Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed ramps and emergency vehicles!

• 23-03-2008 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

they obviously slow down emergency vehicles going in and out of housing estates ,so do they save more lives(speed ramps)or are they more of a hindrance and cost lives when it comes to heart attacks,fires etc.....?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Dont get me started both the routes to beaumount and vincents have them, theyre a pain but if they wern't there then road traffic accidents would increase so its a no win situation really

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Dont get me started both the routes to beaumount and vincents have them, theyre a pain but if they wern't there then road traffic accidents would increase so its a no win situation really

Have the bumps actually reduced traffic accidents in your opinion significantly enough to compensate for late ETAs?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,434 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I don't think the government really care about any death that doesn't make the 9 o'clock news....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 MrDylan

Ramps slow down traffic and save lives so can't see them disappear.

The smaller ramps that can be drove over by wide axle trucks eg ambulances without too much need to slow down while most cars still need to slow work well for slowing down cars but not trucks.

The smaller ramps are grand its just the old large ones that are an inconvenience but as said already, reducing road deaths is a higher priority then slowing es vehicles

They tend to be in residential areas where you wouldnt be hoofing it anyway as it isnt safe to do so in the first place

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

They are an inconvienience alright but at the end of the day, as OP's have stated, they are there to save lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

Never had a blues & twos to Beaumont but the route to Vincents A&E going down Nutley Lane is a joke between speed ramps that are supposed to be there and the general road surface. So much for patient comfort in the back of an ambo :o

Then again, they have ramps in the grounds of Vincents !!!

Reminds me of a run we had to beaumount. Spinal from motorbike racing, garda escort.

They swung a right up dundaniel ave over the bumps, we had to go to northside shopping centre and go the long way. Pull up outside A&E 2 garda bikers there with their helmets off puzzled as to where we went to

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Reminds me of a run we had to beaumount. Spinal from motorbike racing, garda escort.

They swung a right up dundaniel ave over the bumps, we had to go to northside shopping centre and go the long way. Pull up outside A&E 2 garda bikers there with their helmets off puzzled as to where we went to

Am just wondering why you had a garda escort with a spinal injury??. If it was that serious why weren't ERAS or DFB called to treat & transport.

Guards where there and said they'd give us one. Wasn't neccessary really they just offered.

MCI medics were looking after p/t (their dr and off duty dfb paramedic)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Are they a pain in the ass? Yes. Do they save lives? yes. Do they cause more problems to joyriders than emergency vehicles? Yes!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,877 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Are they a pain in the ass? Yes. Do they save lives? yes. Do they cause more problems to joyriders than emergency vehicles? Yes!

I have to disagree with the last one. Car thief's generally don't give a sh!te about the car they are driving. They use speed ramps to try and get air whereas ES vehicles have to be returned in a safe working order, or as near as possible;), so the ES vehicles would have to slow down for the speed ramps where as the average scumbag in a stolen car sees them as a challenge.

On the saving life bit, can anyone link a study that proves they do? I did a quick google and didn't get any.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Speaking as a person who had a broken pelvis and had the pleasure of travelling nutley lane twice in the back of an ambulance, I can tell you that you only really feel the first two speed bumps as you have probably passed out from the pain before you hit the rest.

One of these days when I get time I am going to find out who signed off on those bumps as there must be a significant level of backhanders needed to get speed bumps put in place on the main route to a hospital.

It still makes me angry nearly 3 years later.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

could be (& probably am :o) wrong but I heard that DFB have a say in the locating of speed ramps.

I'd say all ES are "consulted" with regards to speed ramps, wether they're taken into account or wether they actually ask the men and women on the street is a whole differnt kettle of fish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Del2005 wrote: »
    I have to disagree with the last one. Car thief's generally don't give a sh!te about the car they are driving. They use speed ramps to try and get air whereas ES vehicles have to be returned in a safe working order, or as near as possible;), so the ES vehicles would have to slow down for the speed ramps where as the average scumbag in a stolen car sees them as a challenge.

It has nothing to do with damaging the vehicle, it has everything to do with controlling the vehicle which is hard to do over a ramp at 80 miles an hour especially for your average 15 year old with no actual driving expereince or training in a car they know little about in terms of handling, grip, etc.

They rarely speed around areas with ramps for a reason.