Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling all Dublin (and Meath (and other)) fans.

• 09-04-2008 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

Dublin v Meath, Parnell Park, Sunday April 20th. Need I say more? Come and support your county and then go for a pint or two afterwards. The various GAA Boards Beers have been good since they began last year. Let's hope they'll go from strength to strength. With matches and a relaxing drink afterwards, it is always a good time. We've had representatives of various counties, and even people from Italy and Malaysia. Come and join us.

Some of us have been meeting regularly since last year. We're not just sunshine fans you see. :) But things really start to pick up in GAA terms from now on, so hopefully more will join us and new friendships will be made. So, either come to ours or have some ones in the next few months at other venues. Many of us may be from rival counties, but we share a passion in Gaelic Games. That in itself is enough to build on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Maybe I'll go, I meant to go to a few last year but was working. I predict a big Dublin win anyway;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

You forgot to mention others from Tyrone and Kerry Flukey.:) Italy and Malaysia are ahead of 29 counties plus London and New York and then the rest of the World.:D

I'll certainly be there.Its not very often you get to see Dublin v Meath in Parnell Park or the league.A friend of mine from college might come and he's from Meath.So that might make the Boards Beers a bit more interesting.

As for the other regular degenerates from Meath that haven't featured much since the destruction of Meath by Cork,I won't expect so much as a word until Meath beat Carlow in the Championship.:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

blackbelt wrote: »
    As for the other regular degenerates from Meath that haven't featured much since the destruction of Meath by Cork,I won't expect so much as a word until Meath beat Carlow in the Championship.:D:D:D

Meath fans are the real sunshine fans...FACT

I normally go the Croabh Ciarans before and after the Dubs game but if there is going to be boards boozage elsewhere ill come along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

You'll be more than welcome Pride Fighter and KillMe00. Our normal haunt is Kitty Kiernan's on Collins Avenue, only a short walk from Parnell Park when the match is over. Once Croke Park matches start up again, it'll be a return to Madigan's in O'Connell Street, where the first ones were held last year. Yes indeed, the championship is not far off.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Might just make an appearance, i will be the one with the Dubs jersey ;)

We'll be sure to see you so.:)

Anyone that wants to come, just PM Blackbelt or myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

edit: mistake

As Flukey said,if anybody hasn't been to a beers session,PM himself or myself to arrange for this Sunday.

This match is all-ticket only as well as pass holders so be sure to order from your club if you intend going.Meath fans have an allocation of 1,500 apparently.We should be in the Terrace on Sunday.Beers afterwards in Kitty Kiernans on Collins Avenue afterwards and as the title of the thread says,Dublin,Meath and other counties/countries are welcome.:cool:

A question, how does parnell park feel about bringing bags in? Only (after a few jars of course ;) ) i will be headin back to derry so was thinkin of leavin my bag in the net cafe till i am headin back but if i can bring it with me all the better means more time for guinness!!

Forget about bringing the bag in. Come and join us after. Derry can wait. :) Failing that, we should meet up inside so at least we will know each other for the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Does anyone know if its on TV? I've to go to a feckin birthday party...so I'm not going to get to Dublin :mad:

You're making a lot of errors in your posts today GalwayDub2. That should have been:

I've to go to Parnell Park...so I'm not going to get to the party.:D

Right?

Anyway, we'll be having our own little party afterwards in Kitty's, so you won't miss out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Did I say I've to go to a party??? Jaysus....this keyboard is soooo wonky today! ;)

Oh there will be definitely some jars afterwards i intend on gettin the quarter to six bus back ;) have been pm'ing blackbelt and have the arrangements for meetin up havent a clue how im gonna know who ye are though!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I'm afk atm guys. Can't even be sure about the championship either but hopefully I'll get to meet yaz at some stage over the summer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

I would like to extend a welcome to everybodygoing down to Limerick to have a nice meal at a lovely discreet restaraunt called Supermacs located beside Pairc na Gael for a snackbox.

Gents (and non gent type lady who threatened to kill me) it was a pleasure having your company for the match today here's to alot more come championship time :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

Did anybody see the 9 o'clock news report on this match today? They showed just one point being scored and the rest was the fisticuffs. Was there really that much of it?

CyberDave wrote: »
    Did anybody see the 9 o'clock news report on this match today? They showed just one point being scored and the rest was the fisticuffs. Was there really that much of it?

FOUR players sent off after like six minutes then whelo in the 15th after that it was scrappy play tbh there are alot of ppl whingin in another thread bout the dubs but yet the meath number 12 got away with ALOT as did judas geraghty whispering into russells ear every bleedin two mins i think even russell told him to shut up at one point :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 therock67

Highlights of the match:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=NnOCndqPTMo

GAAman wrote: »
    Gents (and non gent type lady who threatened to kill me) it was a pleasure having your company for the match today here's to alot more come championship time :D:D:D

Yes,I do suspect she is influenced by a man with a red hand.:D it was good to have you down with us at the match.Must have been a long journey back to Derry.Hopefully next time you will stay longer in the pub to celebrate yet another Dublin victory.:)

CyberDave wrote: »

In fairness,the quality of football was overshadowed by the events which preceded it.There were periods when it was really scrappy and others where the football was actually being played in the way it would in the championship.

GAAman,you can say that 100 times and it will still be no surprise.Geraghty has a tendency to try and talk a referee out of booking/sending off a player.He did this when Wexford were playing Meath and Peadar Byrne got sent off.He tried to do it yesterday and Russell waved to him to "go away".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

Dublin seriously need to sort out their disiplinary problems. 9 reds cards this seaon already. Disgracelful.

As for Carberrys interview after, he didnt even condem the actions of his players! FFS!

9 red cards?.....where did Dublin get other 3 red cards?

And who the hell is "Carberry".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Dublin seriously need to sort out their disiplinary problems. 9 reds cards this seaon already. Disgracelful.

As for Carberrys interview after, he didnt even condem the actions of his players! FFS!

Do you mean Caffrey? But yes, you're right, he's been defending the indefensible for a while now, he'd be better off giving players an earful for letting their team down, maybe dropping them for a couple of games, than standing up for them and blaming referees all the time. We'd have a much more disciplined team then and might have a chance of winning something, as it is we're getting a really bad name for discipline so referees are going to be even tougher on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

9 red cards?.....where did Dublin get other 3 red cards?

And who the hell is "Carberry".

Yes sorry caffrey.

Other 3 came in the o'byrne cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Here are some boardsies at Parnell Park before the game on Sunday.

TirEoghain wrote: »

Bunch of sexy bastárds ;) You gonna put the other pics up TirEoghain?

Yes, I will get them up over the next day.

They didn't all come out as well as I hoped, but they're not too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

I am waiting for the Paddy's day pics as well :D;)

ciao ciao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

TirEoghain wrote: »

More ugly scenes at Parnell Park (with an exception or two) :p;):)

funloving wrote: »
    I am waiting for the Paddy's day pics as well :D;)

ciao ciao

Will have to get the group pics from Roisin. I have have match pics, then the battery ran out in my camera before we got to the pub.

One could say that it set the theme for the day.:D:D

As for the exception..is that the handsome devil in a Dubs raincoat and jersey?:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

As for the exception..is that the handsome devil in a Dubs raincoat and jersey?:):):)

you betcha ;):D

That's not a very nice thing to say about Blackbelt and GAAMan. :)

Flukey wrote: »
    That's not a very nice thing to say about Blackbelt and GAAMan. :)

Oh really?? *Bides his time until croker* :D