Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which ports and cables should I use for my Sky Box / DVD / Wii

Options
  • 25-03-2008 12:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

I'm hoping this is the right forum to post this in. As you'll see, I'm a newbie throwing around words that I don't fully understand!

I've got a JVC 28 Inch 100Hz Flatscreen TV ( not HD ). It's about 6 years old. It's got 4 Video Inputs, EXT-1 to EXT-4, as follows ( according to the manual ) :

Ext-1 : 21pin Scart ( Video Input, Audio L/R inputs and RGB Inputs are available. TV broadcast outputs - Video and Audio L/R are available ).

Ext-2 : 21pin Scart ( Video Input, S-Video (Y/C) Input, Audio L/R inputs and RGB Inputs are available. Video and Audio L/R are available . T-V Link Functions are available ).

Ext-3 : 21pin Scart ( Video Input, S-Video (Y/C) Input, Audio L/R inputs are available ).

Ext-4 : RCA Connectors x 3, S-Video connector x 1 ( Video Input, S-Video (Y/C) Input, Audio L/R inputs are available )

I've got 4 devices to attach, VCR, DVD, Sky Box and Wii.

At the moment I've done the following :

VCR goes to the Sky Box ( so I can record from the Sky Box, Sky Box goes to Ext-1 using a Scart Cable. DVD does to Ext-2 using a Scart Cable. Wii goes to either Ext-3 ( using the 3 RCA - Scart adapter that comes with the Wii ) or to Ext-4 ( using the standard Wii 3 RCA AV Connector ).

What I'd like to make sure is that I've set it up correctly, and have the best possible quality I can have, using the options available to me.