Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wanted gun cabinet and pump action

• 28-03-2008 11:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭

ya i'm looking for a garda approved gun cabinet and
    also a pump action shotgun
    license holder already for rifle

i don't know too much about the pump action scene but the double barrel i'm used to(not mine) is old and has very long barrels

tvm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

You do realise pump actions are going to be restricted and therefore, need extra security to acquire/keep licence ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

oflynno wrote: »
    ya i'm looking for a garda approved gun cabinet and
    also a pump action shotgun
    license holder already for rifle

i don't know too much about the pump action scene but the double barrel i'm used to(not mine) is old and has very long barrels

tvm

you would be better served with a semi auto and less hassle in licencing it
    in future;)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

You do realise pump actions are going to be restricted and therefore, need extra security to acquire/keep licence ?
    you would be better served with a semi auto and less hassle in licencing it
    in future;)

Surely a pump action and a semi are the same from the licensing point of view?

If either can hold > 3 cartridges then they're restricted. 3 or less and they're not?

What am I missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Likewise, I think capacity is the issue, not mechanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭oflynno

thanks for that lads
    i didn't know about the restricted stuff

what are the extra security measures needed?

what is the difference between semi automatic and pump action,i don't know too much about them and won't claim to either

With a pump action, you manually cycle the next round by pumping the fore-end, whereas with a semi-automatic, the next round is cycled by the blow-back of gases from the previous round. In short, with a semi-automatic, you don't perform any action between firing one shot and the next, whereas with a pump, you do. Neither is restricted off the bat. The problem is that any shotgun capable of holding more than three cartridges will be considered restricted from 1st of May onwards, and subject to application to somebody designated by your local commissioner, as opposed to your local Superintendent, and requires extra storage arrangements and costs a lot more to license. However, as long as it's of "conventional" stock design, and is plugged to hold only three cartridges, (think it's a max of two in the magazine tube, allowing for one in the breech) it's a non-restricted firearm and you can apply as per the normal procedures. Good luck. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

thanks for that lads
    i didn't know about the restricted stuff

what are the extra security measures needed?

what is the difference between semi automatic and pump action,i don't know too much about them and won't claim to either

What made you decide to go for a pump action?
    With a pump action, you physicly have to pump it to cycle the spent cartridge and load the next one. (like in the movies:rolleyes:)
    With a semi auto, recoil and pressure does this automaticly, in other words you can just keep pulling the trigger.
    An over and under would be a far better option for your first gun.
    Reasons why o/u would be a better option.
    o/u are easier to learn to shoot on
    o/u are safer for a first timer
    pumps and semis will burn a hole in your pocket(not so much now with 3 shot restrictions)
    Pumps and semis are frowned upon at clay shoots
    o/u aer easier to clean and maintain
    o/u will fire any cartridge weight, so will pumps but semis can be fussy
    Im sure there others.

okay

and if i get the one with the grenade launcher,how many can that hold?

Yeah, bitemybanger raised something I missed there, in that if it's for clays, the light clay loads can be a nightmare in semi-auto shotguns, as little 1 oz and 7/8 oz loads will frequently not offer sufficient bang to cycle the cartridge. That said, if you're rough shooting, a semi is great. I still prefer double barrels in either variety, but a semi is a great gun for rough shooting, and tends to be less pricey for a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

Why go for a pump action they good for scaring off intruders, or shooting the tyres off cars in Hollywood car chases.

It'd be wrong to discount pumps to be honest, they are cheap and cheerful. Just look at the Remington 870. Hard to find a better workhorse gun, and there are plenty to attest to that. Personally, pumps just don't do it for me, I'd much rather a good semi-auto, and I'll take a good double barrel over either, but with a Remington 870 at about 500 quid, it's hard to beat for the cash involved.

well 'tis all edumacation
    i didn't know about the semi automatic shotgun

can i presume double barrels come in shorter(legally done) lengths.as i said in the OP the one i was using was old and seemed to have very long barrels

i will look into the options again with the gunsmith,but i'd prefer to go in the door armed with information instead of rabbit in the headlight approach

My own digging says over/unders tend to come with 28 or 30 inch barrels most commonly, whereas side by sides tend to be 26 or 28 inches as a rule. There are longer over/unders, but they're very definitely clay guns by and large. Likewise, there are shorter side by sides, but they're also specialist, in that they tend to be for overgrown areas, like those faced when hunting woodcock in thickets and the like. Barrels for pumps and semi-autos are less limited as a rule, you can get anything from 24 inches upwards really, with some clay specific ones having very long barrels, 30 inches and possibly even 32 inches. Bottom line with shotguns though, is if it fits, and isn't badly made, that's your gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭dimebag249

That's good advice from It wasn't me, but on the length issue I would add that pump actions and automatics are longer than double barrels because of the length of the action.

The reciever of a repeater has to be long enough for the bolt to move back the 3+ inches required to extract the spent shell and chamber the fresh one. So basically a 24 inch o/u or side by side is shorter than a 24 inch pump or auto.

Pumps can also be pretty bloody heavy, but I'd still advise you to go for one. Value for money you hust can't beat the Remington 870 Express.

Oh, and by the way, pumps are NOT restricted, nor are they less safe (WTF?). Some people with guns are less safe than others might be what was intended. My friends and I have gone to clay shoots with our DANGEROUS BLACK pumps and autos without anyone batting an eyelid. Don't imagine I would want to go to a shoot if the attendees were so elitist or stuck-up that they'd complain about my gun.

Yeah, didn't think to mention overall length, good save.

I don't think they're less safe, but it's not as easy to see that they're safe, from the point of view of a range officer or whatever. I mean, it's a lot more obvious that a broken open double barrel isn't about to go off than a comparably safe semi-auto. Just more noticeable with the others, which does count for something, in fairness, but is no replacement for responsibility anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

and if i get the one with the grenade launcher

That for hunting rabbits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Pump (and I presume semi, same non-breakable action) are feckers to carry if you're doing rough shooting. You can throw it over your shoulder handy enough but you start drawing attention to yourself :p
    main.jpg

Practically I prefer the O/U but it's what I'm used of. If you're talking about the Remington 870, barrels come in a variety of lengths and are easily got, changed in 30 seconds no bother. Not sure if it's legal to have more than one barrel for a gun with a single licence, I can't see why not, they have no serial number (that's on the action) and they are all of the same calibre.
    I think I've seen barrels in different guns from 24 to 30 inches. You can get 36 too, but that's a "goose gun", usually single barrel methinks but you see the odd farmer going around with them, wondering why they can't hit the crows 15 yds away !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

If you want my opinion, read my signature!

The Remington 870 is a fantastic gun, good value for money, and most importantly it always goes bang. I find it easy to slug around the fields, a good pointer and incredibly easy to strip and clean. Will cycle all loads, 2 3/4" and 3", all weights, has the good 'ol RemChoke system, can have its barrel changed in under twenty seconds, and best of all it comes in a no frills, matte black blasted finish, so you can get it pretty muddy and not feel bad (provided you clean it afterward that is)! 'Nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

spideog7 wrote: »
    barrels come in a variety of lengths and are easily got, changed in 30 seconds no bother.
    can have its barrel changed in under twenty seconds

Sorry, am I not quick enough for you !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

spideog7 wrote: »
    Sorry, am I not quick enough for you !!!!

Ahh I'm sure you'd be grand with a little practice...:p

thanks again,learnt loads

joke about the grenade launcher but it would be handy for any openings in the ditch i can't get over with the 'lux ;)

must give a trip to the gunsmith and see whats what
    i know he will tell me to hang on until july for the license changing blahblah

it's mainly all fluffy bunnies i shoot and crows and pigeons for a few farmers around
    was thinking of getting a rifle too for extended range but i'll decide something soon

i don't do clays as of yet so no rush on whether or not i'll get a shotgun or rifle

TVM

This is purely a personal thing, but if I were you, in that sort of position, I'd get a shotgun first. Allows a lot more in the way of rough shooting and there's nothing bar deer you can't kill with one. A rifle would limit you to the rabbits and crows on the ground, which can both be done with a shotgun anyway. Just my advice on this one, but a shotgun is somewhat more versatile for hunting, and not a whole lot less range than a .22lr in the first place in the right hands.

right good advice there i.w.m

the range thing
    i have a bsa supersport .22 air rifle
    i can kill rabbits at 45 yards with bisley long range gold(i am shooting from upstairs window though)

what yards would i get from the ground with a normal shotgun?

what about a run of the mill rifle?

its the buggers 100 yards i want to pick off

so thats my requirements

i must thank all the guys who respond,as when you talk to the serious local shooters everything less than a gun for a few grand "isn't worth it" and the gunsmith is sick of me asking questions,i'd say.TVM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revan23

as when you talk to the serious local shooters everything less than a gun for a few grand "isn't worth it" and the gunsmith is sick of me asking questions,i'd say.TVM

ive had my mossberg pump action for about 8 years and its still like new, cost me about 400, i swear by it.

While I'm sure the like of George Digby can confidently take rabbits at a hundred yards with a shotgun if the opportunity is right, it's not for mere mortals. If you want to take shots at a hundred yards, your best bet is a rifle, and a .17hmr specifically, as it'd be more effective at that range than a .22lr, and has the legs to get out to 150 as well in the right conditions. Also, I'd advise you to stop shooting from the house, can raise difficulties. I believe foxshooter has a nice CZ 452 Varmint in .17hmr he was letting go for a very reasonable price a while ago. Might be worth contacting him.