Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a Banter Holiday

• 21-03-2008 7:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭

Im looking for a place for a lads holiday for 10 days in the summer.

Requirements:
    Beach
    Nightlife
    Cheap
    Not full of English
    Age group of early twenties not leaving cert crowd
    Price range < E1000

Preferable not the usual places in Spain etc.

Any1 been to Bulgaria or Croatia?

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Hazys wrote: »
    Im looking for a place for a lads holiday for 10 days in the summer.

Requirements:
    Beach
    Nightlife
    Cheap
    Not full of English
    Age group of early twenties not leaving cert crowd
    Price range < E1000

Preferable not the usual places in Spain etc.

Any1 been to Bulgaria or Croatia?

Any ideas?

Why the need for this condition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

benifa wrote: »
    Why the need for this condition?

Was on a leaving cert holiday in Hersonissos (full of irish and dutch) and one night we went to Malia an english location up the road. It wasn't pleasant, we got a bit of abuse, and luckily that was it, we were only there for less than 2hrs and we left

I don’t have much against the English but there is a certain minority of English holidayiers after a few drinks dont take kindly to irish people

What utter crap! It's people like you that continue to incite this anti-English feeling among fellow Irish.

Let me tell you something, in my experience English people are very fond indeed of the Irish. To say they "don't take kindly to Irish people" is absolute nonsense. Not only untrue but totally unfounded. Irish people living in the UK are accepted, welcomed even, and come St. Patricks Day are made a fuss over (to say the least). Do you think English people living in Ireland are afforded the same treatment, with people like you retaining this pathetic mindset?

What year are you living in? I suggest you get out a bit and see the world as it is today. Living in the past and posting stupid comments like that is going to offend people. Finally, I feel sorry for you because if you go round with that mindset you're not going to get anywhere fast. Grow up and wake up.

You know where I think you should go on holiday to? England. Go and tour for a week. See London, see Manchester. The city, the countryside - whatever takes your fancy. Then come back on here and tell us how you're treated by the locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Routledge

You know where I think you should go on holiday to? England. Go and tour for a week. See London, see Manchester. The city, the countryside - whatever takes your fancy. Then come back on here and tell us how you're treated by the locals.

Get over your self and your self-righteous comments. The poster had a particular experience when he was away and doesnt wont it repeated.

When I travel abroad, its a prerequisite its not somewhere full of paddys on tour (in essence avoiding people like you).

Slán

Routledge wrote: »
    Get over your self and your self-righteous comments. The poster had a particular experience when he was away and doesnt wont it repeated.
    Oh right, ok. So a couple of English lads take the piss out of you, and so it's reasonable for you to try and avoid an entire nationality for the rest of your life? They're all the same are they? Get real. :rolleyes:
    When I travel abroad, its a prerequisite its not somewhere full of paddys on tour (in essence avoiding people like you).
    You've made a big mistake in your assumption. Perhaps you're as bigoted as the OP?

Oh right, ok. So a couple of English lads take the piss out of you, and so it's reasonable for you to try and avoid an entire nationality for the rest of your life? They're all the same are they? Get real. :rolleyes:

You've made a big mistake in your assumption. Perhaps you're as bigoted as the OP?

Your a nit picker, and should be banned. The poster asks a question, and inlcudes that he had a bad experience with a number of english people, and you think with your responses your being interviewd on six one or appearing on prime time.

Petty person

Your a nit picker, and should be banned. The poster asks a question, and inlcudes that he had a bad experience with a number of english people, and you think with your responses your being interviewd on six one or appearing on prime time.

Petty person

What?!

You genuinely see nothing wrong with such prejudice?! If I came on and asked for a holiday destination that wasn't full of black people, because one of them wasn't very nice to me once, is that ok too?

I was offended by what I read, and am not afraid to say so. Should I be?

You're unreal. You condone this prejudice and even have the audacity to suggest I should be banned!

What?!

You genuinely see nothing wrong with such prejudice?! If I came on and asked for a holiday destination that wasn't full of black people, because one of them wasn't very nice to me once, is that ok too?

I was offended by what I read, and am not afraid to say so. Should I be?

You're unreal. You condone this prejudice and even have the audacity to suggest I should be banned!

Youve taken this thread way off topic. My last post on this.

Your making something out of nothing. Hes talking about having been on holiday in some kip which has a reputation of attracting the sterotype sky1/Ibizia uncovered types.

Its as black and white as that.

How you found yourself to be offended by such a post beggers belief.

However it is good to know you are tirelessly trawling through the forums of Boards.ie ensuring that scurilous attempts to undermine anglo-irish relations are not damaged by such outrageous comment as made by the OP.

Keep up the good work

Youve taken this thread way off topic.
    Only in response to your condoning of blatant prejudice.
    Your making something out of nothing. Hes talking about having been on holiday in some kip which has a reputation of attracting the sterotype sky1/Ibizia uncovered types.
    No, the OP specifically mentioned "Not full of English", not, "Not full of sterotype sky1/Ibizia uncovered types regardless of their nationality". My point being, the OP made it clear that his condition was specifically anti-English.
    How you found yourself to be offended by such a post beggers belief.
    Frankly, how anyone can come on a public forum and express such prejudice views and expect not to be flamed, "beggers belief". No less the person who defends this prejudice as if normal and accepted.
    However it is good to know you are tirelessly trawling through the forums of Boards.ie ensuring that scurilous attempts to undermine anglo-irish relations are not damaged by such outrageous comment as made by the OP.

Keep up the good work

Pathetic.

Ive been to london many times in the past 12 months. A nice place to go on the piss, even if it is too expensive. Never had any problems.

Like ive said before i have nothing against the average english person, i was very close to accepting a job and living in london but i got a better offer in the US. I would have been happy to live in London like a lot of my friends do.

All im saying is this type of holiday resorts attract a minority of the english population that do not do the average english person justice.

All i wanted was somebody to recommend a place for a lads holiday that is different and offers more than the common places (Yes i know all lads holidays end up the same anyway).

I didnt want a stupid argument claiming im a bigot because i said i didnt want to go to a place full of english. England has a very high level of drink related crime, a lot higher than ours. The popular british resorts in Mediterranean countries like Faliraki have been destroyed by drugs and violence. Thats not saying the irish havent done their fair share but its mainly english holidayiers

Benifa, you sir are a psycho

Looking at this article i guess the BBC hate the english aswell

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/3041316.stm

Ive been to london many times in the past 12 months. A nice place to go on the piss, even if it is too expensive. Never had any problems.

Like ive said before i have nothing against the average english person, i was very close to accepting a job and living in london but i got a better offer in the US. I would have been happy to live in London like a lot of my friends do.

All im saying is this type of holiday resorts attract a minority of the english population that do not do the average english person justice.

All i wanted was somebody to recommend a place for a lads holiday that is different and offers more than the common places (Yes i know all lads holidays end up the same anyway).

I didnt want a stupid argument claiming im a bigot because i said i didnt want to go to a place full of english. England has a very high level of drink related crime, a lot higher than ours. The popular british resorts in Mediterranean countries like Faliraki have been destroyed by drugs and violence. Thats not saying the irish havent done their fair share but its mainly english holidayiers

Benifa, you sir are a psycho

Erm, pot, kettle, black?

You said, specifically, "Not full of English". You can doll it up however you like but as an Englishman, living in Ireland and absolutely sick to the back teeth of being treated like a second class citizen, by everyone from taxi driver to the woman in the post office - remarks like this make my blood boil.

If you don't want to go on holiday to be surrounded by a load of lager louts - good on you, neither would I. But you specifically stated "Not full of English", and went on to state that "English holidayiers after a few drinks dont take kindly to irish people".

And now I'm a psycho, because I believe that a whole nation of people should not have to take the blame for one or two cretins that you met on holiday? Come on man, you're more intelligent than that. People who get offered a job in London and then turn it down for a better job in the US are clearly worth something. You're not an idiot, is what I'm trying to say.

But what you wrote offended me, as I'm sure it offended other Brits who live in Ireland and have to frequently put up with this pathetic anti-English mindset that, seemingly, so many people still hold.

Again, if I were to start a thread asking where to go on holiday, but a place that didn't attract too many black people because one or two weren't very friendly to me once, do you think that's ok?

Looking at this article i guess the BBC hate the english aswell

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/3041316.stm

Again, another gross misinterpretation. You link to a BBC News page, which reports of trouble British holidaymakers abroad, and introduce it as "i guess the BBC hate the english aswell".

Can you not see what's wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

I completely understand what the OP is saying with his reference to English people in Malia.I was in Hersonissos last year myself full of Dutch and Irish like he said and it was great craic with no problems.One night we decided we would go down to Malia to see what it was like we ended up leaving after 30mins after there was a double murder involving two english soldiers just around the corner from where we were.I understand people saying you can't generalise all english as thugs or anti Irish as the vast majority are far from that.I go to Manchester alot to see United play and have never had any problems with any English over there but almost every holiday ive been on ive had some sort of problem involving an English person, as recently as two weeks ago in when i was in dubai i was called pathetic and an Irish idiot for being irish and supporting manchester united.Everywhere i go in the world i always seem to meet one or two ignorant Brits that fit the bad stereotype they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

Spot on!

Whether they are English or Irish there are always a few clowns like benifa.

The English in places like Crete just stand out more simply because there are probably more of them!

kcb wrote: »
    Spot on!

Whether they are English or Irish there are always a few clowns like benifa.

The English in places like Crete just stand out more simply because there are probably more of them!

What's that supposed to mean kcb?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

What's that supposed to mean kcb?

I take it back - you are not a clown!

Your comments are completely over the top though. Give it a rest.

kcb wrote: »
    I take it back - you are not a clown!

Your comments are completely over the top though. Give it a rest.

I'll give it a rest when people start accepting that prejudice, in any form, is intolerable. I'm being flamed here because I voice my opinion that this pathetic anti-English prejudice must not be condoned.

You all can post as you please, safety in numbers I guess. There's more of you than there is of us here. But I'll say it one more time. Labeling English people because of minority few is wrong. Avoiding an entire people because of a minority few is wrong.

Again I ask the question, if it's condoned on Boards.ie to post a question asking where to go to avoid English people, is it therefore also condoned on Boards.ie to post a question asking where to go to avoid disabled people, black people, or any other specific group?

You really don't get the point, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

This is going absolutely nowhere.

Benifa, you should know better. If you've a problem with a post report it, don't drag it out on the thread - as per the charter.

The rest of you could do with a healthy dose of cop on also.