Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crap friend situation at the mo

• 02-04-2008 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭

I hardly ever see my friends anymore

a lot have changed, others ive drifted apart/fallen out with

ive 2 best friends at the mo, "Mary" and "Jim"

But Mary works 9 to 5, and i work 4 to 10, so our hours clash

and Jim lives in Canada now

Then theres "Bob". He was best mates with me and Mary, til he moved to college. Now all he wants to do is be with his new housemates, who are just not nice, and has no interest in us, even though the 3 of us were best friends for 4 years

I used to always be in a big group, and be close to most of my friends

But now I hardly ever see any of the ones I still talk to

and my social life is pretty non-existent

I used to go out every weekend, now I go out once a month if im lucky

Im always tryin to plan nights out, but noones arsed, wether they can or cant go

and Im sick of my own company

I dont know what to do

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I dunno, expand your horizons. OK, in fairness, easier said than done, but doable. Go to one of the boards beers for a start. The world is full of potential mates. It happens to us all at some point or other where we lose contact with one group only to make contact with another. It passes like most things.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I've been a lot of places. Lived in Seattle then Floarida (thats how ye all pronounce it btw it drives me mad to no end) until I landed on this stepping stone to nowhere in particular :) so you get used to leaving friends behind.

What can you do really? Best thing, is to just carry on. When you can find the time to see eachother it'll just happen. Everywhere you go theres always new friends to be made. Just because you havent changed places doesnt mean anything, except that you have 2 less people to talk to. Theres always people. Be yourself long enough and like-minded people have a tendancy to gravitate toward eachother.

In the interim don't be afraid to make plans for yourself. Theres easilly a lot of things you could to. Personally with time to myself and money I would choose travel: hit up one of the cities (Cork.Waterford/Dublin) or go to the backend of the country for a bit of random adventure: the Burren is actually great for this, surprisingly enough. Just so you arent sitting around and stewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭kev_s88

put simply.....GET NEW FRIENDS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

If you get on with people at work try and socialise with them a bit more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭chris_oc

ya man,was in the same situation coz i moved abroad for the year!didnt know a single sinner but after a few weeks everything just fell into place!
    join a club, do some sports, go to a language class(great craic by the way!)
    and go for a few drinks wit the lads from work you'll be fine!
    just dont sit on yer arse at home doin nothin...
    pubs arent the only place you get to know people!!