Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McClave '08

• 26-03-2008 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭

Hopefully by now people will have seen the posters and are wondering why I'm running. Well have a gawk at my manifesto (stick it up yer vesto) and see:

1) Employment Rights. Students in part time jobs are getting ripped off left right and centre. Employers are falsely classifying them as casual workers, denying them holiday pay, extra pay on bank holidays, Sunday pay. I've been speaking to a labour law expert and I want to run an Employment Rights Awareness Campaign, including but not limited to the production of a booklet similar to the Shag and Gaff Books to make people aware of their rights. If necessary the SU will make representations to employers to secure their rights if asked.

2) Student Supports. While everyone is rightly up in arms about the cloud of uncertainty surrounding the position of Student Activities (more about that in a moment), other positions have been cut recently with little or no noise made at all. Not so long ago this university had a Mature Students Officer, that contract wasn’t renewed either. We need someone to fight against these constant cut backs. It’s unacceptable in these days to be constantly harping on about student retention and not provide the necessary supports for some of the most vulnerable students and for societies which provide the reason why many of our students decided to stay in DCU. The university has to know that we are willing to not only boycott open day but actively have picket lines set up on these days if they remove our Student Activities Officer.

3) Recycling on Campus. Quite frankly this campus is not nearly green enough. It’s a simple job, more paper recycling facilities around the campus in strategic areas, places like the library and in more class rooms; battery recycling in loans; better recycling facilities in Res. So many small things we can do to make a huge difference.

4) Finally, and perhaps inevitably, the Bar. The SU should take over the tender of the Old Bar and hire a manager to run it for the students. We all loved it and miss it. It’s time to bring it back.

So what are my qualifications to run for this position? In my three years in DCU I’ve been the chair of a society, class rep, and faculty convenor. I’ve brought drive and enthusiasm to all these jobs. I’m easy to work with but know how to fight my corner when needed. I’ve worked on several committees this year as the only student rep surrounded by staff and have spoken at Academic Council this year as part of the drive to introduce Anonymous Marking so telling staff when they are out of line is nothing new to me.

So please get out next week and vote yes for Niall McClave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

1) Employment Rights. Students in part time jobs are getting ripped off left right and centre. Employers are falsely classifying them as casual workers, denying them holiday pay, extra pay on bank holidays, Sunday pay. I've been speaking to a labour law expert and I want to run an Employment Rights Awareness Campaign, including but not limited to the production of a booklet similar to the Shag and Gaff Books to make people aware of their rights. If necessary the SU will make representations to employers to secure their rights if asked.
    How do you propose to do this?

What makes you think that representations from DCU SU are going to have any effect on employers who are potentially flouting students rights? What's to stop them firing said student and employing someone else?

How do you plan to support the student in this case? Why not encourage students to just contact the employment or equality authorities who have more power and experience in such areas?
    2) Student Supports. While everyone is rightly up in arms about the cloud of uncertainty surrounding the position of Student Activities (more about that in a moment), other positions have been cut recently with little or no noise made at all. Not so long ago this university had a Mature Students Officer, that contract wasn’t renewed either. We need someone to fight against these constant cut backs. It’s unacceptable in these days to be constantly harping on about student retention and not provide the necessary supports for some of the most vulnerable students and for societies which provide the reason why many of our students decided to stay in DCU. The university has to know that we are willing to not only boycott open day but actively have picket lines set up on these days if they remove our Student Activities Officer.
    While I accept that Student Activities officers are important etc. have boycotts proved successful in DCU before? Have pickets proved successful? I don't like the idea that you're threatening these things before you even get elected. It leaves a sour taste in the mouth to think you're threatening things prior to any form of dialogue on the issues.
    3) Recycling on Campus. Quite frankly this campus is not nearly green enough. It’s a simple job, more paper recycling facilities around the campus in strategic areas, places like the library and in more class rooms; battery recycling in loans; better recycling facilities in Res. So many small things we can do to make a huge difference.
    If this works out then that's great.
    4) Finally, and perhaps inevitably, the Bar. The SU should take over the tender of the Old Bar and hire a manager to run it for the students. We all loved it and miss it. It’s time to bring it back.
    Ok, every year the bar in mentioned and every year I'm astonished by how little people seem to get about the workings of a commercial entity. Why, in a university so often described as "not student friendly" would they give a jot about giving the running of the bar back to the students? Do you think that their actions in the past have shown a willingness to make the place better for students? Do you think they'd give up what is inevitably a profit making venture for them?

I would suggest trying to get them to remove the €12 or whatever it is that students are expected to pay in order to join the bar. It's ridiculous that I have to pay money to use such a facility on campus. I'd even rather pay €1 every time I wanted to go to the bar. I don't use the bar enough to warrant paying 12quid to do, I'm also inclined not to go to the bar at all as a result.

Best of luck with your campaigning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Well while the SU may not have any effect on the employers that doesn't mean they can't arm the students with enough knowledge to take them on themselves. In that way, the awareness campaign would be extremely beneficial.

On the topic of boycotts it is nice to know that he is at least willing to examine that avenue should all else fail. The loss of Lisa Muldowney would be nothing short of a crushing blow to societies in DCU and in my opinion anything and everything should be done to avoid the abolishment of her position.

The bar is always a dodgy issue however it has to be said that something needs to be done. I think everyone can agree that the NuBar is nothing compared to the Old Bar and I think it's also obvious that nothing is going to change under the current management. In light of that it's good to see that again, you're willing to do what is necessary in order to rectify the situation.

So when can we expect the rest of your manifesto Niall? :)

gizmo wrote: »
    So when can we expect the rest of your manifesto Niall? :)[/QUOTEI]
    I was trying to be nice and not ask that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

i think there's more in-house problems for you to worry about.

surely "Employment Rights" doesnt fall within your scope as SU Pres if you get elected. Theres an abundance of state produced literature on the topic that you could distribute instead.

have to say, that manifesto so far doesnt inspire me at all... how many are running for SU pres?

Just himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

However I hear he needs 10% of the student population to vote for him anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lil_cain

Cliste wrote: »
    However I hear he needs 10% of the student population to vote for him anyway!!
    Aye. If quorom isn't reached, then no one is elected to that post, and the election will be re-run next year, with someone being elected to fill the post part-time (at least as I understand the constitution)

surely "Employment Rights" doesnt fall within your scope as SU Pres if you get elected. Theres an abundance of state produced literature on the topic that you could distribute instead.
    True, but the same could be said for most things that have been done so far. Also, while the information is out there it is not easy to find in the slightest. Having even a guide to finding it or pointing out the most useful and reliable sources for info would be useful enough and wouldn't take much time away from tackling those other issues around the campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

National Employment Rights Authority - www.employmentrights.ie

They have a large advertising campaign going on at the moment, its is all over the radio etc.. The information about laws, regulations and all other aspects of employment that students should learn about is easily obtainable online so being ignorant about your rights as an employee is not on.

I can understand the SU wanting to help students inform themselves as to their rights, but if they have not all ready when a small google or call is all that is needed, I fail to see why they all of a sudden would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Winters wrote: »
    National Employment Rights Authority - www.employmentrights.ie

They have a large advertising campaign going on at the moment, its is all over the radio etc.. The information about laws, regulations and all other aspects of employment that students should learn about is easily obtainable online so being ignorant about your rights as an employee is not on.

I can understand the SU wanting to help students inform themselves as to their rights, but if they have not all ready when a small google or call is all that is needed, I fail to see why they all of a sudden would.

exactly, the NERA ad on the telly just there reminded me to have a gander at this thread. pretty weak policy for a 4-point manifesto imo.

pardon my ignorance, but what has any Student Activities Officer actually achieved??

here here, but it'll be too little too late for us final years. :(

All of this should be a seperate topic to be honest. While I appreciate the role is important the discussion of this individual is taking from the original topic.

I'm a little dismayed to discover that the OP hasn't logged on to boards since posting his meagre manifesto and seems unwilling to take five minutes out to answer questions put to him by potential voters.

Done.

All further conversation relating to the discontinuation of the role of Student Activities Officer should be carried out here...

LINK

Good work gizmo, as it is an important issue it does deserve it's own thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

have to say, that manifesto so far doesnt inspire me at all... how many are running for SU pres?

To be honest, there could be 1001 "talk to someone" depression campaigns or "I am what I am" sexuality ones, but employment rights is something thats gone to **** these days in Ireland, and needs to be addressed. It's new to DCU, and I for one would like a SU behind me if I needed help with my employer.

Same for recycling. I only hope those election posters I saw up in the hub will be be leading the way, straight into the green bin :D I'd hate for a FF man to be all talk :D:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

I can't see McClave getting less than 10%, it's inevitable that he'll be voted in really and I think he'll do a good job too.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

From my experience though there is usually more of a manifesto as has been pointed out. I guess when no one is running against you...

Seems unfair though. Like other people who've deserved it in previous years and had to run against others...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

Jesjes wrote: »
    From my experience though there is usually more of a manifesto as has been pointed out. I guess when no one is running against you...

Seems unfair though. Like other people who've deserved it in previous years and had to run against others...
    Yeah but that's just the way the cookie crumbles. Some people have had to run against others and be the stronger candidate but just lose because someone else can shout the loudest or gives nicer lollypops.

From speaking to Niall and some of the other candidates, and being on the electoral committee, I think that all involved would prefer a bit of competition, keeps people motivated and add's a little something extra to the equation. The electoral committee have spoken to all of the candidates to ensure that they're all aware of the fact that they still need to campaign as they still need to reach quorum. Sure when I ran unopposed for Science convenor it was the highest number of science students to vote - just cos I was unopposed didn't mean I gave anything less than my best.

SU Sabatical positions aren't for everyone. I for one would love to have run for a position but some personal circumstances made it impossible for me to run. I think it's a shame that there isn't more people up for it but we can't have it all. I think we were just spoiled with all great pres candidates and campaigns in the past few years! (Paul vs Russell; Sarah vs Claire; Charlene vs Alan; Alan vs Simon - they've all been great competitions!)

Oh and we've a small matter of a constitutional referendum to consider and vote on at the polls on Wednesday and Thursday. Vote yes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭opinionated

Gonna use this as a bit of an opportunity to air my voice...

First off, one of the things that I would like to see in his Manifesto is for him to plan on fixing the DCU health service - tis crazy - 1 week waiting period for an appointment!

Secondly, I think it's a bit of a let down that Niall has not used this as an opportunity to answer some of the questions raised in this topic...that he created...

He probably feels that he doesn't need to, as has been pointed out it's unlikely that he won't be elected.

I hope people are aware that they can spoil their votes, it's not as if they can't vote in the other areas and spoil the presidential ballot paper if they feel the candidate isn't up to scratch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lil_cain

Do you really think someone working part-time in the position would be better than McClave?

EDIT:Also, it's worth noting that while he hasn't replied to questions, he is the only candidate to have given *any* kind of manifesto so far. Poor as his communication with us has been, it's head and shoulders above any of the other candidates.

amz wrote:
    He probably feels that he doesn't need to, as has been pointed out it's unlikely that he won't be elected.

I hope people are aware that they can spoil their votes, it's not as if they can't vote in the other areas and spoil the presidential ballot paper if they feel the candidate isn't up to scratch.

I didn't mean for a second that he isn't up to scratch, in fact from my limited experience with him, I actually think that he would be a very good president. The only thing that I feel let down by is his lack of communication and the lack of communication from the rest of the candidates...Thought they were canvassing today but it turns out that it was just a recruitment company...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

First of all, my appologies to those who feel I haven't answered their questions yet, I never intended to leave this thread and no post again, I've just been incredibly busy over the last few days and this is the first chance I've gotten to sit down and give an in-depth answer to a few of your questions.
    Also in terms of canvassing I actually was out today for a long time, it's just hard to make a noticeable impact when the only candidate on campus canvassing.

In reply to some of the comments raised about the Employers Rights Campaign, I will say that while this is a new idea for the SU to get involved in, it's not exactly without precedent, we already do this when it comes to landlords who infringe on a student's rights, there's no reason why we can't extend this to employers also. In terms of saying that the information is already provided by the government, well there's a few answers to that. First of all there's a huge difference between being told you have rights in an abstract fashion, that you should go to this website to find out and actually having someone say "you have rights x, y and Z, here they are, I'll talk you through them and help you get them"
    Secondly as I think Gizmo has pointed out, a whole lot of the campaigns the SU run already exist in the wider community, so why do we run these campaigns then? Well as it turns out, the SU tends to run these campaigns a whole lot better on a local level, and they tend to be tailored specifically for students so for your average student they end up working a lot better. Time after time campaign after campaign it has been shown that students feel a whole lot more comfortable coming to talk to someone their own age in the SU than going to a faceless government agency. Also it tends to be seen as a first step people can take without involving an agency which is often taken to be a semi-legal course of action.

With regards to do protests actually work, well something has to be done, the current SU are planning a protest at the minute but what will be a hell of a lot more effective is a protest or even a threatened protest at Open Day. The university bases so much of their recruitment policy towards Open Day that they wont want any negative activity on that day, they'll be a whole lot more open to listening those days.

And finally the bar. Yes every year it is mentioned, however this year the situation is slightly different. Last year the tender ran out in the Old Bar and was not renewed, Trispace, the university company agreed to take over the running of both bars (it previously only ran the Nubar) for this year until Hub Management (on which the SU Pres has a seat) sent out a request for people to bid for tenders. That's due to happen this summer. Trispace don't want the Old Bar and now I think it's time we took it over as a student run venture. If the opportunity is missed this time, god knows how many years it will be until this chance comes up again.

Finally on the subject of this being a short manifesto, well yes actually it is. It's not because I don't have any more ideas, it's not because I don't have any vision, it's because without any other candidates this becomes less of an election than a simple get out the vote exercise. Believe me I'm not happy either, I'm a politics student (politics nerd), I was geared up for a fine race. As it is though I have to go around telling people "vote for me, you don't have any one else you can vote for but still vote". It makes me sound like Stalin or someone. So to attract the people who normally wouldn't vote I'm running a short snappy manifesto. Also I don't have to go around promising people the world, so much of what is normally in a longer manifesto is filler about "better communication" or "better class reps". I don't have to do all that this year. And yes, I will be campaigning for a better health system, the waiting lists are a disgrace, the removal of physiotherapy services, the fact that we have only two full time counsellors. All these are things I know and will fight for, but I'm not going to promise to change all these things because I don't have the power to. I will lobby and fight for them, but I'm not promising anything. And that's probably the most honest thing a presidential candidate has said in years.

Also, if you post here and don't think I've gotten back to you fast enough, although I'll try to check in during the week, do feel free to e-mail me: niallmcclave [at] gmail.com with any question you might have as that'll prolly get me quicker.

Ok.

You said Hi to our class twice today... in a row.

Thats dedication for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

what rooms were ye in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Finally on the subject of this being a short manifesto, well yes actually it is. It's not because I don't have any more ideas, it's not because I don't have any vision, it's because without any other candidates this becomes less of an election than a simple get out the vote exercise. Believe me I'm not happy either, I'm a politics student (politics nerd), I was geared up for a fine race. As it is though I have to go around telling people "vote for me, you don't have any one else you can vote for but still vote". It makes me sound like Stalin or someone. So to attract the people who normally wouldn't vote I'm running a short snappy manifesto. Also I don't have to go around promising people the world, so much of what is normally in a longer manifesto is filler about "better communication" or "better class reps". I don't have to do all that this year. And yes, I will be campaigning for a better health system, the waiting lists are a disgrace, the removal of physiotherapy services, the fact that we have only two full time counsellors. All these are things I know and will fight for, but I'm not going to promise to change all these things because I don't have the power to. I will lobby and fight for them, but I'm not promising anything. And that's probably the most honest thing a presidential candidate has said in years.

I am quite impressed by that paragraph, least you admit to the limitations of the job and what you can do

Finally on the subject of this being a short manifesto, well yes actually it is. It's not because I don't have any more ideas, it's not because I don't have any vision, it's because without any other candidates this becomes less of an election than a simple get out the vote exercise.
    Hrm, can't say I agree with that at all. From a general point of view, just because there is only one person running for a position doesn't mean that they should automatically get elected. They should have to work for their votes just like any other candidate and the manifesto is a key part in that.
    Also I don't have to go around promising people the world, so much of what is nowwrmally in a longer manifesto is filler about "better communication" or "better class reps". I don't have to do all that this year.
    I wouldn't consider either of those filler to be quite honest. In the formers case, "communication" covers so much that there is always room for improvement. For instance most students still don't know what the President actually does, what goes on at the meetings they attend or what's really going on behind the scenes with regards some of the vital services within DCU. All of that should be easily accessible for students in my opinion.

As for the "better class reps" well this is a pretty sticky issue however I firmly believe that bad/lazy class reps should be asked to resign from the position. Reps should also be obliged to attend a certain percentage of Union Council meetings during the year and again, this should be monitored to ensure that they are representing their respective classes adequately.
    All these are things I know and will fight for, but I'm not going to promise to change all these things because I don't have the power to. I will lobby and fight for them, but I'm not promising anything. And that's probably the most honest thing a presidential candidate has said in years.
    Actually most decent candidates say that every year. ;)

what rooms were ye in?

QG13 (I think) end of one lecture- you walk in and out, then back in again before the next lecture

I hope people voted no for certain individual candidates who didn't have the motivation to even feign an interest in my vote...

All uncontested elected with an overwhelming majority

Becky Meehan won humanities position on first count

And thats official!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

rugbug86 wrote: »
    All uncontested elected with an overwhelming majority

Becky Meehan won humanities position on first count

And thats official!

\o/ although I would have rathered competition, at least the positions where filled, it would be horrible to have a part time SU (excluding conveners of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

Yeah some competition would have been nice alright.The whole even just seemed to fly by this yeah and there didn't deem to be as much hype.Well best of luck to all candidates and i hope they get everything they plan to do done.