Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Irish....

• 28-03-2008 12:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭

why is it that we irish can't accept good things happening us??? as soon as some good things come our way.......we're peeking round the corner waiting for a bad thing to happen????? :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Because we're a nation of begrudgers. Even when it's ourselves that are getting ahead.

I think Bono used some phrase about a house on a hill that kinda nailed us. Can't remember the quote exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

we drink a lot of alcohol. alcohol is a depressant. perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

we drink a lot of alcohol. alcohol is a depressant. perhaps?

yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Examples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Why is it racist to make generalisations about other cultures but not your own?

Oh sorry, I answered your question with another question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

well just left my part time job moving to a new house on Saturday feck all jobs around galway.What are we waiting for something bad to happen,at least i have a full head of hair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭SnoozyS

i don't begrudge other there success but i'm just thinkin that maybe we're afraid to pat ourselves on d back for anything we've achieved pesonally????

SnoozyS wrote: »
    why is it that we irish can't accept good things happening us??? as soon as some good things come our way.......we're peeking round the corner waiting for a bad thing to happen????? :confused::confused:

What are you blathering on about?
    We are the most blindly optimistic nation to walk the earth.
    "Ah sure it'll grand" is our national motto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I think Bono used some phrase about a house on a hill that kinda nailed us. Can't remember the quote exactly

He said that in America when somebody is successful and has a big house on the hill people say "Someday I will be like you" but in Ireland they say "Someday I'm going to get you".

The self loathing and down right nasty attitude in this country is shocking. We need to take a long hard look at ourselves
    :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Because Ireland is a nation of complainers simple as, the media isn't helping either. Everytime I listen to 98FM, it's always "In a recent survey, Ireland is lowest/worse in Europe"

I have a twin hurray for me

Fremen wrote: »
    Why is it racist to make generalisations about other cultures but not your own?

Oh sorry, I answered your question with another question.

being one, we all know youre either taking the piss or making yourself look bad for the benefit of rational thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Moonbaby wrote: »

Exactly! Even in football, "ah sure a draw will do"

sorry if you think i'm blathering on Moonbaby but i was merely questioning why we're always waiting on a bad thing to happen! its like the old saying about how death comes in threes....well it doesnt.

I was asking you.....What are we supposedly waiting for?

creggy wrote: »
    Exactly! Even in football, "ah sure a draw will do"

and i got mocked for staring at the match tentatively during the World Cup, actually looking for the win to happen.

I blame the team looking for a draw :pac:

and Italy :mad:

well i know i for one am waitin on sumtin bad to happen. i've had a few good things happen me since jan and now i'm thinkin what's gonna go wrong??? just wonderin is it an irish thing because i know others who do the same! its like people just can't see the glass as being half full if you get me???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

For the most part, any Irish person who makes it big (as in mega super celebrity) they are looked upon as tools in Ireland (bono, Colin Farrell, Sinéad O'Connor) we begrudge those who make it big, but then again I have a feeling a lot of celebrities in general are all tools. :)

robby^5 wrote: »
    For the most part, any Irish person who makes it big (as in mega super celebrity) they are looked upon as tools in Ireland (bono, Colin Farrell, Sinéad O'Connor) we begrudge those who make it big, but then again I have a feeling a lot of celebrities in general are all tools. :)

but they are all tools (I like Colin farrell now, but back in the day when he was looking for publicity he was a tool)
    ....everyone likes Sean Quinn. Now he is big.

but they are all tools.....everyone likes Sean Quinn, Now he is big.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

La Revolución!

colin farrell did it right a chance at britney at her hotest he does what we think lucker fu**r!!

oscar wild ftw

either way who cares happy to be Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Because we're a nation of begrudgers. Even when it's ourselves that are getting ahead.

BONO: Well, yeah, depending on the pub. It's a--you know, in Ireland--in Ireland, people are a little--they have an
    interesting attitude to success. They--they look down on it.
    WINFREY: Really?
    BONO: No, ho--honestly, I--I've--I've often told this, but it's like, you know, in America, you look up at the house on
    the hill, the mansion on the hill and say, 'One day I'm--that--that could be me.' In Ireland, they look up at the mansion
    hill and go, 'One day I'm gonna get that bastard.' You know?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Hellm0 wrote: »
    BONO: Well, yeah, depending on the pub. It's a--you know, in Ireland--in Ireland, people are a little--they have an
    interesting attitude to success. They--they look down on it.
    WINFREY: Really?
    BONO: No, ho--honestly, I--I've--I've often told this, but it's like, you know, in America, you look up at the house on
    the hill, the mansion on the hill and say, 'One day I'm--that--that could be me.' In Ireland, they look up at the mansion
    hill and go, 'One day I'm gonna get that bastard.' You know?
    I don't think I've ever met anyone who has said anything like that unless it was in a completely tongue and cheek sort of way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Goddamn it, i hate that ****ing bono quote, it gets pulled out every goddamn time this stupid topic pops up.

EVERY GODDAMN TIME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

creggy wrote: »
    Because Ireland is a nation of complainers simple as, the media isn't helping either. Everytime I listen to 98FM, it's always "In a recent survey, Ireland is lowest/worse in Europe"

Maybe you should change your radio station then?:) Today Fm is much more optimistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Bono's just píssed because a massive chunk of his own country hate him.

I've yet to see any examples of this so called attitude we Irish possess tbh, anyone want to provide some?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Poor old bono and his little legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

i don't begrudge other there success but i'm just thinkin that maybe we're afraid to pat ourselves on d back for anything we've achieved pesonally????

I recenlty got some good news concerning exam results, I got an award, but was delighed to even pass
    But when I mentioned this to my mother she said not to say it too much as it will loose its value ffs Id only told her
    Its the mentality
    But Id hate if we became like US - we are brilliant aren't we. Even though most of country has below standard education. (dont know facts but common knowledge that Irish and English education system better than US)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I don't know I think a good bit of begrudgery is healthy.

Look at happiness surveys or satisfaction ratings or friendliest nation rankings. Ireland always do quite well in these. It's because the Irish have realistic expectations we know not everyone can live on the big house in the hill especially if we're lazy and not super bright - which most of us are. The Americans still believe in the American dream, the English feel cheated cause the once ruled the world and now all they got are the Falklands, the French are in the **** and the Italians can't keep a government for 10 weeks.

When it comes down to it the Irish are well grounded, relatively hard working, happy enough where we are and still having the bit of craic.

As for lookin around the corner for bad things to happen I don't know. It depends if you've being just getting good things through luck or work. If it's luck then your luck will probably change if it's work then maybe not. It's probably more of a pinch yourself type of thing as we have low enough expectations going in than expecting 'bad' things to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭The Denouncer

I honestly thing the weather has a lot to do with it. Its dreary and wet a lot of the time. People cheer themselves up by drinking a lot of the time. This acts as a depressant and kills brain cells. This makes people unable to have joined up thinking. This affects everything in Irish society, even those that don't drink.

Also I think there is a great deal of negative media in this country, there are always surveys and studies on which which we appear far down, such as worst for drinking, worst Broadband etc.. Lets face it the country is cut off from the rest of Europe and is bathed in a form of self-loathing and depression that probably comes with being an ex-colony..along with the lousy weather it makes the Irish self-concious and full of begrugery. Even after 10 years of savage wealth (compared to a huge % of the world population) nobody seems happy, comparing ourselves unfavourably with Scandinavia, the UK, Germany etc. I suppose the Irish strive to better themselves and use a form of self depreciation to achieve this goal, but in a roundabout way it disheartens the whole society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Some glorious day, I'm going to get Bono.

The big wanker that he is.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I blame the Daily Mail. The parents have been getting it at home every day for ages, and every single story is made up of a) sensationalism, b) writer's opinion rather than reported facts, c) statistics that suggest the Apocalypse is nigh or d) that nothing good has ever happened in this country just because we had one awful year on the sports front. I only open it to get the sudoku page and I still have to see all the depressing stuff :(

Luckily enough my personal philosophy dictates that good will always follow bad. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

DesF wrote: »
    Some glorious day, I'm going to get Bono.

The midget-sized wanker that he is.

Fixed
    An Fhile wrote: »
    I blame the Daily Mail. The parents have been getting it at home every day for ages, and every single story is made up of a) sensationalism, b) writer's opinion rather than reported facts, c) statistics that suggest the Apocalypse is nigh or d) that nothing good has ever happened in this country just because we had one awful year on the sports front. I only open it to get the sudoku page and I still have to see all the depressing stuff :(

Luckily enough my personal philosophy dictates that good will always follow bad. :)

When I eventually launch my coup the first thing I'll to is have a good old newspaper burning/witch hunt involving all copies of the Daily Mail, all material every produced by it's writers, the writers themselves, the editor, the owner and any person ever affiliated with that rag.

The second thing I will do is have my concubines ..... I've said to much