Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pennys

• 04-04-2008 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭

Any one go for a job as trainee manager?

Any experience on it, interview, work conditions, hours, promotional opportunities etc?

Any advice appreciated...

And yes, if you've read my other thread I am determined to get managerial experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭opticalillusion

Jaysus, 1 day after applying and Penneys shot me straight down!

I had all the requirements they wanted. PLUS is having a degree that majored in business management and plenty of retail experience not enough?!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Show_me_Safety

i was interviewed for trainee manager a couple of weeks ago, i was an assistant manager for another large well-known retailer so i thought i was a shoe in.
    however, despite the fantastic money, it was 45-50 hours a week.
    the interview was tough tough tough too
    asked alot alot, seems like they want a supervisor rather than a manager- she didnt seem impressed by my dedication to staff training...more concerned about how id deal with lateness, language barrier etc.
    if you get it you'll have your own department, anything from a couple of tables to half the floor etc.
    money is 30,500 for first 6months then rises to 32,000 when probation ends.

Thanks for the info...

I would've thought you'd be a shoe in too...

Maybe at those hours they can stick it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭AlexBM

I applied to Penneys too, but also got shot down the next day. In fairness to them, at least they let me know straight away. I have a degree and fairly good retail experience, so I thought I'd get an interview at least. I see they're still looking for staff though, so I'd say they have fairly high standards.

Like another poster said, maybe we're better off. But in fairness, a degree and lots of retail experience is high standards enough...

I mean, do you have to be the CEO of a MNC to be eligible...?

I mean, do you have to be the CEO of a MNC to be eligible...?[/quote]

LOL! It is pretty puzzling. A girl I know from back home got a job there, and I know she didn't have much experience. She might have done some sort of PLC or something (if there is a PLC that'll help you get into Penneys, that is), but she definitely didn't have a lot of experience. Maybe there's also an element of who you know.

I am a bit envious, despite the crappy hours. The staff discount would have been welcomed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

To be a mamanger in Pennys you have to guarantee to make sure that the first thing the staff do everyday is mislabel all the sizes on the clothes to force people to spend longer looking for what they want to make the shop look busy.

Speaking from experience (well my brother's actually) places like Pennys don't want you to have a truck load of qualifications (expereince yes, qualifications no) because they might feel you'd soon get ideas above your station and that doesn't sit well with companies like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Show_me_Safety

LOL! It is pretty puzzling. A girl I know from back home got a job there, and I know she didn't have much experience. She might have done some sort of PLC or something (if there is a PLC that'll help you get into Penneys, that is), but she definitely didn't have a lot of experience. Maybe there's also an element of who you know.

I am a bit envious, despite the crappy hours. The staff discount would have been welcomed...

there is no staff discount!!!

I can't believe there's no staff discount! I thought that was a given in almost any retail job. I know the stuff in there is cheap, but come on, a bit of help!

And yeah, the mislabelling thing is annoying - the wrong sizes on the hangers, sterling prices on stuff...it's going to happen everywhere to a degree, but it seems to happen there an awful lot.

GDM wrote: »
    Speaking from experience (well my brother's actually) places like Pennys don't want you to have a truck load of qualifications (expereince yes, qualifications no) because they might feel you'd soon get ideas above your station and that doesn't sit well with companies like that.

That's what I suspected tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I suspect that while they might want smart people, they mightn't want very well-educated people. They probably have their own management style that they want to train people into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

the theory being, you have a degree and think your the ****..

you work there for 3 or 4 years, get all the training and experience- and then you leave for a new job leaving them in the lurch. They want someone who will stay there forever...

Or it could be that they got a million applications and they have folks with Masters and MBA's doing the job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭ash_18x

there is no staff discount!!!

my partner is a manager in dunnes and he doesnt get a staff discount there either!
    he has been a retail manager for the past 8 years, he has no qualifications, he worked his way up from shelf packer in tescos. the lack of qualifications has never stood in his way when going for a job, though he thought he wouldnt get anywhere because he had none!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

ash_18x wrote: »
    my partner is a manager in dunnes and he doesnt get a staff discount there either!
    he has been a retail manager for the past 8 years, he has no qualifications, he worked his way up from shelf packer in tescos. the lack of qualifications has never stood in his way when going for a job, though he thought he wouldnt get anywhere because he had none!

He should have a Privilege Card (at least I think that's what it's called), AFAIK staff get a 15% discount and mangement get 20%.

They used to get 15% back in Valueclub vouchers, but when the Government changed the BIK taxation they changed it to a discount card.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I worked in Penneys for a few years, and tbh, the managers get treated like crap. They work every hour under the sun, anywhere from 7am to 10pm, 7 days a week. They get feck all, if any, over time. Any of the ones I worked with though did all have previous managerial experience, or a business qualification.

Then you also have to put up with the customer complaints, with no support from the Assistant Managers or Store Managers. It may differ from store to store, but as far as I know, it was like this in the south Dublin stores.

There's no staff discount either. And ye know what, the place wouldn't be such a mess if the c*nting customers didn't think they could throw stuff everywhere.

bitter? MOI?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

I worked in pennys for years in my younger days, and my reckoning is that, if you have qualifications your probably not gonna get the job. Thats just my observation though, as any of the managers in the store I worked in hadn't got a brain between them. I also think people who are intelligent enough to get a degree in business, should have the smarts to get a decent paying job without the 50-60hr week.

50 - 60hr week is crazy. I'm glad I didn't get a called.

Are none of them complaining to unions or the employment rights agency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭ash_18x

He should have a Privilege Card (at least I think that's what it's called), AFAIK staff get a 15% discount and mangement get 20%.

They used to get 15% back in Valueclub vouchers, but when the Government changed the BIK taxation they changed it to a discount card.

no he doesnt get anything! he got vouchers at christmas but that was just for the christmas bonus!

ash_18x wrote: »
    no he doesnt get anything! he got vouchers at christmas but that was just for the christmas bonus!

Tell him to check it, it can be used in the grocery or drapery, regardless of where he's based. Maybe they have withdrawn it, but I'd be very surprised. He'll still get his vouchers at Christmas.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

They withdrew that a Good while Ago

Really? My boyfriend left a little over a year ago and it was still there then, so it must have been withdrawn since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

anyone know if there is 1 or 2 interviews for trainee managers?

I think 2 from what I hear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

You have to be in Dunnes for either a few years or be very high up to get the Privelege card, there's no way I'm staying that long, I'm just a part-time sales assistant. Yes, used to be a proper staff discount apparently but they're cutting corners everywhere. And their turnover is €2 bn apparently!

I wouldn't recommend a trainee manager job in Dunnes, and it's probably the same in Penneys, they have to put up with the customer complaints and as we're severely short staffed atm, basically have to do the same work as us, for longer hours and they don't get overtime (we do:D) because their salaries are fixed (or something like that). Although maybe Penneys are better organised to not be short staffed.