Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do ye (Gardaí) deal with marijuana?

• 05-04-2008 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

Just wondering how the Gardaí on here deal with people with small amounts of marijuana on them.

I had always thought that ye didn't really care that much and would just give a verbal warning if ye happened upon it.

But someone started another thread on an incident where he took the trouble to go down to the local station (he's a Garda himself) and was angered by the fact that the Garda there did not apprehend them...

Do ye see it as another law that has to be enforced, or do ye use your discretion for the most part?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Hey folks,

Just wondering how the Gardaí on here deal with people with small amounts of marijuana on them.

I had always thought that ye didn't really care that much and would just give a verbal warning if ye happened upon it.

But someone started another thread on an incident where he took the trouble to go down to the local station (he's a Garda himself) and was angered by the fact that the Garda there did not apprehend them...

Do ye see it as another law that has to be enforced, or do ye use your discretion for the most part?

I see it as a liar posting out of his behind. Only the smallest, quietest stations in the land would be bothered or have the time for this. Also, if this is what a supposed drug unit member is getting excited about just where the hell does he work? An area big enoough for a drug unit but evidently with no drugs!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

This other "garda" has been banned for trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

It is at the discretion of the Garda. If the person caught had never been in trouble before then what would be the point of prosecuting them therefore leaving them ineligible to enter the US and Australia?
    However there are Gardai out there who will prosecute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

As you said in another post nog you have to prioitise calls as you just dont have the resources.

I'm sure every guard would like to have the time and rescources to deal with every crime but thats just not possible, too few guards out there and im sure too many are tied up with paperwork while the others are left running around like blue arsed flys dealing with serious incidents as they arise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

i know the lad who posted that and he is a mule a good one at that .. his discretion threshold would be a lot lower than mine but that comes from rural policing where every thing is put on pulse a followed up..

city policing is a different fish ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

opti76 wrote: »
    i know the lad who posted that and he is a mule a good one at that .. his discretion threshold would be a lot lower than mine but that comes from rural policing where every thing is put on pulse a followed up..

city policing is a different fish ...

Not a chance in hell is he a member for all the reasons mentioned and there are people here working rural stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

Not a chance in hell is he a member for all the reasons mentioned and there are people here working rural stations.
    well i guessthe fact i trained with him in templemore proves me wrong and you right.. hes a mule dya want his reg number ??????
    how do i know your a mule ??????

maybe we should be verified by mods???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

opti76 wrote: »
    maybe we should be verified by mods???

lets not even go there.....

I don't to hear that some eejit was caught checking pulse to ensure we are members.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Lads reg numbers, checks on pulse, if hes a mule or not etc posted by members shouldnt really be discussed here. Use the sally noggins :rolleyes:

Answer to op's question.

If a garda finds you with small amount of hash (unless you give him a false name) he will not arrest you.

Most likely he will caution you, ask you to admit the offence and take a note of it in his notebook and get you to sign it. You then go on your way.

You will receive a summons and receive a conviction and a small fine in the courts.