Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Courses Played

• 31-03-2008 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭

Thread on courses people have played.

I am at 80 courses in Ireland and 5 in Portugal played at the moment I have on record but I think I am missing a couple.

With a few more booked to play in the coming weeks.

The courses I have played in Ireland are as follows in alphabetical order.

Abbeyleix, Adare manor, Ardee, Arklow, Ashbourne, Balcarrick, Ballinlough Castle, Black Bush, Bodenstown, Boystown, Old and New Bray, City West, Callan, Castlecomer, Castlewarden, Carton House, Clontarf, Co. Sligo, Coldwinters (Open Centre), Coollattin, Corballis, Deer Park, Delcin Castle, Druids Glen, Dublin City, Dublin Mountain, Dundalk, Dummry Springs, Edenderry, Edmondstown, Elmgreen, European Club, Glebe, Glencullen, Greenore, Grange Castle, Heath, Highfield, Island, Kanturk, Kilcock, Kilkea Castle, Kilkenny, Killeen, Knightsbrook, Knockanally, Laytown & Bettystown, Lucan, Millicent, Mount Juliet, Mount Wosely, Naas, Navan, New Ross, Newlands, Roganstown, Rathcore, Rathsallagh, Roganstown, Royal Tara, Rush, R&R, Seafield, Seapoint, Slievenamon, St. Margarets, Stepaside, Swords, Thurles, Townley Hall, Tulfarris, Turvey, Westmanstown, Woodlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Simplyjoe

Get West. Try out magnificent Galway (Salthill), Ballinrobe, Carne and Enniscrone. What a trip that would make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭markymac

Haven't really ever counted. Have played a lot, but nothing in those numbers. Name the portugese ones, I've played the following over there:
    Laguna
    Pinhal
    Vila Sol
    Millennium
    The Old Course
    Victoria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 daconn

Looked in the G's...... have you not played Glasson yet.

Play off the whites..... totally different course.

If ye can, play it before the European challenge tour event there in July, rough is about 4 inches. I played it last year, and boy was it difficult when set up for a tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

This got me thinking and it is unbelievable the amount of courses that I have played when I sat down to think about it!
    With only the Leinster total already I am up to 55!! And I have yet to play a round in County Longford!!
    I have lived for a while in Dublin and played a lot os society golf in my early years but it seems I have played in 16 courses alone in the County of Dublin.
    And I have played most of my golf in the last 10 years while living in Munster..

Too lazy to type them all out..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Plus 10

79 is an impressive total - one other thing it goes to show is how many golf clubs there are in Ireland - particularily in Dublin and neighbouring counties.

For the record at about 34 myself - 17 in county dublin and 17 outside couty dublin. A few Dublin ones on my list not on yours - Donabate, Hollystown, Castle, Miltown, Roganstown, Slade Valley, Luttrellstown, Portmarnock and Beaverstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

Plus 10 wrote: »
    79 is an impressive total - one other thing it goes to show is how many golf clubs there are in Ireland - particularily in Dublin and neighbouring counties.

For the record at about 34 myself - 17 in county dublin and 17 outside couty dublin. A few Dublin ones on my list not on yours - Donabate, Hollystown, Castle, Miltown, Roganstown, Slade Valley, Luttrellstown, Portmarnock and Beaverstown.

Forgot about Roganstown thanks for that one.

I remember that place been long. Every par 4 seemed over 400yards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I will give you my list for the West in order and by county.

Galway,

Ballyconneely(connemara), Galway Golf Club, Portumna, Outhterard, Loughrea, Athenry, Galway Bay, Gort. These are all good courses, Ballyconneely is exceptional as is Salthill and Portumna is a hidden gem.

Mayo,

Carne(Belmullet), Ballinrobe, Westport, Claremorris, Ballyhaunis(9 hole, but really good), Castlebar. Carne is exceptional and I think everybody should play this at least once. Ballinrobe has a nice layout and is very enjoyable. Westport is also a really good course.

Roscommon,

Roscommon Golf Club, Athlone Golf Club. These two used to be the other way around but Athlone changed their course and made a mess of it. Always check Roscommon before you go to see if its open and it does not seem to take kindly to heavy rain. Athlone to me is now only for very low handicappers and its become too difficult to play. I play off nine and to nine or above it on most courses and find it ridiculous.

Leitrim,

Carrick-on-Shannon, the only one in Leitrim worth talking about and a very nice course. A good test and some daunting holes.

Sligo,

Tied first and in alphetical order, Enniscrone and Rosses Point(Sligo Golf Club), two outstanding courses. Strandhill is also worth a look. But the first two are in the top five in the west along with Ballyconneely, Salthill and my own personal numero uno is Carne.

There are also some fantastic courses in Donegal, but I'll leave them to someone else.

Edit to say that I have played every course in connacht except connemara isles but I only entered the ones I really like and have no problem paying to play on.
    Second edit to add in Westport which I forgot until I was going through the next post.
    That course in Tipperary that I forgot the name of is Dundrum, a really nice course.

Black Bush, Headfort both courses, Carton House, Portmarnock, The Island, The K club, Hermitage, The European, Baltinglass, Powerscourt, The Heritage, Luttrellstown Castle, Carton House, Druids Glen, Birr, Tullamore, Glasson, Longford, Moate, Mullingar, Esker Hills, Westmanstown, Mountrath, Newlands, Mount Juliet, Kilkenny, Carlow, Faithlegg, Waterford, Mount Wolsely, Fota Island, Cork, Old Head, Kinsale, Mallow, Fermoy, Killarney(all), Tralee, Ballybunion, Dromoland Castle, Lahinch, Doonbeg, East Clare, Ballyconneely, Salthill, Bearna, Oughterard, Galway Bay, Portumna, Athenry, Loughrea, Ballinsloe, Curraghwest, Mountbellew, Tuam, Dunmore, Ardnacong, Glenlo Abbey, Ashford Castle, Ballinrobe, Claremorris, Castlebar, Ballyhaunis, Westport, Mulranny, Belmullet, Achill, Ballina, Swinford, Gort, Roscommon, Athlone, Strokestown, Castlerea, Ballaghdereen, Carrick on Shannon, Enniscrone, Co. Sligo, Ballymote, Tubbercurry, Strandhill, Bundoran, Ballyliffin, Rosapenna, Letterkenny, Gweedore, Rossmore, Clones, Slieve Russell, County Cavan. I'm sure I have forgetten a couple and theres one really good course and I cannot remember the name of it, its in Tipperary, edit when I remember it if i do. Thats just in the Republic by the way, not including northern Ireland, or abroad.

Eagle Eye - have you played Cregmore (just outside Galway) - nice new course - will take a little time to mature (bit exposed if windy). Also interesting comments on Athlone - are those changes recent? - played a couple of years ago and didn't find it that difficult.

I haven't got to play Creggmore yet, heard a lot about it before it opened, and I do intend to play it, but I might wait a year or so until I get good reports about it.
    As regards Athlone, they started to change their course about four years ago, doing something like 6 holes at a time. They had one of the best courses in Connacht before they messed with it, it was the old guard as far as I know that wanted these changes so that they could get some of the really big tournaments down there. Well thats what a friend of mine who is a member there told me about it.
    I have played it five times since they started changing it and I think that its become so tough that high handicappers have no chance of posting a decent score on the course. Two years ago during open week, I shot 35 points and finished second, the weather was beautiful, the standard was 31 on the day. I think that says it all, I have heard of decent, consistent high handicappers failing to break the twenty point mark, and I played a good game on it one day, and finished with 23 points without any wild shots, that par 3 cost me, it was playing 220 yards from the tee and the green was rock hard, I suppose the likes of Tiger Woods would appreciate it, but no mere mortal nine handicapper had a hope of landing it on the green that day and stopping it before it went off the back and into the pond. Oh and if you are short you are in water as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

Just as a note,

I played Cregmore last weekend. Nice layout with fantastic greens.

Considering the course is open since last June it's amazing for the greens to be this good. It was wet last weekend but the greens were dry, solid and rolling true.

I'd have to class it as a bit on the easy side though, generous fairways allowed a hacker like me to score 42 points.:)

Cheers for the info on Athlone.

I agree with the previous poster on Cregmore - (played it last month) - the greens were excellent. I can imagine on a nice calm day it would play very easy at the moment - a lot of the trees are newly planted and not much of a hazard - also the rough is negligible in places at the moment (they really need to let it grow!).

Starts with an easyish par 5 followed by a par 3 and another easyish par 5. The day we played the wind was blowing a bit so think it was the 14, 15 & 18 were tough par 4's into the wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭nige1982

Here is a list of all the courses i have played since I started in 2003 total of 88, from Ireland Scotland Spain and Canaries :)

ArdfertAshbourneAutoreal (Spa)BalbrigganBalcarrickBallyheigue CastleBaltinglassBeaufortBeaverstownBellewstownBlack BushBlackwood (U.K.)Carton HouseCarton House MontyCastle (47 yrd par 3)CastlegreagoryCastleknockCitiwestCitiwest LakesClontarfColwinters 1Colwinters 2CorballisCorrstownDeer ParkDeer ParkDonabateDooksDunmurry SpringsEl Cortejo (Grand C)El Plantino (Spa)Elm GreenEsker HillsEuropean ClubGlen of the DownsHighfield G & CCHollystownHollywood LakesHowthJulianstownK Club (Palmer Course)K Club (Smurfit Course)KilcockKilternan La Finca (Spa)La Hacienda del Alamo (Spa)La Marquesa (Spa)Limerick countymalahideMaspalomas (Grand C)Mosa Tractorum (Spa)Mount JuiletNew HeadfordNuranmorePGAPortarlingtonPortmarnock linksRathcoreRathsalaghReal Club de Campo (Grand C)Roda (Spa)RoganstownRushSalobre (Grand C)SilogueSt Andrew Strathinam St Andrews NewSt Andrews OldSt AnnesSt MargaretsSt Michaels ( Scotland)StackstownStep a sideStrokestownSwords Trim TulfarrisTurveyVillamartin (Spa)WestmanstownWicklowWoodenbridgeDuncraven R & RRoyal County Down LadyhillDublin City GCRoundwood GCGlebe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Wow, some serious amount of golf being played around here! My list isn't near as impressive, but anyway:

Birr, Roscrea, Nenagh, Tullamore, Esker Hills, Moate, The Heath, Portumna, Galway Bay, Ballinasloe, The Island, Castletroy, Druids Glen, The K Club (Both Courses), The Heritage, Mountrath, Mount Temple, Adare Manor, St. Andrews Old Course :cool:, Mount Juliet, Octherard, Loughrea, Thurles, Strand Hill, Carton House, Edenderry, Black Bush, Athlone, Bandon, Ballyneety, Bray, The Curragh, Charleville, and probably a good few more that I just can't recall. Playing New Forest next week, suppost to be an excellent course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭A New earth

Have counted up to 134 including 3 in Scotland, 2 in South Africa, 2 in Canada & I in England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Antrim
    Lisburn,
    Armagh
    County Armagh,
    Belfast
    Balmoral, Belvoir Park, Cliftonville, Dunmurry,
    donegal
    Ballybofey & Stranorlar, Ballyliffin old & Glashedy, Bundoran, Cruit Island, Murvagh, Dunfanaghy, Gweedore, Letterkenny, Narin & Portnoo, North West, Portsalon, Rosapenna (old & sandy hills), St. Patricks,
    Down
    Bangor, Donaghadee, Holywood,
    Dublin
    Hermitage, Luttrelstown Castle, Malahide, Elm Park,
    Fermanagh
    Castle Hume,
    Galway
    Gort,
    Kildare
    Carton House (O'Meara),
    Kilkenny
    Mount Juliet,
    Leitrim
    Carrick-on-Shannon,
    Derry
    City Of Derry, Foyle, Moyola Park, Roe Park
    Mayo
    Claremoris, Westport
    Meath
    Trim
    Monaghan
    Rossmore
    Sligo
    Rosses Point, Enniscrone
    Tipperary
    Ballykisteen, Dundrum, Tipperary
    Tyrone
    Dungannon, Fintona, Killymoon, Newtownstewart, Omagh, Strabane
    Westmeath
    Glasson
    South Africa
    Pearl Valley, Arabella, De Zalze
    France
    Golf des Tumulus:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭johnny_rambo

As far I can remember (a lot of unmemorable courses around!), I've played 107 courses......

Abbeyfeale, Adare, Adare Manor, Arklow, Athenry, Athlone, Balbriggan, Ballinasloe, Ballybunion, Ballykisteen, Bandon, Birr, Bray, Cahir Park, Carrick-on-suir, Carton House, Castle, Castlerock, Castletroy, Charlesland, Charleville, City of Derry, Citywest, Clontarf, Co. Louth, Co. Sligo, Co. Tipperary, Connemara, Cork, Craddockstown, Donabate, Donegal, Dooks, Dromoland, Druid's Glen, Dundalk, Dungarvan, East Clare, East Cork, Ennis, Fermoy, Galway, Galway Bay, Grange, Greystones, Gweedore, Harbour Point, Helen's Bay, Hermitage, Hollystown, Hollywood Lakes, K Club, Kenmare, Kilkee, Kilkenny, Killarney - Killeen, Killarney - Mahony’s Point, Killarney - Lackabane, Kinsale, Knightsbrook, Lahinch, Laytown & Bettystown, Limerick, Limerick County, Macroom, Malahide, Mallow, Malone, Mitchelstown, Mount Juliet, Mullingar, Muskerry, Nenagh, Newcastle West, Portumna, Rathbane, Rathsallagh, Ring Of Kerry, Roganstown, Roscrea, Rosslare, Royal Portrush, Seapoint, Shannon, St. Anne's, St. Helen's Bay, St. Margarets, Stackstown, Strandhill, The Heritage, The Island, The Royal Dublin, Thurles, Tipperary, Tramore, Tuam, Warrenpoint, Waterford, Waterford Castle, Waterville, West Waterford, Westport, Wexford, Woodbrook, Woodenbridge, Woodstock, Youghal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Brockagh

Abbeyleix, Arklow, Ashbourne, Balbriggan, Baltray Balcarrick Ballinascorney Baltinglass Beech Park Blackbush Bodenstown Bray New Carton House Montgommerie and O'Meara Castlewarden Charlesland Citywest Championship and Lakes Coollattin Corbalis Longford Craddockstown Curragh Delgany Donabate Druids Glen Dublin Mountain Dun Laoghaire Edmondstown Elm Park Elm Green Foxrock Glasson Glen of the Downs Grange Grange Castle Hazel Grove Headford New and Old Hollystown Hollywood Lakes Howth Kilcock Kilkea Castle Kileen Killiney Kilternan Leopardstown Lucan Luttrellstown Castle Milltown Mullingar Naas Newlands Old Conna Pamerstown House Portmarnock Hotel Powerscourt East and West Rathfarnham Rathdowney royal Tara Seapoint Skerries Slade Valley South County St Anne's St Margret's Stackstown Sutton The European Club The Heath The Island The K Club Tulfarris Turvey Vartry Lakes Westmanstown Woodbrook Woodenbridge

Borris Carlwo Courtown Gowran Park Kileny Killerig Castle Mount Juliet Mount Wolselely Roscrea St Helen's Bay Thurles Tramore

Dingle Kinsale Old Head

Dromoland Castle East Clare Lahinch Spanish POint Woodstock

Belmullet Connemara

Donegal portsalon Strandhill

EDIT: Forgot Enniscrone and Bundoran. Oh, and Roundwood.

There are a good few others that I'm not sure of. I played a few in the North, but can't remember the names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Here is my smallish list

Dublin Area:
    Grange Castle, Knockally, Elm Green, Kilkea Castle,

Munster Area:
    Mitchelstown, Fermoy, Youghal, Castlemartyr Resort, East Cork, Water Rock, Mahon Point, Adare Manor, West Waterford, Rafeen Creek, Habour Point,

A few I can't think of 1) a course outside of Navan heading for Kentstown?
    2) A public course outside of Dunboyne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Here is my smallish list

Dublin Area:

Munster Area:
    Mitchelstown, Fermoy, Youghal, Castlemartyr Resort, East Cork, Water Rock, Mahon Point, Adare Manor, West Waterford, Rafeen Creek, Habour Point,

Navan golf club is out that way and R&R is just outside Dunboyne.

eagle eye wrote: »
    I will give you my list for the West in order and by county. Good idea

My favourites list

Galway Golf Club, Athenry, Gort, Tuam. IMHO Ballyconneely is only for yanks - green fees get treated adbysmally. Oughterard is not amongst my list at all - enough said. Tuam included as both members and staff are very friendly.

Mayo,

Ballinrobe, Westport, Castlebar, Ballyhaunis (9 hole, but really good), Ballina (short but tricky), Achill (for fun - watch the sheep dont eat your balls (golf) !!!!). Never played Carne.

Roscommon,

Castlerea.

Leitrim,

None played.

Sligo,

Tied first and in alphetical order, Enniscrone and Rosses Point(Sligo Golf Club), two outstanding courses. Strandhill is also worth a look - agreed totally - class. class. class.

Top Five: Ballinrobe, Enniscrone, Rosses Point, Galway

Other best: Adare Manor, Portmarnock, Lahinch, Mount Juliet, K Club, Glasson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

I cant believe people dont talk about the Slieve Russell here at all???

Its a cracking course, kept lovely and normally quite due to low membership.

The only downside is that it is just over 2 hours away from Dublin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

03mcgs0 wrote: »

I think your last sentence explains your first! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Mayo
    Ballinrobe - good course, joined there this year, generous fairways so you can use driver most holes without getting into much trouble
    Castlebar - very busy course, hard to get out there, the par 5 3rd is only a long par 4 but great greens and can get into trouble there often unless you are driving well
    Mulranny - Nice 9 hole - Greens are all fenced off to keep cows and sheep away
    Westport - Great course and fairly easy to get out in, 1st 6 holes are mundane enough but when you cross the path the last 12 are great
    Carne - My favourite course of all, back 9 as good as you will play anywhere. The 17th is the toughest hole I have played, have yet to par it
    Claremorris- Didnt like it, need to know course well, you can stitch a wood down the fairway and then walk along and find you are in a stream, however have played it over the winter and the course holds up very well compared to other courses

Sligo
    Strandhill -
    Loved it but might not be challenging enough for low handicappers
    Rosses Point - Good but overrated compared to Enniscrone and Carne
    Enniscrone - Magnificent

Galway
    Salthill -
    Great course - but found the members to be very snobby there
    Cregmore - Good greens but worry about them going out of business, looking for 7500 joining fee which is outrageous, played it a few sundays ago and there was about 20 people out on a fine day. They need to cop on and realise that they wont get that type of money anymore
    Athenry - Fantastic clubhouse - but annoying American Ranger - course was in great nic
    Portumna - Lovely lovely course, great value in green fees as well
    Oughterard - Average
    Ballyconneely - Very tough, some great holes
    Barna - Nice in summer bog in winter

Woodstock - Liked this very reasonable green fees too
    Roscommon - Useless in wet weather, would say it would be ok in good weather
    Athlone - Agree with Eagle Eye, way too difficult
    Esker Hills - enjoyed it but will bring a buggy the next time
    Limerick - Lightning greens when I played it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    I think your last sentence explains your first! :D

HAHA! Yeah that explains all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Here is my smallish list

Dublin Area:

Munster Area:

Is Castlemartyr worth playing Charlie, They are doing a lot of advertising and green fee deals at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭nige1982

Lads I am on 99 courses now just back from portugal played 5 Ocenino and Villa Sol wow, I am looking for a brillaint coarse for my 100th and it will be on my stag, I was thinking of Rosses Point and the other links beside it, ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

i've played about 65 courses in Ireland and 10 abroad.

Ireland

Ardee, Balbriggan, Balcarrick, Beaverstown, Bray, Beech Park, Bundoran, Carton House, Castle, Castleknock, Charlesland, Clontarf, Co. Sligo, Curragh, Corrstown, Deer Park, Donabate, Donegal, Druids Glen, Dundalk, Elm Park, Esker Hills, Forrest Little, Galway, Greenore, Headfort x 2, Hermitage, Highfield, Hollystown, Hollywood Lakes, Howth, K Club, Kilcock, Kilkenny, Killeen, L & B, Lucan, Luttrellstown, Malahide, Mullingar, Newlands, Old Conna, Portmarnock, Portmarnock Links, Powerscourt, Roganstown, Royal Tara, Seapoint, Skerries, Slieve Russell, South County, St annes, St Margarets, Strandhill, Sutton, The Island, Royal Dublin, Tulfarris, Tullamore, Waterford, Westmanstown, Wexford, Woodbrook.

Scotland

Prestonfield - Edinburgh

Spain

Mijas
    Alhaurin
    La Cala

USA

Champions Gate
    Southern Dunes
    Sme Public Course in Chicago were i saw the weirdest/most disturbing sight on a golf course.

Barbados

Royal Westmoreland
    Sandy Lane
    The Green Monkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

Sme Public Course in Chicago were i saw the weirdest/most disturbing sight on a golf course.

Go on...!

35 I think..

Adare Manor Golf Club
    Adare Manor Hotel and Golf Resort
    Limerick County Golf Club
    Limerick Golf Club
    Castletroy Golf Club
    Newcastlewest Golf Club
    Rathbane Golf Club
    Charleville Golf Club
    Woodstock Golf Club
    Ennis Golf Club
    Dromoland Castle
    Lahinch Golf Club
    Ballybunion Golf Club
    Westport Golf Club
    Mahon Golf Club
    Kinsale Golf Club
    Tipperary Golf Club
    Ballykisteen Golf Club
    Thurles Golf Club
    Dungarvan Golf Club
    Lucan Golf Club
    Macroom Golf Club
    Warrenpoint Golf Club
    East Clare Golf Club
    The European Club
    Nenagh Golf Club
    Portumna Golf Club
    Mitchelstown Golf Club
    Roscrea Golf Club
    Cahir Park Golf Club
    Carrick On Suir Golf Club
    Doneraile Golf Club
    Gort Golf Club
    Muskerry Golf Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

The Green Monkey

Would like to hear more about this one.

Go on...!

Well its far from funny. Went out to play one early morning, extremely hungover and probably still drunk. We wer told the 5th tee box was closed off and to tee from the start of the fairway. As we walked down the 2nd fairway we could look accross to the vicinity of the 5th tee where we could see a few police and a dangling body from a tree.... they were just standing there looking at him and weren't making any moves to take him down. I think it was due to the fact that i was still drunk from the night before that it only really hit home that afternoon as to what we had saw...

WH BONNEY wrote: »
    Would like to hear more about this one.

Green Monkey is spectacular and unbelievable. Course is shaped out of a mine and the views are awesome. The course is extremely well manicured probably due to the fact that at the time they were only letting residents of the hotel play and only between 8-9 in the morning. There are so many elevated tee shots or tee shots between the sides of the mines or over the corner of the mines. Its just a special golf course in a special place.

Well its far from funny. Went out to play one early morning, extremely hungover and probably still drunk. We wer told the 5th tee box was closed off and to tee from the start of the fairway. As we walked down the 2nd fairway we could look accross to the vicinity of the 5th tee where we could see a few police and a dangling body from a tree.... they were just standing there looking at him and weren't making any moves to take him down. I think it was due to the fact that i was still drunk from the night before that it only really hit home that afternoon as to what we had saw...

Christ...

03mcgs0 wrote: »

Played it last weekend. It was superb, tough, scenic, fast greens, well tended, friendly, quite. Overall well worth a visit.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Shockingly small amount of traveling done for golf by me :( though I've played some fine courses when I've been away from home :)
    24 counties on the island I haven't golfed in :eek:

Ireland:
    Abbeyleix
    Arklow
    Blainroe
    Borris
    Callan
    Carlow
    Castlecomer
    European Club
    Glenmalure
    Gowran Park
    Kilkenny
    Mount Juliet
    Mount Wolseley
    Parknasilla
    Rathdowney
    Rosslare
    The Castle
    Waterford Castle
    Waterville

England:
    Altrincham
    Forest of Arden
    Sunningdale New
    Sunningdale Old (my number 1 course)
    Wenthworth West
    Worplesdon

Scotland:
    St. Andrews Jubilee Course
    St. Andrews New Course
    St. Andrews Old Course

U.S.A.
    Rye Golf Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Extremely small list (but hey, I've never been a member, and at present am only a very casual golfer)

Mayo:
    Ballyhaunis(9), Ballinrobe, Claremorris, Ashford Castle.
    Galway:
    Connemara, Cregmore, Loughrea, Glenlo Abbey(9)
    Cork:
    Fota Island, Kinsale, Water Rock, Monkstown

Hoping to become a distance member of Ballyhaunis in January, as its my home town course, and the one I play the most when I get home to visit the parents, so should get the value out of it, and not be annoyed if I only have time to play 9.

Glad to see a few people have recommended it, and I agree, its a lovely course that holds up well to the bad weather. Hopefully at some point in the future they might extend it to 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭kingshankly

just started playing regularly after a few years out hence my small list have joined a club now so plenty of opens next year please god
    Ardee
    Greenore
    Dundalk
    Carnbeg
    Ballymascanlon
    Killenbeg
    Warrenpoint
    Nuremore
    Mannan castle
    Navan
    O Moore park
    Seapoint
    Co Louth (baltray)
    Hollystown
    At margarets
    Balbrigan
    Knightsbrook
    Headford old
    Bellewstown
    Dubai jumeriah and Dubai creek(under lights)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 limerick-kev24

I dont think iv seen ballybunion in here..tough course. also birr, nice course!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

Ireland: Kilcoole, Greystones, Charlesland, Delgany, Bray(New), Bray(Old), Woodbrook, Old Conna, Druids Glen, Druids Heath, Powerscort(East, Powerscourt(West), Kilternan, South County Dublin, Milltown,Rathsallagh, Tulfarris, Coolattin, Wicklow, Arklow, Blainroe, Carlow, Kilkenny, Mount Juliet, K Club(palmer), K Club(Smurfit), Glenmalure, Dun Laoghaire(Old), Dun Laoghaire (New), Dun an Oir(Dingle), Headfort(Old), Headfort(New), Cabra Castle, Thurles, Roscrea, Birr, Templemore, Nenagh, Youghal, Fota Island, Wexford, New Ross, Borris, Dungarvan, Gold Coast, West Waterford, Glen of the Downs, Roundwood, Djouce, Vartry Lakes, St Helens Bay, Rosslare, Mount Wolseley, Grange, Stackstown, Westmanstown, Hermitage, Glasson, Baltinglass, Woodenbridge, Falcarragh, St Margarets, Oughterard, European Club, Carton House(O' Meara), Edmonstown, Heath, CillDara, Curragh, Knockanally, Newlands, Stepaside, Dundrum, Achill, Beech Park, Tramore, Craddockstown 77

England: Heswall, West Lancashire 2

Scotland: St. Andrews(Old Course) 1

Spain: Parador, Guadalhorce, Santana, Cabo Pino, Golf Club de Marbella, Torrequebrada, Atalaya(old), Alhaurin, Rio Real, Santa Maria, La Quinta, Mijas Olivios, Mijas Lagos, La Cala America, La Cala Europa, La Cala Asia 16

Thats 96 in total and my Favourite would have to be St. Andrews played it on the monday after Tiger won there in 2000.