Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm going to Crete - What do i need to know??

• 24-03-2008 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭

Hello Everyone
    I'm going to Crete (hersonisis) on a leaving cert holiday this summer with 5 other friends. We're all guys and i presume its going to be a complete drink fest.

Any general advice about the holiday????

I've been abroad endless times but this is going to be the first one with complete freedom:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Been so long since i was there so it has probably changed a lot. But it's the type of holiday that doesn't require that much planning. The center of Hersonissos is surrounded by hills so you simply head down and stumble back up them in the wee hours of the morning. A lot of people rent mopeds over there and head up to Malia and Stalis but their fulls of brits. There is a place called star beach at the end of Hersonissos. There's bungee jumping and a water park up there and is always packed. You can go on booze cruises to some of the smaller islands. Think one of the main ones is called dragon island.

When i was there the only warning was not to walk up the hills alone at night. The 2 weeks while i was there something like 18 fellas were raped. I thought it was just the reps bull****ting until i asked the cops and some locals. You could see the matresses in the bushes while walking up certain hills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭life_is_music

I'm staying in Piskipiano - 20 mins up the "raping" hill of hersonisis....
    When did you go?? We're going on the 27th of June.......Are we going a bit too early??

How much does water park etc...cost??

Also - WHICH BEER?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

ah it was 6 years ago when i was there. I went in August and the place was packed. I'd say places are busy once the leaving cert is over. So i'd say you're going at the beginning of the busy season.

Can't remember about the water park. They used drachma when i was there. the beer i was drinking over there was mythos or something to that effect. quite cheap and not bad. and raki and then they had this drink called go to bed in an hour that was poured from a petrol container. **** got you ****ed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Toon--soldier

when there last year for a week with 13 lads and i have to say one of the best moments of my life. mythos was the local beer which you could buy for like 50cents a can in an off licence and there was good irish pub called players where you could get 2 jagerbombs for 6 euro most places had a buy one get one free thing, anything you wanna know just ask

50 cents a can sounds good :)

women.......did ye score??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

if u dont score theyll give a hug at customs. but dont get too pissed otherwise u wont! bit of competition cos a lot of lads!

50 cents a can sounds good :)

women.......did ye score??

out of the 13 3 of us did but 13 lads on the piss each night was never gonna work out well, the locals are sometimes not that friendly one night coming home we were makin a load a noise around our apartments and outa nowhere this greek lad fired a tennis raquet at one of the lads a burst his lip rite open he ended up havin 2 get 5 sitches in it, 5 is a good number though and your expectations of complete drink fest are well placed:D

haha sounds great.......except for the male rape thingy.....My friends are all scared ****less now lol.

Is it safe to stager home drunk after a night out??

Whats there to do during the day??

How much money ye bring?

i spent about €90 a day but could spend less if ya wanted, my atm card worked there so that was kinda sweet i wouldnt bring all my money in cash, during the day you just try and recover from the night before(which you never do so you just start drinkin again) but sum of the lads went to sum water park place it wasnt star beach but it was suposed to be class there loads of shop sellin fake tommy hilfiger crap and stuff like that. As long as your not walkin alone you should be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Wasy

The water park is a deadly day out there in fairness, the only thing i found strange is that their would be hardly anyone out till 1 or 2 in the morning but in fairness some of the pubs stayed open until 9 in the morning, i though it was a great laugh of a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Don't think the raping happens as much as it used to!! i was there last year for 8 days before i went island hopping around greece.
    Every nite was a great laugh u will get pissed off your head but i thought it was safe enough to do so.
    Out of all my mates i was probably the worst for the booze i can handle my drink well but i drink a lot more compared to them. We generally got home at around 7r8 each morning clubs close late and usually ended up on the beach after.
    We went to star beach one night for a white party i.e everybody dressed in white it was unreal one of the best nights of my life.
    What probably will surprise you is the amount of Dutch people over there they have no sense of humour at all but don't cause much trouble unlike the brits.

On more Thing do not go to Malia.

we were planning on going there for a night in our Ireland rugby jerseys:D

Are we going too early?? Will the place be packed in late June/early July??

Anything ye wished ye brought with ye?

[QUOTE=Anything ye wished ye brought with ye?[/QUOTE]

my self respect and dignity:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

we were planning on going there for a night in our Ireland rugby jerseys

A joke i hope?

no not really we went island hopping for six weeks after and didnt really need anything that we hadn't brought if your only going for a week or two you should be grand.

Hersonissos always seems to be packed during the summer a lot of people go there to work don't ask me why beacuse the pay is awful but i don't think it matters when you go there will still be crowds there.