawlor who competed in Hong Kong a number of years back and took back a title the list goes on.

Amazing then you fail to mention our (as in IRISH) most successful fighter, Craig O'Flynn, or does it stick in your throat that much? While I always have applauded the success and effort of ALL Irish fighters, its WHO you fight, not what titles you have. Hopefully thats not the kickboxing influence (of winning titles no matter what) of the IKF coming out in you.
    No they are not in the IMC, however that may change in the future, its political at the moment lets say.

Political my arse, I would say its VERY personal at the moment, with CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS not willing to work with other individuals. As has been said PLENTY of times already, we in the IMC are willing to work with ANYONE, provided they sign up to what is required under the guidelines of the Irish Sports Council.

This will probably be my last post in this thread because it's obviously going to sh*t and getting all personal.

Fair enough. I was just asking if you were a member. It was an honest question. I wasn't trying to involve you in anything. I consider the clubs I asked about in my post to be good ones and was wondering whether they were part of the IMC or not. That is all.

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Firstly, Wayne, if you're gonna talk ****, at least make an ATTEMPT to get the facts right.

I said this Dave|"Thats a good question N.C., if you want to participate in an IMC show then you MUST sign up to their code and if you dont then thats it."
    Its not OUR code that members must sign up to but that of the Irish Sports Council..

Is that not one and the same thing???

Ok so Im wrong Dave am I?? Can we participate on an IMC show yes or no?
    Any IMC fighter or coach can come and fight on our show no problem take this as an invite as has been said before we wont let any of this get in the way of fights being put on, the basics are covered safety insurance etc, so yes or no and dont give me the usual, we have this and that ISC AND IMC ETC ETC, even your own fighters are sick of it.
    Seeing as we're on that subject, what are you doing about improving the sport, apart from your PRO aspects..

Eh well holding the largest Amateur event ever held in the country in Cork this weekend!!!:rolleyes:

At least we are working towards improving fighter standards and safety by running novice shows, (something that a lot of your colleagues were against originally)..
    As above.
    licencing fighters so there is a varifyable record of their fights BOTH amateur and pro, (don't remember a lot of licences been sought in Dublin when Sean tried to licence fighters some years ago)

Yeah good idea we had no problem with this Dave, what we have a problem with is charging people 15 euros for a little book that cost less than 2 euros
    we have run a series of referee/judges courses AND sat the exams to have the best refs and judges in the country. All of the above at considerable expense to EVERYONE in the IMC)

Yeah we've all done that course aswell, Tony Myers is a great guy, he was at one of our non IMC shows a couple of weeks ago in Cork, great night.

Wow, we have YOUR "expert" opinion on that do we?)
    I never claimed to be an expert, but I am entitled to my opinion much like you are Dave.

There may be more actual members admittedly but needless to remark, you just dismiss EVERY club and fighter in the IMC.

I think your losing focus Dave and the plot when have I dismissed any IMC fighter please tell me, infact if Ive done anything Ive pointed people in your direction in regards to Galway so will you cop on to yourself mate.
    Richard Smith certainly does not qualify as "plenty" of clubs from around Europe, does it Wayne!

Mr. Smith happens to produce very fine fighters and Bad Company UK are just one of the many clubs that we host.

Amazing then you fail to mention our (as in IRISH) most successful fighter, Craig O'Flynn, or does it stick in your throat that much?

Your so wrong on that one Dave...I happen to admire what Craig did in Thailand, infact I can remember being very proud to call Craig into the ring at an old IMC show by Bridgestone in Dublin and annouce that very fact to the crowd.
    While I always have applauded the success and effort of ALL Irish fighters, its WHO you fight, not what titles you have. Hopefully thats not the kickboxing influence (of winning titles no matter what) of the IKF coming out in you.

Not too sure what to make of this...I also respect Thaiboxer who steps over the ropes for a fight...whats your point???

Political my arse, I would say its VERY personal at the moment, with CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS not willing to work with other individuals..

Please do tell more dont hold back on my account??

As has been said PLENTY of times already, we in the IMC are willing to work with ANYONE, provided they sign up to what is required under the guidelines of the Irish Sports Council.

We have no issue with the ISC,infact I think its great and fair play to Sean for setting it up, its the way the last meeting was held, its the set up and structure of the IMC we have a problem with, are the books open?, is there an independant financial auditor for the IMC?

There are many more questions like this that were not answered at that meeting, so to cut a long story short the groups who wont join the IMC will not sign up because these issues.

I still want to make a go at this Dave but I think your attitude needs to be adjusted your coming across very hostile perhaps if you go off and stick your head in a barrel of water and calm down mate.:D

Anyway maybe in the future these issues can be sorted out but until they are what do you suggest???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

where is this club being set up deisehead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

Dan are u the famous UL kickboxer??! i heard u once kicked a man in the crotch in a kickboxing fight? is it true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

And thread closed if we can't play nice boys.