Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have Yeah Got A Smoke?

• 04-04-2008 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭

Walking past the local shops, two scanger girls approach me "Have ye got a smoke mister?"

"no, sorry i dont smoke" I respond casually

Scanger says cheekily "I wasnt askin if ye smoked! I was askin did ye have one?"

"Why the f*ck would i have one? If i dont smoke!"

I think the smoke one is used to start trouble too, i had a hobo stare me down looking for a smoke, The smell of him! And a scanger say that he will stab me in the neck with a screwdriver last week...:pac:

Any smoke stories out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yeah.. I got that before as well.

I answered "No, sorry I don't have any"

And he kept asking again and again and then asked what I was 'sorry' for...

Escalated into him getting two of his 'boyfriends' to come help him fight me... I gave what appeared to be their leader a bit of a push and they back off... but then decided to start throwing rocks at me from a distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

I never understood why I was apologising for not smoking to anyone who enquired :(

A quick back hand would have solved the problem OP. They need to know that smoking can be dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

There has to be a solution to this problem, get some exploding cigarettes, a smoke doused in Chloroform, dampen a smoke with something really flammable...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Happens all the bloody time in Belfast. If you're in a pub which does not have an internal smoking area and you have to out into the street, it is a torture. Snotty nosed wee sh1tes in tracksuits coming up to you saying, "here Mr, do you have a spare feg?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I was aksed before to buy alcohol for some skangers in Ballinteer.

I was with my friend and we were both about 17 at the time. The skangers looked about 10 or 11. We told them we weren't 18 yet and they said "we didn't ask for your bleedin life story". What do you answer to that?

As I recall, we walked away as fast as we possible could without running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Might I add that this sort of thing never happens in the blissful rural countryside towns...go on the dubs!.

Thats a bit mad though, nothing a swift kick to the cojones wouldn't sort out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

Feelgood wrote: »
    Might I add that this sort of thing never happens in the blissful rural countryside towns...go on the dubs!.

Thats a bit mad though, nothing a swift kick to the cojones wouldn't sort out.

Or the "skanger girls" equivelant of cojones ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

You can't beat the cheek of a scumbag who tries to scab a drag off the smoke you've got in your mouth! Happened to a mate of mine all the time down in Cork. Anywhere in the city you'd have have some young muppet come try scab a smoke, and if you said you didn't have any, they'd scab a drag! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

What about when a drunk approaches you for a cigarette (at least i think thats what their after, they mumble incoherently) and you ignore them and they slur " i asked you a question" its makes me laugh, even in their drunken state they are still arrogant tossers. Years ago i used to carry 20 cigarettes in my handbag even though i dont or never will smoke, i used to give them to homeless people rather than feel like a bitch when i walked by, i now wonder what the hell was i thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

When little scumbags ask me "have ya got a smoke" i usually say and keep walkin. Never actually give them one though.. Recently, ive started carrying around ra roll with a load of match heads half way down, Give it to them and they go off happy, then after 5 or 6 drags BOOM! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

watna wrote: »

I was with my friend and we were both about 17 at the time. The skangers looked about 10 or 11...... As I recall, we walked away as fast as we possible could without running.

Grow a pair man!

Skangers are cowardly pricks at the best of times, let alone when you have a 7 year age advantage over them.

People not standing up to these cnuts only perpetuates the problem. Give them the impression they have any sort of power and they will only push the envelope further.

Grow a pair man!

I'd suggest that this would be hard, nay literally impossible.

And if she was able to grow a pair, I still would suggest she walks on and leaves the skanger kids to it. Kids are violent fecks these days and would have no problems in throwing bottles/bricks at you.

You go to defend yourself and all of a sudden you're up on child beating charges :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

How come you never get strangers asking for a sip of your pint, or a bite of your sandwich? What is it about cigarettes that makes it 'ok' to go around like a beggar looking for a schmoke off passerbys?

connundrum wrote: »
    I'd suggest that this would be hard, nay literally impossible.

And if she was able to grow a pair, I still would suggest she walks on and leaves the skanger kids to it. Kids are violent fecks these days and would have no problems in throwing bottles/bricks at you.

You go to defend yourself and all of a sudden you're up on child beating charges :(

Sorry about the balls remark.

But I still contend you should act.

I'm only 22, and back when we were young, skangers were few and far between (although there was the odd one here and there) because we knew you'd get a good puck for stepping out of line.

What's that phrase about evil triumphs when good men (sorry again) stand by and do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Escalated into him getting two of his 'boyfriends' to come help him fight me... I gave what appeared to be their leader a bit of a push and they back off... but then decided to start throwing rocks at me from a distance.
    ye bleeeedin' hooooligan...why didn't ye just give 'em a schhmoke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Sorry about the balls remark.

But I still contend you should act.

I'm only 22, and back when we were young, skangers were few and far between (although there was the odd one here and there) because we knew you'd get a good puck for stepping out of line.

What's that phrase about evil triumphs when good men (sorry again) stand by and do nothing.

That worked really well for those Polish guys in Drimnagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

How come you never get strangers asking for a sip of your pint, or a bite of your sandwich? What is it about cigarettes that makes it 'ok' to go around like a beggar looking for a schmoke off passerbys?

I've wondered that myself actually. Maybe I should start asking people for money to see what happens.

"Gorrer lend us a yoyo bud?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭ryoishin

You should have punched her in the falopian (sp) tube while saying smoke this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Even worse, i was walking towards a shop the other day when this lad around 17 comes over and say's "Errr do yee have a lend of aaa euuurrro"....

I just asked him when he was going to give it back to me, he seemed puzzled, i took advantage of this window and walked off....:)

I watched then as he and his group of scumbag mates took it in turn to ask everyone approaching the shop the same question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I never understood why I was apologising for not smoking to anyone who enquired :(

For me: its pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

If you had of looked at him and snapped "No" they would have left you alone.

Skangers are weird...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

watna wrote: »

I was with my friend and we were both about 17 at the time. The skangers looked about 10 or 11. We told them we weren't 18 yet and they said "we didn't ask for your bleedin life story". What do you answer to that?

As I recall, we walked away as fast as we possible could without running.

In my mind, you and you're friend are Niles and Frasier...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

When I was studying in London, a lot of my friends smoked. I never did, but I would stand outside with them. Anyway, one day one of the professors came out and asked to 'borrow' a smoke, and I told him I didn't smoke and didn't have any cigs. He went on to call me a liar and swore up and down that he had seen me smoking. He thought I had cigarettes and just didn't want to give him one. He gave me the evil eye for the rest of the semester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

doonothing wrote: »
    In my mind, you and you're friend are Niles and Frasier...
    Well, unless Niles and Frasier are women ... oh, wait, they kind of are, aren't they?!

/confused now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

They smell your fear and use this power to their advantage. The 1%ers who will actually fight (and fight well) are the ones to look out for. The other 99% are just exploiting people's fear of the 1%ers, or using pack mentality to gain an advantage. A lot of the skangers bravado is just pure bluff and scripted smartarse comments, with nothing to back it up.

That worked really well for those Polish guys in Drimnagh.

This 1% is used to generate the climate of fear which allows this little ****s to intimidate normal decent people. How many times has a person stood up to a guttersnipe and administered a sound thrashing without reprisal? And the media will highlight the one that ends tragically.

Kernel wrote: »
    This 1% is used to generate the climate of fear which allows this little ****s to intimidate normal decent people. How many times has a person stood up to a guttersnipe and administered a sound thrashing without reprisal? And the media will highlight the one that ends tragically.

Personally speaking, it isn't the fear of the little gobshite that stops me from reacting. I fear that should I react, and a scuffle ensue, I would be the one hauled away in the cop car.

I presume when you say stand up, you mean in a pysical way? Because the last time I checked, trying to have a 'word' with my local knacks got me nowhere. Trying to empathise with them and understand where there deep feelings of hate for society at present is, didn't work. Standing across the road from them and shouting at them in an attempt to let them know what I thought of them, didn't work.

I don't fancy a night in the cells, or being dead, so I guess I'm going to be leaving them alone until something changes which allows me to react in a manner I deem appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

This happened to me last weekend! I was walking down the road minding my own business listening to my mp3 when someone pulled me back by my shoulder and when i turn to see who it was i was faced with a giant of a man screaming and shouting about how he only asked for a smoke, no need to ignore him and he gave me a mighty ould upper cut and due to lack of alcohol and a balls, I ran... felt a bit stupid after... yeah...
    well there ye go... i got a nice big cut on my cheek too... don't ye just feel so safe walking down the street these days?

Personally speaking, it isn't the fear of the little gobshite that stops me from reacting. I fear that should I react, and a scuffle ensue, I would be the one hauled away in the cop car.

You have a right to defend yourself, others and property by appropriate force. What I'm alluding to, in the original post, is mentally standing up and taking no ****. If something happens as a consequence, then you have to bring it to that level. If everyone in society did this, and backed each other up in such situations, then they wouldn't have the run of the place, and wouldn't go around as they do. Most are windbags... very very few carry weapons.

We in society have let them get this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

You have a right to defend yourself, others and property by appropriate force. What I'm alluding to, in the original post, is mentally standing up and taking no ****. If something happens as a consequence, then you have to bring it to that level. If everyone in society did this, and backed each other up in such situations, then they wouldn't have the run of the place, and wouldn't go around as they do. Most are windbags... very very few carry weapons. We in society have let them get this way.

Agree. Stand up to them, if you can....

Many, many moons ago I was strolling down Stockwell High Street in London at night with my then squeeze when we were approached by a London version of a skanger and his skangette squeeze. He demanded a smoke & money off me, to which I said no. He took a swing at me & I ended up punching him to the ground & slapping his skangette for trying to rob my birds handbag..... Had to be done....

You have a right to defend yourself, others and property by appropriate force. What I'm alluding to, in the original post, is mentally standing up and taking no ****. If something happens as a consequence, then you have to bring it to that level. If everyone in society did this, and backed each other up in such situations, then they wouldn't have the run of the place, and wouldn't go around as they do. Most are windbags... very very few carry weapons.

We in society have let them get this way.

Exactly, this was my point.

The last ten years of excessive wealth have softened up the nation, and in a sense, society is as much to blame for the current state of things as we have stood by and let it go unchecked.

Your dog will keep ****ing on your carpet until you let it know its wrong. It's the same with scangers. They assume they can get away with this behaviour because, by and large, they have been allowed to get away with it.

The horrific murder of the two polish lads, and the subsequent publicity, illustrate exactly what's wrong with this country. (1) That such scum is on our streets acting as if they're above the law, ad (2) the incident has been used to quell any notions of taking a stand against scumbags, the message being 'keep your head down, leave them to it, and keep walking, pretend you saw nothing.'

This apathetic attitude that seems to be prevailing is one of the reasons that I am seriously thinking about moving abroad once I finish college.

How is it logical that as a country, we tolerate such anti-social behaviour :mad:!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

The last ten years of excessive wealth have softened up the nation, and in a sense, society is as much to blame for the current state of things as we have stood by and let it go unchecked.

Your dog will keep ****ing on your carpet until you let it know its wrong. It's the same with scangers. They assume they can get away with this behaviour because, by and large, they have been allowed to get away with it.

The horrific murder of the two polish lads, and the subsequent publicity, illustrate exactly what's wrong with this country. (1) That such scum is on our streets acting as if they're above the law, ad (2) the incident has been used to quell any notions of taking a stand against scumbags, the message being 'keep your head down, leave them to it, and keep walking, pretend you saw nothing.'

This apathetic attitude that seems to be prevailing is one of the reasons that I am seriously thinking about moving abroad once I finish college.

How is it logical that as a country, we tolerate such anti-social behaviour :mad:!!

Well said.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

Was wit about 5 or 6 of my mates one day, in Limerick City!
    Was venturing down Cruises street a bit ahead of the lads, i was smokin a fag myself.

Hiii Sir, have u a spare fag?

NO!

Pull off that one sir???

At which point i dropped the fag i was smoking (still about half of it left) and stamped it out.

Him and his 2 buddies started squaring up! At which point the rest of the lads had caught up with me!

Oh to see the nackers run!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Was wit about 5 or 6 of my mates one day, in Limerick City!
    Was venturing down Cruises street a bit ahead of the lads, i was smokin a fag myself.

Hiii Sir, have u a spare fag?

NO!

Pull off that one sir???

At which point i dropped the fag i was smoking (still about half of it left) and stamped it out.

Him and his 2 buddies started squaring up! At which point the rest of the lads had caught up with me!

Oh to see the nackers run!!!

Now the problem with that post is that sounds like you were up for a bit of aggro yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

This one time I was in a noisy bar and just wanted to go out to the smoking area, I saw a nice looking female so asked her for a fag as an opening. We began talking and then later had sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

Collie D wrote: »
    Now the problem with that post is that sounds like you were up for a bit of aggro yourself

Been honest about it if i was on my own wouldn't have been half as brave!
    But i hate the sight of them, and i had fun turnin the tables.
    They didn't waste anytime tryin to intimidate me when they thought i was on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭sinlessgunner

I work in Dun Laoghaire Monday-Friday and come home to Longford for the weekends and the decline of both of these areas is frightening. Longford has always had a poor rep for being rough or whatever. I grew up in a Local Authority Housing estate for the best part of 11 years. Thankfully my Dad's business took off well and we have since moved up the social ladder! But the estate I lived in was a decent place and I made some lifelong friends. In the past 5 years it has become a place ruled by fear. The Gardai rarely go into the estate and it is a place known for the drug dealing that goes on there. This is a staunch reflection on Irish society today. The Gardai are powerless against the scum and therein lies the problem IMO.

Last year I was walking through Longford Town to the nightclub with my mate and was at an ATM. I turned around and there was 6 lads surrounding me. They started saying stuff like I was calling them knackers and stuff which I wasn't (they were just looking for a fight) and they beat the crap outta me and took the €50 out of the ATM. This was at 12 when the streets were jammed and people walked by heads down and 'seen nothing'. I went to the Gardai, identified 4 of the 6 by name and I know there is CCTV in that area and the Gardai said I didn't have a case. I went on a rant and they threatened to lock me up! I am actually raging now even thinking about it.

It is the Gardai's general half arsed lazy approach, and also the fear they have of these people, that give these scumbags the right to do as they please. I know there are good Gardai out there and I don't mean to paint them all with the same brush but until the law starts to crack down properly on this scourge of our society, the situation will only continue to escalate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, that's something I wonder too. And it's only scumbags who do it during sober hours (most of us who smoke have probably done it when drunk). Grrr it's infuriating walking down a street in Cork minding your own business and then hearing "SorrEEEEeeee. Have you a fAAAAAaaag?" Fukk off you knackers...

It's yet another item in the list: Things Scumbags Feel They Have The God-given Right to Do But Civilised People Don't.

I wonder do scumbags know they're scumbags. I'm sure they do, but god help anyone who says it to them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

My friend was at his cousin's in Blanchardstown drinking. He went to get more beer in a local off licence. Local skangers (around 13/14) congregating 'phishing'. Fat one of them comes up to him; "Oil give yi a blowjob if yi gow inti d off loycence far is"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

BrightEyes wrote: »
    My friend was at his cousin's in Blanchardstown drinking. He went to get more beer in a local off licence. Local skangers (around 13/14) congregating 'phishing'. Fat one of them comes up to him; "Oil give yi a blowjob if yi gow inti d off loycence far is"

Took me 3 reads to deduce that the skanger was probably female...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Yep, you just need to look how soft America is. We're heading in that direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

BrightEyes wrote: »

Did he go in for her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I think the smoke one is used to start trouble too
    Yep, definitely.

I was walking alone from the shops one night when I was about 15... 5 or 6 knacks come shaping towards me from the opposite direction, taking up the whole pavement... it was a dual carriage way, so I couldn't exactly cross the road to avoid them.
    They all stopped and the skang-troupe leader asked me for a smoke... I was nice enough about telling them I didn't have any... so he went on to ask for money... pfff... I walked off pretty quickly at that point because I knew it wasn't going to be about smoking... rather intimidation and maybe dishing out a quick beating.
    I could hear them all laughing behind me as I made my exit... thankfully they didn't feel like pressing the issue too much... they already got what they wanted out of me, which was fear and submission.

This (and other similar skang encounters) is why, most of the time, I treat random on-the-street requests for ciggs as an indication of aggression or dominance... checking out how you'll react, sizing you up, using a somewhat reasonable request to disarm you and get you engaged (asking you the time is often another opening that leads to other things)... then seeing how much bullshít you'll take off them.

tbh I refuse to play the ye'goh'a'smoke game, buy your own or quit, f*ck off and leave me alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I was nice enough about telling them I didn't have any... so he went on to ask for money... pfff... I walked off pretty quickly at that point because I knew it wasn't going to be about smoking... rather intimidation and maybe dishing out a quick beating.
    I could hear them all laughing behind me as I made my exit
    Very similar situation for my friend when she was asked the time by some rough bitches once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

My automatic response to a young lad scanger asking for a fag is an abrupt "no" while either maintaining walking speed or just looking at them with an expression of "get the **** out of my face" if i am waiting for a bus or something.

In General i avoid smoking while walking the streets and usually go to pubs with smoking areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭deimos

I'd mainly smoke rollies because of budget (with filters).

Anytime I am asked for a cigarette (from a "scanger") I usually respond with a vacant look, "Sorry, i've only got my heroine"

Just be careful who you say it to :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Did he go in for her?
    Yeah in a car park between two parked cars.

He claims he didn't but I cannot be sure

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

"All that is necessary for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing."

Edmund Burke (1729-1797)

"All that is necessary for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing."

Edmund Burke (1729-1797)

That's the one.

I really think that sums up the way Dublin has gone down the $hitter in the last 10 or so years. [cue a culchie to make a joke]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Scumbags act like a pack of wolves, if you know their reactions and how to respond to them, your generally alright. They are dangerous in numbers and act macho in front of their mates/girlfriends... Whats with the macho thing anyways? When they are walking past you and they walk towards you with the shapes..."WHATS UR NAME? DONT CARE!" *SMACK* :pac: