Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girlfriend's 30th

• 25-03-2008 12:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭

It's my girlfriends 30th birthday in July.

We've just moved into our new house, and are fairly skint, but I want to plan something special for her birthday. She's not into the idea of a surprise party.

She likes animals, but I can't afford to bring her to Africa I don't think, and Dublin zoo might be a bit too expensive aswell :)

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe a nice picnic outside if the weather permits?
    Wine, ham, cheese, fruits etcetera.

Check the Gifts forum for more ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Most importantly ...it's not her 30th birthday, it's her 29th (and will be be for the next two or three)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

zag wrote: »

She likes animals, but I can't afford to bring her to Africa I don't think, and Dublin zoo might be a bit too expensive aswell :)

Any ideas?

A petshop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

You are clearly putting thought into it. Make a nice card yourself, & Make a voucher to be spent when you do have some money.

cheerio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Assuming you don't have any pets, you could borrow a dog from a friend and take it for a walk. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Cook her a lovely dinner and make an effort to set the table nicely, wear some nice clothes.
    Make her a cd of music that she loves (even if you think its awful).
    Put together a photo album of your holidays, nights out, etc together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

She likes animals,

A girl I know got some sort of rabbit for her 30th, and apparently she loves it. Never see her any more at all tbh :(, she's always at home with it. Don't think it was expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

A girl I know got some sort of rabbit for her 30th, and apparently she loves it. Never see her any more at all tbh :(, she's always at home with it. Don't think it was expensive.

There certainly are some very special breeds out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

ha ha ha ha lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

It's my girlfriends 30th birthday in July.

We've just moved into our new house, and are fairly skint, but I want to plan something special for her birthday. She's not into the idea of a surprise party.

Any ideas?

Why dont you buy her a pair of love birds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

I almost didn't get it, then when I did... lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Bring her up to Belfast - aquarium or
    Kerry to see Fungi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

biko wrote: »
    Maybe a nice picnic outside if the weather permits?
    kizzyr wrote: »
    Cook her a lovely dinner and make an effort to set the table nicely, wear some nice clothes.
    Think you might have misread the OP: she's 30 not 60. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Might be too expensive if you're on a budget, but for what it's worth...

A long drive to Longleat or one of the safari parks in the UK...? Don't tell her where she's going just let her work it out for herself.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

A long drive to Longleat or one of the safari parks in the UK...? Don't tell her where she's going just let her work it out for herself.

That'll be some drive from Tipp to Longleat..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Nah, women don't like surprises like that.

Take her to the UK as a surprise and she'll be complaining that she didn't get to bring her hair-straightener...bring her to a safari park and she'll be whingeing that she didn't bring her 'walking shoes' (?), or that the wind is blowing her hair too much.

And a drive from Tipp to Longleat with a woman would be madness, with their tiny bladders she'll have you stopping every 10 minutes. Thats if you didn't drive off a cliff after listening to her Damien Rice CD for the tenth time..

Just give her a few quid and tell her to 'buy herself something nice'. Women love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jaysus... why not shoot her now then? Plead insanity and you'll be out before you're 50

Did say it might be outside budget (don;t know what budget is) take the boat from Fishguard and it doesn;t have to be Longleat - maybe there's somewhere like Longleat in South ales?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Get her a boyfriend who knows her well enough that he doesn't have to ask random people on the internet how she'd like to spend her birthday.

I'm sorry, I'm just bitter and alone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Engagement rings are from 50 quid in Argos I'm told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Dudess wrote: »

If they're broke and he wants to do something nice that doesn't cost the earth what is wrong with cooking her a great dinner, set the table as though they were out in a restaurant, both of them get dressed up really nicely as though they were going out for dinner. The music playing in the background is a cd he put together of songs that remind him of various good points in their relationship. If he wanted / could afford a small present at the end would be a nice touch.
    All of that would take time and effort on his part but not cost the earth. He could invite some friends over for dinner too if he wanted. :) If you're broke and want to do something nice options are rather limited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

.... and Dublin zoo might be a bit too expensive aswell :)

:eek::confused::eek:

Im sorry, but, like....

:eek::confused::eek::confused::eek::confused::eek:

Ive no idea what the admission is these days but.....ffs.....come on like!!! Thank god she is only the girlfriend. Most women would turn their noses up at a wedding reception serving Dutch Gold and microwave chip/ burgers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

She's 30? You could give her a casket. Whatever you do, don't put 30 candles on her cake, or she just might terminate you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

She's 30? You could give her a casket. Whatever you do, don't put 30 candles on her cake, or she just might terminate you!

Well, if he does put all the candles on, atleast she's got the casket ready for him to go into! :D Lovely idea :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

And if he does put 30 candles on the cake and she tries to blow them out, make sure the fire alarm detector is turned off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Engagement rings are from 50 quid in Argos I'm told.
    Yep, Elizabeth Duke. Don't let anyone tell you it's not high quality - "Elizabeth Duke", could you get a classier name?
    Look at these specimens from Elizabeth Duke:
    peridots.jpg

Throw in some Victoria Jackson make-up and you'll have her snared for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Get her a pair of crotchless panties, you need the following,
    1. Pair of panties
    2. Scissors.

Or else how about some sock puppets. you need the following,
    1.Pair of socks.
    2.Plastic eyes

Man I watch too much tv.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

allybhoy wrote: »
    Get her a pair of crotchless panties, you need the following,
    1. Pair of panties
    2. Scissors.

Or else how about some sock puppets. you need the following,
    1.Pair of socks.
    2.Plastic eyes

Man I watch too much tv.......

Its all gone Bosco now?? like whats behind the magic door!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

gcgirl wrote: »
    Its all gone Bosco now?? like whats behind the magic door!!

Its the zoo, it was always the fecking zoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

30 You say....Make her feel young and start a pension for her:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

Jaysus... why not shoot her now then? Plead insanity and you'll be out before you're 50

Did say it might be outside budget (don;t know what budget is) take the boat from Fishguard and it doesn;t have to be Longleat - maybe there's somewhere like Longleat in South ales?

I used to live near Longleat and it is a fair way from Wales! Best bet is to find a place here. On Google I found these: http://www.discoverireland.com/gb/ireland-things-to-see-and-do/listings/?fid=FI_2226 http://www.fotawildlife.ie/ So maybe that is an option? Alternatively make a book of love cheques! (see here http://www.moo.com/readymade/valentines/minicards/ ) Might be a good present for both of you! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Dudess wrote: »
    Same difference these days tbh, what with all the pollution in the air and the stresses of daily life taking their toll on a person.
    OP:

Anal sex whilst watching National Geographic. It's special, and she gets to see the animals if done in the right position. Even better if you can sort out a leopard skin rug to do it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

The zoo would only be about €27 for the pair of you, if you can't manage to fork out that much for her 30th birthday then I doubt you can do any of the other suggestions on the thread, or anything halfway decent at all for that matter.

Stay home and tell her to go out with her mates, who between them will probably be able to cough up the price of a meal and a couple of drinks so she can have a halfway decent birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Get her a Rampant Rabbit. Apparently all the girls like it. Its available in Ann Suimmers (I hear). [NSFW] www.annsummers.com [/NSFW]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Homer

humanji wrote: »
    Get her a boyfriend who knows her well enough that he doesn't have to ask random people on the internet how she'd like to spend her birthday.

I'm sorry, I'm just bitter and alone :(

+1 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

kmick wrote: »
    Get her a Rampant Rabbit. Apparently all the girls like it. Its available in Ann Suimmers (I hear). [NSFW]www.annsummers.com [/NSFW]
    You realise that children or people in work could click that link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Its a high street store dude? The cats out of the bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭zag

Leeby wrote: »
    The zoo would only be about €27 for the pair of you, if you can't manage to fork out that much for her 30th birthday then I doubt you can do any of the other suggestions on the thread, or anything halfway decent at all for that matter.

ffs, it was a joke! When I say on a budget, I mean not go to feckin Africa on Safari! A weekend break somewhere wouldn't be out of the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Hornswoggle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

it's only €14.50 for an adult ticke to the zoo, so that's the pair of ye in for under 30 quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

The problem is everyone she knows is going to ask her what you did for her birthday so it needs to sound great.

Spend all your money on flowers delivered to her office so everyone sees them and then make something up between the two of you.

Jetted off to Rome for the night. Dinner in the shadow of the coliseum, suite in a 5 star hotel then home on an early flight.

Seriously if you bring her to the zoo she's just going to lie anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Thaedydal wrote: »
    it's only €14.50 for an adult ticke to the zoo, so that's the pair of ye in for under 30 quid.

It must have been 14 punt back in the old days the amount people moaned about the price. I havent been there in 12 odd years but I remember anyone and everyones parents moaning about how expensive it was. Only the other week my mate was telling about how his dad tried to get in free by claiming to have forgot his disabled pass or something.:confused:

But seriously, 28 euro and whatever your travelling costs is too expensive for her birthday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

You have to do something really nice and it will cost you. I spent 1300 bringing my girlfriend to London for 2 nights, top hotel and top restaurant, did the tour bus the next morning etc. Had flowers and champagne waiting in the room when we arrived.

It has to be memorable...! So forget about the likes of a picnic, the zoo or another kind of crap! Its a once off event so just don't skimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

kizzyr wrote: »
    Make her a cd of music that she loves (even if you think its awful).
    God I just couldnt do that in the interest of all that is right!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

You could bring her down to Cork for a weekend and go to Fota.

I was there at the weekend and it is wonderfuil:)