Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Forums should be..................

• 24-03-2008 12:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

useful and informative for inexperienced players who can use peoples experience's in live and online games to improve their games using the least money possible.

I have found out in the last two years that as you get more known through your results people hiding behind a forum alias come out like termites and start **** stirring. These are usually jealous wannabes who dont have no skill or passion for this great game. These threads usually esculate quickly with people saying things they wouldn't to peoples faces.

I commented on Dan's play as l found it. In my opinion he was lucky and not a great player and he must take advice on board or he won't progress. I have only played 3 good players in my 2 years of poker so this is not a big put down!

As for my move on the end, l believe this was good poker but l will run it past the person who l ask for advice and see what he thinks. The rivered spade kills the move, especially against a player who can't fold!

Sour Grapes are not in my poker locker Dan, the Irish Open is another tourney for me mate albeit a special one. Your comments are what l was repling to, trying to put my side to it. Every man is allowed to defend his actions!

This Forum is the same as the rest of them and this is my last post as l am closing the account and good luck to everyone on it. There are some up and coming players and decent people on here and l wish them all the best in the future.

Good Luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Who is Dan?

EDIT: Oh right. Rooney_Dives.

You're a very strange man Mick.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I think Dan is Requiemforadream.

Sounds like McCool has had one too many mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

You seem to have a bit of a persecution complex there mick. Are you originally from cork by any chance?

useful and informative for inexperienced players who can use peoples experience's in live and online games to improve their games using the least money possible.

I have found out in the last two years that as you get more known through your results people hiding behind a forum alias come out like termites and start **** stirring. These are usually jealous wannabes who dont have no skill or passion for this great game. These threads usually esculate quickly with people saying things they wouldn't to peoples faces.

I commented on Dan's play as l found it. In my opinion he was lucky and not a great player and he must take advice on board or he won't progress. I have only played 3 good players in my 2 years of poker so this is not a big put down!

As for my move on the end, l believe this was good poker but l will run it past the person who l ask for advice and see what he thinks. The rivered spade kills the move, especially against a player who can't fold!

Sour Grapes are not in my poker locker Dan, the Irish Open is another tourney for me mate albeit a special one. Your comments are what l was repling to, trying to put my side to it. Every man is allowed to defend his actions!

This Forum is the same as the rest of them and this is my last post as l am closing the account and good luck to everyone on it. There are some up and coming players and decent people on here and l wish them all the best in the future.

Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Who are the 3 good players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

lol, always with the cork bashing 58o!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I commented on Dan's play as l found it.

He commented on you as he found it, you responded by trying to belittle him and his poker abilities in what stunk of, and still stinks of, sour grapes.

You're in the wrong here but he fcked up by rising to the bait.

Shít bluff btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

mdwexford wrote: »

don't be looking for a mention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

Mr McCool is a freak and a very wierd dude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

lol

The C Kid wrote: »

lol! I don't think he's related to Sklansky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

lol so you felt im a useless calling station luckbox donk and decide to try bluff me all-in on a board of Qs Js 3x Jx 8s with Ace high? One can only admire the logic i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

NickyOD wrote: »
    Could be related to Gobbo though.

lol so you felt im a useless calling station luckbox donk and decide to try bluff me all-in on a board of Qs Js 3x Jx 8s with Ace high? One can only admire the logic i suppose.

What? So you didn't fold after all the speach-play and sweats he'd given you. That's a shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

The idea that you can fully judge a player on the basis of less100 hands sounds bananas too me.

Poker forums are exactly the way they should be imo. Good players post/contribute a lot-inturn they evolve realise there is more profitable/productive (ie forums with more benificial theory analysis etc) ways of spending their time. Lesser players embrace/become better and so on. The natural order etc etc.

Great learning tool for people who want it to be-less for those who dont.

Also mick just saw your comment re not posting anymore etc- thats a pity good luck in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I have no idea who Mick is but I like his style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Good Luck.

All this post proves is that you have a huge ego and found no one on this forum willing to massage it for you and tell you your bluff was an inspired move, just a shame he actually did make the flush on the end. I know your results speak for themselves, but you have no class and constantly contradict yourself. Wp sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

As for my move on the end, l believe this was good poker but l will run it past the person who l ask for advice and see what he thinks.

Make sure you come back and let us know whether its good poker or not. In fact you might want to ask him to have a look at all of our HH threads, as we are a little lost. Does he play omaha as well by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭WECpoker

The C Kid wrote: »

1424ink.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

sound like you know your stuff Michael McCool. Dont mind these online kids. Your speech play doesn't work on them because they have no soul. This is bad for you on another level as well because if they have no soul, WTF are you supposed to read?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

sound like you know your stuff Michael McCool. Dont mind these online kids. Your speech play doesn't work on them because they have no soul. This is bad for you on another level as well because if they have no soul, WTF are you supposed to read?

exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

58o wrote: »
    You seem to have a bit of a persecution complex there mick. Are you originally from cork by any chance?

More likely a low class type Dub who deep down will always know he's a scanger howya but nevertheless will look down on all non-dubs particularly from Cork as bleedin culchies to inflate his own sense of self importance. Or maybe that's you I'm talking about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

The poker player named Michael McCool
    Is often regarded as a complete tool
    But his results often speak for themselves
    He's away with the fairies, goblins and elves
    A second in Galway, was good if not great
    But doesn't make him Phil Ivey's best mate
    If prizes were given for ego in poker
    Mick McCool would be playing the joker
    He got outplayed on a co-ordinated flop
    And decided his best play was to go into a strop
    There's only three players in the world he has time for
    That's himself, his ego and the guy he sees in the mirr-or
    I'm sure it's not the last we'll see of Mick McCool
    The player some regard as a tool
    For me he could be a new Boardsie hero
    Like Hector and Reggie and Nicky O
    So don't go away Mick
    Come back and post
    And tell us about the three players you admire most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

This was the big one. Mick McCool extremely active/aggro. He's playing around 35k as am i. He raises the C/O to 3600 at 500/1000. I peel a flop in bb with K6ss. I usually dont like this type of play but felt i could outplay him a lot of flops and the ones i hit im definitely getting paid off. Flop Qs Js 3d. I check, he checks. Turn Jd. I check-call a 5k bet. My thinking was simple, im betting any river, he probably has none of it and i can move him off almost all of his range (i.e. air). River is a spade. So ive rivered a flush, im certain im ahead. How do i extract value? If i check-raise i risk him checking behind. If i make a pot sized bet i leave no room for him to make a mistake. I know he likes to make moves. I bet 7k leaving about 18 behind. I really hoped this would look weak. He asked me how much ive left and shoves for his whole game, i call. He has A5o for complete air. I really felt i played this well post-flop. If i missed the river i was going to overbet shove and probably take it down also, so whatever way the river came the pot was mine.
    Dan, thought l would make a comment fella before you lure yourself into a false sense of security whilst trying to make your fortune playing live Tournament Poker...

Next, you said "I thought l could outplay him on the flops", well fair play to you on that one Dan, but from what l seen today it wont be happening to soon as my 14 year old brother has more moves. I made a move at the wrong time and you got lucky to hit such a big river...

Good Luck with your live game Dan but don't let your EGO ruin a common sense progression like so many broke players before you. I learn everytime l sit at a table mate, l hope u will too.

Sour Grapes are not in my poker locker Dan...
    This Forum is the same as the rest of them and this is my last post as l am closing the account ...

Hey Mick, Don't be running off and bringing your ball home with you. That would smack of someone with a bit of an ego problem.
    Myself being someone prone to spectacular brainfart tournament exits I'd really be interested to hear what sort of logic would lead to making a 'move' like that. For instance was calling the inevitable shove on the river part of your plan for this 'move'?

Maybe when you come back from visiting this great guru you'd help us out by posting some sort of explanation of what was going through your mind in this hand. R4D's thinking is very clear in the hand

I'm not being at all disingenuous when I say that I have really admired your play and would like to hear your thinking in the hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

Fatboydim wrote: »
    The poker player named Michael McCool
    Is often regarded as a complete tool
    But his results often speak for themselves
    He's away with the fairies, goblins and elves
    A second in Galway, was good if not great
    But doesn't make him Phil Ivey's best mate
    If prizes were given for ego in poker
    Mick McCool would be playing the joker
    He got outplayed on a co-ordinated flop
    And decided his best play was to go into a strop
    There's only three players in the world he has time for
    That's himself, his ego and the guy he sees in the mirr-or
    I'm sure it's not the last we'll see of Mick McCool
    The player some regard as a tool
    For me he could be a new Boardsie hero
    Like Hector and Reggie and Nicky O
    So don't go away Mick
    Come back and post
    And tell us about the three players you admire most.

haha bravo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭GrangeUtd

AttentionWhore.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Good Luck.

I think they've just proved your point Mick

GL in the future

Wow, and your good friend Channing only goes and wins the Open. That must be a sickner for you. See, nice guys do win at poker!

Go and learn some manners and perhaps you'll come back a better poker player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Go and learn some manners and perhaps you'll come back a better poker player.

LOL.pot black kettle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

Wow, and your good friend Channing only goes and wins the Open. That must be a sickner for you. See, nice guys do win at poker!

Go and learn some manners and perhaps you'll come back a better person.

FYP

Mick's results are pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

howardledererco4.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,723 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Good Luck.

So they are good players then I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

These threads really annoy me.

This guy has contributed little or nothing to the poker forum yet seems to think its ok to create threads about himself and use it as a platform to talk rubbish.

imo the thread should be locked.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i've never seen someone to which the word geebag applies so succinctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭HUSH HUSH

mdwexford wrote: »

To quote Groucho Marx........... I wouldn't join any club that would have me as a member:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

0vi3hu1s34rp5.jpg

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

My only regret is that I have but one lock to give.... (with apologies to Nathan Hale...)

DeV.