Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cleaning ones SLR sensor...

• 30-03-2008 10:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭

So what do y'all use to clean your sensors?

The link in the FAQ is useless. It just brings me to a thread of somebody contemplating a wholesale order of dust-aid:confused:

I have noticed a few manky spots in my pics at small apertures.

I've tried to clean it myself but no joy, I sprayed a small bit of wd40 into the housing to remove some of the dust - just kidding.:p

So those of you who have dared to clean your own sensors, how did ye go about doing it?

Any horror stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

About a year ago I researched how to clean my 350D sensor and haven't looked back since. I used this site http://www.copperhillimages.com/ to learn how to do it and to buy the kit from (liquid excluded, I bought that in Gunns). It was some of the lads on here that pointed me in the direction of Copperhill. I spent a week or two reading everything I could about cleaning the sensor and looked up youtube videos etc and then just went ahead and did it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

cheers bovril that's what I was looking for - a method tried and tested by a boardsie:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭dakar

+1 for Copperhill, scary the first time but once you lose your sensor cleaning virginity, there'll be no stopping you!

Make sure you get the right fluid for your sensor, there's a list on the site and they don't seem to ship the fluid overseas, must be some restriction. I got mine from Surrey Photography on ebay.

I'm looking at a cleaning kit on ebay right now for ~16e that seems to be the same as the swabs that copperhill use, and it comes with the proper Eclipse or E2 fluid. Shur i'll press buy it now for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Don't forget the rocket blower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

don't forget to lock your mirror up and not set it to timer up as it could crash down on you mid clean causing loads of damage.

Don't forget the rocket blower!

I just use one of those foot pumps for pumping up a bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

I've been using Copperhill for a while now ... be careful to get the right fluid for your camera type between Eclipse and E2 ... if you use the wrong one it will damage the coating on your sensor ... Works a treat but ...

I was at PMA this year in Vegas and spoke with one of the techs from Canon ... they are using the new Sensorklear from the people who brought you Lenspen ...

Sensorklear

I managed to get one free at the Lenspen stand ... but have not used it yet ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

The link in the FAQ is useless. It just brings me to a thread of somebody contemplating a wholesale order of dust-aid.

As a result of the FAQ I got dust-aid and it works a treat, even out in the field. I'm doubtful you could use copperhill in the field.

Alternatively just don't use small apertures ;)

Your lens is probably best at around f/11

You're crazy! Dust-aid is too expensive... it's one quarter of the price of my car!!!

I'll just spray a bit of fabreeze into the sensor and it should be grand.

So does dust-aid work everytime? Does it get all the specs off?

btw.... did anyone notice that we're all moderators today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

You're crazy! Dust-aid is too expensive...

So does dust-aid work everytime? Does it get all the specs off?

Can't believe I'm replying to someone with scrotum as part of their name, must be a Tipperary thing...

But,

I contacted them directly and we did a deal on less expensive shipping. So no, it's not too expensive. And yes, it works for me and I'd use it again.