Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitting lino

• 04-04-2008 8:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭

I got some samples of lino with a 'wooden floor' look. The guy in the shop said lino has to be fitted by professionals with 5 years of training not just someone with a stanley knife. Is that true or is he just looking for a fitting fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Dunno about 5 years experience! But its relatively cheap to have it fitted, and worth it in my opinion. Try to get the same guys who are doing carpets etc to do the lot at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Earth Balance

I'd agree, employ someone with experience for a truly professional finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 grinderstone

well,your man is half right. Let anybody near lino with a stanley knife and they'll make a balls of it! But needing 5 years experience?! I don't know how long carpet fitters take to get trained but yes you do need some experience to lay and cut lino properly.

As the above posters stated get the carpet layers to do it-or get the shop to give you the names of fitters and leave it to the pros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Twitching Anus

I want to take lino out of my bathroom and kitchen, where it has been expertly fitted, and replace it myself. My plan is to lift the existing sheets, place them on top of the larger sheets of the new lino, and then cut around them. i.e. using the old lino as a template.

Is there any reason why this wouldn't work? What is the reason for the warning not to use a Stanley knife without training? Is lino especially difficult to cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I know a guy that cut his thumb off while laying lino. He wished he hadn't tried to save €75 fitting charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 EllaE

My husband, who is usually quite handy about the house, laid lino in our (tiny) bathroom last week.

Around the toilet looks crap, as does the 2 inch gap from the door to where the lino starts (because taking measurements with your feet is not quite as accurate as a measuring tape - who would've thought?).

If it's cheap enough to get it professionally fitted and you have never laid it before I would highly recommend the pros. I think 5 years of training to lay a bit of lino is a bit OTT. Unless the person who was training you was as "skilled" as my husband - bless him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭TheRealBoss

I did the jacks in our house years ago.

A very small room ...... took me all day !!!

Around the toilet bowl was a nightmare ....... don't even attempt it imo.

The experts will do it in 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I want to take lino out of my bathroom and kitchen, where it has been expertly fitted, and replace it myself. My plan is to lift the existing sheets, place them on top of the larger sheets of the new lino, and then cut around them. i.e. using the old lino as a template.

Is there any reason why this wouldn't work? What is the reason for the warning not to use a Stanley knife without training? Is lino especially difficult to cut?

I would imagine this would be fine. (But then again I don't have the 5 years training :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Twitching Anus

Thanks for the advice. The lino is just a stopgap measure so I was trying to avoid investing too much in it. If it's only 75 to have it fitted, I'll get someone else to do it.

Does anyone know a good place to buy lino and get it fitted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 zee_hb

Thanks for the advice. The lino is just a stopgap measure so I was trying to avoid investing too much in it. If it's only 75 to have it fitted, I'll get someone else to do it.

Does anyone know a good place to buy lino and get it fitted?

A pal got a small area in her gaff done by the folks from Des Kelly and if I recall correctly, it was a quick job and mad cheap too.

Good luck with it,

Zee.

http://www.homebug.net
    homes, interiors, art, design
    ireland & elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 seasurfer

Anyone know of someone who would fit a piece of lino in a hallway Dublin Northside? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 bossman07

to fit vinyl properly there is a lot more to it than going at it with a stanley , 1 st of all we use a hook blade to cut it in precisely , straight blade only for cutting off excess , is the floor ok underneath etc , as for the 5 years experience you were told about in the man is not to far wrong seen plenty of lads thinking they are experienced goin at it . some places you can get a way with what we would call a country job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 seasurfer

Just looking for a person to fit a piece of lino into a hall, and I've tried with a stanley and.....................:cool:. So it's over to a pro if anyone interested in doing this rsvp. It's a 3 x 6 and 3 x 6 hallway. Small, but tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭ishidaogo

One needs to distinguish between real lino ( linoleum) and sheet vinyl; nowadays sheet vinyl is usually loose laid and is easy enough to self install
    using a hooked blade; real lino requires expert fitting including correct floor preparation ( ideally using Forbo MDF system), correct adhesive and rolling
    in with a 150 lb roller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dobh

i am sort of hijacking this forum but here goes . which would be better in a cottage as a stopgap til we can afford to get new kitchen - vinyl or linoleum ?
    also - can anybody rec a store in or near the ring of kerry which supplies the stuff and possibly fit it also ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 fionnanblake

All post so far promoting the one place????