Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dirty Harry Is Back!

• 21-03-2008 2:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭

http://breakingnews.ie/entertainment/mhojeyaugbkf/

Veteran actor/director Clint Eastwood is resurrecting the 'Dirty Harry' franchise with the series' first film in 20 years.

On Tuesday, studio executives at Warner Brothers revealed the 77-year-old legend will direct and star in Gran Torino. No further details were released, other than the project has a December release date pencilled in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

http://breakingnews.ie/entertainment/mhojeyaugbkf/

Veteran actor/director Clint Eastwood is resurrecting the 'Dirty Harry' franchise with the series' first film in 20 years.

On Tuesday, studio executives at Warner Brothers revealed the 77-year-old legend will direct and star in Gran Torino. No further details were released, other than the project has a December release date pencilled in.

Isn't that Starsky and Hutch's car? Ford Grand Torino

Back on subject, maybe they could call it Grandad Torino instead? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Don't do it Clint! Unless you get David Peoples to write the script and its really not a DH flick at all!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

mike65 wrote: »
    Don't do it Clint! Unless you get David Peoples to write the script and its really not a DH flick at all!

Mike.
    I honestly think he should do it. The Dead Pool was a horrendous film, and the franchise need better closure. So long as the film turns out well I'm all for it.
    Did you guys know that Frank Miller was so disgusted by The Dead Pool that it prompted him to write That Yellow Bastard, as his own Dirty Harry script? There are quite a few nods to Dirty Harry in there; Hartigan being an Irish name, Nancy's surname being Callaghan, and the use of the Magnum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

And people say Stallone is too old these days?

Seriously though, this could be very cool indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Wow, although Harry is a timeless character. Age shouldnt hold too much bearing on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

this could be kinda fun.

considering how PC the whole fecking world has become in the last 20yrs its a great way to rip the piss out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

do they not have forced retirement at 65 in the in the nypd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

do they not have forced retirement at 65 in the in the nypd?

dirty harry plays by his own rules!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Just so you know, Dirty Harry was set in San Francisco, not New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

It'd be deadly if Harry was the chief of police, imagine... a whole police department playing by their own rules! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

He needs a bigger gun IMO. A desert eagle pistol or a minigun. Thats Dirty Harry in the 21st century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

Gran Torino's plot reportedly follows a retired Callahan as he hunts down the killer of two police officers, one of whom is his grandson. The villain drives a Ford Torino.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sweet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Rocky, Rambo, Indiana Jones (though not begrudging that!), now Dirty Harry. I mean I know Hollywood's going through a long phase of remakes and the like, but to start dredging these old icons out of retirement seems a tad ... crass? Rocky and Rambo surprised everyone by being quite good, but hmmmm, Eastwood hasn't aged well imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Hasn't aged well physically or artistically? I mean, artistically he's making some of his best work at the moment.

And physically? I don't care how old he is, if Clint Eastwood comes at me with a gun, I don't feel lucky :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

At least it isnt a third installment of the every which way but loose series.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Driver 8 wrote: »
    Hasn't aged well physically or artistically? I mean, artistically he's making some of his best work at the moment.

And physically? I don't care how old he is, if Clint Eastwood comes at me with a gun, I don't feel lucky :p
    Oh physically of course; I mean artistically he's one of the best directors in Hollywood at the moment imo. But he very much looks his age, plus an extra 10 years. Unless he goes the Stallone route that is ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Ah I can see it now:
    "I know what you're thinking. "Did he fire six shots or only five?" Well, to tell you the truth, with this senile dementia kicking in I kind of lost track myself."

Morgan Freeman can play his partner (who dies). After all, if you work with Harry Callaghan you have about as much chance of survial as the bad guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Every dirty job... I'll keep an open mind on this. Could be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

heh was only thinking about this the other day, waiting for it to happen

could work well imo, its not as "physically demanding" as say rambo or rocky.

hes a cop, doesnt be doing mental ****. He could well make it work i think,

Actually, what with our PC - addicted society, the idea of Dirty Harry putting the boot in would be pretty sweet.

Pigman II wrote: »
    Morgan Freeman can play his partner (who dies).

why does the black man have to die?!?! racist!! :p:p

At least it isnt a third installment of the every which way but loose series.

Yeah, that ape is probably REALLY old now... They could always recast Andy Serkis as Clyde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

20040301.jpg

^^^ thats pretty sweet! nicely done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Clint is a magnificent director. I'll certainly be looking forward to seeing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

He might have a cheeky chappy side kick played by Chris Tucker, Chris Rock, Owen Wilson, Ben Stiller, or get Morgan Freeman to team up with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Has anybody got a 'real' source for this?
    I heard about him making this particular title but I really doubt its a DH movie.
    Still, if it is I'll be the first in line to see it.

"Well Magarnigle, Timmy's dead! they slit his throat from ear to ear.."
    "Hey, I'm tryin' ta eat lunch here.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Hardrain

From today's Sun so might be bollix

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/film/article1128052.ece

The Sun can reveal,Clint, 77, will bring gun-toting inspector Harry Callahan out of retirement for a new film.

Huge Spoiler in the link

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

It will take some amount of CGI to make Clint look less than retirement age!!!

Is this going to done like Unforgiven? Its the only way it could possibly work.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Hardrain

I suspect it will be a world weary affair type of film. I trust him to do a good job as his directing skills are top notch. He will have a younger sidekick I'm guessing. Look forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

mike65 wrote: »
    Is this going to done like Unforgiven? Its the only way it could possibly work.

As a western? :p
    Hardrain wrote: »
    I suspect it will be a world weary affair type of film. I trust him to do a good job as his directing skills are top notch. He will have a younger sidekick I'm guessing. Look forward to it!

I kind of hope they don't, but know they will. I can almost picture all the "veteran taking in youngster" cliches already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Its going to be called "Stop, or my granddaughter will shoot".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Actually just checked this out on IMDB and it's a action/drama about an old guy trying to put a young whipper-snapper on the straight and narrow. So there's still no word if there's a Dirty Harry film in the works.
    synopsis wrote:
    Disgruntled Korean War vet Walt Kowalski (Eastwood) sets out to reform his neighbor, a young Hmong teenager, who tried to steal Kowalski's prized possesion: his 1972 Gran Torino.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭stereoroid

IMDB News is quoting Eastwood saying he has no intention of doing Dirty Harry again:
    "There are certain things you have to be realistic about," Eastwood said, and one of those things is that "Dirty Harry wouldn't be on a police department at my age."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The only thing Dirty about Harry these days would be his adult diaper.

Thank goodness.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Make my day punk ! coughs "im gettin to old for this?"
    20_dirtyharry_lgl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Nooooooo

...but then again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'm glad, will enjoy the DVDs.

IMDb confirmed today that Clint himself has rubbished the rumours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Gran Torino's plot reportedly follows a retired Callahan as he hunts down the killer of two police officers, one of whom is his grandson. The villain drives a Ford Torino.
    Details are finally coming out, along with a trailer:

He's not Harry Callahan, or even a cop: Walt Kowalski is a military veteran who gets targeted by a gang, after he comes to the rescue of a neighbour. I'm thinking Victor Meldrew with guns. :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Why does this feel like a piss take?

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭rejkin

Aw!!! they could have so made that into a harry callahan film and it would hav made the plot a lot more believable...they have ruined the chance to make another dirty harry film:mad: