Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Removing hair

• 20-03-2008 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm one of those hairy kinda fellas. I hate being topless in public, i'm ashamed by it. My hairiness has been commented on by friends and it really gets to me. They're not being insulting about it, it's more like "wow, take a look at this!". I'd love to be the "normal" kinda hairy as opposed to the hairy kinda hairy.

What are my options? Laser seems to be the only viable way to reduce/stop hair growth, but i can hardly get laser all over. That'd be far too expensive. I just wish i could flick a switch and magically be less hairy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Why is it a bad thing? It makes you a little unique. When someone comments on it, do be shy, revel in the limelight a little. From talking to female friends, some women think that more is good.

Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

I'm one of those hairy kinda fellas. I hate being topless in public, i'm ashamed by it. My hairiness has been commented on by friends and it really gets to me. They're not being insulting about it, it's more like "wow, take a look at this!". I'd love to be the "normal" kinda hairy as opposed to the hairy kinda hairy.

What are my options? Laser seems to be the only viable way to reduce/stop hair growth, but i can hardly get laser all over. That'd be far too expensive. I just wish i could flick a switch and magically be less hairy.

Do not shave :D, trust me it's not worth the agro I tryed it and it was a disaster :rolleyes:, waxing is you only real option I had it done a few weeks back and trust me it's fine , it's not that sore either , I had back chest and upper arms done for 55 euro it lasts about 6 weeks and get's thinner each time you do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

i had my legs waxed for charity, it def comes back thinner. i'd go with waxing if you really want to get rid of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Why not try hair removal cream?

BrightEyes wrote: »
    Why not try hair removal cream?

It causes hair to fall out , that's just not good for your skin , get waxed (by a pro)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I can understand wanting to get rid of a hairy back, but I can't for the life of me figure out guys who get their chest hair removed.....

And as Ger said, it completely depends on who you're with....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I'd love to be the "normal" kinda hairy as opposed to the hairy kinda hairy.

When someone can explain to me what exactly 'normal' is, I'm gonna be very impressed with them.
    You have a precieved notion in your head as to what 'normal' is supposed to be, loose it my friend, be confident and enjoy your manliness!

You know, the people who actually care about you don't give a damn.
    My blokes dead hairy, neither of us give it a second thought, in the grander scheme of things, it means absolutely nothing.
    Try changing your outlook before taking any drastic measure you may later regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭doubtfir3

I've got quite hairy legs and a lot of hair on my chest..

tbh doesn't bother me.. plenty comment on it.. even one of my friends calls it the carpet..

not an issue for me, don't let it be for you either OP.. try to be happy with it and love it for what it is!

If its excessive hair on your back or something then maybe you want to do soemthing about it.. don't change because you think others would like you to.. do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Beruthiel wrote: »
    When someone can explain to me what exactly 'normal' is, I'm gonna be very impressed with them.
    You have a precieved notion in your head as to what 'normal' is supposed to be, loose it my friend, be confident and enjoy your manliness!
    I have nearly as much hair on the underside of my arms as my friends have on the top of their arms. It's not the chest hair that's the issue, it's the excess arm hair/back hair. I'd be a lot happier with me if that just wasn't there.

For example if i wear a t-shirt that is a bit loose around the neck, i'd be very concious of back hair showing up if the collar was pulled down a bit. Maybe normal wasn't the right word to use. I'd just like to be less hairy. It's just i don't know anyone who's got waxing or anything done, and it's not something i'd really want to talk about anyway :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

It causes hair to fall out , that's just not good for your skin , get waxed (by a pro)

Uhh, no. It "dissolves" the hair above the skin so that it can be wiped away. That's why you end up with stubble a couple of days later - the hair keeps growing until it falls out naturally.

OP: Go somewhere which does waxing and ask them for a consultation. There's plenty of places which wax and do laser hair reduction. If you're looking at waxing for the next 20 + years you may find it cheaper to have laser reduction - lots of places have specials going at this time of year too.

daiixi wrote: »
    Uhh, no. It "dissolves" the hair above the skin so that it can be wiped away. .

O that make's it so much better :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

get waxed see how you feel after it then continue if you dont mind it. and once it gets thinner just laser it off if you can afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

I'm getting laser hair removal done at the moment in a more intimate area. Have 1 session left to go!:D

So just to let you know a few things from that perspective:

- If you have dark hair and light skin you are an ideal candidate and will get great results (aprrox 60% gone with first session, I speak from experience)

- you usually have to sign up for 6 sessions, you get it done once a month

- It (in my experience) is sore but that is because of the area I am getting treated. I have heard getting back/legs/arms done is not sore, it's more 'milldly uncomfortable'

- it is a bit pricey but because it's permanent it is soooo worth it. Do you really want to spend €60 every couple of months on waxing for the rest of your life - in the long run laser is definitely the better option in terms of value imo. Also sometimes hair grows back thinner with waxing but sometimes not, it depends on the person, so I wouldn't rely too heavily on that logic.

- I am 110% satisfied with how it has worked for me. I would do it again in a heartbeat. All my insecurities re that area are now gone, i am a new woman! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I'm getting laser hair removal done at the moment in a more intimate area. Have 1 session left to go!:D

So just to let you know a few things from that perspective:

- If you have dark hair and light skin you are an ideal candidate and will get great results (aprrox 60% gone with first session, I speak from experience)

- you usually have to sign up for 6 sessions, you get it done once a month

- It (in my experience) is sore but that is because of the area I am getting treated. I have heard getting back/legs/arms done is not sore, it's more 'milldly uncomfortable'

- it is a bit pricey but because it's permanent it is soooo worth it. Do you really want to spend €60 every couple of months on waxing for the rest of your life - in the long run laser is definitely the better option in terms of value imo. Also sometimes hair grows back thinner with waxing but sometimes not, it depends on the person, so I wouldn't rely too heavily on that logic.

- I am 110% satisfied with how it has worked for me. I would do it again in a heartbeat. All my insecurities re that area are now gone, i am a new woman! ;)
    You got a laser, THERE????

OP, try a few things, see what you're even suited to first

Ye could be allergic to waxex/creams, or get a bad reaction from a laser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Lipperes

hey OP. Just so you know many women find hairy men attractive!
    but nevertheless if you're not happy then you should do something. A friend of mine gets his back waxed, think he does it about once a month. The first time might be a bit sore (but take 2 painkillers before hand!), from then on it gets easier as hair grows back lighter. Don't worry about going into a beauticians, they are totally used to it!
    I wouldn't recommend hair removal creams, as the hair grows back very quickly.
    As for hair on legs/arms etc. that is normal for guys... and girls!
    But instead of worrying try removing the hair from one area first..see how that goes. Maybe laser might be an option for your back and that will be one less thing to worry about! :)

i have same issue on my back and upper arms and would love to get a permanent solution. How much would laser cost, does anyone have a ball park figure? I have seen laser products you can buy to use yourself, has anyone tried these?

I got the laser done on my back, it doesnt get rid of it completely which is why they have to call it hair reduction and not removal. I'd say its 80% reduced, and only finer hair is left which doest look too bad. Cost about 2000 for 8 sessions I think. Oh ya and it was very very painful, but apparently that was a sign it was working. I'm glad I got it done, and agree hair poking out the back of a collar is not a good look

balh wrote: »
    i have same issue on my back and upper arms and would love to get a permanent solution. How much would laser cost, does anyone have a ball park figure?
    From what I've seen, it's several hundred for a back (say, E400-450) per session, generally about 5-8 sessions are needed. Quite expensive.
    get waxed see how you feel after it then continue if you dont mind it. and once it gets thinner just laser it off if you can afford it.
    Seems like the way to go. I can see how it goes with a non-permanent solution then figure out what i wanna do in the long term. Makes sense when you think about it. Thanks for everyones help/advice/stories. I'll see how it goes.

Oh I hear ya OP. I'm extremely hairy myself and tbh I don't mind being hairy, in fact I'd prefer to have a hairy chest than to have completely nothing. But the thing that I do have a problem with is just how hairy I actually am. I swear to God, if I didn't look so much like my Dad I'd swear to God my Mother had an affair with a Gorilla!! Ironically enough I have no hair an my backside, Mother Nature has a strange sense of humour sometimes. I have a full of hair though, it's just a pity it's on my back!

But joking aside, I've really been considering getting my forearms arms lasered as they a ridiculously hairy, so much so that it's starting to affect my confidence. I don't even wear short sleeve shirts or t-shirts when I'm out any more, which is silly I know but I'm just too self conscience about it. I'm generally quite a confident person and most people that know me would say that I'm extremely confident (I guess I'm just good a putting on a front). It's just this one thing that really gets me down at times.

If I was to get the laser treatment on my arms does anybody have an idea of what results I could maybe achieve? I'm not looking to be completely bald on my arms (although it'd match my head! Well not just yet but Mother Nature is having another pop in that area!!)

Should I maybe just get them waxed first and then consider laser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

Get it waxed first and see if you like your arms naked or not. If you do then have a consultation re laser. They'll explain what results you'll be likely to achieve. You may not even be suitable for treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Get it waxed. Lots of men in Sweden wax their entire bodies and look much better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Anyone out there ever had their neck waxed?..... Do the professional waxers do the neck area at all?. I have no probs having hairy legs, back and chest. It is the neck that is a pain. I understand if I get it waxed it grows back much finer. My wife says she might even be able to use her epilady there after a while!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

same here, I look like a burst mattress sometimes. What I do is take a hair clippers and give myself a no1 all over every couple of months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

OP, before you do anything drastic, maybe you need to get the head straight?

As Beruthiel asked, what is normal? You seem to be thinking too much about an issue that probably concerns others far less. I'm hairy and many have commented on it, but so what? I haven't lost friends, or girlfriends because of it.

A few of my male friends have had the same concerns and have waxed or shaved in fear of the reaction they might get from girls. So, like I've said to my mates, if a partner or friend had an issue with your hairiness, ask yourself if you want to be around someone like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

i'm a bit odd in that i've got quite a hairy back, really baldy armpits and only a very small amount of chest hair! i wish i could just move the hair permanently to my chest! i get my back waxed the odd time, when i think it's gonna be on public show and it lasts about 6 weeks, costs €35 a pop. hurts a bit and i get quite a spotty back afterwards but it still looks better. just to add, though, i get it done because i hate the look of my hairy back myself, nevermind what others would think.

all these people saying "some women love hairy men"... to you i say, the VAST majority of women are repulsed by hairy backs... i've heard them talk about it, you don't fool me.

Hi there, my problem is that I've got quite a hairy ass! I'm quite self consious about it. I've shaved it a couple of times but that only makes it worse. Anyone ever got it waxed back there? Would feel a bit really embarrassed going into a beuticians to get it done - is it common?

Anybody recommend somewhere in the city centre (Dublin) to get arms waxed? Preferably somewhere that's for men. And is it expensive?

H2o wrote: »
    Hi there, my problem is that I've got quite a hairy ass! I'm quite self consious about it. I've shaved it a couple of times but that only makes it worse. Anyone ever got it waxed back there? Would feel a bit really embarrassed going into a beuticians to get it done - is it common?

ever heard of the 'back, sack and crack' - crack being your arse, men get it done all the time, salons don't get embrrassed with that - all in a days work for them! ;)

Haiiry too wrote: »
    Anybody recommend somewhere in the city centre (Dublin) to get arms waxed? Preferably somewhere that's for men. And is it expensive?

the arm would be an easy area to do yourself, why not try that first - even get your girlfriend to do it, before forking out for expensive salons! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

Beerlao wrote: »
    all these people saying "some women love hairy men"... to you i say, the VAST majority of women are repulsed by hairy backs... i've heard them talk about it, you don't fool me.

I'll put it to you this way, most me would love to have a blonde swedish supermodel hanging off their arms but are happy with something less. Women may say they are put off by hairy backs but non of my exes ever complained. A few years back I just got annoyed with getting really warm in the Summer and my back sweating so I got it waxed. My girlfriend at the time couldn't understand why! Most women will say they prefer non-hairy backs but by the time they find out, you must have been doing something right!!

I now get a back wax every six weeks and you get used to having it done. Just make sure you find someone to do it who cares. It is bearable if done right, painful if done wrong and a lot of waxers do it wrong. But get it done a few times and see how you feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

**** that man, I'm like Chewbacca! If you feel a little self-conscious, get it waxed, but let that be the end of the line. Don't try anything else. And leave your Chest alone, it's mean't to be hairy. It's what seperates the men from the boys ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TEH REAL CDP

Here here, I don't agree with all the waxing malarky. I'm a young guy but also fairly hairy - I get out of the shower after the gym and lads in the changing room look at me like they've never seen anything before. Still though, I'm well built, have a great body (so I'm told) and hairy.

OP why don't you try changing your physique a la going to the gym? You may find that it suits you better? It'll have a benifit either way!

Trust me, a real 6 pack and pecs are more impressive when its visible through hair! Everyone seems to associate hair with uglyness or poor aesthetics! Bull to that, seriously. If you get your body fat down, tone and bulk up, you'll look good no matter what.

I'd never wax or shave, its like leonardo drew my hairs himself!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Eh..... so nobody has ever had their neck waxed?.....

Like I said, no issue with hairy chest, back, crack and sack.

But neck, someone tell me u can get the neck done somewhere where it is not too $$$.

I love hairy men! the sight of hair peeping out from a shirt cuff makes my knees go weak! Had a lover one time who was a BEAR - hairy back, bum, chest.... and I loved him. mmmm