Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adios John Maughan!!!!!!

• 31-03-2008 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭

John Maughan was dethroned as manager tonight,no doubht he did'nt endear himself to the supporters that he referred to as "customers" in his latest interview,he said that he had "broad shoulders" and that he had taken abuse from supportes before now and that it "would'nt get him down".Good riddence to him and his ways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

A good day for Rossies all round, there was an interview with him today on RTE, where he was giving out about the abuse he was getting, and then the conversation switched to the fact that he was wearing a Gloucester hat and how he had family connections there, off with you then, he will be sorely missed in Roscommon by no-one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Maughan gets a lot of abuse and I know in some ways he deserves it and brings it on himself. BUT having said that there is no need for any supporters to go ringing up the homes of the selectors to hurl abuse at them as has allegedly happened.

I reckon it was this and not the abuse thrown at Maughan (who has got enough of it in his time to let it run off his back) that made him resign.

Don't envy anyone that job now. Ros in the sh1t and they haven't exactly got a depth of astonishing talent that will now come back in droves to help them out. They have maybe 5 established senior players who I would consider good and maybe 4 or 5 more who are prospects. Fat Frankie isn't going to suddenly turn it around for ye, it's still Div 3 all the way. The best ye can hope for is a shock in the Championship.

On the replacement side of things the new manager must be a Rossie. I think if the last few managers have proved anything it's only a Rossie who can make sense of the football in the county. Fergie O' Donnell or Francie Grehan would be my tips for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭sgthighway

+1 on what kevmy said but Maughan hung himself by calling them customers. The customer is always right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

feck the much loss he is gone. roscommon have fluked promotion last year and have looked out of sorts against every team they play in the championship under maughan.
    Hopefully the next manager has a fair sense of time and realism about building a decent side for the future. Roscommon played in U21 on saturday and 5 or 6 were involved again on the sunday in the league game Vs Westmeath, this sort of stuff is what kills young lads, both physically and mentally (young lads playing for a team getting hammered every week isnt good for the confidence!)
    Time for alot of the older players to step up too and show some leadership, as someone said above that we cant expect frankie to win games for us anymore, some of our older more senior players have been passengers in the team in games, whether it had to do with maughan or what we will have to wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Fergie O' Donnell or Francie Grehan would be my tips for it.

Jaysus, whatever about Fergie, I don't know how Francie Grehan's name popped into your head. That just will NOT happen.

I'm glad to see Maughan gone as it was obvious from some time out that he didn't 'have the dressingroom' anymore. It's probably right to say he didn't even have it by the end of last season.

I couldn't understand why he got a third term and the blame for that lies squarely with the county board.

Having said all that I firmly disagree with any abuse of management teams or players. That's just out of order !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Kevmy I don't know why you decided to single out Frankie Dolan for abuse. He is well worth his place, on what granted isn't a great team, but Maughan was firmly proved wrong for refusing to bring him back. I am not suggesting he is All Star material of anything but it was beyond stupid that it took such a long campaign to have him played by Maughan. That whole saga was just one example of the many mistakes he made.

It is now time to start looking to the future and I believe you are from Mayo Kevmy. If so maybe you will get a look at a few of our younger prospects next week in Kiltoom. I hope you will be impressed.

Roscommon have probably the same ratio of idiots and genuine fans as any other county. Obviously noone condones ringing selectors homes, or hurling missiles at Ciaran Donaghy of headbutting Freeman etc etc. I dont think you could accuse any of the people who stood in the hailstones in Kiltoom on Saturday of being "customers".

Also the players statement which is being quoted on the radio as asking supporters to get behind the team also thanks the Roscommon supporters but they don't bother to mention that on RTE.

"We would like to thank the loyal Roscommon support for their continued and unflinching dedication throughout the recent period and ask them now to support and get behind the players, who want nothing other than to bring success back to our county."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Roscommon are a division 3 team so maybe the decision to sack him was a bit harsh. They should stick to native managers, they have great underage teams maybe they should appoint one of them as the senior manager.

The problem for most people is not the fact that we are being beaten - it is the size of the defeats. Staying up was a long shot and being beaten by the likes of Armagh by 2 or 3 points or even 5 or 6 would be ok. We should at least have been competitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Darondo

wow sierra wrote: »
    The problem for most people is not the fact that we are being beaten - it is the size of the defeats. Staying up was a long shot and being beaten by the likes of Armagh by 2 or 3 points or even 5 or 6 would be ok. We should at least have been competitive.

Especially against a team like Westmeath. To only score 6 points against them in a home match is pretty dire. Hopefully, they can put in some sort of performance against the Dubs next weekend. I presume some sort of caretaker arrangement will be put in place, anyone know who's likely to be at the helm for that game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Darondo wrote: »
    Especially against a team like Westmeath. To only score 6 points against them in a home match is pretty dire.

Sigh some time Westmeath might just get a little modicium of respect, bearing in mind we are the last Leinster team to beat the Dubs and we beat Galway in Pearse stadium 2 years ago, also we have beaten Armagh and Meath as well this year and only had 2 narrow defeats to the Dubs and Cork, apart from being short a few forwards the rest of the team looks pretty good and could have a good run in the championship this year, still keep underestimating us, we'll stay as underdogs.

Back on topic Paul Early is taking over short term, and according to sources (ie rumour mill down the local club), Fergie O'Donnell has a very young family and won't be taking over in the next 2 years, Shane Curran is interested apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

wow sierra wrote: »
    Kevmy I don't know why you decided to single out Frankie Dolan for abuse. He is well worth his place, on what granted isn't a great team, but Maughan was firmly proved wrong for refusing to bring him back. I am not suggesting he is All Star material of anything but it was beyond stupid that it took such a long campaign to have him played by Maughan. That whole saga was just one example of the many mistakes he made.

It is now time to start looking to the future and I believe you are from Mayo Kevmy. If so maybe you will get a look at a few of our younger prospects next week in Kiltoom. I hope you will be impressed.

Roscommon have probably the same ratio of idiots and genuine fans as any other county. Obviously noone condones ringing selectors homes, or hurling missiles at Ciaran Donaghy of headbutting Freeman etc etc. I dont think you could accuse any of the people who stood in the hailstones in Kiltoom on Saturday of being "customers".

Also the players statement which is being quoted on the radio as asking supporters to get behind the team also thanks the Roscommon supporters but they don't bother to mention that on RTE.

"We would like to thank the loyal Roscommon support for their continued and unflinching dedication throughout the recent period and ask them now to support and get behind the players, who want nothing other than to bring success back to our county."

Not singling out Frankie for abuse it's just a fact he was carrying this team 3 years ago. He can't/won't now. And I know you have a good U21 team but they take a while to come through. Ye won minor in 04 and we won the U21 in 06. It's only now our players are fully coming into senior so ye can't rely on them to help ye out of your current predicament.

What I'm trying to say is don't expect miracles in the Ros now that Maughan is gone. It'll be 3 years before ye win another Connacht at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

kevmy wrote: »
    What I'm trying to say is don't expect miracles in the Ros now that Maughan is gone. It'll be 3 years before ye win another Connacht at least.

Tbh I dont think anyone is expecting miricles, nobody knows the state of Roscommon more than the Roscommon supporters, everyone just wants to see a bit of pride put back into the jersey which clearly has been missing during the Maughan era!

patmac wrote: »
    Back on topic Paul Early is taking over short term, and according to sources (ie rumour mill down the local club), Fergie O'Donnell has a very young family and won't be taking over in the next 2 years, Shane Curran is interested apparently.
    Shane Curran? Sweet divine....your not serious? If we are not the laughing stock of the country already we will be with him in charge, although i dont really have another option. I think fergie would be wise to hold off on taking over the seniors for a few more years, both for his familys sake and because basically he would tarnish his solid reputation with Roscommon because of the current mediocrity that appears to pollute the panel.

gucci wrote: »
    Shane Curran? Sweet divine....your not serious? If we are not the laughing stock of the country already we will be with him in charge, although i dont really have another option. I think fergie would be wise to hold off on taking over the seniors for a few more years, both for his familys sake and because basically he would tarnish his solid reputation with Roscommon because of the current mediocrity that appears to pollute the panel.

A lot of people in Ross believe that the "mediocrity" that was polluting the panel resigned/was sacked on Monday:rolleyes::)

There has been a constant disgraceful spin in the Media this week on the exit of Maughan. He left because he wasnt doing his job right - not because of an angry mob. Yes our current crop of players are not likely to win an all ireland - but with the right manager they would play a lot better than what they are now. The right decisions on the line can change the course of a game, we see it every day. Maughan seemed to have the ability to always make the wrong choice. A test of a sucessful manager is one who makes players play above their potential, who creates a team which is better than the sum of the parts. None of this is rocket science.

But of course its just that us customers in Roscommon have the delusional expectation of keeping within 24 points of Armagh. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Well, well,well ! Poor Roscommon. How did ye manage to keep/endure Maughan for the past 2 years ???. Until the minors of 2004 come through ye could well be playing in the Tommy Murphy before things get better.There's a lot of baggage in the current team. Its very hard to see who can take ye oput of the quagmire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Shane Curran? Sweet divine....your not serious? If we are not the laughing stock of the country already we will be with him in charge,

Why ?

Are you from the John Maughan train of thought - he has done a few wild things in his time so he must have no talent, no discipline, no brains, no desire, no confidence, no personality.

If you actually knew the man personally you'd realise his knowledge of the game, his sheer fanaticism about it along with his very genuine infectious confidence could offer a hell of a lot more to Roscommon football than most potential managers.

Dropping him from the panel was an absolute disgrace !
    A test of a sucessful manager is one who makes players play above their potential, who creates a team which is better than the sum of the parts. None of this is rocket science.

While I agree with the general jist of your post, that quote makes it look as if managing an inter-county team is easy !! Are you serious ??
    Until the minors of 2004 come through

It's the minors of 2006.

megadodge wrote: »
    Why ?

Are you from the John Maughan train of thought - he has done a few wild things in his time so he must have no talent, no discipline, no brains, no desire, no confidence, no personality.

If you actually knew the man personally you'd realise his knowledge of the game, his sheer fanaticism about it along with his very genuine infectious confidence could offer a hell of a lot more to Roscommon football than most potential managers.

Dropping him from the panel was an absolute disgrace

While i dont know him, i have met him and shared his company a number of times at functions etc and yes i do agree he has a good knowledge of the game and is a very nice guy and genuinely interested in football etc.

However i dont think he is the type of guy that has the temperment for keeping his cool under pressure situations. One example being ripping his shirt off during a run up to take a long range free when we needed a point in injury time versus louth a few years back.
    We need someone with genuine inter county experience, but not a cretin like maughan proved to be.

Quote:
    "A test of a sucessful manager is one who makes players play above their potential, who creates a team which is better than the sum of the parts. None of this is rocket science. "

While I agree with the general jist of your post, that quote makes it look as if managing an inter-county team is easy !! Are you serious ??

I am not suggesting it is easy - far from it. What I meant was what I wrote in my post about how to judge good management isnt rocket science .