Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

14 year old caught driving car, wearing bullet proof vest and involved in shooting

• 03-04-2008 8:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhojojidsnmh

Sounds like something in America or maybe the most dodgy parts of Britian, but no...
    Maybe the other teenage actually fired the gun, but for a 14 year old to be caught driving, and wearing a bullet proof vest?!?
    Seriously, WTF???
    What next? Do they make bullet proof vests for toddlers?

How younger are they gonna get to be involved in such serious crime?

A 14-year-old boy remains in garda custody this morning in connection with a shooting incident in Limerick city yesterday morning.

The youth was among two teenagers arrested after a number of shots were fired at a house in the St Mary's Park area just after 6am.

A sawn-off shotgun was also recovered close to the scene.

The teenager who remains in custody this morning was reportedly arrested and released hours before the gun attack after being caught driving a car while wearing a bullet-proof vest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I read this on a news site yesterday and WTF was my reaction also.. Where the hell where this guys parents?? What sort of mindset is that guy involved in that he wears a bullet proof vest. 14 years of age.. Crazy. No matter how many guards they put in that area there seems to be more and more shootings and lawless behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

The kid had been in trouble earlier in the day.Released back into his parent's custody and then he was found later at 6am.Guess who id blame..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Obviously he was deeply troubled about being arrested and decided to let off some steam by firing at a house. Perfectly understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

what made me go wtf was that a bullet proof vest can be considered an offensive weapon, how crazy is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Bambi wrote: »
    what made me go wtf was that a bullet proof vest can be considered an offensive weapon, how crazy is that?

Where did you get that from?

I think he was arrested for driving, not for the vest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Bambi wrote: »

Not sure if that's right, but I'd guess not really. I guess you don't want it in the wrong hands.

If a crazed gunman is wearing one, it's gonna assist in his lawlessness.
    Those that only should have them are the police / security forces. If you're just a normal Joe Soap, you're either expecting to be hit (for not paying taxes again? I don't think so...) or up to no good...

I think bullet proof vests are legal in the US (and possibly plenty places else) but are illegal if you've a criminal record.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Not really. I guess you don't want it in the wrong hands.

If a crazed gunman is wearing one, it's gonna assist in his lawlessness.
    Those that only should have them are the police / security forces. If you're just a normal Joe Soap, you're either expecting to be hit (for not paying taxes again? I don't think so...) or up to no good...

I don't buy that. It's a protection. It would be odd to wear it just in case, I agree, but some people are paranoid and why shouldn't they be able to protect themselves if they want to?

The truth is, you don't have to be involved in anything to get shot. Look at Donna Cleary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

ojewriej wrote: »
    Indeed. The driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

St. Mary's Park is nuts. That's all we need to know.

topper75 wrote: »
    St. Mary's Park is nuts. That's all we need to know.

Sounds like a lovely name though... and it's named after a Saint...

Where did you get that from?

a reporte mentioned it on either RTE or newstalk this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sounds like a lovely name though... and it's named after a Saint...

Places named after saints and patriots are usually sh1tholes.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Oh come on... Who wasn't doing this when they were 14? live a little!

passive wrote: »
    Oh come on... Who wasn't doing this when they were 14? live a little!

I was actually thinking that he was a bit of a pussy, wearing a vest.

Teenagers these days have no balls whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

A great future lies ahead for this young man.

I'd love to know where all these young skobies get driving lessons?

Fair play to them for getting in a car so young and showing the will to learn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

He was probably playing Grand Theft Auto earlier. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

this just confirms my belief that irish people are stupid. [/sarcasm]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I can't say the majority of scummers here are like that, its definitely the first I've heard of them wearing bullet proof vests! Anyway not to worry, the way this guy is heading he'll have his brains splashed all over a pavement within a few months and we'll be one less parasite down.

DarkJager wrote: »
    Anyway not to worry, the way this guy is heading he'll have his brains splashed all over a pavement

Probably by a 13 year-old bullet-proof vest wearing hitman...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

I'm from Limerick...

Remember what Ra's al Ghul wanted to do to The Narrows in Gotham City...

Everybody trods out the "But there are decent hard-working people living in these places", I know there and I know some and have worked with them personally, but without any hint of sensationalising, Limerick is becoming a problem zone fast, and something needs to be done to curb this sh*t.

The real truth is that the Gardai are afradi to go near these guys now, I mean FFS they need the ERU to go in and police these areas. What we really need in Limerick is some good old vigilantism, its the only way these fcuking scumbags are ever going to be counteracted. You want to cause trouble and go around creating violence??? Thats fine, but you'd better kiss your kneecaps goodbye. You want to rob cars and endanger everybody else around you because your inbred mindset thinks this is hilarious?? Thats fine too, it will also be a great laugh beating you to within an inch of your life with a bike chain!

Maybe the time for talk is over...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I don't buy that. It's a protection. It would be odd to wear it just in case, I agree, but some people are paranoid and why shouldn't they be able to protect themselves if they want to?

The truth is, you don't have to be involved in anything to get shot. Look at Donna Cleary.

Because it is not legal to own a bullet proof vest in Ireland. End.

The funniest thing is i am pretty sure i know the kid in this story. He's a funny ****er.
    Everybody trods out the "But there are decent hard-working people living in these places", I know there and I know some and have worked with them personally, but without any hint of sensationalising, Limerick is becoming a problem zone fast, and something needs to be done to curb this sh*t.

Well the simple fact of it is that the "men in charge" are to blame. They are basically sitting around waiting for Moyross to empty by itself while they pull it down house by house. I was out there twice over the last 2 weeks visiting friends, one day i was out a big row of empty houses in Gravel was there, the next it had been torn town and wiped away.

From what i can tell the plan is to just to that until the whole of Moyross is gone, which is great until you realise they are all moving out of Moyross and into places like Corbally.

Awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

The real truth is that the Gardai are afradi to go near these guys now, I mean FFS they need the ERU to go in and police these areas. What we really need in Limerick is some good old vigilantism, its the only way these fcuking scumbags are ever going to be counteracted. You want to cause trouble and go around creating violence??? Thats fine, but you'd better kiss your kneecaps goodbye. You want to rob cars and endanger everybody else around you because your inbred mindset thinks this is hilarious?? Thats fine too, it will also be a great laugh beating you to within an inch of your life with a bike chain!

Maybe the time for talk is over...

Meet you in the Bat-cave... ? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

LOL, Darkjager. So are you gonna be the one to start doing the punishing? I'm not trying to run you down but It's easy to start talking about vigilantism from behind a computer screen but it's a different thing to actually smash somebody's knees in.
    How many people in Limerick would actually step in when most of these guys are carrying guns? Maybe a few but certainly not enough and the guards are even too scared to do their job.
    They really need to be exterminated.

Daveywavey08: Unlike most of Limerick, I am not afraid of any of these scumbags. On numerous occasions I have stepped into 3/4/5 on 1 assaults in the city. When I see them stirring sh1t, I am more than happy to step in and put a stop to it. I'm not worried about what they carry on them, as I have enough training in self defence to snap their arms in the event of them trying to use weapons. If I can make even 1 scumbag think twice about doing it again, then I consider it an achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Dragan wrote: »

From what i can tell the plan is to just to that until the whole of Moyross is gone, which is great until you realise they are all moving out of Moyross and into places like Corbally.

Awesome.

Whats this about Corbally??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

Fair play to you. What sort of self defence? :) Snapping arms is not as easy as it looks, especially when somebody his holding a knife. But I suppose because you did it in class, it will work, even under extremely dangerous pressurised situations? :)

Because it is not legal to own a bullet proof vest in Ireland. End.

Didn't know that. I find that odd, but I also realise that it doesn't really matter what i find odd. So end is right.

I'm not worried about what they carry on them, as I have enough training in self defence to snap their arms in the event of them trying to use weapons. If I can make even 1 scumbag think twice about doing it again, then I consider it an achievement.

overconfidence much?

Fair play to you. What sort of self defence? :) Snapping arms is not as easy as it looks, especially when somebody his holding a knife. But I suppose because you did it in class, it will work, even under extremely dangerous pressurised situations? :)

The best form of knife defence is the "sprint" i have always found. As the song says, "it's never gonna be the Jackie Chan scene you hoped it would be."

@ ojewriej - yeah i know. My understanding is that a bullet proof vest is actually on the same list as most firearms and weapons.

Mayhaps one of the local constabulary can fill us in? Or has the random hating of gardai driven them all away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

This is now gotten past the stage of ridiculousness, & these criminals should now be treated as an unlawlful armed force, rather than the same manner they are handled in the vein of a petty thief.

We have CHILD SOLDIERS running around involved in shootings. Even the Mafia wouldn't sink this low, & have rules. The police, CAB, the law & the government have lost control of this country to gangsters, & it is affront to democracy & the majority, where a real security risk is being wholly overlooked.

Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore & the other opposition slackers instead of running his mouth & jaw jacking about Bertie's few grand, should have been focussing on this issue, which to be honest is now blatently a bigger problem than our healthcare service.

We can't fix our healthcare service as quick as we can start dealing with the crime - so Enda can f**k off with his new election garbage & his sour grapes, & get on with providing solutions or provoking meaingful discussions with our lame ass government as a group of people who are charged with the concerns of our nation & its citizens about how to tackle this very real & present danger in irish society against those who are well known criminals & actually TCB!!!!!!!! :mad:

:::: ven0mous ::::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭jawlie

ven0m wrote: »

Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore & the other opposition slackers instead of running his mouth & jaw jacking about Bertie's few grand, should have been focussing on this issue, which to be honest is now blatently a bigger problem than our healthcare service.

We can't fix our healthcare service as quick as we can start dealing with the crime - so Enda can f**k off with his new election garbage & his sour grapes, & get on with providing solutions or provoking meaingful discussions with our lame ass government as a group of people who are charged with the concerns of our nation & its citizens about how to tackle this very real & present danger in irish society against those who are well known criminals & actually TCB!!!!!!!! :mad:

:::: ven0mous ::::

The opposition are slackers and Bertie's lies and untruths are dismissed as "Bertie's few grand". I think we know where you are coming from, at least.

ven0m wrote: »
    Even the Mafia wouldn't sink this low, & have rules.

Have you ever read or done any research on the real Mafia?

Personally i find it hard to believe that the idea of kids with bullet proofs and weapons is somehow alien to people? I can think of, off the top of my head, 5 or 6 youths under 18 that i know of in Limerick who could very easily get their hands on a firearm should they feel the need.

Nice eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Vigilantism??Please,get a grip!Fighting violence with violence is a terrible suggestion.I live about 10 mins out the road from St.Mary's Park,and it isn't a no go area for the Gardai.Quite the opposite.The Gardai do their utmost best down here,all you need do is look at the amount of Gardai around the City!It's a dire lack of resources,such as a full time Garda heli and armed Regional Support Unit,that holds them back..

Also,no matter who these gougers are,they are people.I wouldn't take any pleasure in seeing them getting their kneecaps smashed etc.I don't think any decent human being would.ALSO,vigilantism leads to anarchy due to mob rule.As a democratic State,law and order must be enforced and subsequently prevail without the use of violence.

FACT is,the Gardai down NEED plentiful resources NOW!The ERU will quieten things down due to just their presence in certain areas,but as anyone living in Limerick will tell you,as soon as the ERU are pulled out..'da boyz' kick off again.Long term beneficial solutions are needed,vigilantism* not being one of them!

*Keyboard Warriorism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Sounds like something in America or maybe the most dodgy parts of Britian, but no...

I love how innocent everyone assumes our country is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Limerick should just be carpet bombed at this stage imo.

rb_ie wrote: »
    Limerick should just be carpet bombed at this stage imo.

LoL when is the last time your were in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't believe there is such thing as a "bullet-proof" vest

@ ojewriej - yeah i know. My understanding is that a bullet proof vest is actually on the same list as most firearms and weapons.

Mayhaps one of the local constabulary can fill us in? Or has the random hating of gardai driven them all away?

Was talking to the lads from Emergency Services Forum - they say the vest is legal, there are just some limitations to importing/exporting them.

Might get one now, gotta stay with the times.
    kowloon wrote: »
    I don't believe there is such thing as a "bullet-proof" vest

That depends on the bullet really. .22 Cal can be stopped quite easily, but .50 goes through lightly aromured vehicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I always have dreams of driving illegally. I went down the wrong way on the road, I pulled the handbrake so the car rolled back and ran down the hill and other things.

I think I'm being advised I wouldn't make a good driver!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

eroo wrote: »

FACT is,the Gardai down NEED plentiful resources NOW!The ERU will quieten things down due to just their presence in certain areas,but as anyone living in Limerick will tell you,as soon as the ERU are pulled out..'da boyz' kick off again.Long term beneficial solutions are needed,vigilantism* not being one of them!

If the scumbags are not afraid of other scumbags who are heavily armed and follow no rules or regulations or fear of innocents getting caught in the crossfire, they will be even less afraid of the eru, whos weapons wouldnt be at the same calibre and also every shot the eru fires will have to be accounted for, so i dont think the eru will have as much of an effect as people think, but having said that they are needed because unarmed gardai cant do their job because its no longer safe.

The eru have been in limerick for only a few days and this isnt the only shooting to occur since they arrived