Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supporter behaviour

• 25-03-2008 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭

This I think deserves a thread on it's own as I fear it is starting to get out of hand.
    The Monaghan chairman was on the radio this morning seeking an enquiry into the headbutt Thomas Freeman received from a Dublin 'fan'. Personally I think criminal charges should be brought against this moron so if anyone who was at the match they should forward information to the relevant authorities. This is a worrying trend and after the abuse Donaghy received last week needs to be stamped out before the championship starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I agree the book should be thrown at that 'fan'. No place for it.

slightly o/t
    What happened to Donaghy? I was reading today he could be sanctioned after gesturing to the crowd but I missed what actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Sherifu wrote: »
    I agree the book should be thrown at that 'fan'. No place for it.

slightly o/t
    What happened to Donaghy? I was reading today he could be sanctioned after gesturing to the crowd but I missed what actually happened.

missiles in the form of coins etc

Funnily enough i was talkin to an english taxi driver just yesterday and he was saying how much he respected gaelic fans for NOT being like soccer fans in a violent manner

But this is starting to be a worrying trend alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Sherifu wrote: »
    slightly o/t

Stuck the middle finger up at the crowd. Nice pic of it in the papers.

On topic: Its something the Gardai/GAA would want to clamp down on very quickly. Between this and attacks on referees, its not a very long road to crowd segregation and fences being put up around stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I thought it was supposed to be an official that alleged head butted Freeman

* quick search *

Yep, a member of the Dub management team apparently.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2008/0325/monaghan.html?rss

As for the Donaghy incident. As a Mayo fan I'm shocked that this happened and embarrassed. I wasn't at the game (the first league game I miss all year cos I'm out of the country and they go and win it:rolleyes:). The county board have said they will investigate thoroughly and I hope they will get the little skanger that did this but I don't have much faith that they can.

Overall I think its up to the good fans and maors around the grounds all over the country to report this type of behaviour to stop this kind of carry on. I can only hope this is an isolated incident in Mayo football as our fans are regarded as good craic, knowledgeable and all round good supporters. I know the Kerry fans and players will understand that this is isolated and that in no way do we condone it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

Dublin's management team under Caffrey have form with regard to adopting bully boy tactics when things don't go their way, don't they ?

Caffrey's own cowardly shoulder into the back of the Mayo official (who couldn't even defend himself because he couldn't see it coming) in the AI semi final a few years ago comes to mind immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭niallo32

eigrod wrote: »
    Dublin's management team under Caffrey have form with regard to adopting bully boy tactics when things don't go their way, don't they ?

Caffrey's own cowardly shoulder into the back of the Mayo official (who couldn't even defend himself because he couldn't see it coming) in the AI semi final a few years ago comes to mind immediately.

If this allegation is proven then the book should be thrown at the person in question.

WRT the Mayo game two years ago, Caffrey was dead right to do what he did. The two nordie mercenaries were roaring abuse at the Dubs stats man after the Mayo dietician was hit by a ball in the chaos, Caffrey was standing up for one of his backroom team. He didn't go over and pick a fight with Morrison for no reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

eigrod wrote: »

I tend to agree with you. I don't believe any Dublin team under Caffrey can win an All-Ireland. He has too big an emphasis on the physical side of the game. I honestly don't think he has the vision or football intelligence to realise that Dublin do not need to go down the physical route to win an All-Ireland. I honestly believe they have the talent without having to resort to the stupidity they have resorted to over the past few years. Caffrey has this 'the world is against us mentality' and it's rubbing off on his team and management.

Dublin and the GAA in general would be better off without him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

niallo32 wrote: »
    WRT the Mayo game two years ago, Caffrey was dead right to do what he did. The two nordie mercenaries were roaring abuse at the Dubs stats man after the Mayo dietician was hit by a ball in the chaos, Caffrey was standing up for one of his backroom team. He didn't go over and pick a fight with Morrison for no reason...

If he had a problem with Morrisson, a cowardly shoulder into his back wasn't the way to deal with it. Why didn't he do it face-to-face ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Think you guys are getting of the point slightly.This thread (created by Patmac) is for Supporter Behaviour.

Don't see why Freeman should have been headbutted.I didn't see him gesturing to the crowd or anything.So I'd be of the hope that that "fan" gets caught and banned from games.No room for it in GAA.

Fans did have a right to boo Syl Doyle out of the venue though.Its constructive criticism without violence and I didn't see anything hurled at him.The Garda escort was more of a precaution and an obvious one at that.

As for Donaghy,that was heat of the moment stuff.I wouldn't hold it against him one bit.Coins etc being launched at players is a disgusting act of cowardice.I hope that those Mayo fans get reprimanded too.Think Donaghy had some class to apologise afterwards even if he was wrong to show the finger but one should take into account that it was heat of the moment.Anyway,he got a one match ban which is fair enough but the issue which is becoming prevalent is the safety of the players and officials.

Think you guys are getting of the point slightly.This thread (created by Patmac) is for Supporter Behaviour.

Don't see why Freeman should have been headbutted.I didn't see him gesturing to the crowd or anything.So I'd be of the hope that that "fan" gets caught and banned from games.No room for it in GAA.

Fans did have a right to boo Syl Doyle out of the venue though.Its constructive criticism without violence and I didn't see anything hurled at him.The Garda escort was more of a precaution and an obvious one at that.

As for Donaghy,that was heat of the moment stuff.I wouldn't hold it against him one bit.Coins etc being launched at players is a disgusting act of cowardice.I hope that those Mayo fans get reprimanded too.Think Donaghy had some class to apologise afterwards even if he was wrong to show the finger but one should take into account that it was heat of the moment.Anyway,he got a one match ban which is fair enough but the issue which is becoming prevalent is the safety of the players and officials.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Was at Clare V Tipperary match in 2003 when a bottle was thrown at me by a Tipp "fan". Saw Offaly "fans" invading a pitch in 1998. Was sickened by Clare supporters abusing DJ Carey in Thurles at a League final. Saw Daithi Regan being pulled apart from a Clare supporter in the premium section in 98 replay v Offaly. Have been abused by Waterford and Cork fans mostly the ones in the town end terrace in Thurles while walking into a match, most of it harmless but some atrocious stuff too.

All counties have these lunatics, it is not a new development. We have plenty of these bulmers heads in Clare too.

zenmonk wrote: »
    Was at Clare V Tipperary match in 2003 when a bottle was thrown at me by a Tipp "fan". Saw Offaly "fans" invading a pitch in 1998. Was sickened by Clare supporters abusing DJ Carey in Thurles at a League final. Saw Daithi Regan being pulled apart from a Clare supporter in the premium section in 98 replay v Offaly. Have been abused by Waterford and Cork fans mostly the ones in the town end terrace in Thurles while walking into a match, most of it harmless but some atrocious stuff too.

All counties have these lunatics, it is not a new development. We have plenty of these bulmers heads in Clare too.

What has Bulmers or cider have to do with how fans conduct themselves?Thats a wild,rash and rather silly assumption to be making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

It will be fine come the championship. What I think is happening is that league matches are not all ticket and as a result the county board dont think a big crowd will turn up and dont request enough police and stewards to be at the game. Particular in the Donaghy incident, there was a healthy attendance at the place but there was hardly any stewards in sight. Come the championship there will the proper procedures in place. The problem with making league games all ticket is that attendances will be even poorer but it will keep the not so nice people away from our games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

blackbelt wrote: »
    What has Bulmers or cider have to do with how fans conduct themselves?Thats a wild,rash and rather silly assumption to be making.

Do you work for Bulmers or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Doesn't matter, it's not for discussion. </endof>

Wild and frankly stupid stuff will result in a ban.

No I don't but thats not the point.Plenty of knackers drink vodka,wine and lager too.

Did you get fired from Bulmers?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

its something that should be clamped down on in league games though so that the mentality doesn't spill over into the championship too, if it was a member of the dublin management team that did headbutt freeman then that is an absolute disgrace and the person in question should be sacked from the position immediattely

blackbelt wrote: »

Well Blackbelt it's not a fan accused of headbutting Freeman, it's an official. The Dub management should set the tone.

On the Mayo thing in an hilarious aside it was apparently St. Patricks spare wooden spoon that hurled at some of the Kerry boys

Link

For those of you who have never attended a Mayo league game there is a guy/fan/slightly-foolish-older-gent who dresses as St. Paddy in Mayo colours and attempts to whip the crowd into a frenzy against Laois in early March. He generally gets dismissed like you would to an older eccentric uncle but sure he's harmless fun at the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

It doesn't matter what was thrown. It's not on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

Its about time the gaa got to grips with the whole indiscipline nature of the organisation. Its totally unacceptable that any player should be injured while playing for his county by a supporter or member of the oppositions management team.

The gaa needs to come down on this and act - give this selector a considerable ban and a fine to the county board. If the player had reacted back to the selector he wouldnt be long about getting suspended. But I wouldnt hold my breath on the ban as its Dublin and theyll get off after an appeal etc. etc. - This appeal process is the reason for the indiscipline in the first place - teams fail to accept their punishment and try everything to appeal it. The GAA being the organisation that it is is full of politics from national level right down to county board and club.

BTW - I wonder how long Mark Vaughan will get.And one things for sure, I cant see dublin winning an All ireland under Caffery . Theres plenty of good footballers in Dublin , but over the past two years he has failed to introduce them into the starting team.He is often outwitted on the line. Took him ages to realise Mark vaughan was worth his start and the same for Bernard Brogan.Dont know what he sees in Kevin Bonnar.

Cafferys reaction at the end of the game spoke volumes. All he had to say was that he was glad to get out with a draw after been behind and down a man for most of the game. Instead he lambasts the ref for the frees near the end.Typical Dubs, if something goes wrong , blame the ref. His backs need to learn how to tackle properly without pulling out of the oppositions jerseys. coach your backs properly !!

BTW - I wonder how long Mark Vaughan will get.And one things for sure, I cant see dublin winning an All ireland under Caffery . Theres plenty of good footballers in Dublin , but over the past two years he has failed to introduce them into the starting team.He is often outwitted on the line. Took him ages to realise Mark vaughan was worth his start and the same for Bernard Brogan.Dont know what he sees in Kevin Bonnar

Completely off topic and I'm saying this only once; I do not want a reply to this part of the post from anybody. Start a new thread but this one will not turn into a DUB < || > the rest.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

It amazes me but i am not surprised at how gaa fans and the media jump up and down when ever anything in relation to dublin occurs.

There was very liitle spoken about the mayo supporters throwing coins and such items at Kieran Donaghy. He gets a one match ban .

There was nothing spoken about the mayo fans racially abusing jasan sherlock in a league game 4 years ago. These are just two instances that come to mind

Certainly we all have our muppets that cant behave yes dublin have more then most but no county can say these idiots dont exsist,

If Monaghan are going to make a complaint about anything that went on last sunday they would want to get there facts right. One minute its a fan next its a steward now its a member of the team set up.

Who ever it was yes he should be disciplined and thats coming from a dub. We all have a duty that if someone is abusing a player etc that we tell that person to chill.

Mullet wrote: »
    It amazes me but i am not surprised at how gaa fans and the media jump up and down when ever anything in relation to dublin occurs.

There was very liitle spoken about the mayo supporters throwing coins and such items at Kieran Donaghy. He gets a one match ban .

There was nothing spoken about the mayo fans racially abusing jasan sherlock in a league game 4 years ago. These are just two instances that come to mind

Certainly we all have our muppets that cant behave yes dublin have more then most but no county can say these idiots dont exsist,

If Monaghan are going to make a complaint about anything that went on last sunday they would want to get there facts right. One minute its a fan next its a steward now its a member of the team set up.

Who ever it was yes he should be disciplined and thats coming from a dub. We all have a duty that if someone is abusing a player etc that we tell that person to chill.

1) I don't think that the Freeman incident has got an awful lot of coverage. A fairly average story coming out of a fairly average league weekend. A small bit more coverage because a) no other football was played at the weekend and b) it involved Dublin

2) It's not the GAA's fault that Dublin are continually talked about. In fact I'm sure Nicky Brennan, the GAA and the rest of the counties are sick of hearing about Dublin. It's because the majority of the media is based in Dublin and they sell mainly in Dublin so the write more stories on Dublin because it sells more papers.

3) Also it should be worth remembering from a 'cluiches' viewpoint that we have numerous local papers to keep us up with all our local GAA needs - there are at least 4 local papers in the Mayo region - whereas Dublin isn't as well served in that respect.

4) Dublin fans then think everyone is talking and writing about them because thats all the media they see. They don't realise the auld buck down the bog is happy enough reading his Kerryman or his Western People and never lays a hand on the Star or the Evening Herald

On one hand your complaining about the Freeman incident getting too much coverage and the Donaghy one not enough. The Donaghy one is being handled fairly well as far as I can see it. He's already received his ban and apologised and the Mayo County Board is up for their fine next week (I think). And both the County Board and the GAA are going over the footage to see if they can identify the culprit - nows that unlikely but ya never know. The fact that all of this has been done relatively quickly - in GAA terms - and without too much fuss should be complemented and not condemned.

Edit: Link to RTE on Mayo putting in temporary cameras and not indentifying the culprit from TG4 footage
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2008/0326/mayo.html?rss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

wasnt there some muppets in mayo who wanted to start a "firm" last year, yer man had a thing on bebo. what a noob. plastic english hooligan wannabes

kevmy wrote: »
    The fact that all of this has been done relatively quickly - in GAA terms - and without too much fuss should be complemented and not condemned

Sadly i wish this was the case the but monaghan county board have been on national radio and there is plenty of coverage in the national dailys over the last two days about how there team felt threatened by supporters and the hostile athmosphere.

I wish there would be a speedy investigation to this matter but i can see one dragging out

if you want to see a hostile athmosphere visit omagh i left our game with tyrone with 15 minutes to go because of the abuse been hurled at dublin supporters and i didnt feel safe.

I know were not saints either but i do believe this is a bigger issue then the gaa would like to admit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

culabula88 wrote: »
    Its about time the gaa got to grips with the whole indiscipline nature of the organisation. Its totally unacceptable that any player should be injured while playing for his county by a supporter or member of the oppositions management team.

Hear hear- however has it been proven yet- I'm from dublin, and judging by how many dives those monaghan lads made I'll need a bit more proof then some lad holding his head (4 incidents I noticed of monaghan feigning injury then hopping up without any medical attention after several seconds)
    But I wouldnt hold my breath on the ban as its Dublin and theyll get off after an appeal etc. etc. - This appeal process is the reason for the indiscipline in the first place - teams fail to accept their punishment and try everything to appeal it. The GAA being the organisation that it is is full of politics from national level right down to county board and club.

The last part is true, the appeals proccess is a sham. However why did we choose Dublin as a prime example of this? (We're not just paranoid, You guys do give off a aura of hatred to be fair)
    Took him ages to realise Mark vaughan was worth his start

Out of curiosity did you watch the game- the guys a good club player, accepting the strong wind he missed how many kickable free's (hint- it's more then monaghans lead at half time)
    Instead he lambasts the ref for the frees near the end.Typical Dubs, if something goes wrong , blame the ref. His backs need to learn how to tackle properly without pulling out of the oppositions jerseys. coach your backs properly !!

Evidentially you didn't watch the game- I was pretty sure the was "At least 3 min added time" guess when the equaliser was? 74th minute. The ref wanted a draw simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Bottom line lads.

These incidents have been following the current Dublin management team around for some time.

There seems to be a knacker element in there for some reason and needs to be rooted out.
    Play the game hard and fair and dispense with these "mind games" which only emphasise your lack of sportsmanship and courage.

Won't get Dublin anywhere imho and only serve to alienate people who would genuinely like to see the Dubs do well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Nail on the head. While I agree that whoever headbutted the Monaghan player should receive a hefty punishment it amazes me that anytime an incident happens involving Dublin the media and other county boards hop up and down as if nothing like this has ever happend before at a GAA match. Look at the incident in Mayo although that recieved some coverage in the media it would have been nothing compared to the coverage it would have got if the incident had of happend in Parnell Park instead of Mayo.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Sigh, I didn't want this to turn into an anti Dublin thread which is why I mentioned the Donaghy incident in the OP as well, I'm just concerned at 2 rather disgraceful events in 2 weeks and think now would be a good time to come down hard on it before the championship starts. Imo if a member of the Dublin management team is involved then he should get a lengthy ban and Caffrey didn't set a good example shaking Vaughan's hand when he was sent off. Pity it was Dublin involved but I would have brought up the subject no matter what team was involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Saw Offaly "fans" invading a pitch in 1998.
    Not quite the same issue, not a single player or official was hurt, abused or intimidated during that, it was a post match protest, which forced the Gaa into following the rules, I firmly believe no protest on the pitch, no replay. having said that, the atmosphere in Thurles was special, for both sets of fans, and players. Thurles pitch is much better than any other pitch in Ireland for Hurling, pity the new (1984) era stand lets it down (OT)
    Saw Daithi Regan being pulled apart from a Clare supporter in the premium section in 98 replay v Offaly.
    At the same match, myself and an off duty cop (from Kerry) had to seperate 2 clare "fans" from fighting) one guy attacking the pretty much defencless guy in front of him, both men where there with their wives and kids, 4 under 10's I guess. One man was so desperate to hit the guy in front, that he was striking his own daughter on the back stroke of his punches. Both guys were sober.
    Guardi were on scene to deal with it, before the crowd held a kangeroo court session and the main fighter was ejected, his wife and kids remained to see the match.

Fans v Fans is a bigger issue than is admitted, I've worked in Croker as a steward, and I've had to break up numerous fights over petty things. We all know from going to club, and even school matches, which troublemakers to avoid being near, as they'd cause a row on their own in a desert. For an inter county match, you'll have these all gathered together on their own turf, as I heard once, pile enough sh*te in one place it'll stink, effective, non biased stewarding is the solution for that. The Dub treatment of non Dub's on the Hill is laughed of as Dublin Pride and scally-wagness, but needs to be stopped also.
    The GAA has to deal with Fans causing trouble with other Fans, before it'll sort out the Fan throwing objects onto the pitch, as its usually the same assholes involved.

Bogger77 wrote: »
    The GAA has to deal with Fans causing trouble with other Fans, before it'll sort out the Fan throwing objects onto the pitch, as its usually the same assholes involved.

I couldnt agree more. I have often noticed match stewards seem to disappear shortly after the games start and if you need assistance well you often find yourself on your own.

I myself stand in section a and b of the hill were the more mature supporters are and have had many a good day shared with opposition supporters. I myself would never go near sectiom c as its were the muppets seem to congregate and sadly some supporters find themselves isolated.

There are plenty of cameras around hill 16 so culprits could be and should be named and shamed but i do not think the will is there by the gaa to admit there is a problem.

This is a countrywide problem as we have all heard of incidents occuring but i fear it will take one big incident to occur before the matter is addressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

Have to agree whole heartedly with the comments on the deterioration of supporter behaviour. Have attended Cork Kerry matches since I was a child in the 70's and 80's where the rivalry was as intense as anywhere. Fights often broke out on the field, but the banter between the supporters was great and good natured humour most of the time. I remember coming up to Cantys after one match down the park after Paudi retired and he was sitting there alone at the bar. Cork had just beaten Kerry and we had a great laugh with him and the Kerry lads that came in. But we had to take much more than we could ever afford to give unfortunately due to those Kerry teams. Enjoyed it also with Tipp in the Hurling. But in recent years, there have been many cases where this banter has turned into downright intimidation of opposing supporters (and this trend is growing). At some matches I have attended with my son, it has become too upsetting for him which is a disaster for the GAA. I could name the counties involved in those cases, but that is just finger pointing. It's a problem for every county and one the GAA has to deal with and stamp out. Starting with stewards (and Gardai if necessary) identifying such supporters and removing them from our games. We do not need a case whereby it takes somebody being seriously assaulted at a match and lots of negative publicity in the media before the GAA takes action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

Take a look

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ciaranmcphotography/2357941169/sizes/l/

could have been anyone..

How many can you count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

kaimera wrote: »
    Completely off topic and I'm saying this only once; I do not want a reply to this part of the post from anybody. Start a new thread but this one will not turn into a DUB < || > the rest.
    patmac wrote: »
    Sigh, I didn't want this to turn into an anti Dublin thread .
    Right guys, if there is even the merest hint of anymore of this Dublin v the rest from here on, this thread will be locked and bans handed out.

BarryCreed wrote: »
    wasnt there some muppets in mayo who wanted to start a "firm" last year, yer man had a thing on bebo. what a noob. plastic english hooligan wannabes

Didn't hear anything about that. If it is through it's only a couple of young lads talking through their hole. Most probably don't even go to games
    Sadly i wish this was the case the but monaghan county board have been on national radio and there is plenty of coverage in the national dailys over the last two days about how there team felt threatened by supporters and the hostile athmosphere.

I wish there would be a speedy investigation to this matter but i can see one dragging out

if you want to see a hostile athmosphere visit omagh i left our game with tyrone with 15 minutes to go because of the abuse been hurled at dublin supporters and i didnt feel safe.

I know were not saints either but i do believe this is a bigger issue then the gaa would like to admit

I was referring to the Donaghy/Mayo incident which I happy to say seems to be resolving itself in a quick manner. County board have been fined €5,000 and told to install temporary cameras at McHale until the permanent ones are put in (as previously planned) when the new stand goes up.

I agree the Dublin/Monaghan incident could drag out but I hope it doesn't. I always hope when the GAA bring in new disciplinary procedures that they will work quickly and efficiently as well as fairly. I hope this is the case with Dublin/Monaghan.

As for media obsession with Dublin/more media coverage than the Donaghy incident I've already said my piece on that.

Edit: I'll agree with you on the Tyrone thing. Was at the quarter finals in 04 Tyrone were playing Mayo and Armagh playing Fermanagh. The atmosphere between the Tyrone and Armagh fans was pretty stink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

BarryCreed wrote: »

I actually think that was a typo. He actually meant 'farm'.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Archebald

i think that the banter at most gaa games is sublime but when things get tight ,, the supporters also get very tense and aggravated,,i can understand that gaa supporters can get out of control but the people inside the wire think they are exempt,,in one experience aselector lost the plot with the lines men before even the throw in,, i think referee will have to be more cut troat wit these stupid people

Guy was named today no?

A statistician for the team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

yeah he went up to Monaghan with caffery and apologised to The banty and Tommy freeman personally. Looks like he'll get around 4 months. Hope this ends the coverage as its been a bit silly tbh. Ah well such is life

Here's the link to the indo article about it. Heard the argument was caused because they disagreed about how many points freeman had scored:D.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dubs-name-freeman-headbutt-culprit-1329359.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

jethro081 wrote: »
    yeah he went up to Monaghan with caffery and apologised to The banty and Tommy freeman personally. Looks like he'll get around 4 months. Hope this ends the coverage as its been a bit silly tbh. Ah well such is life

Here's the link to the indo article about it. Heard the argument was caused because they disagreed about how many points freeman had scored:D.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dubs-name-freeman-headbutt-culprit-1329359.html

They should have done that straight after the game, then none of this would have come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

kaimera wrote: »
    Guy was named today no?

A statistician for the team?

This is weird because I've heard from a couple of sources that it wasn't this guy, it was another member of backroom team. Anyway going to Monaghan to apologise personally is good gesture.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Well I doubt I'd take the hit for something like that- pic in papers etc if it wasn't me, Course the alternative is it happened twice :O

When the story broke i felt it was the stats guy as when they equalised freeman was gestured at him but freeman was gesturing and mouthing alot in the second half and i thought nothing of it until the story broke. I am glad the dublin county board acted in a swift manner and the person in question will be punished.

On different incident any body hear about the dublin supporter assaulted at the kildare dublin under 21 game last saturday as commented on the kildare supporters forum and the reservoir dubs forum. Some opinions say he was been pretty gobbish and got a facial injury for his troubles.

We seem to be hearing about more and more incidents of this nature.

On different incident any body hear about the dublin supporter assaulted at the kildare dublin under 21 game last saturday as commented on the kildare supporters forum and the reservoir dubs forum. Some opinions say he was been pretty gobbish and got a facial injury for is troubles.

We seem to be hearing about more and more incidents of this nature.

Ok your man was from the sounds being a bit gobby but it's funny how none of this has been reported in the papers.....Oh wait that's right it wasn't a Dublin supporter that did it so there's no need for it to be reported in the papers but if that had been the other way round and it had been a Kildare supporter than got decked at Parnell you can guarantee it would have been all over the papers.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ok your man was from the sounds being a bit gobby but it's funny how none of this has been reported in the papers.....Oh wait that's right it wasn't a Dublin supporter that did it so there's no need for it to be reported in the papers but if that had been the other way round and it had been a Kildare supporter than got decked at Parnell you can guarantee it would have been all over the papers.:rolleyes:

It might have been mentioned in the Kildare local press or radio.

Same as if it happened in Dublin, the local press or media would probably report. Unfortunately it's Dublin so it becomes a bigger story. You have to take the advantages of being a large population base as well as the disadvantages.

BBC or UTV often show pictures of violence in GAA games. Does that mean they are attacking the GAA? No. Are they biased against the GAA and ignore violence in other sports? No. Some people think they are though!

Just because some people think the media is biased, doesn't mean they are.

Reports of violence at GAA matches has always been reported. Referees locked in boots etc. etc. I cringe sometimes at the reports. More often than not it's not Dublin that is reported.

I often say other people have chips on their shoulder about Dublin. I'm sorry in this case, anybody who moans or defends Dublin has a chip on the shoulder. Take your punishment!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

..... but if that had been the other way round and it had been a Kildare supporter than got decked at Parnell you can guarantee it would have been all over the papers.:rolleyes:

:rolleyes: . Supporters having a go at each other is (unfortunately) commonplace these days, I've seen several incidents of it all over country and it very rarely gets reported, whether its Dublin or not. Generally, its only when players/officials get involved that you'll see it make news, as with Donaghy in Castlebar or this incident in Parnell.
    The reason dubs make news more than most (both positive and negative reports) is simply because it sells papers, 30% of population lives in Dublin and many of papers (e.g. Star, Herald in particular) rely on Dublin market for 70/80% of their sales.
    Its also these tabloids that build dubs up beyond all reason every summer and (like the English media that they imitate) they then shoot them down when they fail, if you read this muck and take in undue hype then you can't complain when they are unduly critical, its just sh!te stanard of journalism all round.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Headbutting is a disgrace and it must also be said that Donaghy deserved his ban. Who does he think he is going around headbutting people's coins like that?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Its also these tabloids that build dubs up beyond all reason every summer and (like the English media that they imitate) they then shoot them down when they fail

There is one big difference. Unlike England, Dublin actually have a genuine chance of winning something.

Flukey wrote: »
    There is one big difference. Unlike England, Dublin actually have a genuine chance of winning something.

Good man Flukey nail on the head.