Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vans, lorries?

• 29-03-2008 1:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭

Hi all, looking for any photographs people may have of old Irish lorries and vans, 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s? Denny, Granby, HB, Guinness, Smithwicks, Harp, Brennans, Jacobs, CIE, post office, Telecom Eireann, ambulances, Garda cars, etc.

Will find a few myself soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭HydeRoad

image_large?asset_id=673

The Dartry Laundry

image_large?asset_id=669

Johnston, Mooney & O'Brien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Theres definatly a book to be made there, i for one would buy it!Nice photos!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

What an ugly yokes :eek:

Me want one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I wonder what bus garage is the laundry van in.

The open platform bus to the left of the picture is one of just 26 members of the R900 class Leyland PD3, which ended their lives in Clontarf Garage. The Van Hool bus behind it dates the picture to post 1974, so most likely Clontarf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

more more more please!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

HydeRoad wrote: »
    image_large?asset_id=669

Johnston, Mooney & O'Brien

great lights up front on it!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Are those converted milk floats or what are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

not converted but battery electric just the same..perfect city vehicles...why dont we have many of these any more?

There was a bakery in tralee called barrys that used to run a fleet of battery powerd vehicles up untill around 10 years ago i think, im nor sure what they were but they had early 70s dublin regs, i think there is one in beside the bakery parked up still, i must take a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

There was a bakery in tralee called barrys that used to run a fleet of battery powerd vehicles up untill around 10 years ago i think, im nor sure what they were but they had early 70s dublin regs, i think there is one in beside the bakery parked up still, i must take a look.

Barry's Bakery... Ah that brings back memories, I used to go out with one of the daughters, Mary, about 20 years ago. Nice girl, nice bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

There was a company in Dublin called Swastika Laundries, I can remember their vans in the late 1960ies, they also had a large chimney in Balls bridge that looked like something from an extermination camp! I dont know how this company continued with that name after the war. :confused:

image_large-1.jpeg

There was a company in Dublin called Swastika Laundries, I can remember their vans in the late 1960ies, they also had a large chimney in Balls bridge that looked like something from an extermination camp! I dont know how this company continued with that name after the war. :confused:

image_large-1.jpeg
    The chimney is still there - it's a protected structure AFAIK.

The Swastika van pictured above is the same van as the Dartry Laundry van in the first picture. It was 'done up' for a film.

(Looks like a still from filming in Collins Barracks? (The bicycle looks too modern!)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

image_large-1.jpeg

You're pulling our leg here :rolleyes:

If this is a true then they have to be a Nazis, the real swstika is turned the other way - the spikes are facing to the left and also those colours :D

Good one

Hifive wrote: »
    Barry's Bakery... Ah that brings back memories, I used to go out with one of the daughters, Mary, about 20 years ago. Nice girl, nice bread.
    The bread is still nice, not sure about the girl though....:p

Cant believe it about the swastika van,sounds like a joke, especially so close to the war? pics are great though lads, keep em coming!

Cant believe it about the swastika van,sounds like a joke
    The Swastika Laundry was established in 1912, long before the Third Reich.

Still seems strange that they would continue afrer the war, i suppose ireland wasnt as affected by the nazis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

the film was called 'Caught in a free state' and was made around I983/84. It was shown on Rte,however I think the van was only shown towards the end of the film. I think the main car shown in the film was a Standard Vanguard??? and
    yes, I read that the dartry van and the swastika van are the same vehicle..
    A fleet of vans similiar to the johnson mooney and o brien van were also operated by thompson bakeries until the early I980s when it closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

the mooney show on radio I did a show dedicated to the swastika laundry around christmas and there was an interview on the show with some family
    members. Apparently the building surivives but the swastika is gone,......:pac: